GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Diddy Kong Racing

A bloated space pig has taken control of Diddy Kong's Island paradise and only you can stop his nefarious plot! Take on the racing challenge of a lifetime as you drive, hover and fly your way across the massive island. This remastered take on a Nintendo 64 classic is sure to rev the engines of adventure racing fans everywhere!
Average Customer Rating:
8.333
8.3
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
10 stars
7
9 stars
5
8 stars
3
7 stars
0
6 stars
1
5 stars
0
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
14 out of 1878%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Diddy Kong Racing
Review 1 for Diddy Kong Racing
Diddy Kong Racing DS Review
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/16/10
KH_Lover
I loved this game on the Nintendo 64 and I love it on the Nintendo DS. It’s really hard for me to decide which version is better. Anyway, the Nintendo DS version of Diddy Kong Racing is a very fun game because of all the good features in it. You get to use the stylus to get hidden balloons, play balloon-popping challenges, and even make your own racetracks. It’s a challenging game, which makes it even more fun. My favorite vehicle in the game is the plane. I like going up and down and through tunnels and stuff. I love racing the main boss in the second race against him. In my opinion, that’s the best part in the whole game. The DS version also has characters that weren’t in the N64 version. Sadly, though, you can only play as Conker or Banjo in the N64 game. They aren’t in the DS one. However, overall, It’s a very good game. Trust me. It’s worth the money you spend on it.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
8 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Diddy Kong Racing
Nostalgic, but Repetitive
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:6/3/11
athletes21
This game is a great game for DS, as it brings back the memories of Diddy Kong Racing for Nintendo 64 and adds new twists. The race courses are unique and the characters are great. However, it sometimes gets to easy as there are not multiple difficulties. Although this is a good game, it can get repetitive. This is a good game for a player looking for a game to get addicted for a month, but not for someone who wants to play for a year. I would suggest this game though.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Diddy Kong Racing
Awesome Game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:12/1/10
Name
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
If you have a ds you must buy this game.The graphics are amazing, it sound is great, and the conrtols are awesome. It is alot like mario kart, if you like mario kart you will love diddy kong racing. there is so much you can do in this game like building your own course, battleing bosses, customizing and upgrading your vechicles, and racing with your friends, its an overall great game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Diddy Kong Racing
GREAT!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/9/09
Sammi
When i was small this was probably my first game (besides super mario) for the Nintendo 64 and I loved it! I used to play it who knows how many times in one day! Me and my brother whould have tournaments and play with family and friends when they came over and it was just everybody's favorite monkey! With a great racing edge! Than when we first got our Ds a few years ago we found that it was now made for it! My brother got it right away and we plaed it non stop but it wasn't an easy beat either! I don't even know if we beat it yet! It was almost the same as 64 only portable, better graphics, and still made! One day when I went out I took it and could not stop playing it I got re addicted! it is a great game and worth every penny! Trust me spend your money on this hit!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Diddy Kong Racing
More Vehicles
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/27/11
Bullwinkle
Location: Flagstaff AZ
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This is a great game it is just like Mario Kart ds but on this you also get an airplane and a hover craft this makes the races a little more exciting and this game was made for the Nintendo 64 but in this version of it in enhances feature and you can do more then you could on the 64 version overall this is a great game loads of fun
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Diddy Kong Racing
GO TIMBER!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/15/11
AJCk19
Location: Buckeye State
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
Pros: they make use of the ds touch screen
Cons: they should add a difficultly setting
I would buy this game
Oh the nostalgia is so over whelming. Diddy Kong Racing basically got an upgrade with some changes being good while others being bad. One change that really stood out is that the game was made much easier. In any case it makes the game a little less challenging. They could have easily added a difficultly setting like easy, medium, and hard to fix that. Because of this I actually prefer playing the old one despite all the nice and new touch features added in.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Diddy Kong Racing
Nintendo/Rare brilliance
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/19/12
646464
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Diddy Kong Racing DS is a solid racing game, rivaling Mario Kart. Not only can you race in karts, but you can race in hovercrafts and planes as well. The game also takes full advantage of the touch screen/mic. There are loads of unlockables to keep you busy. The music is simply phenomenal. Definitely a must buy for any DS owner. Nintendo and Rare are the dream team.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Diddy Kong Racing
this game is amazing!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/4/14
NBAballer27
Location: Boston
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I really liked this game and I don't think it's that much of a rip off of mario kart. I got this game 2 weeks Ago and personally this game to me is terrific. Anybody that likes mario kart should get this game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 9 for Diddy Kong Racing
Diddy Kong Racing DS covers the bases
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/26/09
FlyersFan
What I love so much about this game besides the fact that it's finally a remake of my first ever N64 game is that it also gets the attention it deserved. If you read the Gamespot review and got turned away let me say they're wrong. The story mode doesn't have many boring tasks, Taj will offer you a total of 5 challenges in the game (3 are the same as the N64 version) and the other 2 aren't even hard to do. Most of the game revolves around racing. In each domain (accessed by a certain total of balloons, in which one gets acquired by the player for winning races) there are four courses; your task is simply to win all four and face a boss. Upon defeating the boss, he will require you to do a Touch Challenge--maneuvering the courses on an autopiloted magic carpet in first person popping balloons with your stylus (which is a bit better than the silver coin races of the older game which are an extra in this one). After conquering that you will face the boss a second time and after defeating all four you will race the tyrant Wizpig. During the adventure you will gain coins which can be used to upgrade your vehicles, and changing your vehicle colors. You can edit an emblem, voice recordings (your voice for when you are hit, launch an item, win, etc.) and "billboards" where your art appears on various parts of courses. These are very cool and add a great level of customization. Also you may compete in multiple local types of matches including the four original Battle courses. You and your friends can also take turns creating tracks (this is a single player mode also--you can upload your own creations) and racing on them. Take it to the Wi-Fi Connection, which only makes this game last longer, and compete in up to 6 player matches (this includes you), 4 player battles, among your choices. All the single player additions to your vehicles will come with you to the Wi-Fi. Finally, Diddy Kong Racing gets its own remake, to the Nintendo DS, which makes it an awesome DS game! Hoping there's a Diddy Kong Racing Wii in store in the near future!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
ChillaFrostbite
Princeton, MN
 
Please wait while more information about ChillaFrostbite is loaded.
Additional information about ChillaFrostbite could not be loaded.
DKRDS is awesome
Posted 10/19/10
Diddy kong racing was so old and stuff. Now the Rare and the Nintento change it really good as a ds game
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 10 for Diddy Kong Racing
Great Game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:8/6/12
ZenDynasty246
Location: California
This game is perfect for: party gamers
I first got into this game because it was a remake of my first game on the N64 and let me just say it resembles it almost pin point. Unlike its competitor Mario Kart, this game isnt necessarily about trying to get gold on every track but rather the adventure mode seems to have a bit more meaning. In order to unlock more tracks you need to collect balloons which you earn after first placing each track which you can go back to to earn balloons again just this time with a slight twist. The game allows you to pick three different racing vehicles when racing, between the classic car, a hovercraft which is used for the water based tracks, and airplane. Each vehicle controllers very different with the other, and if im not mistaken some characters run better with some than others. The characters is the first changed from the N64, theres a few more with the removal of Conker and Banjo Kazooie. Now, the game shows the stats of each character. Another change from the original would be how you have a coin and purchase feature which during adventure mode if you collect these one clear blue coins with a banana on them and win 1st during a race you keep them and get to buy upgrades for your vehicles. Each vehicle has their own upgrades and the upgrade is yours, not belonging to an individual character that you bought it with. This feature becomes real fun online and adds a bit of strategic creativity to it against other racers.(Unfortunately its hard to get an opponent online today, or at least when i tried, it took me quite a few minutes.Just remember its not fact just observation.) As oppose to Mario Kart, the items arent based on a random order of "ethics" but rather pre set items depending on the colour of balloon that you hit that floats. New to the DS version concerning items is now items get an alternate power up which gets activated when pressing the X button and having this one Arrow Shooting Up Amulet and an item. Overall its a well rounded game that doesnt not rely on luck at all for a victory if your fed up with games that do that and if you want to single card play this game with friends you can do it well for anything that you unlocked gets shared with everyone rather than other games that just 30% you.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Diddy Kong Racing
Diddy Kong Racing!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:12/11/10
gamer666
I like this game and it's better then Mario cart to me at least. But i like the original for n64 better cause that's just me.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Diddy Kong Racing
hovercars and planes impossible to control.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:8/22/11
DKandDK
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
The hovercars and planes would have been a cool addition if they were possible to control.The game itself was too hard at times. Every once in a while the computers would be behind you and then suddenly they would be in front of me by a long shot.The graphics were excellent and the lasting appeal was terrble.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Diddy Kong Racing
very boring
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:7/8/11
cooldudekoopatroopa
My brother got this game for his ds and it stinks. Its very boring and complicated for little kids. do not buy
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
1 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Diddy Kong Racing
Good Game
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:6/12/11
ChargerFan17
Diddy Kong racing is a good but very challenging racing game. I had to trade it in because on one of the levels it reguuired the mic and my mic wasnt working properly. But up to there it was a very good gane that i would have love to finsh.So... This game is worth buying.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Diddy Kong Racing
awesome game :)
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:7/26/11
chimchar123
Location: north carolina, nc
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
This game is awesome!!!!! This was like one of the first games that I ever got!!!!! I loved it so much!!! I think it would be perfect for like kids 5 - 12. If you like racing and diidy kong this is the best game for you!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 16 for Diddy Kong Racing
first game for ds and still loving it
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/11/11
yodeek123
Location: KS
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
i have had all the ds systems and i still have it. in my opinion it never gets old. i love all the boss battles and the final boss battle's music is very catchy andd jazzy (if thats a word). all in all, i love it.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Diddy Kong Racing
Awfull
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:4/14/13
Nintendocover
Location: West Chicago IL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I bought it and I played I just don't like it at all don't buy it I repeat don't buy it at all......
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 18 for Diddy Kong Racing
Diddy Kong!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:5/16/12
dolphinboy
This game is perfect for: party gamers
This game is nice and I like how it is similar to Mario Kart. But this is great it'll never top Mario Kart though I still recommend it.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.