GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Accessories or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Wii Wireless Sensor Bar

The Wii Wireless Sensor Bar allows you to play your favorite Wii games up to 25 feet away and with the wireless technology, you can place the Sensor Bar anywhere in the room with no restrictive cables.
Average Customer Rating:
6.667
6.7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (41 reviews)
10 stars
3
9 stars
1
8 stars
2
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
1
6 out of 967%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Wii Wireless Sensor Bar
Review 1 for Wii Wireless Sensor Bar
:(
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:12/30/11
Kodman
Location: Columbus, NE
Age: Under 13
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
it sucks. i bought it so i could play farther away. it was the SAME range as the reg one. NEVER buying from Nyko again!!
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
0 of 12 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
smiller
 
Please wait while more information about smiller is loaded.
Additional information about smiller could not be loaded.
Posted 1/10/12
I hated this thing only had it for less than 24hrs and took it back and traded for a wired one. The cursor from the wii-mote would not stay steady to click on what I was trying to do, tried repositioning it from over tv to under andchanged it in settings. Also tried re-doing the sensitivity to see if that helped...nope. I would not recomend this to a friend I thought the increased range would be cool but w/an already small room it wouldn't help much :(
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 2 for Wii Wireless Sensor Bar
No More Wires:)
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/16/11
grady
Location: mobile, alabama
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
With this device you dont have to worry about getting your sensor bar's wire with your av wires.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Wii Wireless Sensor Bar
a waste of money.....
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Value: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:11/26/10
gwisdalla640
Location: san antonio,tx
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
product works ok but the batteries die WAY to fast. a complete waste of money. I've tried all types of batteries and the same thing one day they die. poor design.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Value: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
8 of 14 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
jennz0021
 
Please wait while more information about jennz0021 is loaded.
Additional information about jennz0021 could not be loaded.
Posted 3/25/12
Just buy rechargable batteries!!!!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 4 for Wii Wireless Sensor Bar
Awesome!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/4/09
manahtn
The Nyko wireless sensor bar is so much better than the standard wired sensor bar that comes with the Wii. I went to move my sensor bar and hadn't noticed it was hung up and wound up breaking the very thin cable. . The new sensor bar seems to be more responsive and is WAY more stable. It used to be kinda tricky using the web browser or entering codes to add Wii points because the finger you use to select different characters (letters or numbers), the new sensor bar doesn't have the jumpy finger that made trying to do other things a pain. It does require 4 AA batteries and would whole heartedly recommend getting rechargable batteries and a charger. It would also be nice since it is battery powered to automatically shut off if you're not using the wii motes (using classic controllers, Game Cube coltrollers, etc...). It does have an alarm if you choose to turn it on to remind you it is on. I would highly recommend this and rechargable batteries!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
9 of 13 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Wii Wireless Sensor Bar
Nice Wireless Sensor
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/1/09
amtop
I have wanted a wireless sensor for a while now. I like the idea of being able to put it in a drawer when I am finished playing along with my Wii remotes. The sensor is larger than the Nintendo sensor. I would say the Nyko sensor is slightly larger than two Nintendo sensors placed on top of each other. The Nyko sensor is definitely heavier especially with batteries. The sensor works just as well as the Nintendo sensor. However, the vertical sensitivity is not as good as the Nintendo sensor. What I mean is if I hold the Wii remote at about chest level (I am 6'5" tall) the Wii remote cuts out as if I am not pointing at the TV. I never hold the remote that high though so it doesn't really matter. The blue light is very annoying. So much that I placed a piece of black electrical tape with a little hole in it the size of a pin over the light. Now less light gets through and it is much better. I am serious when I say the light was annoying. My couch is fairly low to the ground and the sensor is just about eye level so the light was shining right into my eye balls. The other annoying feature is the audible tone that sounds when the auto shut off is about to occur. I solved this by opening up the sensor and using a wire cutter to remove the little speaker. There are around 6-8 screws holding the sensor together and with a steady hand it wasn't difficult to do. Now the blue light will flash when the auto shut of is about to occur but I get no audible tone. The auto off feature is a nice touch but would have been better with a 3 and 4 hour setting in addition to the 1 and 2 hour setting for people like me who tend to play in 3-4 hour shifts when my wife goes to bed. I suggest using slow discharge rechargeable batteries like Duracell Pre-Charge AA NiMH batteries to keep battery costs down. I gave the sensor an 8 out of 10 due to the Light being too bright and the audible tone that occurs when the auto shut off is about to occur. I feel since the blue light flashes when the auto shut off is about to occur there is no need for an annoying audible tone. I was able to fix both of these problems however and now it is nearly perfect. I would give a 8.5 out of 10 if it was possible.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 6 for Wii Wireless Sensor Bar
FYI
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/10/08
Deadpen
Okay I've seen some people have talked about this thing turning off on you while playing. Okay if you would read the instructions that comes with it you would see it tells you what to do for this, heck if you would just look on the back of the bar you will see 2hr, 1hr, off. This is a flag to READ YOUR INSTRUCTIONS. You can have it auto turn off in two hours or even one hour, you know when it is about to go off because the little blue light flashes, just get up and touch the button again OR you could switch it to OFF. Yeah OFF, this is the position of the switch that TURNS OFF THE AUTO OFF FUNCTION. To let you in on something, my eight year old son found the switch as soon as it was out of the tube and asked me what it dose. Don't put a product down until you READ EVERYTHING THAT COMES WITH IT.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
12 of 13 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Wii Wireless Sensor Bar
Good product-get the job done
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/19/08
Game Guru
Well, my little brother vacuums over our wii sensor bar cutting into two pieces..... This annoyed me. I had to get a new one for my wii..... This product is awesome-plenty of ingenious ways to save battery like a timer that goes off every one or two hours and shuts the sensor bar off, but the timer can be shut off. Unlike the wii sensor bar it can be used from a closer range. It doesn't require any cord or socket to connect to so it is very easy to store or hide =0. Overall if you’re looking for a replacement for your wii sensor bar this is the way to go if you and only if YOU HAVE RECHARGEABLE BATTERIES. Not that it sucks batteries but it would be annoying to be switch 4 batteries every month or so. Great product worth the time and little amount of money. Love it!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Wii Wireless Sensor Bar
dont listen
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:5/11/08
pnknrck
So my nintendo sensor bar broke, and I needed a new one. I decided to go with this product. This is a good product. It needs batteries, but other then that I don't see a reason not to buy it. It's nice not to have another wire to look at. I have heard that it doesn't read to the amount it says it does which is at about 25 ft or so, but I don't have a huge area to play in and have never had a problem. But I've only gotten about 15 ft, maybe a little more from it. Another nice feature is that you can set a reminder to turn it off at 1 hour or 2 hours use or just not put one on at all. The battery life has been about 5 or 6 hours, maybe more. If your sensor bar stops working, or you don't like the long wire, go ahead and get it, I don't regret it.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Wii Wireless Sensor Bar
Worst thing I've bought for Wii so far.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:5/5/08
Georgey
This wireless Wii sensor bar is no doubt the worst thing I've bought for Wii thus far. First of all, if you move it even the slightest, it can turn off immediately. Also, it is almost three times the height of the Wii sensor bar that actually comes with the Wii. The wireless part is great until it turns off right when you're playing or doing anything with the Wii remote. It starts off as a great product, but then suddenly losses its edge during gameplay, surfing the web, or anything else needing use of the Wii remote. I have bought three seeing if they would work any different and none of them work even one-tenth as well as the original Wii sensor bar. So if your Wii sensor bar breaks, this is definitely not the product to buy. If you have any issues with your sensor bar do not, I repeat, DO NOT, buy this product.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
4 of 12 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Wii Wireless Sensor Bar
I will definately be getting one
Posted on:2/24/07
Joe
I can't wait until this thing comes out. I have my sensor bar sitting on top of my 42" LG and when I have 4 people over to play, it gets kinda crowded in front of the tv, so with the wireless one, we can stand pretty much anywhere as long as it is witin 30 feet...Also, if you have bought the new game, Wii Play w/free remote, I highly recommend that as well. There are 9 games on it and they are really fun, like ping pong, etc........
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Wii Wireless Sensor Bar
Someone asked: Why buy this?
Posted on:2/23/07
A Customer
Buy this not for it's wireless capabilities but for it's extended operating range! The normal Wii sensor bar is so weak that, if you play at a comfortable distance from a big screen TV, the cursor bounces around the screen like a game of pong. Previews from major gaming sites suggest that this new sensor bar DOUBLES the range of standard sensor bar. Wireless, attractive, affordable, AND makes for a better gaming experience??? Count me in.
Review 12 for Wii Wireless Sensor Bar
Will Be Great Those Who Move There Wii Around A Lot
Posted on:2/22/07
TylerGamer84
Great for those who are tired of moving the TV to hide the Sensor Bar wire so small children won't pull it down, or who have a vehicle with a plug and A/V hookups. And it will allow simpler hookup for those who carry the Wii around to different places.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Wii Wireless Sensor Bar
perfect for my setup
Posted on:2/18/07
JB
This would be ideal for me because i have the wii setup through a 5.1/music studio setup that requires the wii to be hooked up for from my tv, which means i have to drag the sensor cord across the room everytime i play and hope no one trips over it. this will be awesome... my only complaint might be that since this is 3rd party, it might not work quite as well...? (anyone have a thought?) thanks
Review 14 for Wii Wireless Sensor Bar
Yay
Posted on:2/18/07
Mr. Bob
This is such a relief. When I got my Wii the first thing I noticed was the width of the sensor bar chord. It was so small! If i accidentally run over it with my chair or something, it's gonna go down the drain and I'll have to buy a new Wii if I still want to play more. All I gotta say is "THANK YOU NINTENDO!!!!"
Review 15 for Wii Wireless Sensor Bar
Why bother
Posted on:2/16/07
Shadow
why bother even thinking of buying this, the cord is way long enough, and if you don't want a thin cord, use a pair of candles, or make one, totally useless
Review 16 for Wii Wireless Sensor Bar
yesssss
Posted on:2/15/07
jap
i cant wait i hate my wired one it gets tangled up way to muchi hateit thank you nintendo for coming out wit this
Review 17 for Wii Wireless Sensor Bar
will rock
Posted on:2/14/07
A Customer
this will rock cuz i transfer from my parents houses on weekends and mine gets tangled and cracked so i need this sens nintendo dosent resell original sensor only problem is it takes 4 AA batteries
Review 18 for Wii Wireless Sensor Bar
gabsab.com
Posted on:2/14/07
A Customer
The senor bar is actually 6 infared transmitters, and only used the wii for power. so one can actually just find some infared transmitters (like the ones in your tv remotes), and hook it up to a battery to play your wii. but this is official, so will probably be of better quality unless you are an electronics expert, which i am not.
Review 19 for Wii Wireless Sensor Bar
Not Really Needed
Posted on:2/14/07
Some Dude
For those of you who have TV's too big to place your sensor on top of your TV, I would recomend this. It's not a product worth celebrating about and that's the only positive comment I can say/type. This will drain your batteries as much as the wiimote. It's also easy to forget to turn off the sensor after playing wii, which will continue to drain your batteries. If you happen to get this, I strongly recommend getting Rayovac (I forgot how it's spelled) fifteen minuit rechargible batteries. The paranoid gamers may think that this will drain less of the Wii's power, but there almost no benefit in performance by dropping the voltage by like, .3. This is not a must buy, but it's o.k. if the stock sensor cord is too short for you.
Review 20 for Wii Wireless Sensor Bar
Wireless=Better
Posted on:2/14/07
A Customer
I'm going to get this as soon as it comes out. I don't know about everyone else, but the original one just didn't work for the arrangment of my basement. I was hoping nintendo would make a wireless and longer range since i have a 47" tv and my furnature arranged a good 10-12 feet away from the tv. I have to move my furniture to play the wii plus place my sensor bar at a weird angle, so i think this is going to make my enjoyment of the wii better.
1 2 3 next>>