GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Half-Life 2: The Orange Box

It all started in 1998. Half-Life sends a shock through the game industry with its combination of pounding action and continuous, immersive storytelling. Valve's debut title wins more than 50 game-of-the-year awards on its way to being named "Best PC Game Ever" by PC Gamer. Flash forward almost ten years later. The critcal acclaim has yet to stop. Now, The Orange Box delivers five innovative action games from Valve - creators of the blockbuster Half Life franchise, in one box. The Orange Box includes Half Life 2: Episode Two, Portal and Team Fortress 2 in addition to full versions of award-winning Half Life 2 and Half Life 2: Episode One for an engrossing first-person action experience.
Average Customer Rating:
9.692
9.7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (41 reviews)
10 stars
10
9 stars
2
8 stars
1
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
13 out of 13100%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Half-Life 2: The Orange Box
Review 1 for Half-Life 2: The Orange Box
Great games!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:12/28/11
CinereuS
Location: Texas
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
All of these games are some of the best. Half Life 2 Episode 2 is somewhat short, however that fact is greatly overshadowed by it's wonderful gameplay and storyline. Portal is also like this, but, Portal, unlike Half Life 2 Episode 2, is more of a puzzle game than action. You use portals to solve complex puzzles. While both of these games are great the first time, neither of them are very good for playing multiple times, because, once you complete all the puzzles and such, it isn't very enjoyable to play it again. And, while there is no multiplayer in either of these games, Team Fortress 2 is all about mutliplayer. Team Fortress 2 uses a class based system to make sure that players use teamwork to complete different objectives agaisnt an enemy teams. Some of these classes are the Medic, Scout, Demoman, and Spy. Since each one of these classes specialize in an ability, teamwork is essential. Graphics and gameplay are great in all 3 of these games, and would highly reccomend them to any audience.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Half-Life 2: The Orange Box
GREAT DEAL...buy it on PC though
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/2/11
DeadlyPrivate
Location: Colorado, Denver
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This package of games are truly the pinacle of game deals...you get Half Life 2 and Half life 2 episode 1 in HD, you get the second episode of Half life 2 EXCLUSIVELY on the orange box, WITH commentary for episode 1 and 2 from the developers! That's enough for a game right? I mean, that is enough for my blood syste-PORTAL, BABY! A game that will make is easy to play and yet complicated at the same time, with probably one of the most memorable game characters yet, GLADOS...SIGH...if only we could get a game for those multiplayer junkies WHOAH, TEAM FORTRESS 2!? A game with eight distinct classes who say silly things like "SANVICH!" and "ERECTING A DISPENCER!" or "BONK!" J-JEEZ VALVE, what is this? Is this whole thing 200$? 500$!? W-WHAT?! It's the good old price of a regular game?! OH MY GOD!!!!!!! ( P.S. You should buy this on the PC if you have the chance, as the community for it is a LOT better then the consoles, and you get steam with it)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
7 of 7 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
iLoveNintendoFlo
America
 
Please wait while more information about iLoveNintendoFlo is loaded.
Additional information about iLoveNintendoFlo could not be loaded.
Top 100 Contributor
Why is the box so orange?
Posted 12/4/12
I agree the PC verson is the best. I also herd Valve say in a interview that thay are interested in making games on the Wii U which made me very happy. because I think the Wii U has very good hardware and games and feachers. :) :D ;)
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 3 for Half-Life 2: The Orange Box
Incredible Deal!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/20/10
blackdragon697
As IGN has claimed, this is "The best deal in videogame history." The Orange Box comes with 5 epic games, Half Life 2, Half Life 2 Episdoe 1, Half Life 2 Episode 2, Team Fortress 2, and Portal. Half Life 2 is an amazing shooter which is the sequal to the game that changed FPS games forever! You are Gordan Freeman, a symbol of freedom and hope, and you bravely challenge the reign of the Combine and Dr. Breen. Team Fortress 2 is yet another epic game from Valve that is just great fun online! The game is basically a red team vs. a blue team, and each player has 8 classes to choose from. You can play as the Heavy, who uses his brute force and a minigun to slaughter his enemies, the Demoman, who does the obvious, the Pyro, who again does the obvious, the Soldier, who takes his rocket launcher and shovel at hand to beat down his enemies, and the 4 other classes to win. Last, but not least is Portal, a great mind game. It's a very short game, but will stay with you forever with it's comedy and challenge.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Half-Life 2: The Orange Box
A great game for those who are new to PC gaming.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/17/09
Chease
I got the Orange Box back in April, to this day, I am still playing the Orange box. It has some of the best PC games I have ever played like "Team Fortress 2" and "Half Life 2." The games all play great and are over all very addicting. My favorite of the 5 games in the Orange Box was "Team Fortress 2." TF2 offers a wide variety of Multiplayer game modes like Payload, Arena, and the newest game mode, King of the Hill. Team Fortress 2 also has achievements which give the game more reply value (or if you're just an achievement whore. :P) My second favorite game in the Orange box would have to be "Portal." Portal was a great Puzzle game and had many puzzles' which varied in difficulty along the way. (The cake is a lie!!) I hope after reading this you might want to look into checking out the Orange Box.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Half-Life 2: The Orange Box
Great Deal
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/30/11
ctjedi52
Location: Ankeny,IA
This gives you so much in one pack. Portal is amazing and is just really fun to mess around in and is still worth it even though it has shorter campaign. Half-Life is revolutionary and the campaign is worth the value and has great controls for the PC. The icing on the cake is Team Fortress 2. TF2 is a great game and you can play hours on end playing this on Steam with your friends and with all these games being updated constantly you will not have to upgrade to a new version any time soon. The cons are that you need to have an internet connection to play this game ,but frankly don't buy it then. You can only install it once with the disc, but if you upgrade your computer you have it attached to Steam you have it on any computer with Steam. Valve is a dedicated developer and they listen to their fans. What you get is creative inuative games that are balanced and fun online with amazing campaigns.
 
My Product Recommendations
Counter Strike Source
9.5 out of 10(14)
 
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Half-Life 2: The Orange Box
The Best Game Ever. Period.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/30/12
iKratos
Location: The United States
I have to fill up this blank because I've already said all you need to know. Well... Half Life 2 is easilly one of the best games of our generation. Half Life 2: Episodes 1 and 2 continue the story ark and provide more sweet, sweet Half Life. Portal is a puzzler that will capture your heart (and melt your mind). Team Fortress 2 is my personal favorite - VALVe is a bunch of risk takers, that is for sure. THEY PAID OFF IN SPADES. WITH SOLID GOLD CROWNS. RIDING UNICORNS. ON FIRE. IN SPAAAAAAAAACE. This game went free back when Meet the Medic came out. GET IT. YOU SHOULD NOT EVEN HAVE TO THINK ABOUT THIS.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Half-Life 2: The Orange Box
..........
Posted on:6/20/07
Deadly_Ocelot
I am a *Major* fan of the Half-Life series. I have beaten Half-life, Half-life 2, and Episode 1 (I don't really care much for the expansions). I was on the edge of my seat at the end of Ep. 1; when I beat it HL 2 Ep. 2 was supposed to come out in Spring '07... And they delayed it for this? It may or may not be worth it. It has Portal and TF 2, and includes the HL 2, Ep. 1, and Ep. 2, but last time a Half-Life game came out for a console it had a horrible frame rate (or maybe it was because it was on my 360). It will have different gameplay, since controlling the game with a keyboard and mouse is different than using a USB controller...the graphics will be next-gen on the 360 and ps3, but I'm still a little mad that Ep. 2 was delayed for the Orange Box. I don't think I'll buy it because I already own HL 2 and Ep. 1, unless buying Ep. 2 and Portal individually will be more costly than buying the Box.
Review 8 for Half-Life 2: The Orange Box
The Best Thing Since Sliced Bread
Posted on:10/9/07
Master Redneck
As soon as i seen the commercial for this game I had the feeling like i had to get it right away. I have never seen a game like Portal anywhere, and it is just gonna be freaking awesome. Team Fortress 2 is also really cool because you dont really see any other shooters out there that look that abstract and still look like loads of fun. And of course Half Life is going to continue it great story line, but in this bundle i see Half Life as the extra's and Portal and TF2 as reason to get the bundle.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Half-Life 2: The Orange Box
Alot of bang for your buck
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/16/11
Cesspool
Location: Usa
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
first you have half life 2 and all the exp i wont lie i didt get far there but it was fun and challenging just reinstalled it then theres portal anyone and everyone should play that the concept is amazing and fun then you got team fortress 2 /facepalm havent touched that yet either :O i know writing a review when i have such little in game play tisk tisk but! its a great bundle and its fun stuff so get it
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Half-Life 2: The Orange Box
Awesome
Posted on:10/3/07
Kirzan
Great bundle, I personally got it for TF2 and Portal but for newbies there's HL and Ep. 1 and 2 that's also included, it's amazing. TF2 is just great, not like the original but it's still really challenging. And no the game doesn't require a PC from NASA to run... and for whoever said don't get it cause its played on steam... if someone's reading your comment at home... it's cause they probably got internet...
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Half-Life 2: The Orange Box
Great Game!
Posted on:10/2/07
Kenny
It’s a great game I own all the HL title (Originals from sierra & the Steam Editions). I have never had an Issue with STEAM and YES you can play the game with out INTERNET. It’s like another games: If you want to see full details than get the top of the line Graphics card but if you are looking to only play it and don’t care about the Detail Level than you can get cheap graphics card like a 5200 from Nvidia. Steam releases updates and sometimes it will required you to restart STEAM like any other updates for games and programs. And when the STEAM is down it doesn’t mean that you can’t play Online or Single Player but instead you just can’t see your friends on the friend list. I recommend this game and if you are looking for none stop action than get it!
Review 12 for Half-Life 2: The Orange Box
Great Games
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/18/12
PartyPoison
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I bought the orange box and i love. Team fortress 2 is my favorite game but portal and half life are both great games. Portal 2 is out now and is also definitively worth checking out. Team fortress 2 is a must have but instead of buying it here, its free on steam.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Half-Life 2: The Orange Box
great
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:10/14/10
ummmmm
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
this whole game is great only problem i have though is half life 2 and portal get boring after a while
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Half-Life 2: The Orange Box
Player of all things Half-Life
Posted on:10/2/07
Koplar
Ok... first off, this game is NOT a "hog" as previously stated. I have a 3800+ processor, 6800 GS vid card, and 1GB of RAM. I can run at 1280x1078 with MAX SETTINGS! As for steam, you only need it to register the cd-key and then you're all set. I've been playing Half-Life since it first came out on Win98 and they are ALL great games. The steam servers are NOT down hardly at all (maybe release day of this product but that's to be expected with all the people trying to register at once to play this great game).
Review 15 for Half-Life 2: The Orange Box
WARNING
Posted on:10/1/07
oddohut inc.
a fair waring to those who do not know this game is a hog meaning if you do not have a state of the art computer with an great video card and processor speed this game will be slow i have a custom built pc with 4 gigs of rm 3.0 ghz processor 512 video mem and this game at times will still run slow and i do not know if the steam program has been fixed yet but if you use warless you might want to get n Ethernet cable besides than that this is a wonderful game but be shore that your pc can handle it.
Review 16 for Half-Life 2: The Orange Box
Deal of the year!
Posted on:9/15/07
Thomas
I have been playing half life since it came out i played the original counter strike when it was just a mod same with team fortress and day of defeat. this is probably one of my most anticipated games of the year. not only do you get the next half life episode you also get team fortress 2 portal half life 2 and half life 2 episode one ( which i already have) the new source engine looks great it looks even better then halo 3 and quake wars! long story short get this you wont be disappointed!
Review 17 for Half-Life 2: The Orange Box
Keeps On Giving
Posted on:9/18/07
stuffedskullcat
There are so many developers/publishers that rip off gamers with poor product, nonexistent support, etc... I am astounded that Valve is selling a package like this for such a low price. HL2, HL2 ep1, were phenomenal. From what I've seen, Ep 2, Portal, and TF2 will be extraordinary. PC Gamer rated Orange Box with a 94%, an Editor's Choice... Even before playing it, I truly thank Valve for what will most likely be the best birthday present I'll have gotten in a long time.
Review 18 for Half-Life 2: The Orange Box
Bonus Offer Beta Invitation
Posted on:10/2/07
Frustrated
As noted in previous posts, there appears to be a problem with the Bonus Offer of an invitation to participate in the ongoing beta. It has been five business days (7 days total) since my order and I have not received my invitation. There are half a dozen brick-and-mortar locations where I can pick this game up on release day, so it's frustrating not to receive the one benefit of pre-release ordering. I've contacted customer support, but no luck yet.
Review 19 for Half-Life 2: The Orange Box
Finally!!
Posted on:3/25/07
The Hydra
Finally Half Life 2 comes out on the 360 so that means that people can finally play the game on a console with the original PC graphics (and not like the crappy HL2 Xbox port...I love my Xbox but that port sucks because of the lack of power of the Xbox, I prefer playing it on PC) this is going to be incredible, it's gonna be just like the PC version except that you use a controller!!!
Review 20 for Half-Life 2: The Orange Box
This will be awesome
Posted on:3/23/07
A Customer
I Have already preordered this game and I can't wait for it!! I was kinda mad that they keep pushing the date back but I guess it will be a better game since they are taking forever to release it!! anyways it will be great and I am going to play all HL in order and then portal followed by Online with TEam fortress two, though I never played classic TF. Great game and great buy for 60$
1 2 3 next>>