GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Mercenaries 2: World in Flames

Mercenaries 2: World in Flames is an explosive open-world action game set in a massive, highly reactive, war-torn world. A power-hungry tyrant messes with Venezuela's oil supply, sparking an invasion that turns the country into a warzone. Mercenaries 2 features the latest and most dangerous in civilian and military tech, everything from shiny new sports cars, to the future-tech satellite-guided bunker-busting mini-nuke. Tanks, APCs, boats, luxury automobiles - you name it, you can have it delivered to you in real time. And if you run out of cash you can always 'acquire' the gear you need in the field. If you see it, you can buy it, steal it, or blow it up. Play your own way, or play with the help of a friend in the new cooperative multiplayer mode.
Average Customer Rating:
7.44
7.4
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (141 reviews)
10 stars
18
9 stars
23
8 stars
15
7 stars
6
6 stars
7
5 stars
2
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
8
62 out of 8474%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Mercenaries 2: World in Flames
Review 1 for Mercenaries 2: World in Flames
Mercinaries 2
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:9/7/13
shinx
Location: ft.thomas ky
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I am going to be honest, when I bought this game I didn't really know much about it. I bought it basically because it was 5 dollars. I loved it as soon as I played it. It is addicting and I still play it even though I have beaten it. It is an awesome third person free roam shooting game like grand theft auto but, there is no blood in it. Your character may say some funny lines when they do stuff such as saying "I'll fill it up when I'm done." when you steal a car. You can roam in different environments like jungles, cities, tropical islands, the ocean and more. The only bad thing about this game is the graphics, they aren't the best because this game came out on the ps2 as well as the ps3 so they aren't the best but you will forget about it as you steal cars and helicopters, play missions for your friends and explore Venezuela.
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
mercs 2 trailer
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 2 for Mercenaries 2: World in Flames
nice game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:11/25/11
blackopsjr
Location: bradenton fl
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
cool is better than the firts game of mercenaries nice!!!
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 3 for Mercenaries 2: World in Flames
This gets pretty addicting.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:8/19/10
gamer3642
This game is long there is alot of stuff to do.I really had fun playing this and i;m still playing it.There are a few weird glitches like when you get knocked down I couldn't get back up I had to restart the mission.Its really fun playing with friends online but when I try and join someone else it doesn't let me join for some reason.There are alot of different guns to choose from.You can drive anything boats, choppers, motorcycles, and tanks.It took me a while to beat the game and I still have a ton of stuff to do.The graphics weren't the best but still good either way.There's not much of a story but that doesn't make the game bad.The controls were good.I think the explosions are awesome I like watching them.The sound kinda sucked when your playing the game it sounds good but when people talk you can hardly hear them I had to turn up my t.v. and then turn it down because its way to loud when your back in the action and that got really annoying.I recommend this game to anyone who likes open world shooters.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Mercenaries 2: World in Flames
Utterly Horriable
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:9/3/08
DrunkinBahstard
I must say this has to be the worst shooter next gen I played yet. I was so hyped for this game and after I sat down and played I really wish I would have saved my edit dollers cuz I was that disgusted with it really I was. For starters the graphics I horriable for a a next gen game. The driving any vehicle is so bad that you go to turn and its like driving a tank heck the tank had better controls then any of the cars. The shooting was dull and very inaccurate. Not to mention the Ai has to be some of the dumbest I seen really there very readable at one point in one of missions I stood behind 3 enemy's shot my gun off at them and they contiuned to stand there not moving not bothering to nothing so I shot the one guy. Again nothing the other 2 still stood there with there back to me now come on how dumb is that. I really have nothing at all to say good about this game not one bit I would not reccomend this game to no one needless to say I traded it right back in the following day, now thats pretty bad
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Mercenaries 2: World in Flames
what i can say about mercenaries 2
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:11/28/09
gamerT
this game to me was a good game for the most part. I hate the finding oil thing. In the first one you'd just buy items,vehicals,supplies,and bombs from a menu whenever you want also unlimited amount of fuel, in this one you have to go to fractions in order to buy supplies, bombs,ect. and eventually it gets annoying. that was just something i hated. Beside that, and finding oil it was all i really didn't like about the game. some of things i like about it is that it kinda of makes me think of grand theft auto only the teen version, no blood, and this ones a war like version. I thought that was kinda cool. the graphics are good for the most part, but it is sometimes "bugy" and gliches show up sometimes also the textures are okay. One of my favorite parts about this game is finally getting the nuke(mushrom cloud like bomb) in the end but after that the game gets old. And this game has a bad replay value. I recomend this game to any kid who isn't aloud to Mature rated games.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
capia1997
NH
 
Please wait while more information about capia1997 is loaded.
Additional information about capia1997 could not be loaded.
One of the Best Games I've Ever Played
Posted 1/28/11
This is one of the best games ever made. There is only one problem- once you play a lot of it it gets extremely difficult, but other than that it's really fun.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 6 for Mercenaries 2: World in Flames
A $** Beta Test **Hardcore Fans Only**
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:9/10/08
Lifewhacker
I absolutely loved the first Mercenaries. I thought I would love its sequel. But sadly, i was wrong. Sure, at first this game is amazing, beating the original by a landslide. Then, as you progress into the game you begin to notice glitches......at first there are only a couple, then you are being buried in glitches. Things like saves not working, munitions pickups taking 3-4 times to be successful. If I would list them all, it would take the entire review. After reading all of this bad stuff, you may ask "What's the good?" The good parts of Mercenaries 2 lie in its beautiful explosions and sandbox gameplay. There is nothing quite like calling in a nuclear bunker buster onto an unsuspecting enemy base. The sound is fairly decent, but hours of hearing "IT'S THE MERC" makes you want to beat yourself senseless. Graphics?Meh. So all-in-all this game is definitely just a rental title unless you are a hardcore fan. Save your money, the constant glitches are just way too much.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 7 for Mercenaries 2: World in Flames
Great Game!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/3/13
BeastlyMan7
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is great. It has a good story though I wished that it would be longer. It has a lot of great aspects like 1. Nearly Everything (Maybe 95%) of the map is destructible. Even massive skyscrapers you came collapse. 2. Plenty of vehicles to find out which one is great and you can have any vehicle from a certain class (Luxury, Sport, Industrial) and also Tanks, Helicopters, Motorcycles, etc. 3. You are freaking rich! you get so much money and that is awesome to me. 4. Once you finish the game (or if you want to play the story with them) there are plenty of cheat codes for you people that love to be unstoppable. 5. Realistic faction relationships, if you shot a faction member, they will be a little less friendly, up until the point where they kill you upon sight. And this game is only $5! I only wish the controls were a bit better for driving. (They use X and Circle instead of R2 and L2) But if you are looking for a good game, definitely consider this game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 8 for Mercenaries 2: World in Flames
what happened!
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:3/8/14
Papavy
Location: rockford, IL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
every time i go to play this on my ps3 it crashes the whole system not very happy! how am i supposed to fix it the game crashes and i get mad.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 9 for Mercenaries 2: World in Flames
kind of buggy
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:9/2/08
eodfury
First, the game is awesome! The graphics are good and the online coop is seemless. I haven't had any issues with lagging or any of the normal online problems. However, I've been playing online coop with a friend of mine and there are quite a few bugs that need to be worked out. Sometimes when I die, he can't revive me. I don't know why, but he will be standing right on top of me and it won't work. He says that his radar shows me somewhere else and he can't see me. Another problem is that some of the helicopters and other equipment that I buy and try to call up disappear right in front of me, which is frustrating to say the least. I think EA should have spent a little more time getting all of this worked out before releasing the game. I would have definitely waited a little while longer for it. There are many other minor issues so hopefully they will come up with some sort of patch to help all of this. Regardless, I still recommend the game! I would have given it a 10 out of 10 if it didn't have so many glitches.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 10 for Mercenaries 2: World in Flames
waste........
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:10/12/08
tonting
I had my hopes up so high for this garbage. The only cool part was the guy with the tattoos. The story makes almost no since because of the variety of missions you can do. In other words, the game is all over the place with a flawed story. The graphics are pretty good for the most part. But it looks a nintendo game when you blow up buildings. Some of the animations and elements are fun at first but then just get boring. Like when you highjack a tank. Not only is it the same guy driving the tank every single time, but you do the exact same thing to highjack it. And the character you play says to much of the same stuff during gameplay thats supposed to be funny but isn't and it gets repeated over and over again. For example when the guy with tattoos picks up a gun he says "I will call you Luisa. We're gonna kill a lot of people Luisa" literally every time he equips one. Overall, they tried to make a michael bay blockbuster game but failed on many levels.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 11 for Mercenaries 2: World in Flames
The best part was the free beanie!
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:9/10/08
Wolf Angel
So I was more then a little excited to play this game. It turned out to be a huge let down. When you first start the game, you can't go "Anywhere". Also, key buildings that you blow up, don't stay destroyed. So much for blowing up everything. I was expecting a game, much like the first one, but that was not to be. In the first game, you only needed money to call in air strikes, or codes. In this new game, you have to go collect fuel and cash. Just what I always wanted, more reasons to worry about the price of gas!! Also, there are no codes to be had; at all. I liked the fact in the other game there were codes, sometimes you don't want to spend hours on end collecting stuff, you just want to play the game. This game plays like a poor mans GTA, with a lot less polish. The game glitches very often. I would sometimes find myself in a car, doing a mission, and for no reason, blow up. I feel the best thing I got out of it was the cool free beanie.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 12 for Mercenaries 2: World in Flames
Never gets old.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/18/11
GTownChaddy
Location: Canada, EH
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
I bought this game when it first came out and started playing it right away. I was amazed at how awesome the quality of it is. The controls are easy and the graphics are amazing. If you love to blow things up then this game is for you. (If you want to you can use cheat codes and unlock even more things that make the game even funner!!)
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Mercenaries 2: World in Flames
Great Game
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:9/20/08
Anime&Ps3 Luver
This game was really cool. Way better than the first version. The graphics were pretty good, and the controls ok. I agree that you should be able to crawl o crouch for more stability/accuracy. Having more weapon choice would have been nice too. All of the weapons seemed to be automatic rifles. One of my favorite parts would have to be the tanks and helicopters. Being able to jack an enemy helicopter/tank got harder and harder once the vehicle got better and stronger. like after u have to bunker buster solono's place. that plane took a few tries for me to jack. online was cool too but it'd be way better to have more than 1 person helping you. there are 3 characters so why not 3 people online together too? i hope it was just me but the game ended pretty fast for me. and there isn't much to do afterwards since the online is just online story mode with a single person. overall a good game but could've been better if thought out more.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 14 for Mercenaries 2: World in Flames
Amusing
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:6/20/11
GreyKnight
Location: Albuquerque
The Mercenaries series is amusing, though not perfect. The story is fun, and missions let you play with all sorts of toys and cause a good amount of destruction, but the real fun is just running around and causing that destruction yourself. The controls are solid, whether you are in a multitude of vehicles or on foot. The world they drop you in is beautiful to look at, and it almost seems right to level whole neighborhoods to bring back the natural beauty of the locale. There are so many guns, vehicles, tools and support items to use that the mayhem you can cause is great fun. The added bonus of mini games to upgrade your equipment and unlock better gear adds more fun to the mix. All in all a good game, and worth every penny of the current price.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Mercenaries 2: World in Flames
NICE!!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:5/21/09
Infamous looks amazing!
I got this game because i liked Mercs 1. When i first got the game, the first thing i noticed were the glitches. There was some glitches like floating in mid-air and your enemies getting stuck in objects so you can't kill them. Another glitch that is kind of annoying is the one where your scope on your sniper stops working and instead of helping you zoom into targets, you see closer without it. It's like looking through binoculars backwards. But Overall though, you will most likely not run into them often. An upside to Mercs 2 is that it has really good graphics and really good explosions. The game also has a wide variety of weapons, vehicles and airstrikes. Some of the airstrikes include, two different kinds of artillery strikes, a better version of the carpet bomb in mercs 1, and, my favorite, the MOAB! I would recommend this game to anyone who played Mercs 1 or anyone who likes a 3rd person shooter with a lot of explosions.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 16 for Mercenaries 2: World in Flames
Oh no you didn't....
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:9/12/08
Neoshine
So here we are, with Merc's 2. Seems a lot of people are putting way to much hype into it. It's a lot like GTA 4, a few extra goodies and what have you. Most have figured out that you're a merc that gets double crossed on a contract, you don't get your money, you get shot in the butt, and now you want revenge. A solid game with doing missions, blowing things up, killing people, etc etc etc. You can play online(which is a good way to meet new people for other games). Something I noticed is something about the aiming for the guns? Here's a little unknown fact I suppose, if you have an AK-47 and you fire it, it doesn't shoot strait, it sprays out. It actually, in the real world has one of the worst accuracies towards guns. Vehicles do control kind of bad, if you hit something you spiral out of control. Few bugs here and there. The game is definately solid and will entertain you for a bit. Some of the contracts are great, and the graphics are pretty good compared to some games that aren't ps3 exclusive. All in all, the game would sit about an 8/10.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 17 for Mercenaries 2: World in Flames
BEST EVER
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/5/10
airforce1
Mercenaries 2: World in Flames is the best game ever! All my friends in school recommend games like Grand Theft Auto, Scarface, etc. But I always tell them, can you fly in it? Can you use airstrikes? Everything is WAY better. The story is long, there are many weapons and vehicles. But for one thing I have to say about this game... the enemies are WAY too easy to kill. Too bad this doesn't have a difficulty setting. But still, I don't see why everyone wastes $50 or $60 when you can buy this game for $20 & under! Also, you see I want to be in the Air Force and this game lets be whatever you want to be. For example: Wanna be in the Navy? spend your time sinking ships! wanna be an Army or Marine? stay on foot. wanna be in the Air force? stay in the helicopters. But for coastguard... not so sure. BUY this game and don't forget ANYONE can play this!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Mercenaries 2: World in Flames
Great game but still needs a little work
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/2/08
jamminmadrid
So far I am liking this game. I actually had to start over because my first time through I pissed off the PLAV and I did not realize that I would need to talk to Fiona to get things all settled out with them... So I started over with Jacobs. To be perfectly honest I was expecting near perfect graphics but they do not hurt the game overall. The only other problem that I have with the game is that you can only have three support options available to you at one time without having to go through your PDA. I liked being able to buy through one supplier (the Russian Mafia) instead of having to travel to different faction outposts to buy support options and even then one faction does not offer the same support as another. Like UP offers the C4 package where the PLAV do not. Overall so far I am having fun playing the game and the only reason I am writing this review is because I am on campus right now away from my PS3.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 19 for Mercenaries 2: World in Flames
Definitely not a sim
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:10/23/11
killmaven
Location: Casper, WY
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
If you're coming to this game looking for a "private security" sim, you've come to the wrong place. This game is light on realism, but heavy on the fun.
The pros:
1. Sandbox gameplay. I'm a big fan of free-roaming in games and this game does not disappoint in that aspect.
2. Not overly challenging, even for casual gamers. (some might consider that a con)
3. Most missions are of the "complete it however you like" variety.
4. Water is not instant death. This is a definite improvement over the first "Mercenaries" game. There is nothing more satisfying than being on your last bit of health and leaping from hundreds of feet into shallow water FTW. Not realistic, but definitely cool.
5. Highly destructible environment.
The cons:
1. In the first mercenaries it was a GTA-like system for hijacking vehicles. You press a button, the vehicle is yours. This time they have made taking a tank a little more difficult. And, I mean difficult...not challenging. It's not hard to do, but the mini-game to do it is rather pointless and you can pretty much do it with your eyes closed after the first few times. So, it's just a waste of game time, really.
2. The graphics are a bit dated. Somewhat forgivable, being this is an early PS3 game.
3. Saving the game is very little help. Even with a save, if you load a game, you spawn back at headquarters, so you may be further from your objective that you would have been if you just simply opted to retry.
To conclude: If you were a fan of the first Mercenaries game, this will not disappoint. It's pretty faithful to the gameplay of the first. The new hijack system is a little annoying, but not too difficult to live with. It just takes a bit longer to get the same result.
If you played the first one and hated it...this one will do nothing to change your mind, trust me on that.
If you're new to the franchise, it's a fun little time waster that doesn't expect too much from you as far as thought goes. At the current price of 8 bucks, it's not a horrible investment.
As an added note, parents who are reticent to get their kids a game like GTA (I certainly wouldn't get it for MY child), this may be a viable alternative if they are older than 12 or so. It's still very violent with lots of 'splosions...but it is virtually blood free and the language is certainly mild in comparison.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Mercenaries 2: World in Flames
Unfairly Reviewed
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/7/08
The Fair Reviewer
Mercenaries 2 is a very intense sand box game with a lot of explosions. I think many people were expecting way too much. Many people are giving it bad ratings because it was in production for 3 years. Anyway, to the review. Mercs 2 has a very interesting storyline, based on the character you choose, revolved around being shot in the butt by the leader of Venezuela (where the game takes place). The missions are mainly just go find someone, blow things up, or stealing something. Now I love to blow things up so this was made for me. Also, there are a few minor glitches, but nothing that makes the game unplayable and these issues will be addressed shortly according to Pandemic. Now the graphics are very good, nothing amazing, but the explosions are awesome. Now the controls are very similar to mercs 1 nothing to be that agitated about. Bottom line, if you liked mercs 1 then you will throughly enjoy this game.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>