GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Silent Hill: Origins

The renowned Silent Hill survival horror series comes to a portable gaming system for the first time with a brand new adventure. Taking full advantage of the PSP system's graphics, sound, and portability, Silent Hill Origins (working title) will be the most terrifying game to arrive on a handheld system.
Average Customer Rating:
8.8
8.8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (39 reviews)
10 stars
3
9 stars
7
8 stars
4
7 stars
1
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
15 out of 15100%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Silent Hill: Origins
Review 1 for Silent Hill: Origins
Its good for a starter on silent hill
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:6/10/10
TheHorror101
When I got this game it was my first silent hill game (and is still the onley one ive played). I was very impressed with the graphics with the game and loved the music it played baecause it set the mood for the game. What i wasent impressed with was the the camera ,and sometimes the sound wouldent work when i was killing a monster or going to the other world. (Note I didnt get a used game) I did like the plot to the story I just wish it would have been more difficult to beat than it was. Its also a short game it onley took me about five days to beat. It was a very good starter game and had awsome monsters though and it had cool alternant ending so that was good I also really like the detail they put into the backround ,like they had really good shadows for when you shined a light onto something. All in all i was pleased with this game and would recommend it to a friend. ~Sorry if my reveiw wasent that good its my first one :) (I know my spelling stinks xD)
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Silent Hill: Origins
you should really get this
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/27/10
Jeremy Kyser
okay silent hill orgins psp first off great. the reason i played it was that i saw my dad and brother playing it for the ps2 but i decided i would get it for the psp after i saw it at the playstation store. the soundtrack was great it really set the mood for when you play it. the acual sound effects were also great for all the different wepons there was a unique sound. the length of the game was disipointing because i beat it in only 4 hours but the extras you unlock when you beat it make you want to play it again and again. most people dont know this but there are 3 different endings you could get. the graphics to this game weren't like most psp games they had amazing visual effects during gameplay and video. the storyline make you want to keep on playing and trying to find what will happen to the girl. the controls were average but they didn't have any glitches in them. i would really recomend this to anyone for psp of ps2 for fans or first timers of silent hill.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Silent Hill: Origins
Climax Delievers A Fantastic Prequel
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/30/09
G-FRESH
Lay your fears to rest because developer Climax did a phenomenal job. Like everyone else I thought this game was going to be disastrous. Taking a beloved franchise like Silent Hill and giving it to a new developer was a very risky move, but it paid off...man did it pay off. Climax without a doubt captured the look, the feel, the pacing, the essence, and most importantly thet creepiness of what makes Silent Hill....well, Silent Hill. And the music from Akira Yamaoka is once again haunting and beautiful all at once. The ONLY negative I have toward the game is that it's very short. I beat it in a little over 4 hours. But keeping in mind how very good it is, it's a very minor complaint. My apologies to Climax for doubting you guys, you did a fantastic job. Beautiful graphics, fantastic soundtrack, spot on controls, connects very well to part 1, etc. Can't wait to see what Climax does with Silent Hill Shattered Memories.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Silent Hill: Origins
Phenomenal
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/31/09
PjPinkerton
Except for its short length silent hill origins was by far one of the best games i've ever played. It has many challenging puzzles that make you think and also includes a great amount of fear and anxiety when you turn every corner. The graphics are superb (especially after you beat the game) and the motions are very fluid. the soundtrack adds to the greatness of the game as it changes the mood at different points in the game. it had a somewhat confusing storyline at first but a lot of the fun in the game was trying to figure out what was going on and why it was happening to travis. For people that like to replay their games afterward this game is also good because it features many different unlockables or "accolades" that are near impossible to get on your first playthrough. the game also features two seperate endings than the normal one. I would greatly reccomend purchasing this game as it is one of the best for the psp.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Silent Hill: Origins
Common, it's Silent Hill
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/11/11
Fangs
Location: Miami
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is awesome from the beggining. In this game you are a trucker, saves a girl from a house on fire, then you collapse and then, Bum you are on Silent Hill, it's just like old Silent Hill stuff, isn't it? you never know how you got there but you there, is always good to play this old, yet cool franchise.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Silent Hill: Origins
OK
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/14/14
fizgigy
Location: AL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
this was my first silent hill game and it was awesome the graphics could be better and the motion of the player is bad like he could kick and duck and it wasn't really based on silent hill I like the movie better but my next game will be silent hill shattered memories
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 7 for Silent Hill: Origins
So Eerie, So Great
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:12/6/10
Fish
Location: Kelso, WA
Before this game, I had only played Silent Hill 2 from the franchise, and I really liked it. When this PSP title came along I gave it a try and was very impressed.
Like the other games, Origins really worked on the atmosphere and immersion; something that not enough games are doing today, and it turned out to work rather well. The haunting music is magnificent, and strongly reinforces the tone of the game, coupled with the events and environment that are equal parts mysterious, peaceful, and demented.
The combat and puzzles, which there are a lot of, I actually found to be very enjoyable. A nice mix of melee weapons and firearms that are fun to use are coupled with thought provoking, creepy puzzles that you'll want to play again.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Silent Hill: Origins
Great Silent Hill game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/24/11
joesonone
Location: Sacramento, CA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
So glad Silent Hill Origins made it’s way to the PSP. The story line is great and I have no complaints with the controls. This game is worth playing through a few times just to see the different endings. I do feel like the music could have had a greater presence however. For people who like shooting enemies from a far may not like it so much. While there are a few guns available like the handgun, shotgun, rifle and so on, melee attacks are probably used more. Definitely pick this up.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Silent Hill: Origins
A VERY OK GAME
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:4/20/09
MrBLoOdBaThMAN
This game has bad graphics and the camera angle sucks. It chooses for you depending on how the room is or whatever. The storyline is ok and you do kind of want to know what's gonna happen next. The weapons kind of suck but you're ok. The monsters are very creative and only once a monster came out of no where and i jumped. The game is VERY SHORT, and this game is only worth it because of its sale now where it's only ** bucks. If it was its normal price i would not get it. I get stuck a lot and it ticks me off. You will roam around for like 30 minutes trying to find out what to do. Once you finally find out what to do to get past a puzzle and you find a save point you get that warm fuzzy feeling of accomplishment. If you crack a puzzle on your own you feel really smart. BUT ONLY GET THIS GAME WHILE IT'S ON SALE!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Silent Hill: Origins
Great story line, and gameplay... Loved it!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/24/10
nickname1234
Location: NM
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
i really enjoyed this game, its really interesting, and full of action-and great story line. the story line is actually kind of sad, but it keeps you guessing... the downside to this game, is its super short, it took me like, 5 hours. but after you finish it, there are more endings to do, and more stuff to unlock to help you beat it faster the 2nd time...... overall its a GREAT game, but really short. you wont regret buying it (:
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Silent Hill: Origins
Very Good Game!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/14/08
iamsocool_sho
I enjoyed this game, but not the camera for it, sometime you can't even see the enemys, but overall, this game is a very good game, I enjoyed it, but until I kept getting a game over, I got really mad, but them I sucked it up, and I beat it! I beat it twice, the last one took shorter, because, I unlocked room "502" in the hotel, and, you unlock many things once you beat the game! I loved the game!! You would to, I intend to tell you, not to let little children under the age of 10 to play this game, they will have nightmares, but you would really enjoy this game, there are some confusing parts in this game, but, you'll get the hang of it, the first time I played this, I had so much trouble on the "bosses" of the locations, stoped playing for a while, but then I played again, and beat it, twice!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 12 for Silent Hill: Origins
Very fun but short
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:4/19/09
JLBaker93
I got this game and was addicted to it! I wouldn't put it down and when I got stuck I would wander around for a long time trying to figure out what I had to do. Unfortunately there isn't that many levels and I beat it within two days of buying it! The graphics were good and the monsters made me jump a few times when they showed up out of nowhere. The monsters were very creative and creepy and the static sound just made the fights with them more intense and freaky. I enjoyed wandering around trying to figure out what to do. Kept me busy until I beat it. I tried to beat it again but lost interest, even though I unlocked some cool things. It was worth how much I payed for it though. It was really fun, interesting, and creepy. I would recommend this game to people who like these kind of games.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 13 for Silent Hill: Origins
silence
Posted on:10/11/07
zro 89
yes i cant wait for origins to come out. i mean who dosent want to have a good horror game on psp ive played the others and i love to play them in the dark with my sound system and the base up so you can hear the beats or screams really loud. this is a have for me and anybody else should try it. or buy it.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Silent Hill: Origins
Looking forward to learning more about Silent Hill
Posted on:3/16/07
Tiffany L.
This game is very exciting in terms of learning more about the mysterious Silent Hill. This is the prequel to the original..it's supposed to explain more about characters from the first game such as Dahlia, Alessa, and possibly (very rumored) Lisa Garland. Although I'm not very thrilled with the monster design (looks very similar to Resident Evil bosses), I'm not going to judge it by that alone. I am however very excited about the Resident Evil 4 camera system though, the game will played exactly as RE4 was--behind the back. The games looks very sharp, some screenshots have shown the main character running past one of the hospitals (I'm assuming it's Alchemilla) and it looks just beautiful. Hopefully it's not going to take this long for them to get it on the shelves....
Review 15 for Silent Hill: Origins
Creepy!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/14/09
ZTM
This is the prime Silent Hill experience, right here. Flip the lights off, plug in your headphones and turn the volume way up. Its scary as all heck and I caught myself jumping at every monster! Now this game is pretty short, even for a Silent Hill game but that is one of few complaints I have, and shouldn't keep anyone away from this gem. The other two complaints I had are that after so much use your weapons break and that the puzzles were easier in this game than the others. This, however is also an advantage if you want to see for the first time what Silent Hill is all about. But I digress. The graphics were amazing for a PSP game. The monsters looked like they were wet, slimy... all the textures were spot on! The sound is fantastic and really sets the ambiance for the game, which is typical of a Silent Hill game. I won't get into the story, but I WILL say that it is very well thought out in my opinion and the character development is just phenominal! The fighting sytem has improved by adding a reaction command to either break free of a grip or just to deal damage. I like it alot. Bottom line. The good way out weighs the bad and is a must buy for new "Silent Hiller's" and veteran alike! Buy it now!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Silent Hill: Origins
Hope it turns out great
Posted on:10/14/07
SH fan
The more recent screenshots look great (I read somewhere that the ones with the purple monster thing are from an earlier version that got scratched), the fog effect looks good and in general the graphics look just what you would expect from a SH game to give you the full scary experience. I hope that the gameplay is as good as the console versions or better, and that the game is long enough. This should be a sure buy for me, I love the silent hill series. I'm happy to see that there are so many top notch games coming out for the psp
Review 17 for Silent Hill: Origins
looks great
Posted on:5/29/07
A Customer
At first I thought this might be stupid. but I watched a video for it and it looks like it lives up to the silent hill name. for those of you who don't know the story line is about what happened before the first silent hill game and will have characters from the game. It will explain some of the story line gaps from the first game but is not a remake. So if you havnt played the first one yet I recomend you try to before this game comes out.
Review 18 for Silent Hill: Origins
Wow this looks good.
Posted on:7/29/07
ClawFinger
Let me begin by saying that Silent Hill is my favorite franchise and I think that Silent Hill Origins, although not being developed by Team Silent, will be incredible. I mean, come on, it's on the PSP! Graphics look great for a PSP game. I'm glad to see that the developers dropped the 'behind the shoulder' camera style and sticking with the traditional cameras. Anyway, looks like a great game!
Review 19 for Silent Hill: Origins
so simple and thts why its great
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/6/13
Anzer
a good game from beggining to end if youve played the newer silent hill games first the graphics may throw you off however after you get into it you dont even notice while there are guns melee is your friend in this game and the sound and music is perfectly eerie all in all if your a hardcore silent hill fan then you need to add this to your collection
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 20 for Silent Hill: Origins
Yes
Posted on:9/22/07
House of Horror
Yes! They finally changed the game to make it more like Silent Hill, not Resident Evil 4. I love Resident Evil 4. It is amazing, but the other survival-horror games like Silent Hill and Fatal Frame should do their own thing. Climax finally realized this and totally revamped the game so it is more like an installment in the series, not some copy of Resident Evil just for money.
1 2 next>>