GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Accessories or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

PS3 Blu-ray Remote Control

The PLAYSTATION®3 Blu-ray remote control enables users streamlined access to the PLAYSTATION®3 system's disc features. Unlike standard infrared remotes, the Blu-ray remote control uses Bluetooth technology so it can be used without having to point directly at the PLAYSTATION®3 system.
Average Customer Rating:
8
8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
10 stars
5
9 stars
2
8 stars
1
7 stars
1
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
10 out of 1191%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PS3 Blu-ray Remote Control
Review 1 for PS3 Blu-ray Remote Control
Great Remote, bad buying experience
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:1/7/12
Jard
Location: Phoenix
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
It seems that the store was unaware that they had the brand new controller listed online for the same price as what they were charging for used in store. Not only that, but I had reserved one USED in store for pick up, online price was $9.99, was told after driving down to get it, the price doubled, in a matter of about 20 minutes. This is the second time that I reserved something online and the price was more than originally printed on the website when I got to the store to pick it up.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
2 of 6 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
sapomgs
 
Please wait while more information about sapomgs is loaded.
Additional information about sapomgs could not be loaded.
just noticed...
Posted 5/2/12
just looked at the image you posted. the item you looked at online is actually a 3rd party controller (non Sony branded - notice it says "Any Used"), which likely uses a USB dongle. The one you bought in the store is a 1st party (made by Sony) blue tooth controller. That's likely the reason you saw a price discrepancy. Still, depending on your phone conversation, the store probably could have clarified this ahead of time.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 2 for PS3 Blu-ray Remote Control
Old style
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Design: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:11/29/11
monyking
Location: laredo, TX
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This is an old style of the remote and which I didn't know until I found it on the PlayStation web site. I like the new one which will control a blue-ray player, TV and anything else from SONY. It's pretty cool.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Design: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PS3 Blu-ray Remote Control
Good Remote...
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:11/17/11
esully23
Location: Indianapolis.IN
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For someone else
Thsi remote is pretty well..but not neccesary, you can just use the controller. Do not expect to actually use this in game play though because thier is no analog so it is impossible to play a game like Call Of Duty with this remote. This remote has really goood design and looks classy...this remote came with the bundle of my ps3. i dont think i would pay $25 for a remote but still good...
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
2 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PS3 Blu-ray Remote Control
keep this off your floor
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:7/15/11
gamefan4564
Location: shelbyville mi
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
this is a great remote, it has good battery life, and it's easy to use, even though there are a lot of buttons. but you can't leave this lying around, if any one button gets pressed when your ps3 is turned off, it turns the system on. but this is a great controller
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PS3 Blu-ray Remote Control
An ALMOST Must-Have
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/21/11
ronniedonnie719
Location: MD
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
The PS3 Blu-ray remote makes the control of a movie much easier than a controller. The remote alone is good to have for said reason. If you are already comfortable with the PlayStation 3 controller, do not purchase this remote.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PS3 Blu-ray Remote Control
Need It
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/8/11
georgie42
Location: Orlando, FL
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
The PS3 Blue-ray remote control is one of the best things to happen to the PS3.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 7 for PS3 Blu-ray Remote Control
really awesome, Perfect, more than you expect
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/2/10
roger123
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
first of all i got this control as part of my ps3 bundle and i did not think about using it that much. i did how ever try it a couple of times and it basically goes through all the menus like the normal control so it was really convenient when charging your controller, but guess what thats right it can also be used to play games!!!!!!! It came as a big surprise to me as i was playing deadliest warrior and i accidently pressed the dvd remote and it activated two player mode. the buttons on the control are pretty decent but i had a hard time playing with them but it was something good that allowed me to play with someone else shile i got a real control. the only thing about this is that i think it only work with games that are arcade style because it did not work with ufc. Overall this is a good controller and it does more than you expect.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PS3 Blu-ray Remote Control
Terrific
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/28/10
Chinook77
Location: Michigan
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Remote has great functionality for watching movies or when using your ps3 for anything other than gaming such as music or trailers. Batteries (2xAA) have lasted for over a year for me and I use it quite regularly. Don't waste your money on the aftermarket versions that require you to plug in a dongle and have a clear field of view. Pay a little more for the real deal and you won't regret it.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PS3 Blu-ray Remote Control
Great but!!!
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Design: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:3/19/10
johnodd4
if you can watch a dvd by controller on a ps2 you can just as easy do it with a ps3 there really is no need for this remote unless you are doing special blu-ray function's I.E Blu-ray live features i really dont see a remote control helping with playback of any movie the battery life sucks with this remote and when you want to watch a movie you find out the battery's dead and it take another 4 hours to charge it. why not just stick with I/R remotes they work they are cheaper and you dont have to worry about the remote sucking battery's dry i purchased this remote and returned it the next day no need no thank you. kinda sad i expected a better product from sony then this and i really wish that someone would just create a usb dongle so you can use your ps2 remote on the ps3.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Design: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
2 of 36 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
ignoranamus
 
Please wait while more information about ignoranamus is loaded.
Additional information about ignoranamus could not be loaded.
battery life response
Posted 11/29/10
i purchased this remote and haven't had any problems with battery life. i've had the same batteries in the remote for over a year now and still going strong. how can you complain about the battery life of the remote if you returned the product after only one day of use? this post makes no sense to me unless i am reading it incorrectly. i love this remote and would make the same purchase again in a heartbeat.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 10 for PS3 Blu-ray Remote Control
Extra!Extra! this remote actually works
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/28/09
Travis the Game Killer
I bought this remote because I wanted to be able to play my Blu-Rays without having to remember every buttons function. I'm happy to say that this remote is everything that I was looking for. So far i have not had to get a new one, and i've had this one for about a year. I also love that I don't have to set right in front of my PS3 to use the remote. The design is very comfortable and my hand dosn't get all cramped up like they sometimes do with the PS3 remote, of course I dont have to use the Blu-Ray remote as much as the regular controller. So far I really enjoy this remote and can't see getting another. Still waiting for the new PS3 motion controllers to come blow the Wii away. All in all this is a great remote and I highly recommend it to someone who is looking to get the best functionality out of the PS3's Blu-Ray capabilities.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PS3 Blu-ray Remote Control
Very nice to have
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/28/08
Samier Elrasoul
I like this remote just because for the people in my household who don't play the system can easily watch their movies, play their music and even use the web and chat. The feel of it is nice it is like any remote but with all the buttons of your ps3 controller on this remote. It works great with the TV and the system. I have noticed no problem with the Bluetooth interrupting the controller or headset. Also the distance is nice it can go pretty far (I have tried up to 25ft away). The look is of course GREAT, I mean come on it is from Sony it is going to have that shinny black look and it matches the system very nicely. The price isn’t to bad considering it is a ps3 controller almost so it is basically half the price of the real controller. I do wish it was rechargeable though like the controller because I hate using batteries. But besides that I think that this remote is nice to have and is great for anyone using the play station 3, looks nice, matches the system, and is good to have around.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.