GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

NASCAR 08

Take the wheel of NASCAR's revolutionary new car and drive your way to the NEXTEL Cupchampionship. As the new rookie driver on the circuit, earn licenses and contracts from hungry car owners and go from a hotshot rookie in the Whelen Modified Series to a seasoned veteran racing for the NEXTEL Cup. Gain new experiences during every race as you master each track, fine-tune your skills, and fill your trophy case along the way. Experience the thrill of tomorrow's racing today in NASCAR 08.
Average Customer Rating:
4.5
4.5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (133 reviews)
10 stars
0
9 stars
1
8 stars
0
7 stars
0
6 stars
2
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
3 out of 650%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for NASCAR 08
Review 1 for NASCAR 08
Super Easy
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:7/26/13
Denny11Hamlin
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This has to be the easiest game I have ever played. If I were to compare NASCAR Thunder 2003 to this game, I would definitely pick NASCAR Thunder 2003. The only thing that I like on this game is the Career and NASCAR Thunder 2003 has a way better career.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Review 2 for NASCAR 08
Acceptable
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/27/12
mathmaster
this game does lack features like the intro to each race, or when you win, they just show 3 seconds of a driver and the crew chief. It is much different than 2004 which is the only nascar i have. But 08 is enjoyable
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 3 for NASCAR 08
Not As Good As Past NASCAR Games
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:6/27/12
mlj21299
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Well let's start by saying that NASCAR 08 was one of the worst NASCAR games I've ever played. The gameplay features have really dropped since NASCAR Thunder 2004. There's no lightning challenges and lots of other features that were out of the game.
If you want a good NASCAR game for the PS2, get NASCAR Thunder 2002, 2003, or 2004.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
NASCAR Thunder 2003 - Used
9.6 out of 10(5)
 
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Review 4 for NASCAR 08
One of the worst NASCAR games ever.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:1/22/12
cbargan23
Location: Hebron, MD
This game is perfect for: party gamers
Horrible game, major letdown since NASCAR 07 was awesome. Everything is terrible. Dale Jarrett in 1ST? Michael Waltrip in 2ND?! You've got to be kidding me! This is the NASCAR title that killed the EA NASCAR Series. The 360 and PS3 versions are much worse however. I would not recommend this to anyone!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Review 5 for NASCAR 08
Good but not great
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:11/18/10
Naton
Location: Muskegon, MI
This game is perfect for: party gamers
nacar 08 was ok but i didnt really like it. what i liked were the sounds and graphics were pretty good. what i didnt like at all was the game play. what i mean is when your racing theres only one line. meaning the only line u can run is the bottom , if u run the top line u will lose tons ofspots which isnt always correct. and another thing when your racing at daytona or talladega. if your in the draft it makes u go slower which is a big flaw. Also what i didnt like was it was pretty much impossible to qualify in the cup series.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for NASCAR 08
Huge letdown.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:11/25/08
PlaystationMan24
This game is horrible. It appears that no effort was put into this game at all. The thing that is the most annoying in the game is you'll spend most of your time trying to figure out how to finish a lap without wrecking. The controls are bad. Keeping the car from spinning out is nearly impossible and took me like 3 hours before I finally got the hang of it. In Nascar 07 the car would slow down automatically but in 08 you have to manually slow down. The AI cars are not at all good. They will run into you like crazy and when they start wiggling their cars they go faster and you can never catch back up thanks to the terrible car handling. You can change your car setups as much as you like but even if you actually find an okay setup you lose it. The graphics are awful. Nothing in the game looks good. The career mode isn't that great because you can't own a team and you can't even use your teammates. The only thing I like is the soundtrack. This game is not good.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
2 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for NASCAR 08
Realistic
Posted on:7/23/07
truex fan
NASCAR 08 looks great. But they should allow you to drive your car under caution, down pit road and anywhere else. Nascar Racing 2003 season allowed you to do that. Also the wrecks need to be more real such as you bump someone through the corners and they get loose they should cause the big one. they should also have the foreign races and the other thirty drivers that are part time in the series and get rid of the fantasy drivers! But nascar looks, feels, and sounds awesome!!!
Review 8 for NASCAR 08
08
Posted on:7/23/07
Randy
I think Nascar 08 is going to be a great game. The only thing I would like to see in the game is all of the busch series tracks like nashville, Mexico city, gateway, kentucky, and the new montreal curcuit. Other than that, the new car of tomorrow is going to be awesome to race as well!!
Review 9 for NASCAR 08
i hope
Posted on:7/22/07
11 hamlin is the best
i hope this game has the foreign tracks like montreal and mexico. it needs to get rid of the fantasy drivers and tracks. i think we should also b able to move the drivers like move JR to hendrick and move kyle busch to were ever he's going.
Review 10 for NASCAR 08
more improvement
Posted on:7/19/07
bobby labonte fan 1
I think there should more tracks like Memphis Motorsports park,Nashville,and Kentucky. Another thing you should be able to drive under cauiton and pitroad more rain delays, clowdy days,and sunny days. You should also be able to have red flags,blue flags,and black flags.I agree with everyone when I say dont let there be any fantansy drivers or tracks because we all think that is stupid.
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for NASCAR 08
More changes from old version
Posted on:7/19/07
viper4life
The one sure thing that i miss most from the older versions was the lap by lap comentary and would like to hear them talk about the first ten drivers like they do doing the real nascar races. I think that would make it alittle like the real thing as well.
Review 12 for NASCAR 08
What I would like.
Posted on:7/18/07
Caveman 4
In Nascar 2008 i hope you get to drive on to pit road by your self. I would also like it to have Budweiser on Dale JR's instead of his name it looks better with budweiser and you get to watch some videos about previous races then make a challenge like in 07 but it shows the video. I hope this is going to be the best Nascar game EVER!
Review 13 for NASCAR 08
it will rock
Posted on:7/15/07
the potatoe-skin man!!!
i hope your cars can blow up in this. in career mode, if your to wreckless your car will get totally wrecked and you could be knocked out of next race. i hope u ca have a history race with dale sr. or The king! that would rock! i opethis game is great like it should be expected from us. it should have geat gameplay!
Review 14 for NASCAR 08
ea sports
Posted on:7/14/07
electronic arts
well first of all i have to say i am the producer of nascar 2008. My name is nick lang.I no all of you fans say we need to step back and look at the sport overall.Well this year we really have.First of all we have the (cot) the car of tommorow which changes the sport.They might be slower but they are much better.And yes there are black flags on this years nascar 2008 series and also you get to drive under cautions and down pit road.While online has took another step forward.First of all we have 16 players onlinw without lag.Thats a big factor in this game.Another really big thing is all the rookie drivers and the paint schemes in this nascar game.So any doubts about this game all need to be put away. thank you, EA SPORTS
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for NASCAR 08
what i want
Posted on:7/14/07
sheckler
on 08 when you blow your engine or crash you should be able to go to the garage and try to fix it and then get back out on the track and it would be cool if jr had the budwiser sponser on the game it would also be cool to drive during caution and into the pits
Review 16 for NASCAR 08
cars on fire
Posted on:7/12/07
#1 jeff gordon fan
i think that in nascar 08 when your car is on fire it should show the fire more like in nascar 07 all you would see is black.It should be more like the daytona 500 when the 07 fliped the hood was on fire.
Review 17 for NASCAR 08
what i want in NASCAR 08
Posted on:7/11/07
johnsmith101
i am a huge ryan newman fan and this is what i want is that you should change so we can do it. drive on and off of pit road and under a caution. you also need to take out the fanasty drivers and a driver you forgot in 07 (carl edwards). there needs to be wheather delays. and when you wreck it should make you go out of the race or to the garage. add the all of the flags like black, red, blue and yellow etc...... and at the end of the race you can go to victory lane and celebrate and have someone interview you. and have the COT and all the paint schemes. and faster speeds at the big tracks like daytona and dega. you also take out the fanasty tracks because if you don't win usally gordon, johnson,jr., or stewert win. and please make the graphics better cause in 07 they stunk. please do this EA sports otherwise no one will buy the game.
Review 18 for NASCAR 08
more thing to focus on 08
Posted on:7/10/07
mike
I think that first of all there should be more paint schemes and also every nascar, not fake ones like ones that are created. I'm also glad that they are going to have the COT cars on the new 08 game. I am very excited to get it soon.
Review 19 for NASCAR 08
changes for the future
Posted on:7/9/07
racinjazon
Get RID of all the fantasy junk. Put a manufacturer on the truck series so they dont all look the same. More paint schemes. Make COT handle different than current car. Make difficulty harder cuz Jr, Gordan, Johnson, and Stewart dont go from 43 to 1 in 4 laps if that.
Review 20 for NASCAR 08
Things in NASCAR 08 i want
Posted on:7/9/07
Double OG
What i want to see in NASCAR 08 or in 09 is: *Total Team Control *MORE PAINT SCHEMES *REAL drivers (1-99) *ALL tracks (Nashville and Kentucky included) Real physics
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>