GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Grand Theft Auto IV

What does the American Dream mean today? For Niko Bellic, fresh off the boat from Europe, it is the hope he can escape his past. For his cousin, Roman, it is the vision that together they can find fortune in Liberty City, gateway to the land of opportunity. As they slip into debt and are dragged into a criminal underworld by a series of shysters, thieves and sociopaths, they discover that the reality is very different from the dream in a city that worships money and status, and is heaven for those who have them and a living nightmare for those who don't.
Average Customer Rating:
8.92
8.9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (905 reviews)
10 stars
300
9 stars
88
8 stars
32
7 stars
23
6 stars
11
5 stars
8
4 stars
6
3 stars
5
2 stars
0
1 star
17
433 out of 49088%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Grand Theft Auto IV
Review 1 for Grand Theft Auto IV
Grand Theft Auto IV is a truly impressive 360 game that should'nt be missed.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/21/08
Vashkey
Grand Theft Auto IV is a game you've most certainly heard of. A large open world action game. Hell, I wouldn't be surprised if most of the people reading have the games, Im just here to give my two cent, so lets get on with it. Grand Theft Auto sets you in the large metropolis of Liberty. You progress through the main story by completing mission that you get from various characters and these missions can be completed in many different orders and fashions, making it a very open ended (Why it's called open ended). While it is for the most part an open ended game, don't let the idea get to your head, it's not as if the game will craft an entirely different story for everyone. Their can be some minor differences, but for the most part the game fallows one main story. Now, that we have the basics down we can get the actual gameplay. When in combat, Grand Theft Auto IV Plays much like Gears of War. You can get behind cover by pressing the Right bumper. Locking on target is done by pressing the left trigger and the right trigger shoot. Most of this is pretty basic stuff you've probably learned from other shooters, Gears of War and Call of Duty 4 especially, and it all works very well. Combat wise my only real complaint is that sometimes you might take cover behind something you didn't intend to on occasion, but it's no big deal. I also have to say I think it's really strange that in a modern action game such as this that instead of recharging health, you have the old fashioned health bars that you have to worry about, making you desperately look for health pack, armor and vendors if your in a sticky situation. For vehicle controls, all I can really say is that you'll either like it or hate it. The vehicle controls are more realistic and in line with what you'd see in Gran Turismo Forza Motor sport. It takes more skill to drive cars in this game than in the usual action game. It's not as difficult as the racing games mentioned earlier, but don't be surprised if you spin out of control in same car chases. You'll either get the hang of it, or you wont, and if you don't, may God have pity on your soul. In GTA IV, you have a cell phone and while its pretty cool sometimes, It has it's downs as well, First I've gotta say the text on that thing is to small, and I've got an HD TV. It's not unreadable, but you really have to look hard. Then there's also your friends in the game. There's also your friends in the game. At first you wont mind going out with them, but as you get further into the game it get really annoying, but if you don't go out with your friend they'll start getting angry... I suppose it's not a big deal though I guess. It's all optional and most characters wont really do anything if they get angry at you other than maybe not assist you with some of their services, but I'm sure it'll still bother people a bit. Really, it's nothing big, it's just a minor annoyance. Also, you can only save in safe houses... which can be a bit inconvenient if your pressed for time. The game looks fantastic really. It's hard to believe the game is so detailed based on it's epic scale(It's the biggest game I have ever played). The only problem is that there is some texture pop ups every now and then, but the game is still rather impressive and it's easily one of the best looking games I have ever had the pleasure of playing. I'd also like to note that the new euphoria physics engine used for this game is utterly fantastic. The voice acting it's excellent and the ambience of the city is perfect. The licensed soundtrack for the radio stations have great variety and are of the highest quality and the original track for the game are great to. Honestly, if there weren't an achievement for it, I wouldn't believe, but the game can be beaten in under thirty hours, but Im sure the average is higher. Personally it took me around forty hours to beat the game. There's a lot to do here. Once you've beaten the game you will most certainly have a lot of missions l
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
219 of 240 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
jitterbug
the place i live at
 
Please wait while more information about jitterbug is loaded.
Additional information about jitterbug could not be loaded.
AWESOME!!!!!. cant wait for new 1
Posted 4/3/11
i play this at my freinds house and love it.its fun to do missions and free roam. there will be a new one that takes place in boston.cant wait!!!
Customer Avatar
toeddeerhunter
York SC
 
Please wait while more information about toeddeerhunter is loaded.
Additional information about toeddeerhunter could not be loaded.
BEST GAME EVER
Posted 3/5/11
if you want a good game get this 1.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 2 for Grand Theft Auto IV
very cool when using cheats
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/5/13
THAT1CHEETAH
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
love this game but someone please teach me how to use mods. When using mods its so awesome like Bugatti veyron
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 3 for Grand Theft Auto IV
Amazing Game, Great Multiplayer
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/30/13
DontSweatMySwaqq
Location: Belleville IL
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game great. GTA V is obviously way better, but i think gta 4 is still pretty good. The stroy line is awesome, the characters suck you into the story.... Alot, and the gameplay is great. There are a few missions that are really annoying, but if you can look past that, i'd recommend you to buy this game
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Grand Theft Auto IV
this game is the best
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/3/13
zackwalsh
This game is perfect for: party gamers
this game rocks play in a party it is better if you play with your friends ps friend me on xbox I am easthockey21
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Grand Theft Auto IV
Decent but not what I want
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:9/28/13
Dillan
Location: Shenandoah, Virginia
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Bought this expecting an experience close to San Andreas, feel jipped. If you're looking for a good GTA experience on current gen, just go the full mile and get GTAV, because the gloomy depressiveness of this game will not satisfy you anywhere near as much as the lightheartedness and awesome story of the next.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Review 6 for Grand Theft Auto IV
A game that lacks effort.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:8/28/13
TetZjon
Location: Philadelphia
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
The storyline was ok when I finished it but there was nothing else to do then I played GTA multiplayer and the party I was in was very laggy and glitchy. Not as good as CoD multiplayer.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Grand Theft Auto IV
Horrible, let me down alot
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:8/20/13
Chipper221
I didn't like this game at all. It seems its a step down from San Andreas, you can barely customize your character. You can't customize cars, and you can't fly airplanes only a helicopter. The game really let me down and i wish i could get my money back cause i hate the game.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 8 for Grand Theft Auto IV
Not The Best Grand Theft Auto
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:7/7/13
2013CODFAN
Location: Melvin,MI
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I mean this Grand theft auto was not bad, I enjoyed this one a lot, but at times it will get repetitive, I mean its not better than San Andreas, they could have made grand theft auto 4 much better, here are some reasons why: First off you can barely change your clothes, the cheats are boring, there are not a lot of weapons, I guess the city is ''ok'' in my opinion., and there is not too much to do when the story is over, which makes it boring after you beat the game, but I still do like this Grand theft Auto very much. I give it 3 and half out of 5 stars.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 9 for Grand Theft Auto IV
You can never go wrong with GTA!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/21/13
basketball1650
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
i love this game.it is a must buy. around $20 its a good deal.if you love 3rd person shooters.and free roam.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 10 for Grand Theft Auto IV
Great game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/3/13
LordyLord
Location: Holbrook
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I think this game is very fun and I can't wait for the fifth one!!!! I think the graphics are great and the multiplayer is awesome as well as the story mode
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 11 for Grand Theft Auto IV
THE BEST GAME I HAVE EVER PLAYED
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/24/13
TheComebackKid555
Location: Baton Rouge, Louisiana
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game was so awesome that I stayed up three nights winning the whole game, and being stupid in the game. From the cops, hot chicks, and the violence, this game has the right to be the top game of all time.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 12 for Grand Theft Auto IV
The Best Of Rockstar
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:5/20/13
GAMEMEISTER
Location: NY
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I love this game! i always look forward to playing even though i beat it! And Dont even get me started on the amazing multiplayer! Then they add DLC Genius. overall this is one of the best games i have ever played!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Grand Theft Auto 4 Ballad of Gay Tony - Xbox 360 Live Marketplace 1600 Points
9.5 out of 10(11)
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 13 for Grand Theft Auto IV
my favorite rock star game since bully
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/14/13
SorrowTGOD
Location: Sandpoint ID
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
its a brilliant game with a great plot a story line. it never gets old ! i believe its the best rock star game yet.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 14 for Grand Theft Auto IV
Worst GTA Game in the Series
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:5/3/13
psfanatic98
You would think that this game would have been better than the old gta games, but think again, it is definitely a step backwards from san andreas. I personally thought that when you release a new game your suppose to beat out the previous one. This game just sucks, the main character niko is boring and lacks personality compared to the protagonists from the old games. The story is boring and not all that interesting and they took away everything that they put into san andreas. Im not saying that it should be a gta san andreas clone but at least keep some of the cool stuff that the game featured. This game disappointed me so much that I didn't even finish the story, I just looked at the walkthrough on youtube so I could see how the story turned out. If you haven't played this game yet don't, the driving sucks, the only thing that this game has on the old games is the graphics, detail, and physics, other than that this is a step backwards to gta 3. Don't waste your money or time on this game just wait until Grand Theft Auto 5 Comes out.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Grand Theft Auto IV
gta 4
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/14/13
basketball1650
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
i love this game. it is the best gta i have played.i am expecting gta 5 to be better. this game is pretty long. awesome graphics and good quality sound.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 16 for Grand Theft Auto IV
Best Game of My Opinion.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/15/13
agatewood
Location: Lake Village, IN
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I have played many GTA games throughout my time but nothing comes close to GTA IV, this game is the real deal. If you like any games that are humurous or just free play, this game is for you. It has an incredible story line and the side missions will keep you playing for hours. I definitely recommend this game to anyone, the gameplay is amazing, the graphics are sharp, and the sound is great.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 17 for Grand Theft Auto IV
i think it is a great game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/29/13
gager
Location: new york, ny
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
gta iv is a great game I think it is worth buying I play this game great game like I said it is a great game I would buy it but that's my best choice of grand theft auto
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 18 for Grand Theft Auto IV
Everything Grand Theft Auto should be
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/29/13
maasman
Location: Ohio
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is great you have so much you can do and it's easy to find yourself spending aimless hours of fun. It still has that sorta deep grit story GTA offers. It still could have been better they could have had more customization but don't let that take away from the great gameplay GTA has to offer. All in all if your looking for a fun game to play hours on end than get this
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 19 for Grand Theft Auto IV
a classic city game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/28/12
Executioner1032
Location: Westport, CT
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
first off I would like to point out that I am a big fan of city games in general. I have played many and I know which ones are good. I would also like to say that although this game is fun it is not the best city game I have played, mafia 2 is. Many people ask weather gta is better than saints row. their both great series but overall I would say gta tops saints row. Anyways in this gta the main character (nico bellic) is told by his cousin to come to America. nico is convinced that his cousin is living the American dream but when nico arrives its nothing like he had expected. Then one bad thing leads to another and all of a sudden your risking your life every day for money. If you have played red dead redemption then this game shouldn't be confusing but if you haven't the way you go from mission to mission is on your map you'll see the first letters of the names of your payer. all you have to do next is go to it then youll be able to play the mission. sometimes you will need smart clthes and shoes which you can get at a persues. for buying guns you will need to be far in the game to get the better guns. another thing I want to add is that this game is also very hard. harder than any other city game I have played and one of the reasons is that if you die during a mission you'll start over from the very beginning of the mission. The reasons why I liked mafia 2 a little better than gta is because in gta you do very short and quick missions but in mafia 2 its a lot longer missions which is good because the missions are a little more fun. the gta missions are a little repetitive. its usually just drug exchange and killing people for money. another reason why is that in mafia 2 I had more felling towards the characters than in gta. a bad city game that you don't want to get is just cause 2 it is horrible. this game is simply worth getting as are the dlc.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 20 for Grand Theft Auto IV
Awesome
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/24/12
Naton
Location: Muskegon, MI
Overall i really liked this game and its the best gta to date. The Graphics and sounds blew the others away and gameplay was awesome. You have endless possiblities of things you can do. The storyline was great and i like how when you shoot someone of steal a car its much more realistic than the other gta's. The only flaw i could find that it has glitches sometimes and all the gtas have it so they havent fixed that yet but overall the game is awesome, and its a must buy
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 2 3 4 5 ... 46 next>>