GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Wii Play - Game Only

Wii Play collects nine quick and addictive games that are easy to pick up and play and hard to put away. Thanks to the intuitive controls of the Wii Remote, even the most inexperienced gamers will have no trouble mastering the controls. Wii Play features nine seperate mini-games!Every game features a multiplayer mode, so you and your friends can compete for the high score or go head to head to see who's the best.
Average Customer Rating:
5.66
5.7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (47 reviews)
10 stars
7
9 stars
3
8 stars
4
7 stars
8
6 stars
3
5 stars
3
4 stars
5
3 stars
4
2 stars
6
1 star
4
22 out of 4747%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Wii Play - Game Only
Review 1 for Wii Play - Game Only
So-So Game
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:1/26/10
Dragon5
Wii Play is really alright, it's not exactly what I expected. This game features a small variety of simple games. The main reason of these games are to help you train with the physical and mental use of the Wii Remote, like accuracy and reflexes. The games are okay, but they can get boring or just way too hard. All games are only two players, so dont expect to get four Wii Remotes; and there's only one game that can optionally use the nunchuck, which is the last game to unlock. Each game is unique and some are very original (like the Pose Mii). Try it out if you want, it's not entertainment, it's about training. I really don't have much to say. It was worth the couple of bucks I spent. I'm being honest about everything. (Need to fit the character limit.)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Wii Play - Game Only
Pass on this one
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:8/19/11
jason1234
There are many things wrong with this game.One thing that practicaly makes this game unplayable at times is that the controls for all the games are terribly flawed and confusing.Even if the games controls werent so confusing,the game would still suffer from the fact that the minigames are very poorly thoughtout and get old after 5min.If I were you I would just save my money and buy a good game like super mario galaxy 2 or wiisports resort.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Wii Play - Game Only
Wii play an amazing game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/15/08
xxlamaxx
Hi, i bought Wii play a while ago and never got bored of it. you have various activities from shooting to cow racing. The graphics are good even though you use your mii's to play the game. The graphics are designed to suit the mii's, so you wont have "final fantasy graphics" with a cartoon 3d model of yourself. The games are very fun and addictive. The table tennis is very easy but for some reason its so hard to quit the game. At first it's very easy then gets harder and harder and faster and faster. There is "laser hockey" wich is pretty much table hockey exceot the sticks strangely ressemble staples. Dont get to excited about the shooting, you only shoot plates and ballons, cans, and lastly spaceships that try to steal your mii. As pathetic as it may seem, its actually very fun. There is also fishing, wich is easy but the controls can be rather frustrating ant times. However, your always trying to set new scores for the biggest fish. There is another gmae where you have to find certain numbers of the same mii's in a crowd. This is no doubt the hardest game out of all. Another game is "tanks.' In this game you are a miniture tank trying to destroy other tanks with your bullets. Although it can be hard when you are trying to shoot enemies who have rockets going three times the speed your bullets go, it's not as hard as finding identical mii's in a big crowd. And finally is personally one of my favourites, I call it "cow racing". In this game you are on a fake looking cow while trying to do tricks to gain extra points. However, if you see a scarecrow running around, try to catch it to gain extra points. If you ever played the abonation of sonic "sonic and the secret rings" the controls on how to run in that game and in cow racing are quite similar. Bottom line: Wii play is an amazing game and one of the best games for the wii. Also some versions come with a free remote. You should deffinetly buy this game if you dont have it.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Wii Play - Game Only
Awesome Game!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/20/08
ackween13
OK i'll start off by saying, I don't personally own this game, (I'm getting it for Christmas!) but I've played it at my friends house multiple times, so i'll review from my experience! Wii Play is a great game to play. It's really helpfull if you are new to the Wii as it helps you get used to the controls. It includes a great selection of games. Shooting Range - Players go through various rounds of shooting balloons, targets, clay pigeons, cans and UFOs. There are targets that have the faces of the player's Miis which give points when the opponent's Mii is shot. Find Mii- Crowds of Mii characters will gather on the screen, standing, swimming, walking and doing other things, and the player is given certain details to look for among them. The player then must pick out the Miis that match the objective. Table Tennis - This game is, essentially, a game of table tennis, rallying back and forth by moving the Wii Remote. Pose Mii - A player must move their Mii to falling bubbles using the Wii Remote pointer. The player must also rotate their Mii to the correct angle of the bubble by rotating the Wii Remote. Laser Hockey - Played like air hockey, this is a two player game where the players move the Wii Remote to deflect shots and try to score in the opponent's goal. Fishing - Players use the Wii Remote as a fishing rod, to hook specific paper fish and then yank upwards to grab them. Points are added and subtracted depending on the fish caught. A display at the top of the screen shows which fish gives bonus points if caught, and changes every 30 seconds Pool - Players play 9 Ball Billiards like traditional pool games. Players may line up a shot with overhead 2D and behind-the-ball 3D viewpoints. The player can aim for contact anywhere on the cue ball to add spin or bounce, and may change the angle at which the cue strikes the ball. Charge! - The player rides a cow and topples scarecrows to accrue points. Tanks! - This game uses the Nunchuk or Wii Remote D-pad to move a small toy tank about the screen. The player aims and fires shells, which can rebound off of walls once before exploding. Explosive mines can be laid on the ground. The aim of the game is to destroy all enemy tanks while avoiding their attacks. All of these games are great for old and new gamers alike. I highly recommend this game if you want endless hours of great fun with friends and family!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
8 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Wii Play - Game Only
Very amusing!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:10/13/11
ElSamurai
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Some of the games are rather interesting. My uncle and I play the billiards game for hours on end. The shooting is fun. The ping pong was a nightmare. I was not expecting the cow race. Laser pong is a blast. I would definetly reccomend this game for two reasons. A) It really brings fun to the family doing stuff they will never do (Tell me when your going to race on cows doing hurdles). B) it comes with a Wii Remote. So if you just bought the Wii and only 1 controller, buy this game and you have competition.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Wii Play - Game Only
A great first Wii game and competitive game!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/18/10
LeLe
Location: Mississippi
This game is perfect for: party gamers
This game is a great game especially if you just bought a Wii. It doesn't have a ton of games and some of them aren't too easy by far but it is a game that keeps you coming back especially if you want the high score over a friend. It would be excellent at partys and brings the excitement of arcade games to your room. Some of the games are very addictive and keep you coming back again. For kids, it would be the perfect gift of entertainment. A highly recommended Wii game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Wii Play - Game Only
This game becomes boring.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:11/27/11
wii2
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
I got this game thinking it would be fun and it was for a little while but the dance on was not that fun the ping pong was well, way to sensitive over all fun when playing with competitive friends but over all not very fun by yourself.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
7 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Wii Play - Game Only
Its okay.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:11/26/10
WiiStars
Location: Roscoe,Illinois
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
Its an okay game for little kids,but if your older its not the game for you.My favorite games are tanks,ping pong and pool, but theres not enough action.It is worth the extra 10 bucks but only if you need an extra remote.It is an okay game,but its only a 3 between 1 and 10.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Wii Play - Game Only
Great Gamplay
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:6/26/11
Star025
Location: Canton Michigan
This game is perfect for: party gamers
I Loved everything about the game except the Lasting appeal, it only has 9 games, But it's a Great Game!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Wii Play - Game Only
GREAT WITH FRIENDS AND KIDS
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:12/2/10
ERICATOMARS007
Location: Chicago IL
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
If I'm going to play wii this is not the first game I am going to pick up but with friends this game has new life. With children this game has a new life. It's very fun to play with friends and the fact that it comes with an additional remote makes it a steal. The games aren't super challenging for very had but its basic wii gaming that anyone can do so its a great party game. and its easy enough to play with children,
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Wii Play - Game Only
Its fun but itll get old ...
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:10/6/11
zeldahero
Location: Ohio , OH
This game is perfect for: party gamers
The mini games are really fun I love the tanks fishing and ping pong games the mozt . The games will indeed get old but when u first get it at the super cheap price its a lot of fun by yourself and with others . : )
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Wii Play - Game Only
sweet
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:1/30/11
wiisportsmaster
Location: mi
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I CAN PLAY THIS GAME EVERY DAY TO MAKE ME HAPPY. i ALSO THINK KIDS WOULD LOVE THIS GAME.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Wii Play - Game Only
It's okay, but I like Wii Sports Resort better
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:2/2/11
DarkShadow
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
There are several games you can play on this game, such as Shooting, Table Tennis, Air Hockey, Pool, Fishing, Bull Riding, A Tank Game, A Mii Finding Game, and Another Mii Game. This game can get boring after a while. But is is still fun. One time I got a platinum medal on Fishing, and I scored over two thousand points. Before I got that platinum medal I thought gold was the best. I don't play it that much now, but some times I play a few games on there. Now I will tell you about my favorite game. My favorite game is Fishing, Fishing is where you aim your Wii remote at the screen. When you feel your Wii remote vibrate. you shake, but look in water to see what fish is on your hook, because if you get a little brown fish called a Small Fry, it takes away fifty points. Okay that's all, by
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Wii Play - Game Only
fun multiplayer game
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:12/4/10
loveprecious33
Location: Texas
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Has a few games that are great. Boring playing alone, but playing multiplayer is really fun.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
4 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Wii Play - Game Only
good game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/11/11
krick
Location: new york, NY
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
it has good gameplay. its fun to play. i really like wii play.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Wii Play - Game Only
My Sentiments Exactly!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/10/09
Gamer's Mom
I saw this game and was iffy about it. I searched the site (and another) for reviews and read every single one of them. After I felt ok about picking it up, I have to say, I agree. I was a bit skeptical, and was really looking at it because it was a game/controller combo. Once we got it going (it took me forever to 'sync' the remote, I thought we had a dud and was prepared to return it to the store), everybody really enjoyed it. It has a good variety of things to play and they aren't too easy to beat (that way I don't have to hear the infamous question "Mom, when can we trade?"). Any mess-up or low score is always a challenge to do better. Good application in gaming and in life *smile* It is very addictive and a really nice game to have around for groups of kids and adults for a nice change of pace during get-togethers.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 17 for Wii Play - Game Only
BORING
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:12/29/08
esllera
I suppose this game would be enjoyable for children, but I would strongly advise adults to go elsewhere for enjoyable play. The game is organized as a way to familiarize the player with the controls, and it accomplishes this goal. But once through the games, they are not interesting enough to draw you back into play just for the fun of it. Of all the games, I think the pool game is most promising. The interface is clean and the use of the Wii remote really does match the actual use of the stick. The other tolerable one is ping pong. The rest of the games are silly and juvenile. I'd rather practice my skills in just about any other game other than shooting at targets, racing on a cow, or shooting toy tanks. Again, this is from the perspective of an adult; a child may really enjoy these games.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Review 18 for Wii Play - Game Only
It gets kinda boring
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:2/11/11
Mawaka
Location: Keller, TX
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
I played it at a friend's house. It was alright. I probably wouldn't buy it. The games get REALLY boring and they're all too orignal. If you are a little kid or if you like classic games, then you should get it. The remotes are hard to control too. The music was good, but other than that it wasn't that great.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Wii Play - Game Only
Loads of entertainment!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:2/15/09
Spiritwhisperer
My grandsons, ages 6 & 8, introduced me to the Wii Play over the weekend. They had so much fun showing me all of the games, and we laughed ourselves silly as I watched them in the cow race!! As a matter of fact, we had so much fun with it, while they were here, that I'm buying one of my own so we can play together from 200 miles away. Not many things can have that said about them. I can't wait to get my copy so we can have a long-distance game fest. The graphics are great! The sounds are fun! And the action is realistic! This is also a great game for those wanting to learn other ways to use the remote. I only received my Wii four days ago, and just having it to share with my children and grandchildren has made it worth it's weight in gold!! Fun for all ages! Unless you're a scrooge.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 20 for Wii Play - Game Only
Bad
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:1/23/12
otz900
This game is perfect for: party gamers
This is not a good game.Some games are fun,but the others are boring and stupid.In the end,its not good.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>