GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Madden NFL 08

Feel what it's like to be a field general making key personnel decisions on both sides of the ball during the game's biggest moments in Madden NFL 08. Quickly identify your strongest players on the field before every snap then move them into position to make game-changing, momentum-altering plays. Play to your team's strengths by immediately reading your opponent's schemes and reacting to the action as soon as the ball is snapped. Create mismatches and exploit weaknesses as you read and react with Madden NFL 08.
Average Customer Rating:
6.842
6.8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (445 reviews)
10 stars
4
9 stars
2
8 stars
6
7 stars
2
6 stars
0
5 stars
1
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
3
13 out of 1968%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Madden NFL 08
Review 1 for Madden NFL 08
Refuse to set myself up for disappointment...
Posted on:2/10/07
Funk Doctor Spock
Every year I have high hopes this game and I only end up disappointed. Everyone knows Madden 08 has the potential to be not only the best football game, but one of the greatest games ever made. Next-Gen Maddens have been so incomplete and to not include subtle things such as a player editor, which has come a standard in sports games, is absurd. Maybe these details which are missing wouldn't be so big of a deal if the gameplay compensated for it. I thought this was Next-Gen? Why does it feel like I've played Madden 07 5 years ago? It seems as if everyone is basing their optimism on fact that the only way from the bottom, in terms of quality and content, is up. Madden 08 will be "better", but don't expect a drastic make-over. EA is known for taking baby steps when creating a new edition of Madden. But hey, at least we our rosters will be updated and I can have Brady Quinn as my QB. I will buy this game because I am an EA tool/sheep, but I will only be expecting mediocrity....
Review 2 for Madden NFL 08
Better Graphics
Posted on:4/14/07
Redman
Madden 07 was a real cool detailed game but the only problem i have with it is that the players look too small and frail. EA sports needs too make the players look big like NFL 2k was from the dreamcast. They also need to show just a little more realism like making blood show on a opponent face when you knock their running backs helmet off and show doctors come on the field when a player is seriously injured. madden 08 also needs to have more powerful in air hits like making a opponent do a full flip in the air when you press the hit stick when a receiver is trying to catch a in air pass. If EA sports puts all this in madden 08 then it will be the best football game ever created,bigger more realistic looking players,more powerful hits,and make the players on the sideline look more lively then just standing their like statues,plus show a better longer championship ceremony and include a halftime show then madden 08 will be a long way from madden 07.
Review 3 for Madden NFL 08
Best Madden ever or just average
Posted on:7/29/07
A Customer
Hopefully this new Madden will be worth the money, if it's anything like the past titles then the answer is no. I like games that are close to being real i know it's a video game but how can you throw a bomb with three defenders on you & still catch it that's crazy. There's a list of problems madden needs to address i just don't have that long of a life span to write them down. Now that 2k is back they're not trying to half step anymore like they did in the past. It shouldn't take another company to motivate EA to make the best game possible, when you do your best you let your consumers know that you care about your product & them also. Year after year we shell out the cash hoping to get the best gaming experience. If you can't handle the NFL license give 2k a chance, I'm sure they're up to it. I like football i just want to see EA get serious about their product, so i really do hope that 08 will be the one everyone will talk about, in a good way.
Review 4 for Madden NFL 08
Another great madden
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/6/08
sntago987
The Madden franchise is one of the longest-running in video game history. It began around the same time as The Simpsons (and looked just about as ugly at that point) and has since grown to become a national phenomenon. Like anything that manages to last nearly two decades, Madden has gained a near equal number of ardent fans and passionate detractors. No matter what developer Tiburon does with its football title, the fans will always support it and the haters will always cry foul. Fortunately for those who love Madden, the gang at Tiburon finally got its next-gen act together and created the best version of its seminal football series since Madden NFL 2005. In fact, Madden 08 feels in many ways a throwback to 2005. That's a good thing. Madden 05 rocked. The biggest and most notable improvement this year is in the animation and tackling system. Gone are the majority of pre-canned animations. Just because you see Ray Lewis wrapping his meaty arms around Shaun Alexander doesn't mean the same overused tackle animation is about to kick in. The new branching animation system works in tandem with some new, more realistic football physics, to dictate the outcome of such contests. Depending on a player's skill, positioning, and momentum, a large variety of animations become possible. The end result is some of the most varied tackling ever seen in a football game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
8 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Madden NFL 08
can,t catch up
Posted on:6/26/07
a customer
I am a big Madden game fan but one of the things that i can not satnd is when a runningback, fullback, widereciever or tightend has the ball after a big catch or run and you can never catch up to him. It could be a slow running back like corey dillon, jamal lewis and many others who are powerbacks and are not the fastest on the feild but they can somehow out run a fast conerback or a fast linebacker all the way to the endzone and they keep gaining more yards on you while you are holding the so called turbo butten. You seem to slow down while they continue to speed up. I mean say you have a conerback with a speed ratting of 94 and a runnigback or tightend with a speed ratting rangeing from 82 - 87 and you cant catch up to them when they are not that far ahead of you, and when you try to dive for them they seen to get a little 3speed burst to avoid the dive. That is just one of the things that thay do to rip you off in this game.
Review 6 for Madden NFL 08
Dissapointed
Posted on:2/28/07
was a customer
Man I'm so mad with ea sports this year till its a shame... They got the graphics lookin so pretty but the gameplay and features are so wack.If i was ea i would listen and read all of these complaints on thier product.for num 1 im a big fan in the franchise create a players mode.we cant create a player in franchise mode come on and what bout changing ur players num.i think that when u create a player u should be able to make him as good as u want him to be..Im threw with madden though im going to start playing 2kfootball.i know im just one out of a billion customers ea lostbut they will loose more with that ridiculas game they put out there..i wish i could have my money back cause ive been a fan of ea since 1999 and never have i seen this game play so wack,,im out just please try to put back on some of the things o and why cant the computer play against each other this game overall was stupid. holla New Orleans Boy
Review 7 for Madden NFL 08
Great Game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:9/13/08
MaddenMarku
This game is amazing, madden really stepped up when making this game and i think that things can only get better. the graphics are great, the sounds are ok, the controls are masterful and this is a must get game if you can't afford Madden 09. the Dynasty mode is amazingly realistic. the online play is the best around, and compared to every other madden this game has really made great leaps,and are going to continue to succeed. Madden 08 has one of the most realistic games in sports video game history, I can only imagine how things are going to be in the next 5 years! Get Madden 08 its cheap, the players are basically all were they are in real life and u can change your roster if you don't want the old rosters that you see when you first get the game. Get Madden 08 it's amazing!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Madden NFL 08
Madden Not so good
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:9/4/08
bmf78
I went from a regular xbox playing madden 07 which I thought was excellent. I finally thought they had all the kinks out of the system. Then I bought a 360 and bought madden 08 which I thought would be better. However only the graphics are better. The load times are really slow. The game freezes up sometimes and you cannot clear cap penalties during franchise so you are forced to get rid of some of your players. I know that sounds good because the real NFL does that but for a die hard fan of one team why would I want to dump good players? I only play this game because it is the only one out there but 07 madden for the regular xbox was better. I am not buying madden 09 because this game is not that great. I don't play online so I don't know how good that is. I guess when you don't have any options on football games you have to go with this. You would think after 20 years they would get it right.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Madden NFL 08
QB Vision
Posted on:3/30/07
yomynameismike1
First off for PS2 last year qb vision wasn't even optional on all madden. either that needs to be gone all together, or optional for all levels. just make all-madden level harder in general without qb vision being mandatory. and it would be better if you could get more info on college players during the year so you know who is doing what and what their stats are, and who is the heisman and stuff like that. make injuries more of an unspecified timetable instead of an injury being exactly 4 weeks make it like 4-6 weeks. and if you could make more unhappy players that want to be traded like real life now, and sometimes some big offseason deals. sunday night football should have al and john, and the monday night crew should be kornheiser, tirico, and now ron jaworski. and there should be more halftime shows or interviews, especially in the superbowl because thats been pretty weak for years now.
Review 10 for Madden NFL 08
madden 08
Posted on:5/3/07
A Customer
i agree completely. since ea has bought all the rights to nfl games they have had no pressure to make a good game. i started playin madden in 03 and it was great until the last couple of years. 07 was probably the worst madden game ive ever played. they need to add more features and make franchise mode at least as good as it used to be. superstar mode sucks so they need 2 quit worrying bout makin dat better and just make franchise mode good. they need to bring back all the pre snap audibles that they took out too. plus in 07 the defenses sucked and the most interceptions a qb ever had n a seson was 10 and a good defensive year was 20 ppg. i really wish they would go back to a game similar to 05 where it is like the nfl where defenses dominate. also they need 2 quit makin the players look like ppl instead of being so huge. if ea will just do something like this the game will be awesome
Review 11 for Madden NFL 08
the game needs madden
Posted on:8/10/07
A Customer
well, couple of things while the graphics are great--madden is not madden without John himself and the game needs commentary which was taken away--i enjoyed a good al michaels and john madden call of the game--the other thing they did was take away the ability to watch other games--i like the fact that if i didn't make the playoffs or super bowl you can watch the game and see what happens--i enjoyed that aspect, plus if i was scouting a game i was going to play, then watching helped--now it simulates out--also, i like to see them incorporate EA sport game break and highlights of games--the game can ask you if you want a game break and see a highlight and have em at the 1/2 and end of game and maybe save them--they did that in the old madden games--i also like to have the ability to re-align the leagues, maybe add more games instead of pre-season--make it more fun than just graphics--
Review 12 for Madden NFL 08
sick and tired
Posted on:4/17/07
freejack
Man i have been a madden fan since it was on the sega genesis. enough is enough, ea is rippin people off. the gameplay is horrible, i need gang tackling cmon its 2007 and they still haven't added that. I need more than 3 special teams returns I play in the nfl and we have more than 3 returns. I need better oline play, cmon for too many yrs the oline play has ben horrible, they get beat wit (wide rushes, bulled over, etc,.) they have no clue of whats happening it doesnt matter who u have. They need better defenses Tampa 2. I need the corners to play better this crap with wr's who have high jump can just jump over db's thats unrealistic. The hit stick is so unrealistic, if you know anything about football you know that 9/10 people are not getting hit like that. The truck stick is stupid to, they should have the ability to tackle low or high, i could go on and on but im about to eat.
Review 13 for Madden NFL 08
Un Bias opion.
Posted on:3/3/07
Big Will
Madden. I have played madden since the 80's. I bought my 360 based on how well the game looked on reviews and previews with video. But when i played Madden 07. I was disappointed on the way the game was made from the ground up. The game hesitates at times. The graphics are good. But it still has a cartoon feel to it. Lets put some life into the players during the game play. Get rid of the jumbo tron scenes after every play and the window during play selection Ea-sports you have a new next Gen console. We can do without the bad frame rates and mediocre graphics and game play. Lets step it up. Cuz 2k sports is not just knocking at your door. They are bashing it down with All Pro Football 2k8 this year. They may win me back with this one. Yes, I like Espn 2k5. I prefer that over Madden 06, 07. But i still can be won over if Madden steps up to the plate with 08. Time will only tell.
Review 14 for Madden NFL 08
madden fooling everyone
Posted on:6/11/07
z boy
madden been out for what a zillion years..lol.....and the graffic are the same they throw in a few small thing and make you madden gammers think its so big and you fall for it.....madden is only about the money not out to make his games better as long as you keep buying them year after year and the only thing they do is add one are two new thing and every madden gamer goes crazy and its the same game from three previous years......why did you think madden bought the rights to 2k for the last five years...because they where blowing him out the water and taking his sales....wake madden gamers .......this is a boring game and now that 2k is back set back and see how real football is suppose to be example 2k basketball graffic is great and the all around game.........so now what are you going too do madden?......now that 2k is back you better step up your game...lol.....
Review 15 for Madden NFL 08
Do they listen to our ideas?
Posted on:4/12/07
KOJ
All in all, Madden 07 was a desent game to play. I am looking for more realistic play on both ofense and defense. (Jump ball situation, 6'4 reciever vs 5'9 corner you do the math.) Way too many controls for tackling. Kill the hit stick infavor of a presure sensative button. A larger playbook inculding custom plays and flea flickers. Lob passes down field should not be intercepted 5 yards down field. Special teams blocking ability has to be addressed. I would like to see more involvement from the coaching staff. The staff you select should have a large impact on team performance and attitude. Increase on and off field injuries (more freqent) and issues (drug, DWI, ect). Player attitude should change based on coaching, location, age, on and off field issues. Need the ability to change a players position (WR to TE / Safety to LB ect). Creating a player drills suck.
Review 16 for Madden NFL 08
Really fun game
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:5/20/14
BReview
Location: Plano, Tx
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I'm usually not that big on EA games but, I bought this game to see if I'd like the Madden experience. And true to form it's a really fun game and EA did a better than usual job with it. For the price you can't beat it and, You'll just want to move on up the Madden food chain experience as I have. If your into Football at all. Since I purchased this one , I"ve moved on with the mass populace to enjoy the fun of the Madden football games.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 17 for Madden NFL 08
Possible Fix?
Posted on:2/11/07
GoBears87
They better bring back the Owner's Box like set ticket prices, conessions, team merchandise things of that nature or me and a lot of madden fans will be upset. Also I hope they bring back the newspaper highlights. It makes the game just that more special and gives you something to look forward to. As for the superstar mode for a running back in Madden 07 is absolutely retarded. You cannot tell weather or not you should cut to the outside due to blindness, defense is hard if you are a linebacker because your always facing the ball and cannot tell where the reciever, running back, or full back is running off too. Basically Madden 07 was just plain ol' football. Yes the eye candy was there, but if they start focusing on more than just football and add on extras like Owner's Box and putting your team/players in the media (sports center?) it will rock! Go BEARS!
Review 18 for Madden NFL 08
things i would like to see
Posted on:3/10/07
Go Skins 21
ok madden 07 was a good game i still play it but there are some things that need to be improved: 1. defense needs to get smarter and actually intercept some passes (sometimes u can see the defender in position to catch and the ball litterally go right through his hands) 2. in superstar mode they need to find a way to show u where the ball is going and how fast its going because u cant always see the target on the ground (especially if you're on defense) 3. they need to have more than one defender able to tackle the ball carrier 4. it would be cool if there was a way to control your tackles like if u want to go for their legs or their chest 5. in superstar mode the play calling needs to be improved i dont mind not being able to call the plays but the AI makes some dumb play calls and doesnt manage the clock well but other than those i think the game is good
Review 19 for Madden NFL 08
New Feature
Posted on:7/1/07
A Customer
Looking at some of he previous cover guys, as well as NCAA 08 I think I figured out what the new "big feature" for madden will be about... last year (Shaun Alexander) the new "big" feature was the lead blocker. The Year before that (Donovan McNabb) when the feature was the QB vision. 3 years ago (Ray Lewis) the new feature was the hit stick I believe, or something to do with defense. Also, I am pretty sure that Marshall Faulk was the cover boy the year that emphasis was put on play makers... So the fact that VY is on the cover and also coupled with the advancements made on the recruiting in NCAA 08, I think there will be something special in franchise mode to do with the draft and/or rookies. Maybe they will include the scouting combine and things like that. If that isn't the direction the new feature is going, then I got no idea what it is.
Review 20 for Madden NFL 08
Bring Back the good features on the 360
Posted on:4/14/07
Rick044
Listen; I have bought evry madden that has ever been made. I use to love the game. I bought a XBOX 360 and paid high price for it as did everyone. We all pay HIGH price for the 360 games. So why then does EA cheat us for supporting them? They cut out so many features on the 360. THE FANTASY DRAFT and The EDIT PLAYERS and NUmbers are a must for me this year!!! I promise if those features are not in the game I will NOT buy it this year!!!! Why should other gamers with earlier consoles get the great features and pay less for the game? It don't make sense!!! They found away to get rid of their competion(2K Sports). And said well they can't get another NFL game so let's cheat them out of the great features.. Well I have always loved Madden football till I bought the 360. But if EA don't add the features back I won't support their game!!!
1 2 3 4 5 ... 23 next>>