GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

SKATE

There's plenty of room to pull off those tricks - San Vanelona, an authentic boarding mecca, challenges you to explore, find, and own the best spots. Capture footage to create and show off your style with people across the world - becausewithout footage, it's fiction. Get ready for all the fun, creativity, and culture of skateboarding without the hours of practice, broken bones, and hospital visits.
Average Customer Rating:
8.841
8.8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (104 reviews)
10 stars
25
9 stars
9
8 stars
3
7 stars
3
6 stars
1
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
38 out of 4486%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for SKATE
Review 1 for SKATE
Awesome skating game for a new generation!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:4/17/13
nightkid921
Location: Atlanta, GA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This is an awesome skating game that is much better than the Tony Hawk series. The controls will take some getting used to but when you do it is awesome.
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 2 for SKATE
Skateboarding Is A perfect Crime
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/12/12
Assassinskateboarder
Location: Atlanta, GA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I am a sponsered skateboarder that is sponsered by volcom and my local skatepark Hazard County. So I went to get a skateboard game and I was like "Dang I can't find a good game" so I asked the cashier at gamestop is there any good quality skateboard games and he said " Yes I know one good skateboard game that you'd definetly like and it is SKATE." So he got the game and I bought it. When I got home I started playin the game :o I was so into the game that I didn't know that I had been playin for nearly 5 hours!!!!! So since im a pro skateboarder listen to me BUY THE GAME it will be worth the 8 dollars. I ended up buyin the whole series.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for SKATE
skatetacular
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/8/12
reject379
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
this is a good game for anyone that loves sports games. i love the graphics. this is a all around good game. kids will enjoy this game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for SKATE
Very Awesome Game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/6/12
Skaterz
Location: Hanford,CA
This is the best game i had buyed when i went walking to the mall and meet the same casher this game is cool the graphics look real and i love this game very cool for skaters.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for SKATE
great for pretty much anyone
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/10/11
Skateboss
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game was just bought to complete a buy 2 get 1 free deal, but this was probably the best of the 3. The multiplayer was a little disappointing and I think they could improve it, but that's pretty much my only problem.The controls are great, the graphics are awesome, (for 2007) the game is surprisingly bug/glitch free for such a huge world, and I can honestly recommend this to anyone. I was worried that I might grow tired of the idea, but I still have a sense of amazement after every discovery and pride after every video worthy trick. Even if you aren't looking for a skating game, you should consider this.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
8 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for SKATE
Best Skating Game...EVER.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/27/11
NoahMF
The game is pretty much flawless. The "flick-it" trick system is genius and a total blast to learn and use. I got this game when it first came out, and I'm STILL playing it to this day.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for SKATE
Hold on to your pants, THIS GAME TOTALY ROCKS
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/16/11
eler
Location: gs
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
THIS GAME IS AMAZING. The Tony Hawk games were way to unrealistic and the controlls were horrible but skate is the exact oppisite. The flick controls for the analog stick give you a better feeling and makes you totaly proud when you land a trick or complete a line. The story line is better than any other skating game out there. This a game actually centered on skating, The Tony hawk game is just a dumb story line with easy challenges. In skate there are things that could actually happen to you in real life. And when you ollie you don't go fifty feet into the air. If your a skater you will totally like this game. I actually started skating after I played this game. Tony Hawk games made skating look stupid but skate makes you want to just get of your but and go skate.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for SKATE
Not bad
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:11/15/11
LovelyThickLady111
Location: wilmington, nc
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game was quite a surprise to me. I am used to playing the Tony Hawk type of skating games so the controls took some time to getting used to. Once i was past that i began to really enjoy the game. Skate gives the player a much more realistic feel to real skateboarding.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for SKATE
good game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/27/11
julz
Location: california
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
this game is pretty cool and the gamplay is amzing. the only downfall is that you dont get to build your own skate park and there is not enough challenges when you are so close too getting the mags. but besides that the game is awsome. the controlles are solid similar to skate3 except you cant get off your board and bail like you do on skate 3. but ill give this game a 10!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Xbox 360 Live Marketplace 1600 Points
7.1 out of 10(156)
 
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for SKATE
Best out of the three
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/19/11
StatesideKale
Location: South Paris, Maine
This game is amazing. Hours and Hours of fun, and skateboarding realism. Skate 2 comes not even close to how awesome, and realistic this one is. Skate 3 is great too though. But this is the best of the best. The most realistic, the best soundtrack, the best campaign, the best skaters (Mark Gonzales) and the best companies. This game is worth the money all the way!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for SKATE
A Very Awsome Game For Skateboarders
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/17/11
CallMeFreshKiid
Location: Canada
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
This Game Is The Best Skateboarding Game Ever, It's Basdically The Core Where Real Skateboarding Games Started For Xbox360 And Playstation 3.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for SKATE
Still the best skateboarding game out there
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/20/10
razer922
Location: Shawnee, KS
About two or three years ago, I went over to my friend's house. He had downloaded the demo for a new game called Skate and told me to give it a try.
Two or three years later I'm still playing this game and still enjoying it.
I'm going to warn you now- the first time you play this game, you'll more than likely just look at the controls and think "...What?" Admittedly they do take some time to get used to, but if you give it a chance you'll get the hang of it.
Career progression branches slightly at a point, but both paths have a similar amount of challenges with the only real difference being what's in each magazine; i.e., Thrasher will have you do a "Hall of Meat" photoshoot partway through whereas The Skateboard Mag might have a "New Jack" shoot.
The graphics are slick and fit the game well. Not a lot else to say there.
The sound effects work great, and the game "zoning in" when you break a personal record is a cool effect. The soundtrack is, for the most part, well-chosen, with some virtual unknowns being highlights (I had no idea who The Exploding Hearts were before this), and the 18 or so original tracks are great as well. And even if you don't like the game's soundtrack, you can simply use a custom soundtrack from your 360's hard drive or portable media player of your choice.
Without a doubt, this game's lasting appeal is through the roof. A somewhat-tricky-to-learn, easy-to-remember trick system and incredible level design allow for non-stop fun.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
deamon0821
virginia beach, va
 
Please wait while more information about deamon0821 is loaded.
Additional information about deamon0821 could not be loaded.
How cool is skate,skate2 and skate3
Posted 4/22/12
They are awesome cause that you can go we're any you want even you can get off your board get chased by cops now is that cool or not.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 13 for SKATE
Awesome skate game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/20/10
wafflez
Location: cicero,IL
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
What can i say,this game is good for people who like skateboarding games.The graphics are good the story is great and the sound is awesome.This game is not a waste of money because it's awesome so buy a copy
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
5 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for SKATE
Not as good as skate 2 or 3.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:10/15/10
Sk8972
Location: Tucson, AZ
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is very fun.You play the role of a skater who just got in an accident and then goes back to skating.The challenges are a bit hard but still a fun game.If you dont have it its worth picking up.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
bigblob
kirbyville
 
Please wait while more information about bigblob is loaded.
Additional information about bigblob could not be loaded.
worst
Posted 11/26/11
this game stinks i just got it yesterday i hate it
Customer Avatar
StatesideKale
South Paris, Maine
 
Please wait while more information about StatesideKale is loaded.
Additional information about StatesideKale could not be loaded.
read below
Posted 7/19/11
Skate 2 sucks...
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 15 for SKATE
fun but glitchy!!!!
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:9/19/10
rpgshot117
Location: chicago il
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
good for its time not the best game ever but fun some of the challenges are to hard for children but dont listen to the back of the box there is no blood and gore or tobbaco referince ive beatin the hole game and there is only about 3 words that you may or may not want your child to here.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for SKATE
This game is perfect!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/12/10
I<3Skating
Yes, skate 2 and skate3 are already out, but if you are going to just start the "SKATE" series you need to start with this game! This game really starts the whole "SKATE" storyline. If you do not play this game you will not understand most of the characthers, challenges etc.. I've played every skate game and I would really prefer skate 3, but this game is soo fun if you are just starting! One of the things I do not like about this game is the graphics. They are good, but not perfect like skate 2 and skate 3 graphics. They could really improve these graphics because it would make the whole game itself look a whole lot more realistic. Some of the things I like are bascially everything. The storyline is perfect. Controls are very simple I mean how much more easier can a skate game get?! Thanks for reading hope this helped!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for SKATE
Best skateboard game EVER!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/27/10
Sparky McNeill
This was my first 360 game i got. I played this at a friends house and I loved. I thought it was really cool if you wanted to do a kickflip, you have to move the analog stick to the left or right (depending on your stance). When I got my xbox360 there was two games I wanted to get, Halo3 and Skate. This was the time I was really obsessed with skateboarding, so i got SKATE. I was up till 3:30a.m. playing the game. The only reason I stopped was that I was so tired that i couldn't tell what 2 plus 2 was. The skaters you can play as are the greatest skaters of all time (Danny Way and Crisis Cole). You have so much to explore when you just free skate. There is only two or three things bad about it. Like you can't control the camera and you can just tell what happens then. And sometimes if you ollie to late when you are trying to grind it gets stuck and you can't do anything for a few seconds. So if you really like skateboarding games, you should get this as soon as possible.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for SKATE
BEST GAME EVER
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/19/09
G Status
Dont listen to these other people who say the game sucks. the SKATE games are the most realistic skateboarding games ever. you want a skateboarding game that accually feels like your skating for when you cant go outside and skate at the moment. and this game does just that. i mean it feels like you are accually skating and once you nail that trick or line you feel like you have accomplished something. yea some of the things are hard at first but once you get used to it its is really fun and you can just freeskate forever and you will always find a place that you never skated before. i have had this game for over a year and i was playing it earlier and i found a pool and a couple plazas that i have never seen before in my life. the tony hawk games are fun at first but get boring because it is so unrealistic. i mean who wants to ollie 20 feet in the air i mean come on. if you are a true skater then you have to get this game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for SKATE
Please buy this if your a real skater
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/16/09
CR 85 R
If your a real skater you are going to love this game! And if you're one of those people that don't like realism or aren't into skateboarding then your not going to like this game maybe those of you who don't like this game for it's realism or whatever should do some research hmm.. let's see some of the people who made this game are real skaters unlike tony hawks games also this game is what true diehard skaters have been wanting for the past decade we needed something fresh and out of the ordinary button mashing gets boring fast I prefere realism personaly and besides if it's gonna be a sports game it should be real look at football basketball and such if they are realistic then why do people think this shoulden't I'd reccomend this game in a heartbeat ther's real magizines that you get photo's in covers table of contents etc Thrasher and the skateboard mag to be exact and the city is based on real spots EMB is probably the most famous one Hubba hideout the first ledge down a set of stairs that anyone skated Gonz gap to is at the emb if anyone nows what that is real skateboard brands clothes shoes wheels and trucks a cool feature of the game is that you can adjust how soft or tight you want your trucks and wheels X games is in there to Basically if your a real skater It's all you ever dreamed of and more in a video game A breath of fresh air!!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
josiah2000
some place
 
Please wait while more information about josiah2000 is loaded.
Additional information about josiah2000 could not be loaded.
I AM THE BIGGIST SKATE FAN !!!
Posted 2/9/11
when i got skate i was so happy so when i started playing it was awesome the only sucky thing about it is u cant get of your board that was all there r some good people like shango and slappy my nepheu got it first but i beat the game first and that took a week once i got skate two what a breeze once agian breeze the thing i dont like about it is the places or to dark so when i got skate three beat it in a week the thing i hate about that is there is a lot of blue so next time put a different colors plus the the tricks or kinda complicated but u will get used to them also watch about the people in death races mostly in skate and skate 3 take this info from some one who beat it in a week!!!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 20 for SKATE
TH aint got nothing against SKATE!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/3/09
SlowMelt
Awesome game, I see some people says that the controls are not good but dont believe that for a minute. This is the game that we were waiting for, cool graphics, easy to get used to controls, a whole bunch of challenges and better skate places than the whole Tony Hawk series. I recommend this game over Tony Hawk to any one that are tired of the boring challenges and lame easy tricks that TH has. The physics of this game are incredible and if you want a realistic game this is the one. 5 stars for the developers which capture the real essence of the skating scene and if you like it more challenging I recommend SKATE 2, which is even better. Sorry to all the Tony Hawks fans, but this game smoked the whole series. The tricks are even better and it will take time to master and the good thing about it is that you have to really show your skills in this game which thats why I think is better than Tony Hawk series.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>