GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Grand Theft Auto: Vice City Stories

Grand Theft Auto: Vice City Stories is a new game in the Grand Theft Auto series with an entirely new storyline, new missions and gameplay. Grand Theft Auto: Vice City Stories features the interactive, open environment of Vice City with professional voice talent, a diverse soundtrack and high production values that have become trademarks of this landmark series.
Average Customer Rating:
8
8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (43 reviews)
10 stars
5
9 stars
4
8 stars
2
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
11 out of 1385%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Grand Theft Auto: Vice City Stories
Review 1 for Grand Theft Auto: Vice City Stories
Vice city stories is a great game for 80's lovers
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/22/08
GameBoy#86
We're back in Miami only this time in the past of 1984 where you play a tough former corporal soldier who was discharged from the Port Baxter Base Military tries to make it big with the help of his brother lance in the dark, violent, glamourous city of Miami. Vice City stories is a lot better than vice city only missing parts like able to go into and own places like vice city but its still great. you have the new feature where you own businesses and your cash goes into your account everyday making you successful & filthy rich. you can choose between different types of business and run them as a small time,medium or large high roller business but the high roller level of business is where the money is. you even have the chance to rub out other gangs and take over every gangs business and each gang has their level of business. you can also recruit your gang and they will protect you and your businesses and if you want to cause mayhem and kill, well... their with you every step.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Grand Theft Auto: Vice City Stories
Another great 80s game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/22/08
Muskrat Love
If you were a fan of Vice City, this is another awesome game but goes back a couple of years from the first vice city. This vice city however is Lance's side of the story. Game is awesome and you will see familiar faces from the 1st vice city. They added new features which is the empire takeover. It's like taking over territories in San Andreas but instead its business takeovers which is awesome. I like it how they put in jobs like the drug deals and robbery. I was disappointed about the robbery like briefcase carrier and bank van. I was hoping to do bank heists like in san andreas and vice city. Loan Shark is great, but disappointed that you steal the same two cars every time I wanted it to be like a list of cars. The payment every day at 16:00 is great, a good way of making money. Storyline is great, graphics kinda stink but I'm that kind of person that likes the variety of fun as in I don't care about graphics I just want the fun of it. The music is awesome if you're a big 80s music fan. Other than that the game is sweet and it's worth $** new, I wouldn't buy it used consider my ps2 is old.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Grand Theft Auto: Vice City Stories
GTA: VCS Graphics are Better, Not Great.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/26/11
HappyGoLucky2099
Location: YeeHa, Texas
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Vice City Stories is, again, a prequel, taking place a couple of years prior to the original game. You play as Vic Vance, the brother of central Vice City character Lance Vance. Vic's a strange fellow. When the game begins, he's just joined the army, and he gets off the transport truck at a military base in Vice City. Upon meeting his commanding officer--a borderline psychotic named Jerry Martinez--things start going wrong. We find out that Vic has joined the military to make some money to support his family, specifically his sick brother. But within the first few minutes of the game, you'll find yourself inexplicably picking up drugs for Martinez, killing gang members, and chauffeuring easy women.
Of course, any veteran of this series won't be shocked one bit by missions like these. The trouble here is that the setup for getting Vic into this mess is beyond flimsy. From the get-go, Vic talks about how uncomfortable he is with illegal activities, and yet he does every single illicit thing Martinez asks him to do. If you're someone who doesn't want to do anything illegal, and your boss starts asking you to pick up easy women and hide drugs for him, are you going to just gripe about it and then do it anyway? Not to mention that Vic seems completely willing to run into an apartment complex and start shooting gangsters without even being ordered specifically to do so. He just says, "I'll go get it" (referring to owed money stashed inside one of the apartments) and goes in guns blazing. GTA heroes are never heroes, exactly, but the trick in the past has been that there's been no attempt to play those characters up as sympathetic. They weren't boy scouts--they were gangsters, killers, and drug dealers. Vice City Stories tries to present Vic as a guy who doesn't want to get into that stuff, yet he freely and frequently does throughout the entire game. He mostly comes off as a hypocritical idiot.
Game play - This game was way better then I expected, and its a lot better then Liberty City Stories. There are a few features from San Andreas that are back in Vice City Stories, like swimming, bicycles, and planes/helicopters. There are also a lot of new items and weapons that were never in other GTA's, (e.g. binoculars, and crowbars). One bad thing about this game is it has a lot of glitches, but not as many as the PSP version. Another great thing about this game is the combat; there are a lot of new fighting moves, like grabbing people or snapping their necks.
Graphics - The graphics in this game are slightly better then in LCS, but since it was a game made for the PSP, the graphics are not as good as San Andreas. There are few things in VCS, that look more realistic, for example the fire that comes out of a gun once you fire it.
Sound - The sound in this game is very good. The gunshots sound realistic, also when punching someone it sounds better then in SA. The music in the game is good too.
Value - There are a lot of new side missions in this game to complete when you’re done with all the missions, (e.g. Air Ambulance and Beach Patrol). There are also 99 red balloons (in place of the regular 100 hidden packages) that you have to find and pop by shooting them.
Final Thought - The story is fun and interesting, although the story is not as long as San Andreas, there is still a lot more missions then in LCS, and they are longer, and have more variety. It might have been cool to leave in the multi-player for some two player split-screen fun, but you don't play Grand Theft Auto for multi-player. Overall, Vice City Stories is a good prequel to an excellent classic.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
8 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Grand Theft Auto: Vice City Stories
Good Game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/12/10
Xavier Diaz
This game isnt like GTA SA but it does stand out. It has surely better things than GTA III. If you like games that take place in the 80's you will sure like this game. At first i wasnt used to it because i played San Sndreas for a long time but after a while it became one of the funnest games ever. This game is worth $14.99 and u should by it. this game shows that it is the most recently made game in the GTA series for ps2. I just hate how you have to write such a long review. i just have 254 more characters before i reach the minimum so i can leave. People i have a facebook as xavier Diaz. If u want more tips and cheats just add me on facebook. Or u can just lok on the internet LOL. So fellow game buyers thanks for listening to what i had to say and have a good day.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Grand Theft Auto: Vice City Stories
Great way to finish off the PS2 GTA's.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/20/10
PynWreck
Location: Orange County, California
As a GTA player since GTA 3, I think this was a great way to finish off the legendary PS2 series. The story is about Vic Vance (Lance Vance's brother; who you either love or hate), a former soldier who got framed for having marijuana in his room. It makes a great prequel to one of the best video games of all time (Vice City), and instead of leaving the city how it was, they change it just the right amount where it feels like a whole different game. I would definitely recommend this game to a friend.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Grand Theft Auto: Vice City Stories
Great GTA remake of Vice city!!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/30/11
waise
Location: Eatontown,NJ
This game is pretty cool.But if you don't want to spend $15 on a old ps2 game then just get the original vice city for $5-$8.The graphics,gameplay,lasting appeal,and sound are great!I just bought it and think it was worth $15 but like I said just get the original if you want to spend less,I used store-credit so.... yeah.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Grand Theft Auto: Vice City Stories
Great, Long lasting game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/24/11
MercedesBenz21
Location: Berlin, Germany
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
After being kicked out of the army, you travel Vice City doing different jobs for different people. And making money too. You will run an Empire that makes you money throughout the game as well.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Grand Theft Auto: Vice City Stories
its crazy
Posted on:2/28/07
bjammin
itz crazy. i played this game on my cousins psp and now i got the chance to get it for my self. This game is hott
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Grand Theft Auto: Vice City Stories
No xbox version. Sorry
Posted on:2/28/07
A Customer
Because like last year's GTA LCS. Xbox version for GTA VCS WILL NOT come in this year. Therefore, GTA 4 will come PS3 and Xbox 360 in this fall.
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Grand Theft Auto: Vice City Stories
PRETTY GOOD!!!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:11/27/11
zain01
WHILE VICE CITY IN MY OPINION IS BETTER THIS MAKES A GREAT PREQUEL FOR IT. THIS GOES UP TO THE BEGINING CUTSCENES OF VICE CITY. MY 3RD FAVORITE GTA GAME (1.VICE CITY,2.SAN ANDREAS)IS REALLY GOOD.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Grand Theft Auto: Vice City Stories
gta
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:8/16/12
winner12
Location: nj
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
gta vcs is not a bad game for it's year and it is a good game to play i know the graphics are not good but it is not like it's for ps3 or xbox360 it is worth that much money
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Grand Theft Auto: Vice City Stories
i got the game and it was unusable
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:7/12/12
swaggaking98
Location: sunapee nh
i had waited two days for it to ship when i got the game i checked to see its condition and it was horrible
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Grand Theft Auto: Vice City Stories
I woudn't trust anything ..
Posted on:2/28/07
Arauce
..the previous posters have said. IMO the game has improved since GTA:VC PC: with new features added and altered to buying and making your own buisnesess. And then beeing able to do things based on them. Only glitches i noticed where slow load times while driving really fast [but that was because of the psp].. and when inside a building and with grabbing a person while beeing close to the wall: actualy going through it and falling into the water soo far away that the dry land was too far away to swim to. I guess diffrent PSP's, diffrent problems. But, other then that the game's controlls are verry easy. And anyone can just start the game and play like a pro.
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Grand Theft Auto: Vice City Stories
umm....
Posted on:3/5/07
A Customer
i dont know about this one. the graphics look worse then san andreas. and after what san andreas had to offer, this will seem like its missing. liberty city stories wasnt all that great either.
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Grand Theft Auto: Vice City Stories
DONT judge a game by its cover
Posted on:2/27/07
moo-d
I have this game on the psp, so i dont no if these two games are the same but i have been told they are. Personaly i think this game was not as good as just normal vice city PC version. Both games have pros and cons but i think that the PC original vice city comes out on top. Vice city stories did not have as much style with its characters, ROCKSTAR thought they were being smart but it just turned out pretty mediocre.
Review 16 for Grand Theft Auto: Vice City Stories
Hey Jeff
Posted on:2/22/07
Ian
The reason LCS didn't feature as much is because it's a port from the psp, and San Andreas obvisiouly wasn't. VCS is also a port from the psp, and it's not gonna have tons of stuff like San Andreas, but it's still gonna be a fun game, and it's only $20. If you want more stuff Jeff, wait a few more months until GTAIV comes out. VCS will just have to hold us over until then haha.
Review 17 for Grand Theft Auto: Vice City Stories
Of course it's not like San Andreas.
Posted on:2/23/07
A Customer
Stop comparing Vice City Stories to San Andreas. Of course it's not going to be like San Andreas because Vice City Stories is another Vice City game just like Liberty City Stories is like GTA: III. Vice City came out before San Andreas, so VCS is going to be like Vice City. If they make a San Andreas Stories, then that will be a lot like San Andreas.
Review 18 for Grand Theft Auto: Vice City Stories
Hope the glitches are gone
Posted on:2/27/07
Cleptoism
I have this on PSP its really not all that enjoyable with cars falling from the sky and what have you. The story line is good but there were too many glitches for my taste. If the glitches are gone I would highly reccomend this game. When can we go online rockstar? Stop teasing us with multiplayer on PSP and nada for the system.
Review 19 for Grand Theft Auto: Vice City Stories
GTA GTA GTA
Posted on:2/13/07
Alexander Arce
I already reserved my copy at my local Gamestop here in Aguadilla. And will do the same for GTA 4 so i can recieve it on October 26. Tip of the Day:Reserve a game and keep paying it and save the reciepts and all you have to do on release day is just walk into your local gamestop and show said reciept and pick up your copy.
Review 20 for Grand Theft Auto: Vice City Stories
Hmm.. I dont know...
Posted on:2/27/07
Jynglez
After playing San Andreas, with all its capabilities, liberty city stories was, in my opinion, like taking about five steps back for the grand theft auto name. I got a feeling vice city stories is going to be the same scaled back, cut corner version as the liberty city. Wouldn't touch it.
1 2 3 next>>