GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Virtua Fighter 5

This new installment in the critically-acclaimed Virtua Fighter series packs a serious punch fueled by the power of the Xbox 360 video game and entertainment system. Virtua Fighter 5 will have an all-star cast of 17 fighters, including characters from the previous iterations along with two new characters named El Blaze and Eileen. El Blaze is a Mexican fighting champion that defeats unsuspecting opponents with his lightning-quick Lucha Libre fighting style and Eileen uses a Monkey Kung Fu fighting style which she learned from her grandfather, a former Kung Fu master. Choose from an array of costumes and attachable items and then step into the ring and prove that you're the best.
Average Customer Rating:
8.667
8.7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (49 reviews)
10 stars
5
9 stars
2
8 stars
0
7 stars
1
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 989%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Virtua Fighter 5
Review 1 for Virtua Fighter 5
Not the best choice for casual gamers.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:10/10/12
Habast
Location: AZ
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This is a very deep fighter that takes a lot of work to get good at (even for a fighting game), so if you're just looking for a game to hang out and play with your buddies on a lazy afternoon... This might not be the best choice for you. HOWEVER, if you happen to be an avid fighting game fan who loves learning deep and complicated systems, Virtua Fighter 5 is one of the best.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Virtua Fighter 5
It's Good But..
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/12/12
megomont
Location: MA
This game is perfect for: party gamers
Gameplay is confusing ( to me) Some attacks aren't the best, And the characters could use some work. Overall, it's awesome. Cool combos, Character costumes, And special,unique moves. So in a one-sentence review I would say good but needs work.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Virtua Fighter 5
This Game Is...
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/21/11
NewWaveNinja
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
...really hard. That doesn't mean it's not really fun, as well. It's very addictive, once you're used to it. Now, on to more detailed descriptions...There are 17 playable characters, each with a unique and surprisingly fluid fighting style. The fighting styles range from Ninjutsu to Drunken Fist (or to be formal, Drunken Boxing) and just about every other solid way to beat something up that you could actually WANT to use in a video game! The Quest Mode is very easy to grasp but, it requires you to create a custom version of any available character, as you can only play Quest using custom characters, not the main versions already available. I don't mean just, change name, suit color, blah, blah, blah, I mean you can completely change the character, right down to the EYE COLOR!!! But, you can't change fighting style (the one downside to this game). You can use custom characters in all game modes! As you play Quest, you can go to tournaments and prove your awesomess as your new superwarrior by beating other fighters, getting cool new stuff, and earning ranks. Also, you can play any tournament, at any time! C'mon. how cool is that??? All in all, I highly recommend this game, to fighting fans and hardcore gamers, alike!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Virtua Fighter 5
Not for the casual gamers, still satisfying
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/27/11
DragonbornKing
Location: Detroit Michigan
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I got Virtua Fighter 5 two years ago and I still play it just as much as I first. The graphics are crisp and lively but I'm here to talk about the game not how it looks. I'll be honest here, this game is very technical. When I started I tried to do some cool moves and got destroyed. In VF5 button mashing will get you nowhere. Its all about skill, patience and pure luck. There are no special moves, no secret attacks and no 10 hit combos just pure 1 on 1 fighting, with counters, various stances and moves for each character and a very deep quest mode. Although 17 characters isn't much in a fighting game, the sheer uniqueness of each character makes up for it. I have never seen a character in any fighting game use pankration or vale tudo, realistic fighting styles. Overall, VF5 will demand and expect you to know both your character and the mechanics of the game. If you want a challenging realistic fighting game that is great when you put time into it, look no further. Also the customization is extremely amazing.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 5 for Virtua Fighter 5
A bad version of mortal kombat
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:5/30/11
RedandBlack
Location: Rego Park
Less magic effects, less character detail, less interesting characters/weapons. Save your money, get Soul Caliber or Mortal Kombat instead.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
1 of 18 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Virtua Fighter 5
Burst Of Fun
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:4/10/11
SuperSayianBeyond5
Location: NY
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
It was very fun for a short time but I found the variety of characters lacking and it becoming repetitious I got bored very quickly.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 7 for Virtua Fighter 5
great sega game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/9/10
dsi player1234
This fighting game is great. The graphics are good the characters moves and sklls are awesome and The challenges is great. The charaters are good even each onehas a different skill. The special moves of them are really realistic. The grphics are great and the online is very fun. You can make a character but with the same form and look. Also the difficulty is fun and hard but thats is supose to be. The stages are beautiful and really reallistic, and when you are fighting you can fall out the ring or theres a part of a river and you are in a boat you fll in the water like a real person will happen. There are more but im not going to spoiled it. I recommened it.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Virtua Fighter 5
Great Game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/7/08
Game Fan 123
I used to be a fan of only Street Fighter and Mortal Kombat but lately have started branching out to the other franchises and I'm very glad I did! Virtua Fighter 5 is one of those games that any fan of arcade fighting games should appreciate. The controls are simple at first but you will soon find yourself immersed in layer after layer of depth as the fighting system is second to none as far as realism goes. The visuals are very clear and crisp. You will especially enjoy the rippling water on the stages that have puddles or water around them. The stages themselves are very artfully done, and seem to be just the right size to add strategy to the fighting (some are caged in, and others are left open for 'ring out' opportunities). One thing that really stands out to me on this title is the soundtrack. It is kind of like, techno-elevator music, but it works. It's actually very cool music and it complements the game well. I'm surprised to see this game for such a low price. I highly recommend it. I will say this though. If you don't want to spend a little time learning the complexities of the fighting system here, than you might be better off with an easier game like Mortal Kombat vs. DC (which is also great).
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Virtua Fighter 5
The best 3-d and the most technical
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/30/08
Xbox Pro
The Controls are well responding. The only problem is the the dreaded Xbox 360 D-pad. Overall the controls are adaptable for most gamers. As for the Graphics, it is flawless. The sweat, the clothes, the har, the enviroments, everything is just beautiful. Every Character is well thought out and are organized. Every character is unique with each an individual move list. Every character differs in size, and all are either slow but strong, or fast but weak, everyting is well sought out. The Sound is very clear, hearable, and does not sound like Sonic the hedgehog for the 360. Well, there isnt lots of fireballs and energy blasts, but damn, there are enough awesomness to the game as it is! Storylines are pretty much the same, Tournament here, veangence there, rivals everywhere, not much to talk about. Unlockables, well, ther's plenty of accessaries and characters to unlock with complicated ways for each individual item. Above all, Virtua Fighter should be for either Graphic hogs, complicated games, or hardcore long playing hour games. I give it 2 thumbs up : )
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Virtua Fighter 5
Sweet...
Posted on:10/30/07
Anti-Reptlian...
I've been having this game for the past week and a half and it is beautiful, one of the best fighting games I've played so far. I used to hate Virtua Fighter because it was incredibly crappy up to 3 and because it was always behind in graphical power compared to Tekken 1 which came out a year before VF1 and V2 which for it's time it looked and played extremely bad and very dated...3 was 2 with slightly better graphics and some added characters and levels...but 4 changed everything and they finally did a good job. Anyway, this fighting game rules, it plays beautifully, it looks insane (which sounds like an understatement) and everything is a 10 out of 10 in this game...the 360 version has slightly better graphics, lots of gameplay tweaks and live play between others...of course I couldn't play live yet since nobody has the game yet...
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Virtua Fighter 5
Clueless!
Posted on:10/25/07
Must read this please!
Wow this game is great i love the fighting and the graphics it is much more realistic and better than most fighting games out there you must buy it because the moves are easy to execute than the last VF but can yo u unlock costumes without playing online because if you can its the best fighter!
Review 12 for Virtua Fighter 5
VF Online = Godly
Posted on:10/24/07
DGouki
When I found out VF5 is gonna be online, I thought it was the best news in gaming history. Seriously, this and Soulcalibur and BY FAR the best and most technical fighting games to date, and being able to play it online is godly, as I have no competition without it and fighting games are useless without competition. As far as latency goes, Dead or Alive 4 had great online play without frame delays, so I don't see why AM2 and Sega can't achieve the saming thing in VF5...allowing advanced players to execute moves in single-frame precision. PLEASE Sega, perfect the online mode! If they do, this will be the best game ever made.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Virtua Fighter 5
rofl at people who say ONLINE IS GOD!!11
Posted on:10/24/07
spike
Here are some facts. VF5 will be a great fighting game. It will have great graphics. It will have online play. Gears of War was a great shooting game. It had great graphics. It had online play. There was host advantage that made online play impossible to tell who was truly better, and was not nearly as faced paced as VF5 intends to be. Point being, online play will be a good place to chill, play some scrubs and maybe LOOK like you're doing good. You may even be able to be the best online, which COULD translate to being the best in real life, but it will never be proven unless you play face to face, in the arcade.
Review 14 for Virtua Fighter 5
WHAT?
Posted on:10/23/07
WHAT AGAIN?
If you think that adding online to an already great game will make it in anyway worse, then you are truly an idiot. Adding a feature, even a mediocre one (not that online is mediocre) can never make a good game bad. If you don't want to play online, find someone in your community that plays (good luck) and go to their house, or just play singleplayer.
Review 15 for Virtua Fighter 5
Online = Still Good
Posted on:10/21/07
NotDan
"Online's going to ruin Virtua Fighter 5," you've proved one thing by saying that, you're a complete moron. If you don't like online mode, simple option: don't play it. Adding in a new game mode is not ruining a game mode, maybe it will show you that you don't have any friends, but you shouldn't be angry at others because they do, and if you are throwing such a hissy fit about it send SEGA an E-mail, I'm sure they'll take out their new game mode just to please you. Stick to single player, we don't want you Dan.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Virtua Fighter 5
online still = bad
Posted on:10/15/07
10th Dan
"if you're that much of a scrub who can't switch up your game plan to meet/match the latency and the lag, you can just go back to mashing buttons with eddy gordo and stop whining, later." And you just proved you havent been playing it as long as me. If by meeting / matching letency, you mean totally avoiding Tech Characters sure i can do that. I still don't see why not being able to pick 4-6 different characters because of lag is a good thing. This game isn't a button masher, timing and smooth gameplay is one of the most important factors in this game to pull off some of the best moves. Go back to tekken. Live will ruin this game.
Review 17 for Virtua Fighter 5
VF5 will rule
Posted on:10/13/07
Kage Maru
The only VF game I have is VF2 for the Sega Saturn. It is almost as good as DOA 3. You can't tell me that VF 5 won't beat DOA4, thats just stupid. Virtua Fighter is the best fighting game EVER.
Review 18 for Virtua Fighter 5
online = good thing.
Posted on:10/11/07
A Customer
Probably been playing Virtua Fighter longer than you have, and i've been waiting for online play since virtua fighter 4, you don't have to buy it online, if you're that much of a scrub who can't switch up your game plan to meet/match the latency and the lag, you can just go back to mashing buttons with eddy gordo and stop whining, later.
Review 19 for Virtua Fighter 5
Online = bad thing
Posted on:10/10/07
10th Dan
Moves and combos in this game require timing down to a single frame. This is the reason it wasn't online from the start. Host advantage and this game is ruined. Play it at the arcade not online....
Review 20 for Virtua Fighter 5
Played Great
Posted on:10/9/07
Arc
I played the PS3 verison and it was GREAT. The game flowed very well and the action was nonstop. Even if you are just a random buttom masher or a pro its still fun and even a masher can get a few moves over the pro. What I mean is the PS3 verison was good the 360 verison is going to be even better.
1 2 3 next>>