GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Tomb Raider Anniversary

In 1996, the original Tomb Raider was launched. The 3D game design, controls and graphics were truly ground breaking for their time. Furthermore, gamers were also presented with a unique, female human playable character with which they could become emotionally attached, Lara Croft. The original Tomb Raider sold over seven million copies and is still heralded as an absolute classic and one of the best action adventure games ever. Tomb Raider defined the PlayStation and changed the way that people played games.In tribute to this and to celebrate and commemorate the continuing development of the Tomb Raider franchise and its central character, Crystal Dynamics are developing a new Tomb Raider adventure for Lara. Inspired by the original Tomb Raider video game; Lara Croft Tomb Raider: Anniversary faithfully preserves the elements which made the original Tomb Raider game such a classic.Using an enhanced 'Tomb Raider: Legend' game engine, the graphics, technology and physics bring Lara's adventure and pursuit of a mystical artefact known only as the Scion right up to today's technology standards and will offer gamers a completely new gameplay experience.
Average Customer Rating:
8.333
8.3
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
10 stars
2
9 stars
0
8 stars
0
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
1
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
2 out of 367%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Tomb Raider Anniversary
Review 1 for Tomb Raider Anniversary
Definatly not what it used to be
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:12/2/09
Grizfcs
Wow althoutgh this game was fun it defanetly was not what it used to be. The Original Tomb Raider was definatly the best one and still is. I thought that the Original Tomb Raider was much more creative in levels and you had the opperunity to do much more. I have played both the PSP and Wii version of the game but have only beaten the Wii but on the wii version of the game the best parts of the first Tomb Raider are made much worse such as the fight between Lara and Larson in the Tomb of Qualopec were you dont even get to shoot anything at all. However, Some things were better such as the obvios the graphics were much better than they were in the original Tomb Raider. Although the Mansion will get old after a while it has a pretty good story line in it. Some changes were made to the physical part of the game such as new things to grab on to and ropes and beams to stand on. So in conclusion it is the best Tomb Raider Game since the first one but however it just doesnt compare to it.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Review 2 for Tomb Raider Anniversary
Another chance at the beginning
Posted on:6/9/07
MarioKartDSFan
Admittably Lara has suffered from some really horrible games. The first TR was often picked on for its grid based movement and clunky controls, while later versions improved somewhat on the controls while the storylines or gameplay itself made the game horrendous. But if you've tried Tomb Raider Legend you were rewarded with an excellent adventure that left you wanting more. Lara has grown from its meager beginnings to a full-fledged 3D adventure game that is well known in almost every country (albeit sometimes not always for the best of reasons). But Eidos has proven that they can make a truly great Tomb Raider experience if your not too jaded to take the time to give Lara another try from the beginning (with some all new moves!)
Review 3 for Tomb Raider Anniversary
Get This
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/21/08
Ryan McCarthy
Wow. Ok, where do I start. This game is perfect, down to the last detail. Lets start with the graphics. Phenomenal for the psp. In the first level the waterfall took my breathe away. Next, the Length. This game is long, seriously. its not like god of war, which can be completed in 2 hours. Once completing the story, you can do time trials to unlock cheats and other things. You will also have to go back to collect every relic and artifact, which gives bonus content, such as costumes, bios, etc. The storyline is great. Lara is searching for three pieces to this scion, which her and her father had been searching for forever. This scion is believed to show the way to atlantis. Once every piece is collected a boss fight will occur which puts more action into the game. The controls for the psp are fantastic. Unlike the pc where every button has its own move, the psp forces players to combine some buttons to preform these moves. This is actually great because it means that you will need to hone your skills. Interface, im not sure what this is, but the game deliveres perfectly on every aspect so this gets a 10 as well. The sound is great. every time a gun is fired, it rings in the tombs, every time you jump onto a ledge, you can hear Lara's hands "smack" the ledge. every time she takes a step her boots make a "thud". Everything in this game is great, so this is a must have, however it is impossible to find. I had to go to 4 different gamestop's just to find it, however it was definately worth it.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 4 for Tomb Raider Anniversary
I Love Lara Croft Games!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/16/11
awesome11
Location: California
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
I just finished this game last month and currently working on Tomb Raider Underworld. And iv'e got to say Anniversary is one of the best Tomb Raider Games Ever! So far i finished Legend,Anniversary, and now working on Tomb Raider Underworld. The graphics on this game is incredible. The controls are super easy! And i think there is not even a little problem i have with this game. So if your a tomb raider game lover this is the game for you!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 5 for Tomb Raider Anniversary
A new Lara Adventure???
Posted on:5/9/07
MarioKartDSFan
I finished Tomb Raider Legend on the '360 and really enjoyed all the action and puzzle solving. I've seen a few pics here and there for this upcoming game and to tell the truth I am really excited. I enjoyed the 1st TR but never completed it because it was a little difficult in the later levels. Poor Lara had some rough later games but if the most recent Legends game is any indication then Anniversary should be pretty spectacular!!!
Review 6 for Tomb Raider Anniversary
Semi-Skeptic
Posted on:4/27/07
Super Friggin' Carl
I don't know what to expect from this game. The PSX 'rom' of TR1 on the PSP was just like the original, unfortunetly it would freeze mid-fith level :( It would be nice it this game was exactly like the first with cleaned up graphics and new controls, but it seems like it's going to be insipred by the original and not a remake. I'll have to wait and see with this title, if it wasa remake I would be more then willing to pre-order.
Review 7 for Tomb Raider Anniversary
PUT HER TO REST ALREADY!!!
Posted on:5/23/07
Darkness Joe
Jus wut my heading says, its gonna be the same laura doin the same superwoman acrobatics an killing animals in THEIR habitat. I liked her better back when she was a revolutionary fightin dinosaurs in dark caves (lol) bottom line is her time was up after tomb raider 3!!! STOP WASTING DEVELOPMENT MONEY!!
0 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Tomb Raider Anniversary
sweet lew
Posted on:6/10/07
Robert McCarthy DM Chicago
Oh yeah! Another great Laura game by the same team that brought you the first and only Laura! This will be the best action/puzzle game of it's time which is reason enouh to prepay for this lofty game! Lara is my hero.
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Tomb Raider Anniversary
Can't Wait,a Question
Posted on:3/11/07
Tomb Raider Addict
I love the original,but i wonder will lara get to carry all four weapons in the game.(Pistols,Shotgun,Magnums and Uzis) Because in the "Legend" engine you could only carry two.
Review 10 for Tomb Raider Anniversary
Lara's Jumps Curtailed
Posted on:5/10/07
Tomb Raider Addict
In the Legend engine Lara's jumps and backflips were much shorter.I wonder how this will play out when she has to fight the fast moving T-Rex in the Lost Valley Level.
Review 11 for Tomb Raider Anniversary
WICKED LOOKING GAME!
Posted on:6/28/07
EasyE
This game is gonna rock! I have played the one for PS2 and it rocks! So this one can't be bad. Why anyone in their right mind wouldn't like this game I don't get.
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Tomb Raider Anniversary
hmmm
Posted on:4/18/07
johhnny appleseed
i think i will stick with the ps1 version because legend for psp wasn't so great. but the graphics are still awesome and it should be a great portable game.
Review 13 for Tomb Raider Anniversary
WOW
Posted on:2/9/07
guess who
this game sounds sweeeeeeeettttttttttttt!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I'm definitely gonna get it, man! You should too!
Review 14 for Tomb Raider Anniversary
OH yeah
Posted on:2/14/07
mongoace
Ive never played a tomb raider game but this one looks cool so im gonna get it and yo should to.