GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Virtua Fighter 5

This new installment in the critically-acclaimed Virtua Fighter series packs a serious punch fueled by the power of the Xbox 360 video game and entertainment system. Virtua Fighter 5 will have an all-star cast of 17 fighters, including characters from the previous iterations along with two new characters named El Blaze and Eileen. El Blaze is a Mexican fighting champion that defeats unsuspecting opponents with his lightning-quick Lucha Libre fighting style and Eileen uses a Monkey Kung Fu fighting style which she learned from her grandfather, a former Kung Fu master. Choose from an array of costumes and attachable items and then step into the ring and prove that you're the best.
Average Customer Rating:
8.667
8.7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (49 reviews)
10 stars
5
9 stars
2
8 stars
0
7 stars
1
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 989%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Virtua Fighter 5
Review 1 for Virtua Fighter 5
Not for the casual gamers, still satisfying
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/27/11
DragonbornKing
Location: Detroit Michigan
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I got Virtua Fighter 5 two years ago and I still play it just as much as I first. The graphics are crisp and lively but I'm here to talk about the game not how it looks. I'll be honest here, this game is very technical. When I started I tried to do some cool moves and got destroyed. In VF5 button mashing will get you nowhere. Its all about skill, patience and pure luck. There are no special moves, no secret attacks and no 10 hit combos just pure 1 on 1 fighting, with counters, various stances and moves for each character and a very deep quest mode. Although 17 characters isn't much in a fighting game, the sheer uniqueness of each character makes up for it. I have never seen a character in any fighting game use pankration or vale tudo, realistic fighting styles. Overall, VF5 will demand and expect you to know both your character and the mechanics of the game. If you want a challenging realistic fighting game that is great when you put time into it, look no further. Also the customization is extremely amazing.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 2 for Virtua Fighter 5
The best 3-d and the most technical
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/30/08
Xbox Pro
The Controls are well responding. The only problem is the the dreaded Xbox 360 D-pad. Overall the controls are adaptable for most gamers. As for the Graphics, it is flawless. The sweat, the clothes, the har, the enviroments, everything is just beautiful. Every Character is well thought out and are organized. Every character is unique with each an individual move list. Every character differs in size, and all are either slow but strong, or fast but weak, everyting is well sought out. The Sound is very clear, hearable, and does not sound like Sonic the hedgehog for the 360. Well, there isnt lots of fireballs and energy blasts, but damn, there are enough awesomness to the game as it is! Storylines are pretty much the same, Tournament here, veangence there, rivals everywhere, not much to talk about. Unlockables, well, ther's plenty of accessaries and characters to unlock with complicated ways for each individual item. Above all, Virtua Fighter should be for either Graphic hogs, complicated games, or hardcore long playing hour games. I give it 2 thumbs up : )
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Virtua Fighter 5
This Game Is...
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/21/11
NewWaveNinja
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
...really hard. That doesn't mean it's not really fun, as well. It's very addictive, once you're used to it. Now, on to more detailed descriptions...There are 17 playable characters, each with a unique and surprisingly fluid fighting style. The fighting styles range from Ninjutsu to Drunken Fist (or to be formal, Drunken Boxing) and just about every other solid way to beat something up that you could actually WANT to use in a video game! The Quest Mode is very easy to grasp but, it requires you to create a custom version of any available character, as you can only play Quest using custom characters, not the main versions already available. I don't mean just, change name, suit color, blah, blah, blah, I mean you can completely change the character, right down to the EYE COLOR!!! But, you can't change fighting style (the one downside to this game). You can use custom characters in all game modes! As you play Quest, you can go to tournaments and prove your awesomess as your new superwarrior by beating other fighters, getting cool new stuff, and earning ranks. Also, you can play any tournament, at any time! C'mon. how cool is that??? All in all, I highly recommend this game, to fighting fans and hardcore gamers, alike!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Virtua Fighter 5
Sweet...
Posted on:10/30/07
Anti-Reptlian...
I've been having this game for the past week and a half and it is beautiful, one of the best fighting games I've played so far. I used to hate Virtua Fighter because it was incredibly crappy up to 3 and because it was always behind in graphical power compared to Tekken 1 which came out a year before VF1 and V2 which for it's time it looked and played extremely bad and very dated...3 was 2 with slightly better graphics and some added characters and levels...but 4 changed everything and they finally did a good job. Anyway, this fighting game rules, it plays beautifully, it looks insane (which sounds like an understatement) and everything is a 10 out of 10 in this game...the 360 version has slightly better graphics, lots of gameplay tweaks and live play between others...of course I couldn't play live yet since nobody has the game yet...
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Virtua Fighter 5
great sega game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/9/10
dsi player1234
This fighting game is great. The graphics are good the characters moves and sklls are awesome and The challenges is great. The charaters are good even each onehas a different skill. The special moves of them are really realistic. The grphics are great and the online is very fun. You can make a character but with the same form and look. Also the difficulty is fun and hard but thats is supose to be. The stages are beautiful and really reallistic, and when you are fighting you can fall out the ring or theres a part of a river and you are in a boat you fll in the water like a real person will happen. There are more but im not going to spoiled it. I recommened it.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Virtua Fighter 5
Great Game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/7/08
Game Fan 123
I used to be a fan of only Street Fighter and Mortal Kombat but lately have started branching out to the other franchises and I'm very glad I did! Virtua Fighter 5 is one of those games that any fan of arcade fighting games should appreciate. The controls are simple at first but you will soon find yourself immersed in layer after layer of depth as the fighting system is second to none as far as realism goes. The visuals are very clear and crisp. You will especially enjoy the rippling water on the stages that have puddles or water around them. The stages themselves are very artfully done, and seem to be just the right size to add strategy to the fighting (some are caged in, and others are left open for 'ring out' opportunities). One thing that really stands out to me on this title is the soundtrack. It is kind of like, techno-elevator music, but it works. It's actually very cool music and it complements the game well. I'm surprised to see this game for such a low price. I highly recommend it. I will say this though. If you don't want to spend a little time learning the complexities of the fighting system here, than you might be better off with an easier game like Mortal Kombat vs. DC (which is also great).
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Virtua Fighter 5
VF Online = Godly
Posted on:10/24/07
DGouki
When I found out VF5 is gonna be online, I thought it was the best news in gaming history. Seriously, this and Soulcalibur and BY FAR the best and most technical fighting games to date, and being able to play it online is godly, as I have no competition without it and fighting games are useless without competition. As far as latency goes, Dead or Alive 4 had great online play without frame delays, so I don't see why AM2 and Sega can't achieve the saming thing in VF5...allowing advanced players to execute moves in single-frame precision. PLEASE Sega, perfect the online mode! If they do, this will be the best game ever made.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Virtua Fighter 5
Online = Still Good
Posted on:10/21/07
NotDan
"Online's going to ruin Virtua Fighter 5," you've proved one thing by saying that, you're a complete moron. If you don't like online mode, simple option: don't play it. Adding in a new game mode is not ruining a game mode, maybe it will show you that you don't have any friends, but you shouldn't be angry at others because they do, and if you are throwing such a hissy fit about it send SEGA an E-mail, I'm sure they'll take out their new game mode just to please you. Stick to single player, we don't want you Dan.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Virtua Fighter 5
Awesome Game...
Posted on:3/8/07
Kagemusha
Hands down, the Virtua Fighter series is the most in-depth and REALISTIC fighting game. I say this as a martial artist and a gamer. But honestly, without online multiplayer I don't see this game selling very well on the 360. Seriously....what is Sega thinking? Online play is what sustains your games nowadays especially on the 360. $60 for one long, in-depth fighter may fly on the PS3, but they are bringing this game over to the console known for it's ONLINE PLAY. I think this game will sell OK on 360, but Sega will probably do the same thing that Konami did with the Metal Gear series after it got ridiculously outsold by Splinter Cell on the original X-Box and keep their game on the system that it sells the most on. Sadly for those of us who enjoy the VF series that will probably be the PS3.
Review 10 for Virtua Fighter 5
online still = bad
Posted on:10/15/07
10th Dan
"if you're that much of a scrub who can't switch up your game plan to meet/match the latency and the lag, you can just go back to mashing buttons with eddy gordo and stop whining, later." And you just proved you havent been playing it as long as me. If by meeting / matching letency, you mean totally avoiding Tech Characters sure i can do that. I still don't see why not being able to pick 4-6 different characters because of lag is a good thing. This game isn't a button masher, timing and smooth gameplay is one of the most important factors in this game to pull off some of the best moves. Go back to tekken. Live will ruin this game.
Review 11 for Virtua Fighter 5
rofl at people who say ONLINE IS GOD!!11
Posted on:10/24/07
spike
Here are some facts. VF5 will be a great fighting game. It will have great graphics. It will have online play. Gears of War was a great shooting game. It had great graphics. It had online play. There was host advantage that made online play impossible to tell who was truly better, and was not nearly as faced paced as VF5 intends to be. Point being, online play will be a good place to chill, play some scrubs and maybe LOOK like you're doing good. You may even be able to be the best online, which COULD translate to being the best in real life, but it will never be proven unless you play face to face, in the arcade.
Review 12 for Virtua Fighter 5
Not a fighting game, but a fighting simulator
Posted on:4/13/07
Neuco
This game should be classified as a fighting simulator, not a fighting game. Yu Suzuki (creator of the Virtua Fighter series) does not want this game to be online, because he feels the current online structure will not allow for hit-by-hit accurate fights. Just the tinyiest bit of lag will throw off a game between competitive players. If Ridge Racer is an arcade racer, and Gran Turismo is a racing sim, then Dead Or Alive 4 = Ridge Racer and Virtua Fighter 5 = Gran Turismo. I would expect there to be some online functionality, however, more then likely in the form of downloadable content and leaderboards.
Review 13 for Virtua Fighter 5
Return of the king!!
Posted on:2/26/07
chalavet
Don't listen to mike - he doesn't know what he is talking about - Vitua Fighter 4 owned every single fighting game the previous generation, and it is going to do the same thing. Don't get me wrong, Dead or Alive is a fun fighting game; but as far as a real game that separates the boys from the men, it is going to be Virtua Fighter 5. Don't believe the game is solid? Virtua Fighter 4 Evolution got rated as the best fighting game ever by GMR magazine back when it was distributed by EB Games.
Review 14 for Virtua Fighter 5
Great game
Posted on:2/27/07
VF Fan
Don't listen to Mike he has no idea what a good fighting game is. The Virtua Fighter series is second to none and easily beats the graphics over gameplay DOA. This game is awesome for PS3 and I am sure Sega will do a great job porting it to 360, and no the 360 is not Dreamcast; if it was it would work and not overheat/break as much as it does. Don't mean to offend any one with my last comment but it's a fact that 360 owners (including my self) know all to well.
Review 15 for Virtua Fighter 5
Not the best choice for casual gamers.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:10/10/12
Habast
Location: AZ
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This is a very deep fighter that takes a lot of work to get good at (even for a fighting game), so if you're just looking for a game to hang out and play with your buddies on a lazy afternoon... This might not be the best choice for you. HOWEVER, if you happen to be an avid fighting game fan who loves learning deep and complicated systems, Virtua Fighter 5 is one of the best.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Virtua Fighter 5
Huh
Posted on:2/17/07
Raph
There is no comparison between this and DOA, period. Perhaps on the surface, but no fighting game has ever matched the depht of VF. The balance between fun and challenge is what makes this game. It's definitely not for everyone, but those with the patience will find it much more rewarding than any DOA game. I don't mean to diss on DOA, they're fun in their own right, but seriously dude, no comparison.
Review 17 for Virtua Fighter 5
Online, better graphics..ofcourse!
Posted on:8/31/07
Promo55
Thats got to hurt some PS3 fan boys, never mind the ones that happen to be VF fans. Not online did they add the online (which just makes the game 300% better) but they've worked on the graphics and upgraded them, maybe not massively, but enough that they said they did. I'll admit the PS3 has some nice offering but it's just a happy ending when Microsoft snags on of them and improves on it.
Review 18 for Virtua Fighter 5
WHAT?
Posted on:10/23/07
WHAT AGAIN?
If you think that adding online to an already great game will make it in anyway worse, then you are truly an idiot. Adding a feature, even a mediocre one (not that online is mediocre) can never make a good game bad. If you don't want to play online, find someone in your community that plays (good luck) and go to their house, or just play singleplayer.
Review 19 for Virtua Fighter 5
A Good Balance
Posted on:2/21/07
A Customer
Virtua Fighter always had a healthy balance between the bloodshed and gameplay. Some games use blood too gratuitously and take much of the fun away from the game. I for one find it much easier selling a fighter that is rated Teen versus some of these mature titles. Sure we all have fun with GTA, but at some point it really does become too much.
Review 20 for Virtua Fighter 5
online = good thing.
Posted on:10/11/07
A Customer
Probably been playing Virtua Fighter longer than you have, and i've been waiting for online play since virtua fighter 4, you don't have to buy it online, if you're that much of a scrub who can't switch up your game plan to meet/match the latency and the lag, you can just go back to mashing buttons with eddy gordo and stop whining, later.
1 2 3 next>>