GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Madden NFL 08

Feel what it's like to be a field general making key personnel decisions on both sides of the ball during the game's biggest moments in Madden NFL 08. Quickly identify your strongest players on the field before every snap then move them into position to make game-changing, momentum-altering plays. Play to your team's strengths by immediately reading your opponent's schemes and reacting to the action as soon as the ball is snapped. Create mismatches and exploit weaknesses as you read and react with Madden NFL 08.
Average Customer Rating:
6.778
6.8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (444 reviews)
10 stars
4
9 stars
2
8 stars
5
7 stars
2
6 stars
0
5 stars
1
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
3
12 out of 1867%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Madden NFL 08
Review 1 for Madden NFL 08
Another great madden
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/6/08
sntago987
The Madden franchise is one of the longest-running in video game history. It began around the same time as The Simpsons (and looked just about as ugly at that point) and has since grown to become a national phenomenon. Like anything that manages to last nearly two decades, Madden has gained a near equal number of ardent fans and passionate detractors. No matter what developer Tiburon does with its football title, the fans will always support it and the haters will always cry foul. Fortunately for those who love Madden, the gang at Tiburon finally got its next-gen act together and created the best version of its seminal football series since Madden NFL 2005. In fact, Madden 08 feels in many ways a throwback to 2005. That's a good thing. Madden 05 rocked. The biggest and most notable improvement this year is in the animation and tackling system. Gone are the majority of pre-canned animations. Just because you see Ray Lewis wrapping his meaty arms around Shaun Alexander doesn't mean the same overused tackle animation is about to kick in. The new branching animation system works in tandem with some new, more realistic football physics, to dictate the outcome of such contests. Depending on a player's skill, positioning, and momentum, a large variety of animations become possible. The end result is some of the most varied tackling ever seen in a football game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
8 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Madden NFL 08
GREAT GAME
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/28/12
RayDAgamer
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This is an amazing madden i love the graphics the gameplay and its challenging on all difficulties (except rookie) My Fav part of the game is superstar mode its so fun being a qb for a terrible team on rookie destroying other teams with 200 rushing yrds a game and a 100 passer rating even though your a 60 rating. this game is just awesome even though its 08 i have the newest maddens and i still play it even though its been 5 yrs. i definetly recomend playing it on a hd tv itll be even more epic
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 3 for Madden NFL 08
madden you impress again
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:12/22/12
KillstreakXD977
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This madden game was great overall. The gameplay was simply fantastic you could absolutly dominate other teams. My overal opinion on this is that if you love madden this is the game for you. The only minor kink i would say was the sound sometimes john madden just has to stop interupting, but besides that you feel like you are actually playing in the telecast. Lastly madden live on forever.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 4 for Madden NFL 08
Ugh
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:9/12/12
Anonymous
There is a reason this game is worth one dollar. It sucks, even though it is 5 years old it still sucks, I gave this game away less than a few months after I bought it, and Madden 09 was the last Madden I felt to buy. Now 06 was excellent.
 
My Product Recommendations
Madden NFL 06
9.7 out of 10(7)
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 5 for Madden NFL 08
good if....
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/22/12
skullkruncher007
Location: north carolina, nc
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
its a good game dont get me wrong but if u are an achievement hunter like me then you will need this
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 6 for Madden NFL 08
it is a great game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/6/12
jumpman5802
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
this madden game is fun and exciting it is not a difficult game to adjust to. It provides plenty of fun and it has many options to keep the gamer interested.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 7 for Madden NFL 08
OMG!!!!>:|
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:8/22/11
cam081396
Location: Duluth, MN
So i order this online and wait a week to get it and put it in my xbox to find out they copied a dvd onto the game so i dont evenm have a game to play
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Xbox 360 Gears of War 3 Wireless Controller
9.6 out of 10(53)
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
0 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Madden NFL 08
Good
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:8/15/11
ChevChelios13
Location: Torrance, CA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Pretty easy. Games are for some reason too easy. I'm a Seahawks fan and play as them and I can beat every team if I really tried.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 9 for Madden NFL 08
Pretty good
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/25/11
xxhazer95xx
Location: Cornelius,NC
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I got this game yesterday because Im trying to get my collection back for most maddens. I think this game is pretty good, good graphics good sound overall its great for two dollars,and I would recommend to any football fan.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Madden NFL 2004
7.8 out of 10(4)
 
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
theian
newcomerstown,ohio
 
Please wait while more information about theian is loaded.
Additional information about theian could not be loaded.
Top 500 Contributor
wrong.
Posted 11/19/12
this game is $1.00, not $2.00!!!!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 10 for Madden NFL 08
Great Game For Football fans
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:2/20/11
videogameman555
Location: fairfax, VA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
this game is a great over all game, and it always keeps me coming back for more. the computer could be a bit better though. my best game was 15 minute quaters, i won 175-23...
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Madden NFL 08
one fun game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/1/10
DmAnn11
Location: king,NC
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Madden NFL is a pretty awesome game.For starters its announcer gets to yell when you get an awesome catch and he says THE 20! THE 10 TOUCHDOWWWN!the best part is the superstar mode. the franchise mode is also cool but i like the superstar mode better.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 12 for Madden NFL 08
is a kool game
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/18/10
koll23
Location: bronx, ny
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
i love to play madden with my friend and familly.peolpe like to play game when they not doing nothing.,
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 13 for Madden NFL 08
Greatest Madden Ever
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:4/6/09
Major Pain
This is the best Madden so far. Madden 07 was terribble. The controls were weak and the rosters could not be edited so you were stuck with those rosters. Madden 09 the graphics and controls are good but with the rosters again you cant edit players #'s which sucks for those of you who like to update your own rosters. This game you can edit rosters. Theres a bit of an overload of players. They put players that retired in like 2005 in the game. JT O'Sullivan isnt in the game, but Peter Boulware is. Nick Folk isnt in the game. I dont get that. The rosters are great. Gameplay is great. They could cancel out the radio broadcaster and go back to John Madden and Al Michaels. I think Chris Berman would be a good kick for Halftime reports. Thje sieline players look like the players from Madden 99. But the players on the field look a little to overdone. There way to muscular. Creating players is easy if you want to add players into the game like McFadden or Forte. Franchise Mode is great like always. If I were you I would go adn get this game if you have to choose between this game or any other Madden. I srill hope that 2k sports comes out with a football game. Espn NFL 2k5 was great and I hope they come out with ESPN NFL 2k10 I give this game a 8
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 14 for Madden NFL 08
Not the Madden everyone Hoped for.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:1/27/09
excon95
This is not a very enjoyable game at all. It was I think the easiest game I've ever played plus the graphics were horrible. The player's faces were all blurry and all you could see were the colors of the player's uniforms. The announcer in the background had absolutely no emotions at all. He was practically moaning everything he said. The game had no variety of plays and whatever team that you chose, another team had the same exact play except that it had a different name. The only good thing that this game had to offer was all the easy way to earn achievements. They had I think one achieve for just throwing a 30 yard pass. Not even online was fun. It was totally boring to play another person. This game had no good characters and the teams had very low overall averages. EA did not do a good job on this Madden.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
0 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Madden NFL 08
Madden O8 For XBOX 360: A Pretty Good Game
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:1/11/09
Anbody
For me, I thought in all, it was a pretty good game. You have your normal variety of teams. Good sounds. Playing the game I must say was very fun. But I recommend not using Patriots while playing this game. The people who make this game make the Patriots too good and it's too easy to win and to hard for the people you are playing with. Some times, very rarely the game freezes up. Sometimes, the QB throws very short and inaccurate passes. They have good running plays. The gameplay is just fun. But the part of the game that disappoints me most is the Superstar mode. You create your own player and customize him. Then, you train him. The training honestly underestimates you. It scores too low and from the start, it makes you very bad. The schedule is ok. You do normal things on the calendar. You don't get to choose the team your on. On the drafts it picks your team based on your score which is always super low. So mostly, you start off with a horrible team. But the worst about Superstar mode is the games. I don't even consider it a game. You only play little parts of the game. It makes you do a play and you don't get to choose anything like a play. Usually, your QB stinks. When it becomes 4th down, you have to quit and look at the plays throughout that quarter. After, that, it makes up the rest of the game. You don't even get to play defense. It just gives the other team touchdowns or field goals and sometimes gives you field goals or touchdowns and you don't even know how you got them. You usually loose the game. Out of all, this game is a pretty good game in regular playing mode.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 16 for Madden NFL 08
Great Game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:9/13/08
MaddenMarku
This game is amazing, madden really stepped up when making this game and i think that things can only get better. the graphics are great, the sounds are ok, the controls are masterful and this is a must get game if you can't afford Madden 09. the Dynasty mode is amazingly realistic. the online play is the best around, and compared to every other madden this game has really made great leaps,and are going to continue to succeed. Madden 08 has one of the most realistic games in sports video game history, I can only imagine how things are going to be in the next 5 years! Get Madden 08 its cheap, the players are basically all were they are in real life and u can change your roster if you don't want the old rosters that you see when you first get the game. Get Madden 08 it's amazing!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Madden NFL 08
Madden Not so good
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:9/4/08
bmf78
I went from a regular xbox playing madden 07 which I thought was excellent. I finally thought they had all the kinks out of the system. Then I bought a 360 and bought madden 08 which I thought would be better. However only the graphics are better. The load times are really slow. The game freezes up sometimes and you cannot clear cap penalties during franchise so you are forced to get rid of some of your players. I know that sounds good because the real NFL does that but for a die hard fan of one team why would I want to dump good players? I only play this game because it is the only one out there but 07 madden for the regular xbox was better. I am not buying madden 09 because this game is not that great. I don't play online so I don't know how good that is. I guess when you don't have any options on football games you have to go with this. You would think after 20 years they would get it right.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Madden NFL 08
Madden
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:4/13/08
Mike the Greatest
Oh Madden, the reason and the proof to how ESPN NFL 2k5 was the best football game ever. Madden still looks, feels, plays like crap. ESPN would of swept madden away, but no, madden had to take all the rights to the NFL so they would be the only ones allowed to make the games. Every year they do the same thing and they put absolutely no creativity into their games. ESPN was way ahead of its time and madden WAS scared and took all the rights. I played 2k5 for a long time and it never got old to me. When you played franchise mode you felt connected, Madden doesn't bring any of that to the table. Superstar is entertaining, besides the fact that you can do the same thing in franchise with a created player. - Thanks madden, keep up on being the most overrated video game franchise ever.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Madden NFL 08
Okeye is here !!!!
Posted on:8/13/07
Infamous Iceman
Everyone keeps talking about how amazing All-Pro is....well they couldn't be anymore wrong , thier is a reason that all other football games have been demoralized by the true champion , Madden is phenominom beyond belief anyone that says otherwise please feel free to challange me on August 14 12:00 a.m. Tuesday morning and I'll make sure that your remeber who the true prodigey is around here.
0 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Madden NFL 08
Boring Boring Boring
Posted on:8/11/07
Jackson
All the madden games are a big waste of time and money. sports games are just stupid in general. people need to actually "game" with Halo, GTA, and challenging games like shadow of the clossus.
0 of 3 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 23 next>>