GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Dawn of Mana

Long ago, when the world was at peace and magic yet unknown to man, a beautiful isle called Illusia floated in the center of the Inner Sea. Over the island towered the great Mana Tree, source of all life. There it had stood since the dawn of the world... But over time, the tree gradually turned to stone and slept as though death had come at last. So begins the story of how a boy came to wield a sacred sword and how a maiden became a goddess - entwining the fate of spirits, mortals, and the entire world into a tale of hope and despair.
Average Customer Rating:
8.8
8.8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
10 stars
2
9 stars
1
8 stars
1
7 stars
1
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
5 out of 5100%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Dawn of Mana
Review 1 for Dawn of Mana
Casual Game Plays Like Kingdon Hearts
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:8/30/11
Nikolaii
Location: Washington, USA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game isn't half bad, despite all the bad reviews about the game being childish and too easy. If you're thinking this will be like a traditional 2D Mana game, think again. This game plays more like a spiritual successor to Kingdom Heart than something from the world of Mana. Graphics are in vein of Zelda Windwaker as opposed to realistic, but it just adds charm to the game. Sounds and music are great, but the characters seem a little shallow, I'm sure there must be more character development later in the game, but I haven't seen it yet. The game environments are beautiful and interactive, maybe a little too interactive. In order to score things like items, HP and magic bonuses, you'll have to use rocks and barrels and throw or push them into enemies to startle them. It become obnoxious quickly, so this isn't a game you can sit down and play for hours. Overall, give this game a shot, but don't expect it to a Mana game, that's where everyone goes wrong.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Review 2 for Dawn of Mana
Simply beautiful...
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:8/16/12
cmykeith
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Being a huge fan of the Mana series, I was ecstatic when I finally got this game. The controls become easily intuitive, even though the whip control takes a measure of practice. The visuals are stunning, and the music is excellent and perfectly used. The mechanics and layout of terrain allows each player to find their own way around the levels, and through the enemies. Increasing difficulty levels, along with a power-up collection system, and expansive secret passages in every level practically demands replay. With that said, the true beauty lies in the characters and story. It's basically a love story that evolves around cataclysmic events. Even though the characters don't verbally recognize their emotions, they are played out through their actions, making the cutscenes somewhat theatrical. The story also has something that is so very rare in games, nuance. For story driven players, this is a must own.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 3 for Dawn of Mana
This game is AMAZING.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/20/11
Aems
Location: FL
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Not many people realize this but the game has an amazing plot. From beginning to end, the graphics are amazing and this scenes are so cute. The sound is great. The plot of the game is freaking awesome and I can't believe this amazing game has such low reviews! People really must be hating on the ending scene that much? I was raging at first. But, the whole game is freaking worth it and the plot twists leave you with your mouth opened and eye twitching.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Dawn of Mana
mana games rock
Posted on:3/22/07
certemis
i love the mana games sword of mana, children of mana, secret of mana, secret of mana 2, i hope they make this game for gamecube and if they dont that will suck because all the mana games were on nintendo systems i realy do hope they make it for gamecube
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Dawn of Mana
Decent story, but too childish and linear
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:12/11/08
thumbs up for Dawn of Mana
Dawn of mana is a very interesting action/adventure. The combat system can get very confusing at times- it takes a while to master using the whip and it took me a very long time to actually understand and get good at starting enemies, making them easier to kill. Instead of a free, open world, you are forced to follow one storyline, one path, and do all of the same objectives. There are multiple decently long worlds to fight through, including an old ruin as the first level, a forest, a mine and crystal cave, a boat, a desert, and your homeland. I am not saying that this game isn't fun; lobbing creates and beating up on your enemies takes awhile to get boring. And even though the game may seem to be sort of childish due to its gimpy monsters in the first few worlds, there are many creative, well designed monsters that take strategy to overcome. As far as challenge goes, the game will seem quite hard until you get used to all of the controls and fighting strategy. There are some parts of levels that take a VERY long time to figure out where to go and how to get there, which almost caused me to quit the game myself. The most challenging parts of the game are a couple of the last bosses, which will especially test your gaming skills. One of the things that I personally didn't enjoy about the game was that it NEVER SEEMED TO END. When I finally thought it was over it turned out to be half way though. I don't think the game is actually too long, but it just seems to drag on and on until it just can't go on anymore. Lastly, one of the things that I think that could've helped give the game some more detail is that, even though the story is actually spread over a decent amount of years, only one of the charecters shows age progression, and everyone else seems to be timeless. The game Dawn of Mana comes down to personal preference. It has been ignored by most people since it came out in 2007, when most people had moved on to the newer systems. I bought this game because at the time, I hadnt moved on yet, but if anyone ever wants to go a little old school, I would reccomend this game to people who love games with deep storylines and hard bosses.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Dawn of Mana
Overall....
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/15/13
LunaDiviner
Okay. So, I've never had the pleasure of playing a Mana game. Think I owned one once but sold it, don't throw stones at me please. I was young and not into gaming then. Off the subject. I can honestly tell you this. This game is really good. It is unique with the graphics and the characters. The main menu even offers some things that you can do off the game, talking about the "Pet Eggs" you collect. The characters that you do actually get to meet touch your heart. Fae made me laugh a lot in the beginning. Biju..... Bju..... The small bunny thing. Yeah, he irritated me in the beginning.... All of the characters helped to adept to the story into something truly unique. The graphics are great, bordering on the lines of a childs anime, but hey.... So was Kingdom Hearts and people like that game too. The events of the game take you to an ending that you never would have expected.... And angered me and then made me cry. Yes. I have read some people complaining about the leveling system. Like Kingdom Hearts 365/2 Days, it's unique. Irritating, yes. Makes you want to scream, yes.But, you can't really change it. However, it doesn't truly reset as everybody thinks. I proudly got my magic to level 2. Don't ask how because I don't know.
Moral of the story: Don't judge a book by its cover. This game is really good and I hope you give it a try.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 7 for Dawn of Mana
I heard this game was terrible...
Posted on:3/4/07
Bojingles
Play Magazine reviewed this game, and they bluntly state that it could possibly be the end of the series. The maps are annoyingly big, and you don't keep your levels gained. You gain levels on the specific "level" that your going through, then reset when you leave. The story is apparently boring as all hell as well, and I believe you only play as the main character. They said, however, the graphics and musical score were stunning. What a pity =(
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Dawn of Mana
BRAVO!
Posted on:2/14/07
James
What could be the swan song of Square's RPG's for the PS2, the Mana tree returns with a wonderful story and nothing even CLOSE to Dark Cloud or Kingdom Hearts! I have heard a lot about this title being VERY old-school in it's RPG approach but with a gigantic love story and incredible battles and graphics along with a dynamic music score. This just might ease my wounds from the suffering of the letdown of FF12. Great job, Square, for allowing this on the PS2!
Review 9 for Dawn of Mana
Not ever worth the time or money!!!
Posted on:2/20/07
warrioroftime
Lets hope that whoever's making these TERRIBLE Mana sequels gets it right THIS time!!! After the past failures, I don' t think it's worth my time. Some game companies just don't get it!!! The only one that was worth playing was Secret of Mana; the rest were HORENDOUS let downs!!! It's like Hoywood, they Jjust can't get it right!!!
Review 10 for Dawn of Mana
hmmm
Posted on:4/1/07
gaming guru
Did you play Legand of Mana? Probably the best out of the mana series if you ask me, and that one came out on playstation 1. And Dawn of mana won't be coming out on gamecube, because the last games to be made on the gamecube and xbox is Ratoullie and madden 08!
Review 11 for Dawn of Mana
can't wait until this comes out
Posted on:3/8/07
Tractor
This looks like an awesome role playing game. I will definitely get this when it comes out. I think it also looks better than the final fantasy games and a lot of other square-enix games out there. So this is a must buy for all square-enix fans.
Review 12 for Dawn of Mana
Kingdom Hearts 2 1/2
Posted on:2/12/07
A Customer
A trailer showed the game in action, and it looks pretty good so far... but the battle system is very much like Kingdom Hearts' battle system. We'll just have to wait and see how things will turn out for this game.
Review 13 for Dawn of Mana
YES!!!!!!!!1
Posted on:2/27/07
inuyashafan
YES!! it has been ages!!. me and my bro played the legend of mana like crazy. we have been keeping a close eye out on all the gaming sites looking for a 2nd mana game. this will rock!!!!!
Review 14 for Dawn of Mana
A good one this time?
Posted on:3/1/07
Strife
I agree, the other Mana games are no where near as good as Secret of Mana or Legend of Mana. I hope that this one has at least some aspect of those two.
Review 15 for Dawn of Mana
hm..
Posted on:2/24/07
A Customer
hm...seem pretty nice..because i play the legend of mana on ps1 and it's a good game