GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Madden NFL 08

For 16 years it has been embraced by its fans, honored by critics, and envied by its rivals. It has endured the test of time and satisfied a demanding public like no other game in history. It's been recognized as the game the players play,' the benchmark in sports video gaming,' and the number one selling football video game in history.' It is MaddenNFL Football. Since its inception, the Madden NFL Football franchise has reigned supreme as the preeminent sports title in the video game industry. Selling more than 51 million units, the all-time best in North America, and bringing home a countless number of gaming awards, it's the most critically acclaimed sports title in history. This year the Madden NFL Football phenomenon celebrates its 17th Anniversary.
Average Customer Rating:
8.167
8.2
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (67 reviews)
10 stars
6
9 stars
2
8 stars
1
7 stars
1
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
10 out of 1283%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Madden NFL 08
Review 1 for Madden NFL 08
The Best!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:9/4/08
Tj619
A while ago I got madden 08 for my psp it was so cool and enjoyed playing so much but I was still looking forward to 09. So after a while when 09 came out I got it but when I started playing it I realized that 08 was at least 4x better. So I traded in my 09 and got 08 again. After that I updated my rosters and it was even better. I love the graphics in this game they are one of the best on the psp. I've been reading alot of reviews and they say theres a camera problem that it's on them to tight well it only looks like that at first then when the ball is snapped it zooms out. Every one said that madden 09 would have an amazing field well 08 was much better. If you want a true madden experience get 07 or 08 and it will save you some money 08 IS UNDER edit $ now. I also really enjoy the game play like in 09 or even 08 for the ds it has these bubble things that turn green yellow and red. It made it way to easy part of playing a football game is being the quarter back and it takes the fun away to always see whos open. So if you want a true football experience get this.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
BeasTzZ
Usa
 
Please wait while more information about BeasTzZ is loaded.
Additional information about BeasTzZ could not be loaded.
Not sure
Posted 10/25/14
Not sure if I shold get it afraid it wont work.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 2 for Madden NFL 08
PRETTY GOOD
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/23/08
Joey978
When I bought this game I knew it would be fun. At the beginning it is a little hard to figure out. I actually had to read the manuel it comes with. So if you don't like reading the little book for 5-15 minutes don't buy this game. The Graphics are awesome and same with the sound. A lot of the game is done by the computer so you have to be a good team. For an example, if you are the Raiders you will never get an interception because they suck. If you are the Patriots you could get 1-3 interceptions every game! You do not get to choose whose on your team. You will get what ever people are on the team. This game is very addicting but can get old after a while. The mini games look fun but they are so confusing to get to! Another good thing is there are some teams from Europe like the Sea Devils Or Galaxy but there not the best team. There is a Hall of Fame team which pretty much owns the rest of the team. If a monkey was playing and was on the hall of fame team he would probably win 35-0.Very fun game but you must understand the concept and rules of football.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Madden NFL 08
cool game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/8/11
coolguy543
Location: 85041
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
this game is cool. i bought it a year ago but it was used. it broke down like 6 months later.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Madden NFL 08
Pretty Great
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:5/16/08
Good
If you want to buy this game I would recommend it for playstation 3 or xbox 360 this game is pretty great but if I had to buy it again I would definitely buy it for playstation 3. This is a good game and I would recommend it for someone who likes sport's games and football. It is great with it's new superstar challenge and the new characters. The controls are hard and would be easier on something not hand held. The bad part is that Micheal Vick is still on the game but with the speed and agility of Vince Young easily beats him out. The graphics aren't very great but they usually aren't on psp. The only challenge is really the superstar challenge which is great and fun which will let you go to games that were really big which teams lost and you get go back and win. This is a pretty great game and I would buy it again if I could.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 5 for Madden NFL 08
New Mode
Posted on:6/23/07
Gamer27
Most people are begging to have superstar mode on the psp version but i also heard that there is going to be a new mode called owner mode i dont really know much about it except it is supposed to have u start out making a new team and having an exspansion team and u draft ur team and compete with the other teams. i dont know about you but that sounds really cool!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Madden NFL 08
it better
Posted on:7/9/07
Derek
if it doesn't have Superstar or Create a player i'm not buying it if it does it will easily be the best PSP game ever though and i'm going to laugh when Vince young Blows a knee or something if i was LT i woulda done the ssame thing PS GO BEARS!!!!!!!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Madden NFL 08
Amazing
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/3/08
Macky J
First of all madden 07 was one of my favorite games for psp. Even though i do not play football it was easy to catch on to it. But when I saw madden 08 come out i wanted it so bad but i did not get it. But just a few days afo I bought it. As soon as i bought it i went straight home to play it. When I turned it on the graphics were amazing. My favorite part about this game is the online play. There are always people on to play and it doesnt freeze like some other games. The thing i was dissappointed in was the challenge of the game. It was way to easy but when i went online people were just my skill level so it was fun. Also if you have madden 07 madden 08 is not that different from it so you dont have to buy it if you have 07 already. If you like football buy this game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 8 for Madden NFL 08
THIS SUCKS
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:3/31/11
clradel
Location: peru, IN
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Man, i thought madden 11 was bad, but this defines terrible. probly gonna wait for madden 12
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Madden NFL 08
good game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:5/23/08
nerd boy & dork dude
The best madden game so far. I enjoyed the new franchise mode and the new catch and react controls. I would recommend the game to anyone about 12 and up and for many football fanatic to give this game a try.It has most of the plays and all the teams even some I have never heard of like the Galaxies for like Germany or some place. I also enjoyed the option of choosing different pro teams and the new side games during franchise mode. I haven't beat franchise mode yet so I cannot tell you anything about that. I enjoyed the madden tip play thing, and I also enjoyed playing as the 49ers and seattle seahawks and as the nfc hall of fame team, but I would not recommend playing as one of the odd teams like the fires or galaxies, they are bad on like 58 or so overall.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 10 for Madden NFL 08
This game better have these things
Posted on:6/6/07
BOB
Madden for the PSP have not been as good as the other systems. This game needs some things that they have on the other systems. 1. the most important is that psp needs create a player 2. Also needed is Super star mode. that is so fun!!!!! 3. (this goes with super star mode) they should have it the same as the last year except you should be able to chose which team your on 4. create a team 5. takeing players from college games and useing them for superstar mode 6. create a playbook if it has this im buying it. if not forget it its just like last year. P.S.to those fans that said it should be ladanian tomlinsonshould of made the cover the company asked him but he turned it down because of the Madden curse P.S.S. Go Bears!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Review 11 for Madden NFL 08
Superstar mode
Posted on:7/17/07
Anthony
If this knew madden has superstar mode it'll be the best sports game yet for the psp. I didn't buy madden 07 becouse it didn't have superstar mode. But if this knew madden has it i will definitly try and get it.
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Madden NFL 08
cant wait
Posted on:4/29/07
Ladanian Tomlinson
I am a huge fan of Madden games. I expect this game to be great; just like Madden 06 and 07. I am getting it the first day it comes out. It's going to be fun playing with JaMarcus Russell, Brady Quinn, Calvin Johnson, Adrian Peterson, and all these other rookies coming into the NFL. EA Sports needs to change one thing though; put me on the cover!!! No offense to Vince Young, but he played one year in the NFL and scored a few touchdowns, and he's already on the front cover on a video game! I earned it, and you can tell by my MVP trophy and best record in the NFL. Well anyways, I am really looking forward to playing this game. P.S - Chargers fans, get ready for an 08 championship!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Review 13 for Madden NFL 08
Graphics
Posted on:2/20/07
Troy
The PSP is a great system, i think it really fun. The only problem is the graphics, those could be better, i know its a protable, but it would be nice to see better graphics on the sports games, then this would be an even better system. I just hope that madden 08 isn't the exact same thing as madden 07 but with like a couple of changes. What would make the game better is: 1. Better graphics 2. A career mode where you could create your own player 3. More game modes that just like franchise or season or whatever, they should add situation, and a few other things 4. I wish madden could show halftime and postgameshows with the highlights like the espn games
Review 14 for Madden NFL 08
This game is decent, not something to go get.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:11/27/10
hakeem
Location: NH
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
I liked it in 2008 when it came out, but as i played it more and more, the effects seemed to vanish for me. All in all, not a bad game.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Madden NFL 08
BEST FOOTBALL FRANCHISE
Posted on:5/13/07
619
For the past 4 years, i have been playing Madden. It is the best football franchise in the world and it always will be looked back as the best. I am not surprised Vince Young made the cover. He is a poised individual and a very athletic quarterback. I hope it will be as good as 06 and 07 because madden started getting really good at 06 and i'm sure will be even better at 08. I'm a little disapointed that it's almost the same thing for the past 2 years. 06 and 07 were almost the same just with different charatars. Hopefully 08 will be good. =\
Review 16 for Madden NFL 08
madden
Posted on:2/10/07
guy
Madden is the greatest sports game ever made. But for PSP its missing things. It needs create a player, create a team, and challenge play. Create a fan would be kinda nice too :) These are big changes that need to be made. Plus a thing that needs to be changed, the lighting thing, there needs to be different lighting for overhead lights while in a bowl, and regular daylight light. Thats a little change that will bring up its graphics rating. Add that and Madden 08 will be the greatest Madden EVER...... until Madden 09 comes out ;) .
Review 17 for Madden NFL 08
This SUCKS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:12/24/10
j2dog
Location: FL
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
this game sucks so much I think that they should stop trying to sell this game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
PSP Skin (Gamer Graffix)
7.7 out of 10(3)
 
 
 
PSP Star Wars Kit
9 out of 10(1)
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Madden NFL 08
Madden 08
Posted on:5/29/07
Kevin
Well madden 07 was good but it needs these things: 1- Fix gear 2- moving fingures 3- create a player 4- Superstar mode 5- hav hit stick another button cuz instead of jumpin i hit dem
Review 19 for Madden NFL 08
Superstar
Posted on:2/26/07
BEARS fan
I think Madden 2007 was ok for psp. They should do more work on the psp because theres not many things to choose from for game modes. Franchise is fun but then after a while you wanna make your own guy. THats why Madden 2008 should Have Nfl Superstar for the psp. Please!!!!!! I think they should also do more on the WR's now. Like get 2 feet in so you can get the first or touchdown!!!! MADDEN 08 will be sick!!!!
Review 20 for Madden NFL 08
P.Manning Flaw
Posted on:2/11/07
NDS
Along with not having the option to review a play, the game makers also left a flaw on Manning and his audibles. If you change your D formation before he gets under center he will change the play and never snap the ball. If you keep changing your defense Peyton will eventually take a delay of game, this can go on until he and the offense is pushed back to their own goal line. I hope they fix this too.
1 2 3 4 next>>