GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Half-Life 2: The Orange Box

It all started in 1998. Half-Life sends a shock through the game industry with its combination of pounding action and continuous, immersive storytelling. Valve's debut title wins more than 50 game-of-the-year awards on its way to being named "Best PC Game Ever" by PC Gamer. Flash forward almost ten years later. The critcal acclaim has yet to stop. Now, The Orange Box delivers five innovative action games from Valve - creators of the blockbuster Half Life franchise, in one box. The Orange Box includes Half Life 2: Episode Two, Portal and Team Fortress 2 in addition to full versions of award-winning Half Life 2 and Half Life 2: Episode One for an engrossing first-person action experience.
Average Customer Rating:
9.692
9.7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (41 reviews)
10 stars
10
9 stars
2
8 stars
1
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
13 out of 13100%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Half-Life 2: The Orange Box
Review 1 for Half-Life 2: The Orange Box
The Best Game Ever. Period.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/30/12
iKratos
Location: The United States
I have to fill up this blank because I've already said all you need to know. Well... Half Life 2 is easilly one of the best games of our generation. Half Life 2: Episodes 1 and 2 continue the story ark and provide more sweet, sweet Half Life. Portal is a puzzler that will capture your heart (and melt your mind). Team Fortress 2 is my personal favorite - VALVe is a bunch of risk takers, that is for sure. THEY PAID OFF IN SPADES. WITH SOLID GOLD CROWNS. RIDING UNICORNS. ON FIRE. IN SPAAAAAAAAACE. This game went free back when Meet the Medic came out. GET IT. YOU SHOULD NOT EVEN HAVE TO THINK ABOUT THIS.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Half-Life 2: The Orange Box
Great Games
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/18/12
PartyPoison
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I bought the orange box and i love. Team fortress 2 is my favorite game but portal and half life are both great games. Portal 2 is out now and is also definitively worth checking out. Team fortress 2 is a must have but instead of buying it here, its free on steam.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Half-Life 2: The Orange Box
Great games!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:12/28/11
CinereuS
Location: Texas
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
All of these games are some of the best. Half Life 2 Episode 2 is somewhat short, however that fact is greatly overshadowed by it's wonderful gameplay and storyline. Portal is also like this, but, Portal, unlike Half Life 2 Episode 2, is more of a puzzle game than action. You use portals to solve complex puzzles. While both of these games are great the first time, neither of them are very good for playing multiple times, because, once you complete all the puzzles and such, it isn't very enjoyable to play it again. And, while there is no multiplayer in either of these games, Team Fortress 2 is all about mutliplayer. Team Fortress 2 uses a class based system to make sure that players use teamwork to complete different objectives agaisnt an enemy teams. Some of these classes are the Medic, Scout, Demoman, and Spy. Since each one of these classes specialize in an ability, teamwork is essential. Graphics and gameplay are great in all 3 of these games, and would highly reccomend them to any audience.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Half-Life 2: The Orange Box
Best game package ever, nothing more.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/2/11
mario3585
Location: Temecula, CA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Thiese games are AMAZING, tf2, portal, and hl2, ARE THE BEST GAMES EVER MADE!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 5 for Half-Life 2: The Orange Box
best bundle ever made
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/30/11
siebs42
Location: st.louis,mo
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
3 of the best games ever made in one bundle is the best thing ever portal is a perfect stratagy game team fortress 2 is just plain multiplayer fun half life 2 is AMAZING
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 6 for Half-Life 2: The Orange Box
Alot of bang for your buck
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/16/11
Cesspool
Location: Usa
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
first you have half life 2 and all the exp i wont lie i didt get far there but it was fun and challenging just reinstalled it then theres portal anyone and everyone should play that the concept is amazing and fun then you got team fortress 2 /facepalm havent touched that yet either :O i know writing a review when i have such little in game play tisk tisk but! its a great bundle and its fun stuff so get it
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Half-Life 2: The Orange Box
Great Deal
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/30/11
ctjedi52
Location: Ankeny,IA
This gives you so much in one pack. Portal is amazing and is just really fun to mess around in and is still worth it even though it has shorter campaign. Half-Life is revolutionary and the campaign is worth the value and has great controls for the PC. The icing on the cake is Team Fortress 2. TF2 is a great game and you can play hours on end playing this on Steam with your friends and with all these games being updated constantly you will not have to upgrade to a new version any time soon. The cons are that you need to have an internet connection to play this game ,but frankly don't buy it then. You can only install it once with the disc, but if you upgrade your computer you have it attached to Steam you have it on any computer with Steam. Valve is a dedicated developer and they listen to their fans. What you get is creative inuative games that are balanced and fun online with amazing campaigns.
 
My Product Recommendations
Counter Strike Source
9.5 out of 10(14)
 
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Half-Life 2: The Orange Box
GREAT DEAL...buy it on PC though
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/2/11
DeadlyPrivate
Location: Colorado, Denver
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This package of games are truly the pinacle of game deals...you get Half Life 2 and Half life 2 episode 1 in HD, you get the second episode of Half life 2 EXCLUSIVELY on the orange box, WITH commentary for episode 1 and 2 from the developers! That's enough for a game right? I mean, that is enough for my blood syste-PORTAL, BABY! A game that will make is easy to play and yet complicated at the same time, with probably one of the most memorable game characters yet, GLADOS...SIGH...if only we could get a game for those multiplayer junkies WHOAH, TEAM FORTRESS 2!? A game with eight distinct classes who say silly things like "SANVICH!" and "ERECTING A DISPENCER!" or "BONK!" J-JEEZ VALVE, what is this? Is this whole thing 200$? 500$!? W-WHAT?! It's the good old price of a regular game?! OH MY GOD!!!!!!! ( P.S. You should buy this on the PC if you have the chance, as the community for it is a LOT better then the consoles, and you get steam with it)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
7 of 7 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
iLoveNintendoFlo
America
 
Please wait while more information about iLoveNintendoFlo is loaded.
Additional information about iLoveNintendoFlo could not be loaded.
Top 250 Contributor
Why is the box so orange?
Posted 12/4/12
I agree the PC verson is the best. I also herd Valve say in a interview that thay are interested in making games on the Wii U which made me very happy. because I think the Wii U has very good hardware and games and feachers. :) :D ;)
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 9 for Half-Life 2: The Orange Box
great
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:10/14/10
ummmmm
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
this whole game is great only problem i have though is half life 2 and portal get boring after a while
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Half-Life 2: The Orange Box
Incredible Deal!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/20/10
blackdragon697
As IGN has claimed, this is "The best deal in videogame history." The Orange Box comes with 5 epic games, Half Life 2, Half Life 2 Episdoe 1, Half Life 2 Episode 2, Team Fortress 2, and Portal. Half Life 2 is an amazing shooter which is the sequal to the game that changed FPS games forever! You are Gordan Freeman, a symbol of freedom and hope, and you bravely challenge the reign of the Combine and Dr. Breen. Team Fortress 2 is yet another epic game from Valve that is just great fun online! The game is basically a red team vs. a blue team, and each player has 8 classes to choose from. You can play as the Heavy, who uses his brute force and a minigun to slaughter his enemies, the Demoman, who does the obvious, the Pyro, who again does the obvious, the Soldier, who takes his rocket launcher and shovel at hand to beat down his enemies, and the 4 other classes to win. Last, but not least is Portal, a great mind game. It's a very short game, but will stay with you forever with it's comedy and challenge.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Half-Life 2: The Orange Box
A great game for those who are new to PC gaming.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/17/09
Chease
I got the Orange Box back in April, to this day, I am still playing the Orange box. It has some of the best PC games I have ever played like "Team Fortress 2" and "Half Life 2." The games all play great and are over all very addicting. My favorite of the 5 games in the Orange Box was "Team Fortress 2." TF2 offers a wide variety of Multiplayer game modes like Payload, Arena, and the newest game mode, King of the Hill. Team Fortress 2 also has achievements which give the game more reply value (or if you're just an achievement whore. :P) My second favorite game in the Orange box would have to be "Portal." Portal was a great Puzzle game and had many puzzles' which varied in difficulty along the way. (The cake is a lie!!) I hope after reading this you might want to look into checking out the Orange Box.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Half-Life 2: The Orange Box
Great Deal!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/8/08
Adawg
The Orange Bok is definitely a deal that is not to be missed. Any serious gamer should buy this game right now. It contains five of the best games that I have ever seen. First off there is half life 2 and half life 2 episode 1 some people may have already played these games, and if you have the orange box it is still worth your money. If you haven't then you should just go out and buy the orange box right now. Half life 2 is Metacritic's highest rated PC game of all time. It earned over fourty game of the year awards. That's just one of the five games. The second game Episode 1 was the first of the new episodes and was named game of the year by leading publications. Even with that it's short length is a minor dissapointment. However, it gives you more of half-life 2's excellent gameplay. Next up is Episode 2. This game was one of my favorites in the orange box. I would recommend that you get through the other half life games that are in the orange box first so that you can get the storyline down. The final battle is exciting, and the final video is a shock that I won't forget for a long time. Next is Portal. This game was something that I enjoyed very much. The opening levels may seem simplistic, but as you get later on into the game the challenges get harder and you will start to really enjoy the innovative gameplay that portal provides. You also can get achievements by going back in a different mode which challenges you to beat levels in short times or to beat a level using nearly no portals. This will occupy you for a while and is very fun. Last but surely not least is Team Fortress 2. When I first got the game I didn't really expect much out of team fortress 2. I beat all of the other games first before I started playing it. It turned out to be my favorite part of the orange box. It is a team based shooter that has three different gameplay types. They are control point, capture the flag, and payload. In control point teams keep trying to capture all of the other teams control points to win the battle. In capture the flag players try to capture the opposing team's flag a certain number of times to win. In payload one team has to push the payload from the start to the next point while the other team defends. The big thing that I like about TF2 is the 9 different classes. They are all extremely fun to play as. If you don't like aiming as a sniper then you can build a sentry gun as an engineer. With everything that I just said you have no reason not to go out and by the orange box today.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 13 for Half-Life 2: The Orange Box
Amazing Deal!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/2/08
Talented
I'm going to break my review into seven parts, the eight parts are Challenge, Graphics, Responsiveness, Storyline, Controls, Interface, Sound and Value. Challenge: The challenge in "The Orange Box" (The Orange Box will be expressed as either Orange Box or TBO or The Orange Box from this point) is great, with multiple settings in Half-Life 2 and Portal plus you have your own choice of servers for Team Fortress 2 which is a great feature for any game. Don't expect to be play Half-Life 2: Episode 1 & 2 for 40 hours each as they're meant to be short "Chapter" like additions to Half-Life 2 which is also included in this package and provided 20 - 30 hours of "SINGLE PLAYER" playtime which is great when you take into account that after you've beat the game you also have Episode One and Episode two which last close to ten hours each which turns into 40 - 50 hours of single player playtime which is absolutely amazing for this type of game. Graphics: The graphics are based on the Source Engine which powers Counter-Strike: Source, Dark Messiah, Half-Life 2 and many other games. The graphics aren't going to make your computer scream in pain but they will offer a great experience for both Casual and Serious gamers. You do not need a $4000.00 computer to play any of the games in The Orange Box just turn the graphic settings down or reduce your game from DirectX 9 & 10 to DirectX 8.1. Responsiveness: You're kidding me right?, Everyone knows VALVe is amazing when it comes to responsiveness in their First-Person Shooter games and with Team Fortress 2 you are going to experience some Twitch Like Gameplay depending on which class you pick (9 total in Team Fortress 2, all with achievements and soon to have Unlockable weapons for each class with the medics coming first.) and VALVe perfects the Puzzle Genre with Portal which was so amazing there are already plans for a Portal 2 (which has been released by VALVe & The Portal Team on a Video that was being shot in the VALVe HQ). Storyline: Try Half-Life 2 and try to tell me a reason why this game doesn't deserve a 10 out of 10, you have vehicle combat integrated into the story, you have "Emotions" that are expressed in numerous ways throughout the store, but due to spoiling the game(s) I cannot give them away. Lets just say that VALVe has been making Single Player games since the 90's and are some of the best story developers out there. Controls: You can customize your controls in ANY VALVe game by pressing "Escape" and selecting options, the GUI that "Pops up" also allows you to customize Graphics, Sound, Level of Challenge (Easy, Normal, Hard) and even allows you to customize your name in "Most" games, excluding Team Fortress 2 which uses your Steam Friend name as your ingame name. Interface: 2786 Letters already, this isn't a review its a story!. The interface has all basic First-Person Shooter requirements, Crosshair (Which can be customized), HP / AP, Time, Indicators for special events, etc. Flashlight power, etc. The GUI also scales itself to whichever resolution you pick which is something a lot of games do "NOT" do. Sound: The sound in all VALVe games has always been amazing and most of the game support EAX enhancement and all games support 2.1 to 5.1 surround sound audio when setup properly you may find a way to have 7.1 Surround sound coming out of Source Engine games to. The sound is also very crisp and is one of the main features of the game and VALVe realized this and started developing game specific music / sounds for every title they released. Value: Let me just list the games you are purchasing when you buy a single "Orange Box" made by VALVe. Team Fortress 2 (Online Multiplayer First-Person Shooter with Classes and Capture the Flag like Gameplay) Portal (Puzzle game thats ACTUALLY Fun!) Half-Life 2 Half-Life 2: Episode 1 Half-Life 2: Episode 2 Half-Life 2: Deathmatch Peggle Extreme
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 14 for Half-Life 2: The Orange Box
The Best Thing Since Sliced Bread
Posted on:10/9/07
Master Redneck
As soon as i seen the commercial for this game I had the feeling like i had to get it right away. I have never seen a game like Portal anywhere, and it is just gonna be freaking awesome. Team Fortress 2 is also really cool because you dont really see any other shooters out there that look that abstract and still look like loads of fun. And of course Half Life is going to continue it great story line, but in this bundle i see Half Life as the extra's and Portal and TF2 as reason to get the bundle.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Half-Life 2: The Orange Box
interesting
Posted on:10/9/07
A Customer
I preordered the orange box and im quite excited. The new team fortress 2 should be interesting the art style reminds me of the disney pixar move "The Incredibles" the graphics from the half-life source engine are also top notch and portal seems like a great puzzle game. I think Portal is a very innovative game.
Review 16 for Half-Life 2: The Orange Box
Awesome
Posted on:10/9/07
Red Death
Valve does it again. Team Fortress 2 is awesome, Episode 2 looks great and Portal looks to be very intriguing. So far, Valve has taken the cake for the best Developer ever. Better than Blizzard, better than Bungie, better than Ubisoft, better than Lucasarts. You name it, they're better at it. Guaranteed. Valve. I love you.
Review 17 for Half-Life 2: The Orange Box
Can't wait!!!
Posted on:10/5/07
Freeman's follower
HL2 Orange Box looks super cool! I can't wait to get my hands on it. Anyways, you really don't need a super hot computer to run the game, steam works fine on most PCs. Only complaint is you have to connect to the internet to install the game, but that is no big deal. This looks to be the best thing yet in the HL series!
Review 18 for Half-Life 2: The Orange Box
Awesome
Posted on:10/3/07
Kirzan
Great bundle, I personally got it for TF2 and Portal but for newbies there's HL and Ep. 1 and 2 that's also included, it's amazing. TF2 is just great, not like the original but it's still really challenging. And no the game doesn't require a PC from NASA to run... and for whoever said don't get it cause its played on steam... if someone's reading your comment at home... it's cause they probably got internet...
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Half-Life 2: The Orange Box
You do NOT need a state of the art pc to run this game
Posted on:10/2/07
Ellrick
The game engine is very scalable, and can run well on older systems. People are running TF2 just fine on systems far below the specs given by "oddohut inc". Steam also runs perfectly for me, and every other person Ive know to use it.
Review 20 for Half-Life 2: The Orange Box
Bonus Offer Beta Invitation
Posted on:10/2/07
Frustrated
As noted in previous posts, there appears to be a problem with the Bonus Offer of an invitation to participate in the ongoing beta. It has been five business days (7 days total) since my order and I have not received my invitation. There are half a dozen brick-and-mortar locations where I can pick this game up on release day, so it's frustrating not to receive the one benefit of pre-release ordering. I've contacted customer support, but no luck yet.
1 2 3 next>>