GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Madden NFL 08

For 16 years it has been embraced by its fans, honored by critics, and envied by its rivals. It has endured the test of time and satisfied a demanding public like no other game in history. It's been recognized as the game the players play,' the benchmark in sports video gaming,' and the number one selling football video game in history.' It is MaddenNFL Football. Since its inception, the Madden NFL Football franchise has reigned supreme as the preeminent sports title in the video game industry. Selling more than 51 million units, the all-time best in North America, and bringing home a countless number of gaming awards, it's the most critically acclaimed sports title in history. This year the Madden NFL Football phenomenon celebrates its 17th Anniversary.
Average Customer Rating:
7.045
7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (173 reviews)
10 stars
2
9 stars
6
8 stars
5
7 stars
4
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
1
17 out of 2277%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Madden NFL 08
Review 1 for Madden NFL 08
Madden needs some changes..
Posted on:4/24/07
Ohio State is AMAZING!!
I think the one thing that is wrong with madden is that it is not realistic enough...for example...in NCAA Football the running is more realistic because you don't cut so heavily and you kind of glide and it makes it better because you can actually find the hole easier going up the gut....also the players dont look very real at all! they look way to fake and again i think NCAA is better at making the players look more realistic...other than that besides some other small things i still enjoy playing madden...one other thing is players get in trouble in real life and not everything is perfect..so maybe there could be some sort of thing where is your players morale is down they get like arrested or something...i just think the game needs to be realistic...thats my main point if you couldnt tell but i think they have done a great job improving the game over time...also you should let the gamer control more of what the player does..like how they run and cutbacks and like stuff like that
Review 2 for Madden NFL 08
Too Easy
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:12/30/09
agentzero
This game is good expect that it is very easy I know that I hate when they make games so hard that it frustats you so much that you just want to break the cd in half and throw it away but this game is the exact opposite because it is just so easy for example I average about 45 points a game and give up about 10 thats a 35 point difference and to tell you the truth I don't see many teams in the NFL winning their games by 35 points. Also the superstar mode is not as good as it was in previous Maddens when you could control every player even when your superstar was on the field because Madden 08 you can only control every player if you want when your off field which makes it much eaiser that way when you can see the whole compared to seeing just your superstar in the screen and just basically guess what players are opened for you throw it to them This game needs to become more challenging first and for most and then needs to get an improved superstar mode but other than that all the other options are perfectly fine with me
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Madden NFL 08
Good Game for PS2
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/13/08
Maddendude44
It's a great game but if you have Madden 07 or 09 don't bother buying it. Graphics are pretty much the same as 09, 07, and 06. They added 1 feature that I never even play. The whole Madden franchise is the best games, and any PS2 owner should feature at least 1 in his/her collection. From the graphics, to the gameplay, to the greatest commentary duo of all time (John Madden and Al Micheals) Madden is a great game. I enjoy passing time playing sports games on my PS2, and this game provides hours of fun for a good cheap used game price. Realistic graphics make it feel like you're in the stadium or even better, watching your favorite NFL team on a 50 inch hd tv. Except in my opinion it's better because you control the fate of your team. Madden is a great game game. Buy it!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Madden NFL 08
the best by far
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/10/10
8v}
this is the first madden game i have ever had for the playstation 2 and it was perfect!! it has a really good storyline if you could call it that but what was the best was that the apartment had pretty much all u needed and i liked the simpleness of the calander. when in a game, the controls can get confusing with the right analog stick because you cant run and juke at the same time which would be very nice. their were also many camera angles to chose from so you can have full view of the field or just your player. but the thing that i mostly didnt like was that its hard to get an agent that is actually good. but other than those couple of problems, the game is great. i would recomend this to anyone who is debating on buying it. out of all my games that i own this is by far my favorite.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Madden NFL 08
some needed changes
Posted on:5/2/07
A Customer
For one thing the scouting combine has to go. Either go back to the old way or make it easier to get a scouting report on the rookies. It is ridiculus to have to do mini camps when you could not only not get a feel for the player, but also not get a scouting report. You then have to try again and waste one of your precious few chances to do a mini camp drill. The next thing is simple: allow the trading of draft picks from the next year. Many deals in real life only happen because of the ability to trade your 2nd rounder from the current year and the next year. The blocking can be ridiculus, mainly on punt returns, but during offence also. It angers me so much when I have a blocker in front of me and he just bounces of the defender doing absolutely nothing. It happens in the open field and in the trenches. This never happens in real life and it shouldn't in the game. At least make the defender pull a move on the blocker to get passed him.
Review 6 for Madden NFL 08
I HOPE EA reads this
Posted on:2/28/07
mattybrew
I know they are done making the game but for madden 09, if not in 08...they need to make superstar more like an actualy living experience...i know its hard, but have like interactive parties at your CUSTOMIZABLE crib. also I was a 99 ovr rookie(NCAA legend) and i was drafted in the 3rd round...that's a glitch. They also kcik the ball too high...make it more like NCAA where you can actually block the kicks. Add more tackle types and mak the dives more realistic. Moderate rookies skill levels as well. Playoff victories and superbowl victories have terrible celebrations, let us into the lockerroom and have champagne, then take it a step further and have the city's celebration and the dropping of the banner at next year's opening home game, and maybe toss in a GM Mode. I know this can't all happen in one year's game, but get it all in there eventually.You guys should hire me as an adviser. I'd be a very useful tool in the great EA team.
Review 7 for Madden NFL 08
Much easier than the PS3 version
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:5/18/10
UnhingedGamer
I have played this game for a long time and must say that the PS2 version is easier to play than the PS3 version. Controls are easier to execute, graphics run smooth and you get to hear the commentary from Madden and Al Michaels. However, there are some drawbacks: crowd animation is poor, the sound effects are repetitive and Madden tends to say "boom!" too much. When you play classic teams, the players names are not on the jerseys and the announcers refer to them as #1, #2, #3 etc. The Madden Cards are useful especially if you get the cheat cards. To get the cards, you must earn points in the Madden Challenge, where you are rewarded for executing good plays. I've done so well in this game: once I returned an interception 99 yards for a touchdown and another time I played as the Falcons and beat the Patriots by an unheard of score of 213-10. I scored so many points that the stadium scoreboards misread the score as 13 because it doesn't go over 99. (The on-screen information bar showed the correct score, however). Even though the game is outdated, it would be a must-have for any Madden fan and the price is a bargain.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Madden NFL 08
Not a fan of this one
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:3/3/12
WiiStars
Location: Roscoe,Illinois
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Madden 08 was an okay game I guess.The gameplay is decent,the graphics are fair,the music is very annoying,and the game is kinda replayable.In my opinion,I think this just might be the worst Madden game for the 2.I mean,this game went wrong when they for some odd reason chose Vince Young to be on the cover.I think the only real reason to play this game is for the superstar mode.I actually liked that mode.Other than that,its not worth playing.I would take any other Madden from 06 and up to now over 08.It hurts how poorly made this game was because im a HUGE Madden fan and I didnt know that EA could just screw up a game like this.Even Madden 07 blew it away.(Madden 07 is my favorite Madden for the PS2)If you took out the superstar mode,I would have given this game a 1 or 2.But since it does have a superstar mode and a good one at that,this game gets a 4 out of a 10.Not a big fan!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
Madden NFL 07 - Used
8.4 out of 10(11)
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Madden NFL 08
Madden at it's Best
Posted on:8/10/07
CD
Madden 08 i think will be the best madden ever if the graphics get better, and the new features will be good, and the snow and rain will be a little more realistic, the game will be great cause bottom line, it's madden, the greatest football game ver created on the earth, so u know what 2 expect, and even though a couple people r saying this game is gonna be a bust, there prpobably gonna get it anyway, cause if u don't have 360 or PS3, then this is the only football game out there, so if u like football, it's either get Madden, or get a 360 which costs alot
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
codyrk
pittsburgh,pa
 
Please wait while more information about codyrk is loaded.
Additional information about codyrk could not be loaded.
OK
Posted 10/11/10
this game is ok if want the rosters and gameplay
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 10 for Madden NFL 08
OK needs some improvement
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:12/16/08
IndyAndy23
the problem with this game is its the exact same as the other maddens. All they changed was who plays for which team madden 09 looks much better with the many modes you can play in. I mean come on backyard football looks more fun than this What they need to do is put in some playoff modes where you can pick a team and drive them to the Superbowl. Now that would be fun. Or make some Insert where you can have an NFL draft with players from A college football game that you own that way your players can go from college to the NFL and get drafted.Another cool thing in this game is the fantasy draft the one thing bad about it is you never know who will get the number one pick thus making it hard the should have a mode where your team gets the first draft pick no matter what.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Madden NFL 08
need more changes
Posted on:8/11/07
vince young rules
yea i agree with most of these guys.i hope they do put alot of new changes like better graphics on superstar, better or more music more hip-hop,u should beable to be your superstar at all time and controle him, i like that you dont know what team u will be drafted on but u shuold beable to get drafted lower.but it will be hard to get a video game to look realistic. but i think this one will be the best they have made.superbowl titans baby
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Madden NFL 08
Some changes.......
Posted on:4/17/07
secondrgr
I think that Madden 08 is going to be great but there do need to be some changes. For starters, the pictures of the rookies need to be actual pics, not those computer generated images, also, incorporate the NCAA playbook into Madden so that there could be a wider variety of plays, option with Vick and Young, imagine the possibilites. Also, have a pre-game show before the game that would highlight the season so far and focus on the key players of each team. Then have a half time show that would go over the stats so far and the keys to the next half. Then after the games for the day are over, have like the NFL Primetime show that would show some highlights of the days games and as the season goes on, have the sportscasters describe the playoff picture for the contenders and start focusing on the needs of the teams that are out of the playoff hunt. Just my .02
Review 13 for Madden NFL 08
Great game for NFL fans.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:12/23/12
Shamus
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I wrote a review on this game before, and I had nothing to say. Now, I'll be more specific with what I'm talking about. So, the Franchise mode is really good, because it's like your actually living the life of a manager of an NFL team. Very cohesive, very well put together, great effort by EA Sports with this game. In Franchise mode, you can check up depth charts, catch up with around-the-league acquisitions, and even check out the daily newspaper for your team's city. Now, when I checked out the rosters in the main menu the first time I played the game, I made some roster changes, to make them more accurate. I try trading players between different teams, and I have to go through stuff like salary caps and all that stuff. And to this day, of all the sports video games I've encountered, only this game has that kind of trading system working, where you have to go through the salary caps no matter what mode your in, whether it's the Franchise mode or just the main menu. Now as for the gameplay, it's a very cohesive, very good virtual NFL experience. It's pretty good. Anyway, as far as I know, you can unlock legendary teams from years past, and when I checked out these retro rosters, all the players were fake. Why? I do not know. I mean, there's some aspects to the game that I just don't understand, but it's still a really fun game, and I enjoy playing it.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Madden NFL 08
needed things
Posted on:6/1/07
A Customer
i think one of the major things needed is real-life issues. like in madden 07 the only way players cant play is by injury. there should be times where players get in trouble with the law. not just injuries and i think u should be able to make your own contracts not just have 4 choices. you should be able to go to difrent teams and make deals. also oyu hsould be able to control your money better and buy difrent things like cars and houses. and the jukes need to be more real instead of hopping 2yards to the side u should be able to juke depending on the pressure u put on the analog stick. (if u push lightly u hop a couple inches, push hard u hop 2 yards)and they should put super bowl decals on the jerseys. like in NCAA 07 they have decals for whatevr bowl your in. and more accesories in difrent places. and MORE REALISTIC CATHES PLZ!!!
Review 15 for Madden NFL 08
THIS GAME SHOCKED ME!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:1/21/12
chemz13
Location: Union NJ
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
when i first got this game i was happy but then once you play it it gets boring.Th graphis are awful it is like every single player in the game has a close crop as a haircut. The fans look like they werent even put into effort the commentary is awful . Al michaels will announce the score in like three diffrent voices. The historic teams are just people with numbers on them. The soundtrack is just bad they only have three good song on them but the rest are just plain terrible.The graphics are really bad , cmon people don't get this game!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Madden NFL 08
MADDEN NEEDS SOME CHANGES
Posted on:4/25/07
AL
What i didn't like about madden 07 was that when you play on all-madden you can't take the QB vision off and i really don't like that because the person you are playimg against knows who you are throwing the ball to and i like to throw the ball to whoever i want to,and the graphics need to be a little better,and you should be able to do stuff like fight with other players on the field like they do in real football,andbe able to do some the stuff that the real players be doing. And the players need to be little bit more dirty when there out on the field when it's raining and stuff. And at halftime there should be a little bit more something like some some people telling you what they think about the game and stuff like that.And these are some changes that i think should be made to madden everything else is alright.
Review 17 for Madden NFL 08
madden hopes
Posted on:4/13/07
A Customer
madden 07 was better but they need to start having gang tackles on defense, being able to hit the receiver or ball carrier in the air, also we should have a create a cheerleader(that would be so sweet) also for a goaline they should make a button where you would jump over the pile to score a touchdown, also they should update the hair styles, equipment, and make the legend teams have the real players.. it would b also sweet if we could lateral the ball when your about to get hit. and also make sure you have every players picture because those fake ones are getting annoying and get room to fit in t.j. houshmanzadeh's name to fit on the jerseys, and make sure every players name is said because im sick of hearing madden sayin "number 56 on the tackle" its really stupid..but yeah thats pretty much it
Review 18 for Madden NFL 08
MADDEN NFL 2008 ROCKZ
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/24/11
smoke909
Location: mendocino county, ca
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
this game is my favorite madden game,i even have the 2011 version but i steel prefer the 2008 i just fell in love with it ...i think why make any more after 2008 becuase its so great ...but any way the gameplay is great ..the commentary is decent ,the graphics are decent ...yea this is a fantastic madden game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Madden NFL 08
Changes needed
Posted on:5/8/07
Charli2k7
Ive been addicted to the Madden series since 2004. When I got Madden 07, I was up past midnight palying, and was amazed with the creativeness of the Superstar Mode. This year it needs a few changes. First, I feel the player you create should at least be taken in rounds 1 or 2. I did so much work trying out for teams and having to sit back and wait to be taken late in the draft. I feel that the superstar should also get to interact more with the team he plays for, or the team he is interested in. Another change that is needed, is in Franchise mode. I has come to be kind of dull just going throught training camp then preseason and then the regular season. I hope Madden 08 has everything that I looking forward to, because the basketball season is getting boring. Go Jags!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Review 20 for Madden NFL 08
Madden 08 better be tight!
Posted on:4/18/07
_WaR_^LyNcH^
madden is a good game but it need some major changes. First they need 2 change the create team. You should be able to create your own jersey and when you have created person or anything like that you should be able to wear sleeveas all the time not only in the cold or rain. The superstar mode was good but make a option on the camra angle, you should be able to make the camra normal. Also on the superstar mode you should be able to see yourself on the sidelines and be able to talk to people. If you wanna be a QB you shoukd be able to talk to the coach about what plays to choose for the next drive. Oh and we should be able to hit players in the air when they go to catch the ball. Also the hit stick, people be getting hit hard as a mug so why do they get back up like that.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>