GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Star Wars: The Force Unleashed

12th Annual Interactive Achievement Awards Winner: Outstanding Achievement in Adapted StoryThe Star Wars saga continues in Star Wars: The Force Unleashed. You are Darth Vader's Secret Apprentice! The Dark Lord of the Sith himself has trained you to use a lightsaber and unleash the power of the Force, but now your destiny is your own. Will you join Vader as the next great Sith, or will you choose to defend peace and justice as a noble Jedi Knight? The expansive story, created under direction from George Lucas, is set during the largely unexplored era between Star Wars: Episode III Revenge of the Sith and Star Wars: Episode IV A New Hope.
Average Customer Rating:
8.011
8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (416 reviews)
10 stars
54
9 stars
50
8 stars
27
7 stars
13
6 stars
16
5 stars
9
4 stars
1
3 stars
3
2 stars
5
1 star
5
144 out of 18379%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Star Wars: The Force Unleashed
Review 1 for Star Wars: The Force Unleashed
great game for any Star Wars fan
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:4/17/13
nightkid921
Location: Atlanta, GA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
You get the chance to see major Star Wars characters as you play which makes playing that much more fun. Being able to use force powers is awesome and makes destroying enemies a different experience every time.
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 2 for Star Wars: The Force Unleashed
Listen close...
Posted on:3/5/07
pro_remag
yes it is not a shooter all the way. its a next step in games, they dont want you to open a door and just zap all enimes or simpley just shoot them and they dont want you to think light sabers are the best. they want you to try new things by doing all that... lets say for example you cut off a piece of cover then instead of just throwing it you manage to put a hole in it a small hole that you can now shoot from or zap lighting from as a big shield. what im saying is that i dont fully agree with others have said about shooters or star wars its a game all its own Elder Scrolls made one of the highest marked games in history not for its combat wich realy was basic but how you did it not just run a fight, you had to think how you were going to do it. Halo took a great story and made a compettive game out of it so dont compare it with this cause they are totally diffrent in a sense. so with that i hope you think of it in a diffrent sense whether you hate or like it, just consider it .
Review 3 for Star Wars: The Force Unleashed
Unleashed is Amazing
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/16/08
Michael Kozick
This installment of the Star Wars Franchise has really got it done this time after playing through the first level i fell in love from the moment i sent 6 trees and 4 wookies flying. This is game isin't easy on the higher difficulties witch makes it longer and more of a challenge. The visuals for this game are great graphics top notch all characters are detailed fully Darth Vader and the Emperor look they way they should. This is game isint short either its lengthy and ever more so due to the replayibility value. The storyline is one for the ages the script for this game sets up episodes 4-6 perfectly and you learn how it went down and came to be!! The controls are great pick up and play type not hard to understand. The menus and interface are clean and crisp everthing is where it should be. Sound is great guns sound great lightsabers just like in the movies. Pick this up i never drove so fast getting home you wont regret it!!! There is no multiplayer but in the future it is speculated to be DLC.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 4 for Star Wars: The Force Unleashed
One of the Best I've seen in a long time!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/20/08
Scoutgirl
After waiting months for this game I was very pleased when I was able to pick it up. The graphics are wonderful and beyond what Im normally use to. The controls are very easy to use though sometimes the camera angle switches if you move or jump just right. It's most exceptional to force grip and toss the enemy off cliffs or to kick jawa's before force slamming them into a wall! I think my favorite thing is the storyline. Running with a surprise that I didn't think. A story line that is the beginning of the end for the Empire. I love the play between the pilot and star killer. Funny as I believe that originally Luke Skywalker s last name was Star killer. The only section I had a hard time with was pulling the Star destroyer down. You have to move quickly or your be stuck there for a pretty good while. I highly recommend this. I know it's not a long game. But you have the choice of light or dark at the end. So you have the chance to go and do both so the game is in actuality, longer then it appears.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 5 for Star Wars: The Force Unleashed
A Very Enjoyable Offline Game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/21/08
Sinstar4
I had been waiting for this game ever since the first teaser about a Dark Jedi pulling down a Star Destroyer to the ground. When I finally bought it I couldn't stop playing it until I finished it all. It's a very good and challenging game that you could play over and over again. If you don't want to run through the storyline again, you can always play the Training Room Mode. It has some helpful tutorials and a handful of difficult challenges. I found that the controls handled easily and the camera would at time change on you but if you have quick instincts like myself it is no problem. For such an anticipated I did fell like it was a bit on the short side. Not in a way of feeling cheated out your money but in the way that you still want more. The graphics it had a pretty sweet, it's always fun to see what you're doing to someone with a new perspective on the Force. I highly recommend this game to anyone who likes Star Wars or who wants a game that's interesting and that makes a great offline game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 6 for Star Wars: The Force Unleashed
Good but disappointing.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/18/08
Joey the Scot
For all the hype and delay in getting this game just right, it was a let down. Don't get me wrong, I am a huge Star Wars fan; both KOTOR games rocked as well as Republic Commando. The way this game was initially marketed and reviewed, I (along with many others) believed this game would be like the KOTOR games. Yes, we have a choice to make which decides the end of the game, but it is the only choice. This game is more of a lightsaber/force talent shooter than the RPG it was initially thought to be. With all the complaining aside, this was a pretty good game. The graphics are up there with other games such as Mass Effect, Gears of War, etc. Sound effects are awesome. The story was very good and did well to tie up some of the loose ends which have never been truly discussed between Episode III and IV. For all the delays and hype, plus all the hype because this was a Star Wars game, this game doesn't live up to the expectations. I'm not sure it could have. It is a good play, but it is a disappointment.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 7 for Star Wars: The Force Unleashed
Greatest Star Wars game ever????
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:3/19/11
ajax0014
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This could be the greatest Star Wars game ever. It is so much fun and it opens an entire new world into the Star Wars universe. And by world I don't literally mean a planet, I mean an entire new story that tells more about the Jedi-Sith relations, especially Vader's relations with the Jedi after he plans on annihilating them all. This is a must need for Star Wars fans, and even if you don't like Star Wars this game is a lot of fun because it is a well-designed Sci-Fi game. The only thing I have to say that is bad is that you shouldn't this... You should get the Ultimate Sith Edition because it comes with three new levels that would happen if the main character, Starkiller, had hunted down the remaining Jedi that were in Episodes IV, V, and VI, including Obi-Wan and Luke Skywalker.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Star Wars: The Force Unleashed
Star Wars Pure Awsomeness
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:9/17/08
KiNG167
Im not a big Star wars fan. I admitt im only into the movies and the games because of my friends but other than that I could care less about it, but I give credit to a game when its due. Star wars: Unleashed is short of awsome. Im big on RPG's so leveling is a great addition. The graphics are pretty good and story keeps you glued to your controller, and the difficulty settings were well thought out, even casual gamers can pick this game up and enjoy, and others that enjoy a challenge can pick pick harder difficulties that will surely make the game a longer experience due to the level of challenge. I will admitt the game is short but that's only in my standards, as Im typing this review I want to run home and turn my 360 on for some star wars action but i got to be patient because work comes first unfortunately. If your a star wars fan run to your nearest gamestop and pick this bad boy up, if your if'y about this game, get it anyway lol, replayabitly on this game is high so the $edit dollar price tag is worth it.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 9 for Star Wars: The Force Unleashed
Epic Beyond Measure
Posted on:8/25/08
Forever
I downloaded the demo the second I heard about it, and I was extremely impressed. I know little to nothing about Star Wars, but just from the demo I am definitely buying this game. A lot of other reviews here will tell you the graphics aren't that great or that the mini-boss/boss fights aren't any fun because they end with a scripted button press command sequence, yet the graphics are astounding and the mini-boss fight at the end of the demo was challenging and entertaining, with the scripted ending being something you could interact with, but what the character in the game does is beyond anything you could do with a combination of button presses, which completely makes up for it, because it was AWESOME. The force powers and combos are easy to master after you figure them out, and they make the game that much more entertaining. They even include a force powers tutorial with the demo. This is a definite must have, even for those who aren't fans of Star Wars.
Review 10 for Star Wars: The Force Unleashed
A new star wars movie video game
Posted on:8/5/08
Revanmalek79
Its been about 4 years since we had a star wars movie video game the last one was Star Wars Nights of the old Republic 2 the Sith Lords.The first time i heard about this game was back early 2005 before the 360 came out.After KOTOR 2 came out back in 2004 Lucasarts said there next big star wars game they were working on was going to be coming out for the next-gen system since then we all have been waiting for this to come and now its only a month away.I would rather have KOTOR 3 be made but you can't complain about a game that continues the Star Wars Saga story this is going to be a nice addition to the 6 movies that were made.To sum it all up this is going to be one of the best movie video games of all time its going to up there with Mass Effect, Halo, Half-life,Nights of the old Republic, and next years big movies games Alpha Protocol and Aliens Colonial Marines.Its nice to see that video games are slowly becoming like movies as time goes by Peace out.
Review 11 for Star Wars: The Force Unleashed
"Star Wars: The Force Unleashed" - Insane
Posted on:9/10/08
atruevisionary
I've played the demo over twenty times and have never lost interest. And that's just by the demo mind you. I just don't understand why there's so much complaining about the demo. It was amazing for what they allowed us to do. Don't even begin to judge the game just based on the demo, first off. And secondly, don't make any assumptions on what is going to be in it and what's not. No one knows. The game is going to blow our minds. I have no doubt about that. Not being able to use force choke or push or the other powers in Outcast and Academy is something I'm more than okay with. Besides this game was designed to make destruction look amazing. What would choke do? The guy would die floating in mid-air and you'd just let him go or throw him meaninglessly. Throwing them while they're still alive is far more satisfying if you ask me. And the story, based on what LucasArts team said, is going to be amazing. My expectations are very high and I'm sure LucasArts will meet and blow past my expectations because the demo sure did.
Review 12 for Star Wars: The Force Unleashed
Second Best
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/18/10
Baller2323
Star wars the force unleashed is the second greatest star wars game of all time. Behind the knights of the old republic series this game really brought it. Anyone who is a star wars fan must buy this game or atleast rent it from a friend. You are the secret apprentice, practically the greatest jedi/sith of all time and you get to unleash your wrath on the universe. Grabbing a helpless storm trooper and throwing him of the edge of a cliff to me is priceless and this game brings it all to any loyal star wars fan. I also played the ultimate sith edition and that is also very fun but right now i dont think is worth double the price to only play 3 more levels, but if you really like the game which you most likely will you will probably want to get. All in all this is a really addicting game that will lead you to wanting more but it has a very short story so recommended playing on a harder difficulty.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Star Wars: The Force Unleashed
"You're spies have located a great game!"
Posted on:8/29/08
Dredgon
I have been looking forward to this game since the day it was announced. I was upset with the delays, but after playing the demo, I can say it was well worth the wait! A note to everyone who is complaining about the Force being too powerful (like that would happen) it is because the demo was sped up so you could see how powerful the Force will be when you level up. If you looked up the interview about the demo it would say that. That's why you level up so fast and the powers are already so, powerful! I have played the demo multiple times, never the same experience for each playthrough. Incredibly fun, but my only problems were previously stated, the destruction doesn't stay, you can't chop off limbs (still waiting...), and the slash amrks don't stay. But overall one of the must have games of 2008, no matter if you love Star Wars (who doesn't) or not. And a note to whoever said no wood. It's an outerspace TIE Fighter Construction Facility! There wouldn't be any wood in it! I you want woood, wait until Kashyyyk or Felucia!
Review 14 for Star Wars: The Force Unleashed
The Force is strong with this one.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/2/08
XBOX Ruler
Star Wars: The Force Unleashed, is a great game. I know that people complain about the length of the game as a major problem. That is only a minor gripe for me. I heard that there is supposed to be downloadable levels the downloaded characters has already showed up so the extra levels will soon. This game has incredible graphics I had my jaw drop a few times for the sights in the game the detail is incredible. The sound is also awesome like it is in all Star Wars games the classic tunes and the new opening theme is great as with the Star Wars sound effects. The only other minor problem I have is that sometimes it can be hard to lock on a certain object to force grip and throw it in a particular direction, but other than that the play controls are spot on. I also like how they make you build up your force powers in the game that way you can pick which ones that you want to build in your order. And speaking of force powers I really like how they are over the top in terms of power. This is a great game a must buy, pick it up.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 15 for Star Wars: The Force Unleashed
Bad ending
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/24/08
pwnzorz
Cons: Getting stuck in walls and invisible walls, sudden death when no one is around to kill you and its kinda short and i don't complain about games being short very often. The ending we are given two choices, finish off vader or go after the emperor. Pros: The engine for this game is simply amazing and i was in awe the entire time i was playing it and i am still in awe. Upgrades, Color crystals, saber spheres and costumes all very cool. The controls at times were choppy and un-responsive but you can live with it if you just give it a chance. My biggest complaint is that this game did not have a real ending it just gave two ways to end it and then left us hanging. Now i know they told us what questions we had about the story and that's nice but if they we're to re-do this game or make a sequel built off of this monster then it would be a very good day for us SW fans. This is a great buy in my opinion and to each his own. Personal score: 8.6 / 10
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 16 for Star Wars: The Force Unleashed
Something that shouldn't be ignored!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:7/31/10
Hotrod382
Despite what everyone says, the truth is that The Force Unleashed is an overall Good Game. It is everything in the Star Wars Saga we were anticipating- And then Some! This game, no, this marvel, has amazing Graphics, Almost Human Interactions when you use the force ,(My Favorite Part :) ) And the fact that you can keep doing it over, and over again, with every exciting, heart stopping level! Unfortunitely for me, I do not know the length of the game, due to the fact that it broke on me during the 3rd level. But overall, you really should take the time to not only play the game, but stop to look at the details- That's what the producers were hard at work to help make! I mean, just think about what the second one will be like- DUAL LIGHT SABERS!!! But Anywho, you get my drift. :) Star Wars: The Force Unleashed is Indeed the new Modern Warefare 2. (No Offense to who Plays it.)
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Star Wars: The Force Unleashed
hmmm
Posted on:8/24/08
OddWoN ER
Having read a few reviews and played the demo, i must say the game is less than what I thought it would be. I thought the game was going to have fluid controls (the demo had some iffyness to it. It wasn't super easy to control objects w/ force grip nor choose, maybe i'm just not used to it yet). Also the mini-bosses (and main bosses, so i've heard) all end by lowering their health to a certain point then hitting timed-button price to do an awesome thing that is scripted and that you don't control, leaving you feeling detached. The graphics looked pretty good w/ awesome environments. Unfortunately you can't slice a rebel (which looks like a Rebel Alliance trooper even though the Alliance hadn't been formed yet), stormtrooper, or any organism for the matter, although you can slice droids in two. This game just isn't living up to its hype, but it is definitely worth playing. I don't think i'll buy it, but i will definitely rent it. It's a bummer because i love star wars and it's hard to see a game with so much potential live itself down.
Review 18 for Star Wars: The Force Unleashed
GREAT!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/17/08
Pragmatic FLEA
I don't know what some of you pansies are talking about. This game is GREAT. I cannot believe how in depth Lucas Arts got with this game. It has everything. Action, Drama, Love, Hate...did I mention ACTION? This game is really well put together. From customizing your Lightsaber to your force powers this game rocks. This game is difficult, but if its too hard for you why don't you put it on Apprentice and not fight in Sith mode! Get a grip this is one of the best games out there and it's a freaking HOOT!!! Take your time and explore there is no time limit and you can really learn allot by looking around. I cannot believe how much stuff I missed the first time around. I admit it I had to buy the guide just to make sure I didn't miss anything. Tonight I am going to start over again, and really unlock and build my jedi to what I want. OH and if you get bored with Starkiller, you can always use the cheats and play the General! {WINK ;) }
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 19 for Star Wars: The Force Unleashed
Star Wars Unleashed the force on me.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/20/08
Gangstaar
Star wars the force unleashed is combination of awesomeness and more awesomeness. From the amazing graphics, to the exhilarating gameplay, star wars the force unleashed should be a contender for game of the year. Most game review sites have given terrible ratings to the game for some glitches and what not, but an average gamer would appreciate the hard work that went into this title. The controls are amazing to this game. The way they applied the force powers to the triggers and bumpers is awesome. The euphoria physics engine works very well in every aspect of the game. The levels are so open and so big, that you will be on one level for about 45 minutes to an hour trying to get holocrons and gain force points. The story line will leave everyone, including fans of star wars baffled and in awe of the new storyline that has been put into this game. The AI provides a challenge for even the most hardcore gamer. This game is a must buy.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 20 for Star Wars: The Force Unleashed
Its a hack in slash at the core
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:9/22/08
shadow213f
Ok first lets get this straight the true star of this game is not Vader or starkiller (if it was he would have had a better name) its the force; the powers that you get to wield and yeah they are freaking awesome. Next its a hack and slash and does not need a targeting circle or dot or what ever. I do have to say that this game was very much so over hyped but it has met all my expectations of the game. If just one of those games that is fun to play to mess with the physics and objects in the game. You basically get to abuse the force, every geek and nerd's dream. But as for the die hard fans that are stuck arguing who shot first Han or Greedo this is probably not your game. It breaks all the rules set up by the movies. but for the casual fan and gamer its a great play and really good way to make you laugh and de-stress at the end of a hard day of work. Just imagine your boss is one of the storm troopers and you'll know what i mean.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 2 3 4 5 ... 21 next>>