GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

NASCAR 08

Take the wheel of NASCAR's revolutionary new car and drive your way to the NEXTEL Cupchampionship. As the new rookie driver on the circuit, earn licenses and contracts from hungry car owners and go from a hotshot rookie in the Whelen Modified Series to a seasoned veteran racing for the NEXTEL Cup. Gain new experiences during every race as you master each track, fine-tune your skills, and fill your trophy case along the way. Experience the thrill of tomorrow's racing today in NASCAR 08.
Average Customer Rating:
5.286
5.3
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (134 reviews)
10 stars
1
9 stars
1
8 stars
0
7 stars
0
6 stars
2
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
4 out of 757%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for NASCAR 08
Review 1 for NASCAR 08
Huge letdown.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:11/25/08
PlaystationMan24
This game is horrible. It appears that no effort was put into this game at all. The thing that is the most annoying in the game is you'll spend most of your time trying to figure out how to finish a lap without wrecking. The controls are bad. Keeping the car from spinning out is nearly impossible and took me like 3 hours before I finally got the hang of it. In Nascar 07 the car would slow down automatically but in 08 you have to manually slow down. The AI cars are not at all good. They will run into you like crazy and when they start wiggling their cars they go faster and you can never catch back up thanks to the terrible car handling. You can change your car setups as much as you like but even if you actually find an okay setup you lose it. The graphics are awful. Nothing in the game looks good. The career mode isn't that great because you can't own a team and you can't even use your teammates. The only thing I like is the soundtrack. This game is not good.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
2 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for NASCAR 08
me again
Posted on:6/6/07
ken
I think that there should be some major changes from NASCAR 07-08. for one if you ever seen a craftsman truck series they are 4 different brands (chevy ford dodge and toyota) and they all look different (body styles) but you play the game and they all look the same i mean what is with that. anouther thing if i didn't already mention it is i wish a person could start there own team and get drivers to join ie. start a team and get dale jr. , geff gordon, jimmy johnson, plus your own driver and you could name the team and it would be cool if you could fire drivers. anouther thing i dislike is the fantisy tracks, drivers and the fake names of sponsers ( like jimmy built i mean comeon that is a weard name and is prob. the last thing i would want on my car) it would be cool if they introduced classic nascar racing with cars from the 50-80's and either than that the game looks pretty good though it could use a stronger story line.
Review 3 for NASCAR 08
What I want
Posted on:5/28/07
Lil' SMOKE
i think that in 08 the damage should be better. like when you scrape the wall you get a decent amout of damage like in NASCAR. also when you flip you should be out of the race ar any other serios reck. also they should throw the caution when someone scrapes the wall hard like in NASCAR. When you are in multi player there should be 43 cars and when you pit it should show the people in every bodies pit and in 2 player. they should have real reporters like DW saying boogity, boogity, boogity, lets go racin boys at the start of the race.there should be manufacturers in the truck series and numbers 1-99. no fantasy drivers either. i hate them instead of real drivers.you should also be able to have happy hour, blown engine smoke, and less chance of flipping. also real sponsors in create a car like Home depot, lowes, budwiser, AT&T,DEWALT, and so on. I hope they really improved these things in 08. TONY STEWART RULES!!!!!!!!!!1
Review 4 for NASCAR 08
WELL, EA BETTER GET THIS RIGHT!!!!!!!
Posted on:5/28/07
48 fan
i am a huge nascar fan, and Ea is making nascar games look terrible. Here is what i think EA better do if they want us nascar fans to buy their games. *3 to 4 wide racing on superspeedways like talladega and daytona. *better personalties like when you are racing next to tony stewart for the win, i dont want him to act like kind mark martin. *no more fantasy tracks and driver like carl stewert from china. *let yourself drive yourself in pitroad and under caution and have a race off pit raod. *show allof the pit crews while yourv driving down pitroad as well as yours.let there be the pre race show and post race show and let the interviwers talk to the winner. * and when you win you can do your victory spin and if the fans hate you they can throw stuff at you. also drive yourself into victory lane and you can control if you get out of the car or not. Please EA listen to these because we dont want another NASCAR 07.
Review 5 for NASCAR 08
things needed to make nascar 08 a great game
Posted on:3/23/07
deifan13815
i would like to see more real racers instead of the fake ones they get in your way and crash you for no reason. get a better drafting system. let you control the car during the whole race including under cautions and on pit row.. allowing real riving mistakes like hitting crew members and other cars. having the ability to drive the tow trucks when you wreck. pre and post race interveiws. no more charity events or at least better ones.. a better owner system. the cars of tommarow and the abilty to go race at local dirt tracks like kenny schrader and tony stewart do. add the option to drive a dirt late model or a modified in the beginning of your career. comintary from fox abc tnt and espn. and allow you to choose what type of trailer you bring to the track( ie a flat bed a open or closed trailer a big rig or a small 1500 pickup).. pretty much make it a more realistic driving simulator/ role playing game
Review 6 for NASCAR 08
stop whining
Posted on:3/26/07
chronicRcnO9
I wish everyone would quit their whining about the blurr effect. You can turn it off in race now mode for god sakes. and as for set ups, they took out gearing and downforce online so that people like me, who have a life and cant be at home all day working on setups, can have a fair chance. If you cant beat people by running a better line then your just not good enough. Just like nascar is doing in real life, they are trying to make an even playing field, not give the advantage to people who sit at home and have no family to support, or bills to pay. If you cant make your car run a fast lap and a good line with wedge and tire pressure, then you just arent good enough at the game, and maybe you should play football or something. the main thing EA needs to worrry about for 08 are the online servers.. get rid of the laggy effect of a slow connection and everyone will be happier. chronicRcn RULEZ!!
Review 7 for NASCAR 08
ea sports
Posted on:7/14/07
electronic arts
well first of all i have to say i am the producer of nascar 2008. My name is nick lang.I no all of you fans say we need to step back and look at the sport overall.Well this year we really have.First of all we have the (cot) the car of tommorow which changes the sport.They might be slower but they are much better.And yes there are black flags on this years nascar 2008 series and also you get to drive under cautions and down pit road.While online has took another step forward.First of all we have 16 players onlinw without lag.Thats a big factor in this game.Another really big thing is all the rookie drivers and the paint schemes in this nascar game.So any doubts about this game all need to be put away. thank you, EA SPORTS
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for NASCAR 08
awesome
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/23/14
skrillexisboss1
Location: piscataway,nj
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
this game is awesome its excellent in every angle a huge step forward for me from nascar 07 the graphics
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 9 for NASCAR 08
needs to be more like older nascar games
Posted on:4/7/07
cory
i hope that nascar08 is better than07 like you drive the car all the time like during the pace laps and under cation and down pit road. they should also have real commentaters like mike joy larry mac and DW or the espn commentators and in fight for the top u should get to walk around or durring rain delys i wish the wether would be real like rain or snow like in the football games ea needs to work on nascar than madden or ncaa 08 and the crashes should be real like at daytona if u flip all u can see the roll cage and the big one and the all star and budweiser shootout and have real sponser on the cars like budweiser and miller and coolar light. they should also have the cot and have real manufacturs in the trucks and modifeds.and also we need to get pit reporters and and have u going to victory lane and have better celebartions like the fence climb and the back flip
Review 10 for NASCAR 08
Review
Posted on:7/3/07
Tennessee64
Alright, i've read some of the previews and some of the ideas are good, but some are kinda stupid. A lot of complain that there needs to be beer sponsors and adault products. NASCAR is a family sport you know. and not ever driver can be in the game due to contract issues, like Carl Edwards on 07, Fight To The Top can be a little bit better, driving on pit road would be kick @$$, and new fantasy tracks and more real tracks would be better like Nashville for Busch and Trucks. Driving under caution would look cool, but after a while you gonna want a break from the racing and complain about it. and it does need to be harder on the Legend difficulty. and for the record, Toyota is in the Cup and Busch series, and the Trucks will have different makes, but the COT probably would not, which is what i dont like bout the games, but other than that, its goin to be a great game.
Review 11 for NASCAR 08
What 08 Needs
Posted on:5/5/07
wolve2525
First off dump all the fantasy drivers and tracks I cant stand that its not realistic in anyway. And put on the full rosters for all 3 series. No reason for last years game not to have schrader, bowyer, and edwards on it. I can sorta see their logic to not wanting to put the beer or liquor sponsors in the game. But whats the deal with schrader and edwards they dont want to promote snack cakes and office supplies or what. Also put on the rest of the tracks like gateway, nashville, and kentucky. Another thing i didnt really like about last years was when you started your team basically you bought one of the other teams and created your own car. How is that realisitc in any way. You should start your own team and also have the ability to add teams to your stable. If you wanna be like hendrick or roush and have 4 or 5 cars then thats what you should be able to do.
Review 12 for NASCAR 08
I Wish...
Posted on:2/20/07
Wes S
i wish they would do like the nascar thunder games where they sing the national anthem and go through the starting lineup b4 the race starts. and also on nascar thunder when u create a car, u could make as many cars as u want under 1 name instead of putting a name 4 each car. they should also make more fantasy tracks cuz im getting sick of the old ones, but they should still keep them but add more tracks. or they could put real life tracks that the nascar series dont race on. i think they should add the mexico city and the track in canada. i think it would be better also if they would still keep 43 cars on the track with 2, 3, or even 4 players. it would be more fun to have more cars on the track. i also wish there will be more computer driver wrecks, and bigger packs of cars at daytona and talladega and having the "big one" in front of u or somewhere
Review 13 for NASCAR 08
JHK
Posted on:4/12/07
NASCAR 08
HI I heard the game is cool. What I think they should do is make the graphic better, have red flag for example like if you have to go some where you can start a wreck and choose if you want it yellow or red. Also if you are heading down pit lane or have a tire rub you should get a black flag. Also if you win you should be able to go to victory lane and drive to it same as the garage and the pits. If you get in a bad crash you should drive to the garage. Should be able to blow tires with out any warning. They should have anouccers. They should also have drivers introductions national anthem pace laps and everthing else the do. A few more thing they should have pit road reporters and interview. One more thing that would be cool if people with online even with out they can talk to there to there teammates or there crewchiefs. That would be a great game.
Review 14 for NASCAR 08
Nascar 08 is going to be HUGE!
Posted on:7/3/07
Abel
Nascar 08 will be huge because that Nascar 08 will have a new draft system,real damages,the COT cars all the sponsors from the 2007 season,and more.The thing I do not like in Nascar 08 is that they don't have the sponsors like Budweiser,Miller Lite,Jack Daniel's and Jim Bean and the drive down pit road and when they put the fantasy drivers,tracks,and the Whelen Modified Series.What I also want is that they should have a real data scorebord of the lap times and miles per hour when they crossed the finish line,drive under caution and down pit road,green,yellow,red,and black flags,real weather like sunny,cloudy,rainy,snowy,and thunderstorms,weather delays,all the drivers and tracks,not the fantasy drivers and tracks,the numbers between 1-99,and no Whelen Modified Series.Lastly,I hope for EA Sports to put those stuffs in and for me to get the game FIRST!
Review 15 for NASCAR 08
what i want in NASCAR 08
Posted on:7/11/07
johnsmith101
i am a huge ryan newman fan and this is what i want is that you should change so we can do it. drive on and off of pit road and under a caution. you also need to take out the fanasty drivers and a driver you forgot in 07 (carl edwards). there needs to be wheather delays. and when you wreck it should make you go out of the race or to the garage. add the all of the flags like black, red, blue and yellow etc...... and at the end of the race you can go to victory lane and celebrate and have someone interview you. and have the COT and all the paint schemes. and faster speeds at the big tracks like daytona and dega. you also take out the fanasty tracks because if you don't win usally gordon, johnson,jr., or stewert win. and please make the graphics better cause in 07 they stunk. please do this EA sports otherwise no one will buy the game.
Review 16 for NASCAR 08
Good but not great
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:11/18/10
Naton
Location: Muskegon, MI
This game is perfect for: party gamers
nacar 08 was ok but i didnt really like it. what i liked were the sounds and graphics were pretty good. what i didnt like at all was the game play. what i mean is when your racing theres only one line. meaning the only line u can run is the bottom , if u run the top line u will lose tons ofspots which isnt always correct. and another thing when your racing at daytona or talladega. if your in the draft it makes u go slower which is a big flaw. Also what i didnt like was it was pretty much impossible to qualify in the cup series.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for NASCAR 08
Nascar 08
Posted on:5/19/07
A Customer
Things that need to be in Nascar 08 or 09: 1) Black and Red flags 2) Weather Conditions 3) Lucky dog 4) COT 5) Realistic wrecks- If a driver wrecks and flips his car, and still has a chance to win, shouldn't be allowed 6) Drive your car under caution, in the pits, and if your engine blows, drive to the garage, and victory lane 7) Talk to your crew chief during the race and in the garage 8) Pre Race show(national anthem, starting line up) and victory lane celebrations 9) live leader borad across the top of the screen 10) A reporter to interview the winner 11) If you crash and your car won't go, then you get towed 12) Add the All-Star Challenge 13) If you are not in the top 35 in points, you need to qualify to be in the race EA Sports, please listen to these suggestions and I hope you can put these things in the game
Review 18 for NASCAR 08
Nascar 08
Posted on:3/24/07
Dizzymike
Well I wonder if nascar 2008 will be what I think it should be or be off like 07 is . If you ask me I would like to see at least 6 human players in the online racing . And set ups should be an option for the host of the race to decide . As well as rated or non rated races . I also would like to be able to control the car thoughout the whole race . Even in the pits . I would also like to be able to to connect with people even if they are on a roughter . One other option that I would like to see is the abblity to kick and ban players from your race . would solve so many problems . there are so many things that could be in the game thousands of ways to change it . PLEASE DONT LET US DOWN EA !!!!!!! Long time nascar driver . I am on 2007 and cant wait to see you there!!! DIZZYMIKE OVER 1000 RACES RUN .
Review 19 for NASCAR 08
Not Possible
Posted on:5/29/07
C~Dub
Well, although good ideas, a lot of the stuff you guys have mentioned just isn't possible on the current-gen PS2's and Xbox's. 43 Cars in Multiplayer, All pit crews visible, Better damage and visuals. But I believe in the next-gen versions, we will see all of this. Anyone remember the GT5 trailer? The detail in that game was insane, and they showed all the pit crews. So that should be an easy one for PS3. We've already seen the wrecks and damage the next-gen systems can produce, looking good there. As for all the tracks and drivers, that's all contract issues and licensing. But why would someone say no Fantasy Tracks? Anyway, next-gen NASCAR is going to be the way to go. As for the current-gen ports of 08, sadly I don't think you'll get much more than what you already have.
Review 20 for NASCAR 08
nascar 08
Posted on:5/31/07
joshua
If nascar games are trying to get people to buy them and play them, then make them better. I would be the happiest fan alive if nascar improved on its features. They should have more realalistic tracks and people, no fatesy drivers and the tracks should be harder to drive. I more difficult to win, and let the players drive thereselves in and out of pit and under cation. Plus more wrecks and up to date drivers . And let us try rto unlock legends and more paint sceams, every driver should have up to date paint jobs and sponsers and this will make nascar 08 better. oh and we should be able to make our own tracks because other games like NBA,NHL,Golf they allow you to create thing not just cars. sinceralym, joshuan go 24!!!!
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>