GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Madden NFL 08

For 16 years it has been embraced by its fans, honored by critics, and envied by its rivals. It has endured the test of time and satisfied a demanding public like no other game in history. It's been recognized as the game the players play,' the benchmark in sports video gaming,' and the number one selling football video game in history.' It is MaddenNFL Football. Since its inception, the Madden NFL Football franchise has reigned supreme as the preeminent sports title in the video game industry. Selling more than 51 million units, the all-time best in North America, and bringing home a countless number of gaming awards, it's the most critically acclaimed sports title in history. This year the Madden NFL Football phenomenon celebrates its 17th Anniversary.
Average Customer Rating:
7.045
7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (173 reviews)
10 stars
2
9 stars
6
8 stars
5
7 stars
4
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
1
17 out of 2277%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Madden NFL 08
Review 1 for Madden NFL 08
Great game for NFL fans.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:12/23/12
Shamus
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I wrote a review on this game before, and I had nothing to say. Now, I'll be more specific with what I'm talking about. So, the Franchise mode is really good, because it's like your actually living the life of a manager of an NFL team. Very cohesive, very well put together, great effort by EA Sports with this game. In Franchise mode, you can check up depth charts, catch up with around-the-league acquisitions, and even check out the daily newspaper for your team's city. Now, when I checked out the rosters in the main menu the first time I played the game, I made some roster changes, to make them more accurate. I try trading players between different teams, and I have to go through stuff like salary caps and all that stuff. And to this day, of all the sports video games I've encountered, only this game has that kind of trading system working, where you have to go through the salary caps no matter what mode your in, whether it's the Franchise mode or just the main menu. Now as for the gameplay, it's a very cohesive, very good virtual NFL experience. It's pretty good. Anyway, as far as I know, you can unlock legendary teams from years past, and when I checked out these retro rosters, all the players were fake. Why? I do not know. I mean, there's some aspects to the game that I just don't understand, but it's still a really fun game, and I enjoy playing it.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Madden NFL 08
Good Madden Game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:4/5/12
FirstGamer10
Location: MI
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is a good game. I like the Superstar Mode. The graphics are good, but they could be better.I like how you can import a college player in the Superstar mode. The Skill Drills are handy but some are kinda hard (When you get past Medium level). I like the Madden Cards. Overall, I give this game a 9.2.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 3 for Madden NFL 08
May not be an award winner, but its better than 12
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/24/12
quentinman
Location: Atlanta, Ga
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Since this is my second Madden game, (first being '05) of course im regarding it highly. i haven't really followed the NFL until the 2011-2012 season, so i dont know if the rosters are accurate or not, but its game play is addictive. nice starter if your not into football. if your not a fan, this game will convert you. at least, it did me...
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 4 for Madden NFL 08
Not a fan of this one
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:3/3/12
WiiStars
Location: Roscoe,Illinois
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Madden 08 was an okay game I guess.The gameplay is decent,the graphics are fair,the music is very annoying,and the game is kinda replayable.In my opinion,I think this just might be the worst Madden game for the 2.I mean,this game went wrong when they for some odd reason chose Vince Young to be on the cover.I think the only real reason to play this game is for the superstar mode.I actually liked that mode.Other than that,its not worth playing.I would take any other Madden from 06 and up to now over 08.It hurts how poorly made this game was because im a HUGE Madden fan and I didnt know that EA could just screw up a game like this.Even Madden 07 blew it away.(Madden 07 is my favorite Madden for the PS2)If you took out the superstar mode,I would have given this game a 1 or 2.But since it does have a superstar mode and a good one at that,this game gets a 4 out of a 10.Not a big fan!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
Madden NFL 07 - Used
8.4 out of 10(11)
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Madden NFL 08
Good but needs improvement
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:2/22/12
XXXRayrayXXX
Location: Washington, DC
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Madden 08 is OK. the madden cards are helpful for the game. But the graphics needs some improvement. The game overall is good.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Madden NFL 08
THIS GAME SHOCKED ME!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:1/21/12
chemz13
Location: Union NJ
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
when i first got this game i was happy but then once you play it it gets boring.Th graphis are awful it is like every single player in the game has a close crop as a haircut. The fans look like they werent even put into effort the commentary is awful . Al michaels will announce the score in like three diffrent voices. The historic teams are just people with numbers on them. The soundtrack is just bad they only have three good song on them but the rest are just plain terrible.The graphics are really bad , cmon people don't get this game!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Madden NFL 08
Madden, what art thou?
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:12/15/11
BuuZilla
Location: Indiana,IN
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Remember when football games were FUN?
Remember when you could invite your freinds over and play football and look back on it and say,"Hey, I remember that!"?
Remember NFL Blizt and NFL Street?
According to Madden 08.................me neither.
And that's all you need to know.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Review 8 for Madden NFL 08
Decent...
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/23/11
blubber12
Location: Greenville,SC
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
Originally this was my Dad's game, but he gave it to me. At first I didn't like it. After a while I got pretty good. I really enjoy playing it.
Buy it!!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
threwitondagwawnd
 
Please wait while more information about threwitondagwawnd is loaded.
Additional information about threwitondagwawnd could not be loaded.
AVEREGE
Posted 1/2/12
At first I thought it was a good game but the same ps2 graphics got boring so I got a ps3 wich has MUCH better quality.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 9 for Madden NFL 08
Cool game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/21/11
BrownsRock75
Location: Minster,OH
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
this game is a good game for PS2 and for PSP Therefore this game is studly
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 10 for Madden NFL 08
Really Good
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:9/3/11
Skeletim
Location: Aurora CO
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
When I first bought this game I was...skeptical. I wasn't sure about whether to go ahead and wait for 09 or simply buy this game as late as I did. Boy, am I glad I decided to buy it. Gameplay is great, very smooth and as far as I can find no extreme glitches but I'm sure they're there. I love Superstar mode. This game's Graphics are stupendous for a ps2 game I was shocked playing it at how fluid and slick the player design was. Overall I'd say yes buy it because it is just so much fun.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Madden NFL 08
MADDEN NFL 2008 ROCKZ
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/24/11
smoke909
Location: mendocino county, ca
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
this game is my favorite madden game,i even have the 2011 version but i steel prefer the 2008 i just fell in love with it ...i think why make any more after 2008 becuase its so great ...but any way the gameplay is great ..the commentary is decent ,the graphics are decent ...yea this is a fantastic madden game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Madden NFL 08
Gnarly game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/10/11
madcuzilost
Location: North Carolina
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
this is the first football game i have ever played and i give it a perfect score. there is sooooo much to do. you get so much freedom in career mode that you can actually change the food and merchandise prices. you learn how to play the game preatty fast and you get good at it. great game. i recomend it
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Madden NFL 08
didnt like it
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:4/18/11
rating
Location: va
This game is perfect for: party gamers
it too boring and i flike the franchises but in this version i hated it plus some of the rookies i wanted were not in it
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Madden NFL 08
O.k game
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/27/10
1degree
Location: Co.
This game is fun.I really wish EA games would change te punting problem because every time I run back to reacive it,it goes out of bounds...?It seems to let the other team win.But besides that it's fun and cool.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 15 for Madden NFL 08
Much easier than the PS3 version
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:5/18/10
UnhingedGamer
I have played this game for a long time and must say that the PS2 version is easier to play than the PS3 version. Controls are easier to execute, graphics run smooth and you get to hear the commentary from Madden and Al Michaels. However, there are some drawbacks: crowd animation is poor, the sound effects are repetitive and Madden tends to say "boom!" too much. When you play classic teams, the players names are not on the jerseys and the announcers refer to them as #1, #2, #3 etc. The Madden Cards are useful especially if you get the cheat cards. To get the cards, you must earn points in the Madden Challenge, where you are rewarded for executing good plays. I've done so well in this game: once I returned an interception 99 yards for a touchdown and another time I played as the Falcons and beat the Patriots by an unheard of score of 213-10. I scored so many points that the stadium scoreboards misread the score as 13 because it doesn't go over 99. (The on-screen information bar showed the correct score, however). Even though the game is outdated, it would be a must-have for any Madden fan and the price is a bargain.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Madden NFL 08
Madden NFL 08: decent game
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:5/6/10
thatguyinatree
I remember first buying this game. I thought it was going to be a lot like '07, which i think is one of the best ones. WRONG. many upgrades to this game including a new game mode, Fantasy Challenge. A great Madden game. -Camera Angle- Good camera angle, like most madden games, it offers different angles. Very easy to see the whole field. -Controls- I always like the controls on the newer madden games. Easy to get used to, responsive. -Interface- I really like the menu style on this game. It looks really cool, and is good compared to other madden games' menu design. (i hate the designs for the PS2 version of madden 10) -Statistics- Statistics on the madden games are always good. Very accurate, most NFL players at the time are in there. -Challenge- Good challenge if you have it on modes like all- madden. Fantasy Challenge mode can be challenging too, and so can the other modes. :D -Graphics/ Animation- I put this really low because this game has lots of graphic glitches compared to the other madden games. I'm not sure if it's just my disc or what, but i'm gonna say what. The players get up all weird. When they get knocked down, they never ever actually get up. They are all of the sudden standing up. Sometimes, the players also walk through each other a lot. You know how when you're playing and it sometimes shows the coach on the sideline? Well there is this HUGE glitch where when it shows the coach, his face will be ALL blue. He will have NO NOSE, AND THERE WILL BE A EAR WHERE IS MOUTH IS SUPPOSED TO BE. The ear will not open, it will just move around when he talks. My disc has no scratches on it, but i'm not sure if that's just my disc or everybody sees that. My friends have seen these glitches too. Otherwise, the graphics are pretty good. -Sound- This is entirely my opinion, but the soundtrack is SO ANNOYING, after you listen to it a long time, the songs get really annoying and all the songs are really repetitive, so that's why they annoy me. I like some of the songs, but 95% of them are really annoying and repetitive, and I just really don't like them. I think all the in-game sounds are good though and sound realistic like real football. -Team/Player Variety- It's madden, they have everything. I like the historic teams, i just wish the historic teams had the actual players on them. An overall decent game. If your looking for a cheap football game to buy, I recommend madden '06 or '07, because in my opinion, those ones are better. I also think Madden is the best football franchise, so get this over ESPN nfl football or any other football games like that. If you like Fantasy Challenge mode though, get madden '09 or '10.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Review 17 for Madden NFL 08
the best by far
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/10/10
8v}
this is the first madden game i have ever had for the playstation 2 and it was perfect!! it has a really good storyline if you could call it that but what was the best was that the apartment had pretty much all u needed and i liked the simpleness of the calander. when in a game, the controls can get confusing with the right analog stick because you cant run and juke at the same time which would be very nice. their were also many camera angles to chose from so you can have full view of the field or just your player. but the thing that i mostly didnt like was that its hard to get an agent that is actually good. but other than those couple of problems, the game is great. i would recomend this to anyone who is debating on buying it. out of all my games that i own this is by far my favorite.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Madden NFL 08
it has some faults.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:2/18/10
49ersfanatic
At first i thought this would be the same old thing just like madden 2007, But i was actually shocked, at how much this game has improved, some people were upset but thats understandable, this game has excellent controls, not a hard game to figure out at all for people who have never played a madden game before you need to try this one out to begin with, and then move on to better ones, the sound was not very good, uncapable of giving you a good impression you are actually on the field. so if you want a good sounding game don't buy this, the graphics were very well improved in this seasons madden videogame, challenge not so much of a challenge, this is also a good game featuring good player statistics, and a better player variatey in this game.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 19 for Madden NFL 08
Too Easy
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:12/30/09
agentzero
This game is good expect that it is very easy I know that I hate when they make games so hard that it frustats you so much that you just want to break the cd in half and throw it away but this game is the exact opposite because it is just so easy for example I average about 45 points a game and give up about 10 thats a 35 point difference and to tell you the truth I don't see many teams in the NFL winning their games by 35 points. Also the superstar mode is not as good as it was in previous Maddens when you could control every player even when your superstar was on the field because Madden 08 you can only control every player if you want when your off field which makes it much eaiser that way when you can see the whole compared to seeing just your superstar in the screen and just basically guess what players are opened for you throw it to them This game needs to become more challenging first and for most and then needs to get an improved superstar mode but other than that all the other options are perfectly fine with me
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Madden NFL 08
OK needs some improvement
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:12/16/08
IndyAndy23
the problem with this game is its the exact same as the other maddens. All they changed was who plays for which team madden 09 looks much better with the many modes you can play in. I mean come on backyard football looks more fun than this What they need to do is put in some playoff modes where you can pick a team and drive them to the Superbowl. Now that would be fun. Or make some Insert where you can have an NFL draft with players from A college football game that you own that way your players can go from college to the NFL and get drafted.Another cool thing in this game is the fantasy draft the one thing bad about it is you never know who will get the number one pick thus making it hard the should have a mode where your team gets the first draft pick no matter what.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>