GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Blue Dragon

Famed game producer Hironobu Sakaguchi of Mistwalker and developer Artoon present the highly anticipated Xbox 360 exclusive Blue Dragon. Featuring the character design of Akira Toriyama of Dragon Ball Z and music by Nobuo Uematsu of Final Fantasy, Blue Dragon is an epic role-playing game that centers on a young boy named Shu and several of his friends.
Average Customer Rating:
9.057
9.1
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (139 reviews)
10 stars
17
9 stars
10
8 stars
4
7 stars
2
6 stars
1
5 stars
1
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
33 out of 3594%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Blue Dragon
Review 1 for Blue Dragon
Great RPG, just like the good old days.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:2/24/11
TheSpaniard
Location: New York, NY
To begin with, I gotta say it's a little odd that I find myself reviewing this game. A year ago, i probably wouldn't have even given it a second look. But after taking a chance, I was surprised to discover a solid storyline, engaging gameplay (although a little too easy for me at most points), and excellent character designs. The animation is so "Dragonball like" that i often felt that I was playing an actual dragon ball game...but that's beside the point. The music is not exceptional, but good. Most games tend to neglect their OST's nowadays anyways, so I'm not going to rate it too poorly for that. The voice acting is quite good. The storyline is engaging and deserves high marks...Overall a great RPG, much better than most of the garbage Square Enix has been spewing out these last couple years. The only disappointing feature I really saw was the inability to actually "fight" something...instead, your shadow like dragon does all the fighting for you. A novel idea, i'm sure it wouldn't detract from the rest of the game.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Blue Dragon
get use to it non rpg fans
Posted on:7/15/07
thelaststudmuffin
when you have the minds behind every great rpg made pretty much ever. (chrono trigger showed me something i actually enjoyed reading) the game will be great if not just a solid game that will be very enjoyable. if a video game can get you pumped up and at the same time feeling for a character by looking at the situation they're in or the loss they've experienced and sacrifices they've made, then it is a great game. most of the final fantasy games capture you while there being a few exceptions (9,11,12) chrono trigger was amazing and pretty much every square game, they are the masters. then you have the creator for the dragon ball series and thats the icing. i grew up watching dragon ball then it went into dbz but never really dug GT. there are only two other companys out there who made a few rpgs that i loved, and thats the tales series by namco. and lufia one and 2 by natsume. ok im gonna stop rambling, pretty much if your a fan of anime and storyline this game will be amazing
Review 3 for Blue Dragon
Alright
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:4/9/10
Battlefield>COD
This game is just alright, nothing more. There is not much of a challenge to the game, but I found myself being too weak for some bosses. It is enjoyable to go around and dominate horribly weak enemies and collect a range of items, but to me it kind of seems repetitive. All you do is go around, fight people, and collect items. So I think it gets a little boring. I mean, it is fun to explore places, but NOT much fun. The save system is HORRIBLE (Well at least for me). I know it's dumb, but I can only play 2 hrs a day, so sometimes if I found a save point with 23 mins left, and then when I go back, I can't find the save point and I lose 23 mins of progress. That really frustrates me, and I have lost progress TWICE! I also think it is dumb that there is a option in the menu to save, but it is always blacked out? Being able to save your game from the menu would make everything easier. The graphics are sub par, if even that. So, in conclusion this game is just alright and it will not consume all my time.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 4 for Blue Dragon
You get to sift thru poo, what's not to like??
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/15/11
Jleggee
Location: Boston, MA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
When I first got this game I played the first half hour or so of it and hated it. I put it back on my shelf and it sat there for over a year. Then a friend of mine told me he played it and I should give it another chance. I'm glad i did because this has become one of my favorite games to play. I haven't beat it yet but I've invested 60 hours into it so far. I'm one of those who likes to get everything, loot, achievements, etc and I don't mind a little grind because its rewarding.
I don't think this is a "just for kids" game at all, I'm in my early 30's and love it. I've played other RPG's too. I only have a couple complaints but they are minor. The song that plays when you fight bosses is kinda cheesy. And unfortunately its the only song that plays when you fight bosses so you'll hear it alot. Get used to it. Also it can be glitchy and laggy. Sometimes you get a bonus treasure or "poo" when your out in the field killing mobs. On more than one occasion a treasure dropped and I couldn't get to it cuz it landed in the sky, or on a rock, etc.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Blue Dragon
Wow
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/16/10
Centos
I had no idea what I was buying when I got this game. This game is excellent. Its a long and fun game. The music never gets annoying unlike many other games. I love how you can change your class and set up your party the way you want to. I would 100% recommend this game to anyone and everyone who loves games with a great storyline. Every time I play the game I can't find myself putting down the controller for a good three hours. The game is very addictive and keeps me playing. This is an amazing game for people of all ages. The controls are very easy to learn. The game isn't too easy but it's not a game where you can't finish it because it's too challenging. The creators of this game hit a home run because of how great this game is. I am hoping they make more games. I hope my review has helped you decide whether or not to get this game. Now if you'll excuse me I am going to play some more Blue Dragon. : )
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Blue Dragon
Looks ok
Posted on:7/13/07
Robert
well the game looks pretty good, BUT the people look cartoonish, I played about 35 minutes into the demo and it wasnt AS fun as some rpgs BUT was FUNNER then others. I like the fact you can see the monsters before you run into them (chrono cross style) and if you see more than one you can fight them all. To fight they use like spirit thingys I dont know what they are but they're coming out of the characters bodies, you can do the magic and spells (white magic/black magic) and they have this option, I dont know when you can use it but eventually and your guys shadow thingy transforms into the beast it is supposed to be (one is bird other is bull yada yada yada) and does a special move and does alot of damage, each guy has one. they have moves outside of battle to help you avoid running into monsters. and seems like ALOT more items then other games AND ALL CHARACTERS ARE IN BATTLE AT THE SAME TIME. I bet theres a lot more to the game so I give it a 7.4/10
Review 7 for Blue Dragon
COMPLETELY AND UTTERLY AMAZING.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/12/11
Director95
This game was an awesome game. It was truly deserved to hold the RPG genre on its head. The game has a FANTASTIC storyline and is addictive from the start. Venturing to strange, fascinating, and sometimes spooky and scary lands. The music and sound structure were all beautifully composed. The graphics were quite well done. And the scenery and background/art design is amazing. The only downside would have to be the odd character expressions as there only seem to be a few. Overall, don't hesitate to grab this game as it should have you going for a good solid 2 months.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Blue Dragon
Surprising Greatness
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:9/9/08
Goose
Blue dragon will not be re-writing the RPG genre, it is a turn based immersive RPG along the lines of the famous Final Fantasy series. It has small new additions, specifically in the realm of entering battle. How you are positioned, how your enemy is positioned, how you iniate the battle, spells to effect the map, all add little touches you find yourself loving. I picked this up to pass the time, disappointed with some recently released RPGs and finding myself needing something to do when bored. You think, well it looks kiddy, but what the heck? Yes it has it's sub-adult moments, but the storyline is very much not written by a child. You will be hooked, it is a long and engaging game that has a storyline filled with twists and turns that are not always predictable. The animation and graphics are up there with anime, the voicing is one of the better jobs done as of late. All in all a solid RPG that was worth every cent.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 9 for Blue Dragon
good fun
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/16/12
AnonymouslyConfused28
I am about 8 hours into Blue Dragon and it is a lot of fun. The graphics may look real kiddie but this is 100% pure JRPG. Which it seems most JRPG's this generation are not that good for the most part. Blue Dragon has a standard story, good graphics and an excellent albeit at times repetitive combat system. I highly suggest you give this one a try if your craving some JRPG goodness.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Blue Dragon
Definition of JRPG Classic!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/28/10
LiveYungLai
For Starters anyone interested in an JRPG with turn based style action, there's nowhere better to look for the Xbox 360 at least until Final Fantasy Comes out. Trust MeStoryline- Perfect you will get drawn in and find yourself playing Blue Dragon for hours upon hours and will never get bored or tired and when you finish, you will get a Deep Satisfaction of accomplishment.Characters- Every Character is unique and Loveable the heroes you will Fall in Love with them and feel like they are your bestfriend's.Fighting- Turn Based Just as you would expect but with a lot of Classes, Skills, Abilities and a lot of ways to level up, the shadow fighting is fun to look at and you will find joy in leveling up and getting new abilities.The Game was Very Well Made and you can tell the Developers and Publishers put a lot of time and effort into this.THIS GAME IS A MUST BUY FOR ANY RPG FAN.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 11 for Blue Dragon
last time was great
Posted on:8/17/07
Clayton Rogers
Alright well I myself have not playd the demo. But I will go on to say this, the last time the 3 big names behind this game made a game, the world was blessed with argueably the best RPG of all time, Chrono Trigger which then spawned a sequal which would probably grace the top 10 list called Chrono Cross. The man who basically invented RPGs is behind this game along with the animator of Dragon Ball Z and the man who does a lot of the musical work for recent final fantasy games. The graphics are dazzling and the new blur effect makes it look very cenematic. The battle system seems straight out of FF5 with the jobs but since the guy behind the game made FF5, I think he has the right to take the best things from that game and a number of others. It is flat out going to be a great game and will most likely instantly povault itself into the top 10 RPGs of all time. Enough said.
Review 12 for Blue Dragon
Didnt' know what I was getting into.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:7/28/09
peachling
I just got my Xbox 360 and gamestop rep told me to try this game. I LOVED THIS GAME! At first I had no idea what this game was. But I love dragon quest and thought I give it a try. I started to play it and realize that this was based of the cartoon (or vise versa). It has everything in it I could want in my first xbox 360 game. Also surprisingly addictive. I love that you could go around looking for hidden treasures, items. That everything isn't just handed to you. Althought the only flaw I can think of is that I wish they would have done better with the maps in the dungeons. It doesn't always tell you where you came from, or where you have been. It can be a bit confusing. This game had three disc in it. But I felt that time just past by as I went on the other discs. The cut sceen aren't very long. So you don't feel like you are watching a movie instead of playing a game. The battle system is turned based and real simple to figure it out. You can see all the monsters on the field, and choose if you want to battle with them. They do chase you though. Overall I had a great time playing th is game.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 13 for Blue Dragon
starts boring gets interesting gets boring repeat.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:11/7/11
maxmaximus
Location: miami
I have a strange relationship with this game. at times its really captivating then it gets really repetitive. I like the concept for leveling up, you start off with a class and then every so often as you level up you get to choose a new class and as you level up so does the class witch you have equipped, and each class has unique skills witch help mold your shadow. yes they are shadows but im not giving away anymore. the graphics are great, bright and enchanting, the musical score is superb, but the actual fighting needs some more charm. all in all i say this game is worth the buy just to let you know it comes with 4 cd's so its a loooong one.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Blue Dragon
Overall good RPG
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:1/5/12
Thrillhouse40
Location: Philadelphia, Pa
It can be very kiddy and campy but overall this game was interesting. As a fan of the old school Final Fantasy / Dragon Warrior RPG style the gameplay was a pleasant surprise. If you enjoy exploring worlds, unlocking secrets, and leveling abilities this is a good game to play.
Negatives - Besides the childish elements I found the game incredibly easy (maybe because I'm too old and play too many video games). Even the legendary dragons which I expect to be of the ultimate weapon variety went down without much trouble. Also, you can literally search every inch of the world finding many useless items or even worse "nothing". There is even a "nothing man" who will trade rare items for extreme amounts of "nothing". You can spend hours just searching walls, tables, and bushes to find enough nothings to get an item.
Still overall a good rpg.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 15 for Blue Dragon
Blue Dragon lives up to its name.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:1/2/12
MWarEagle
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
From being a small time fan form the show on Cartoon Network back when Blue Dragon first arrived, I was a bit awe struck at this game. It surprised me as I played hours of this game continuously and I didn't get bored yet... Till I got to the next two disks. After the first one, it just got repetitive and substantially bothersome. Although I couldn't put it down, it irked me at the fact this game was pretty much the same thing over and over... And over. The story line was very accurate and interesting, following the animated graphics of transforming the 2D show into a 3D RPG. This game had satisfied my fanatic taste for the series, but it's lasting appeal isn't forever. Or even a few days after you conquer the game. Overall I give it an 8 due to it's accurate story line and graphics, but the lasting appeal disappointed me.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
BlackVII
 
Please wait while more information about BlackVII is loaded.
Additional information about BlackVII could not be loaded.
Posted 1/30/12
Uh...the game came out before the anime... That's usually the way it works, lol.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 16 for Blue Dragon
sweet
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/1/08
final fantasy man
This game is actually really good and if you get it you are to be playing it for a long time and that should keep you busy for a while. The game's graphics are okay. The sound is good. The length is the main reason i got the game because it is three disc's long and the interface is okay as well. The character customization is important but the thing is that i beat the game without customizing my characters. The challenge is not that hard unless you don't know what you are doing or you just plain suck at the game. The storyline is pretty good and it's pretty original as well. You start off as a kid who wants to save his village, but i liked the game so i am not going to spoil it for anybody. Overall this game is good but i never watched the tv show that was on cartoon network but i heard it was not as good as the game.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
rockboy360
la,batonrouge
 
Please wait while more information about rockboy360 is loaded.
Additional information about rockboy360 could not be loaded.
best game ever
Posted 1/28/11
i got stuck on disc 2 this game is awesome
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 17 for Blue Dragon
Blue Dragon
Posted on:2/22/07
Helianthus
I hear that this game is going to be awsome, and personally i love the turn based rpg's. Then again im a huge fan of almost ever rpg. I hear that this game is closely compaired to Chrono Trigger except for the fact that i believe that you control the dragon rather than turning into one which in the long run could be a huge dissapointment to poeple that enjoyed Chrono Trigger. The gameplay looks like they are taking a turn for the more classic look of rpg's and in my oppinion thats a good thing because honestly these new action rpg's are nothing really compaired to the old school Final Fantasy's, Chrono Trigger, Secret Of Evermore, and so on. But I'm just 1 person trying to have my voice heard. Leave some imput on this game i really want to know as much as possible about it before it comes out. thanks
Review 18 for Blue Dragon
Awsome JRPG!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:6/23/11
Duelo
Location: Racine, WI
The game was a birthday gift from a friend. If you can ignore the childish type feel of the start of the game you'll find your self investing hour into the game(considering the fact that it's 3 discs long) and be enjoying every moment of it. Great inviroments alow you to explore objects, that would be considered just part of the walls, and get rewarded for it.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Blue Dragon
blue dragon not sure/its going to be awsome
Posted on:4/9/07
RPG fan
good- i saw videos, read about it, looked into it a lot, and it looks awsome im not a grafix freak, but their great! i meen they have it out already in japan and they were sold out like crazy. the guy who created it made final fantasy and in some cases it has some same ideas as ff. looks awsome i probroly will get it, in time more info will come out too soo... idk bad/not sure- the only reason i am like not really sure is because, it just seems kinda weird how you fight. i know its somthing different . not like i see this game as a total blowout, its not! but heres a weird thing (i think) on the gameinformer it had this on the cover and about 8 pages of picures and stuff about it, like its a huge thing. but they havent done anything for avertizments, (not that i know of) RPG fan
Review 20 for Blue Dragon
best rpg of this decade!
Posted on:8/28/07
sizzle skeet(crazymarv)
this is going to knock out your brain of your head i have been waiting for a game like this since final fantasy X (since XII didnt follow the franchise gameplay!) this is nothing like bioshock, these two are not even to be compared since they are both different genres! and bioshock is not even an rpg it just has very light rpg elements you could straight out tell its an FPS! for god's sake! and of course this is not an rpg like kingdom hearts, because the creator is the one who made the first Final Fantasy! and what was that a turn-based game along with the rest of his games! This RpG has been long await by the true turn-based rpg genre fanatics it is not in comparison with any other game out there at this time! I cannot wait to get my hands on it in 11 hours! DO NOT HATE ON THIS GAME!
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>