GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Spectrobes

An original concept and new intellectual property from Buena Vista Games, Spectrobes introduces two junior Interplanetary Patrol officers named Rallen and Jeena who learn of strange, prehistoric creatures called Spectrobes that possess special powers. These Spectrobes hold the key to defeating a vicious and merciless force, known only as the Krawl, that threatens to destroy the galaxy. The two heroes embark on a mission to save their galaxy - to do so they must excavate, awaken, train and collect all the Spectrobes they can and battle to defeat the Krawl. Developed in Japan, Spectrobes is a dynamic new anime-inspired action RPG franchise that uniquely combines characters, story and innovative gameplay for kids and audiences of all ages. Spectrobes allows players to excavate, train and battle with nearly 500 unique monsters -- utilizing every interactive feature of the Nintendo DS.
Average Customer Rating:
6.7
6.7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
10 stars
4
9 stars
1
8 stars
0
7 stars
1
6 stars
0
5 stars
1
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
6 out of 1060%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Spectrobes
Review 1 for Spectrobes
spectrobes review
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:6/30/10
gamerman247
spectrobes is disney's version of pokemon except that instead of finding animals in balls you dig them up which i find better and more entertaining. the graphics are suck compared to a ps3 or xbox 360 games but you have to consider the fact that its a ds games so most games on the ds have the same graphics so the graphics are average. the animals you digs up so far there are only about four to five different animals but i'm at the very beginning so there will probably be more animals later on in the game. I like the fact that you actually get to name your animals cause it would suck getting the names chosen for you. so far everything makes sense in the storyline but you get to travel to different planets and fight different monsters. you can't control your character, Rallen, with your stylus pen you have to use the key pad which after a while hurts you finger but you have to be playing for at least 2 hours straight. so overall i'm really glad that i purchased this game its fun entertaining and best of all cheap price.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Spectrobes
Awesomeness!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/11/11
Daftendirekted
Location: Lancaster, CA
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
I was only about 7 or 8 when I first got this game, so I don't know if I would like it now, but me and my best friend couldn't get enough of it! Maybe we were just terrible gamers, or we inspected areas too long, but it lasted us FOUR MONTHS before we started getting kind of bored with it (a feat for a DS game). The storyline is pretty good (I don't wanna spoil it, but it involves a dude named "Mr. X" at the beggining.) and the graphics are ok, but they are upgraded in the sequel. the game is really fun. It is kinda like pokemon, but you have to find a spectrobe fossil (because they went extinct) and then wake it up with the mic on the DS. Then you train it and feed it minerals. If you are shopping for a kid this is a must have!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Spectrobes
THIS GAME IS THE BEST!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/26/10
waterry
Spectrobes origin is the best game on wii! its kinda like Pokemon because you catch spectrobes and evolve it and level up. The graphics is really good and the sound is awesome but a little bit disturbing when you played it alot of times. the length is pretty good because its not long or short. the challenge of this is pretty thats why its so good. Spectrobes Origin is like the second pokemon but you can fight with your main character not just the pet.The controls is pretty good because you can control your pet. spectrobes origin is one of the best games i have played. If you love roleplaying this is the game for you.this game is really worth it because its only 15bucks cheap and good
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Spectrobes
Pokemon is better
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:7/1/11
JustAGameAddictLoser98
Location: Chicago, Illinois
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
Rallen the main character who take a role for discovering new fossils which are identified as Spectrobes through digging and hunting. Minerals are items which can be found through digging and use for leveling up and evolving Spectrobes. Two spectrobes can be use in combat to assist Rallen in battles against the evil Krawl. Spectrobes can perform techniques with the shoulder buttons L and R. Spectrobes can combine their attacks utilizing a special attack by pressing both buttons in results. The controls are stiffy and take time to aim well at enemies. Players can purchase drills and digging tools for better process for finding fossils and minerals. Players can named their new awaken Spectrobes at maximum 6 digits. To wake a Spectrobe. The player must shout out "Wake Up" through the microphone.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Spectrobes
I'd stick to Pokemon if I were you...
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:6/6/10
KH is Gr8
This game is absolutely terrible. The controls are pitiful, the graphics suck, and the battle system is confusing. This game is worser than worse. The game is too long. I can't even get past the first couple of planets it was so dumb. It's like a pokemon-ratchet and clank-star wars fusion gone bad. There are so many spectrobes, and you'll only find about one or 2 on each planet. Then, you move to another planet. The spectrobes are the same. Anyway, you don't get that far and then the battle difficuly levels are impossible. I didn't get that much time to train and BOOM! the game was stupid. You train them by feeding them rocks-rocks? What kind of originality is that? You train by doing what you're training for! Not feeding a million year old fossils to--reborn fossils! What is this, Disney or Jurrassic Park?!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
1 of 7 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Daftendirekted
Lancaster, CA
 
Please wait while more information about Daftendirekted is loaded.
Additional information about Daftendirekted could not be loaded.
Top 50 Contributor
Posted 2/3/11
If you couldn't get past a battle you were terrible at it. It took me three months (I got my $30 dollars worth mister its too long) but I got through it. And there are about 7-10 fossil types on the planets. And btw there are more ways to train them then giving them rocks >:| . And Rallens squeeky voice is a LOT more tolerable than Ash's squeeky voice.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 6 for Spectrobes
Great game better then pokemon?
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/21/11
Sexybeast
Location: Fishersville,VA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
When i first got this game i loved it i thoght as i got older it got old but i was wrong i played it for months ive had it for years and still love it. I love pokemon also but this is a close call i think this might be a little better with its better graphics better plot and way cooler monsters. I think if you get a ds game this is the one to get.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Spectrobes
Train Spectrobes and Defeat the Krawl!
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:9/2/09
virtualgirl
Spectrobes is stereotyped as a Pokemon rip-off but comparing this Disney Studios game to the ever famous Pokemon series is hardly fair, so I decided to give it a chance. Your main objective is to search for the extinct species of Spectrobe and use your drill (amongst other fancy tools) and dig them out from the earth. Fun at first; painstakingly difficult later. Once you un-earth your new Spectrobe buddy, you must take it back to lab and use your voice to “wake it up”. It starts off as an infant that lives in an incubator and eventually becomes an evolved beast that fights for you against the main alien villains called the Krawl. You are able to use two Spectrobes in battle at once making things more complicated or more fun depending on your point of view. No game is perfect and Spectrobes isn’t without flaws. For one I must point out that the tasks get very very BORING after the first few hours of gameplay. Second of all, your partners aren’t very helpful or full of information leaving you clueless half of the time. The backgrounds are bland, leaving you with much to desire. Spectrobes is certainly an interesting creation Disney Studios whipped up, but whether or not it’s a good one is a totally different story.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 8 for Spectrobes
Not very fun
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:12/22/10
jonander51
Location: Michigan, US
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
The only reason I bought this game is because it was cheap and I thought it was popular. Unfortunately, this game is a piece of junk. It's no wonder that this game is only $3.99. This game is so boring that it wouldn't be worth less if it made you DS catch on fire. DON'T BUY THIS GAME! Use the $3.99 to buy Flash Focus. If you like this kind of gameplay, stick with Pokemon instead.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
3 of 8 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Daftendirekted
Lancaster, CA
 
Please wait while more information about Daftendirekted is loaded.
Additional information about Daftendirekted could not be loaded.
Top 50 Contributor
Posted 2/3/11
"This game is so boring that it wouldn't be worth less if it made you DS catch on fire"- Why would that make the game worth less? It's your DS thats being destroyed.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 9 for Spectrobes
Not a Pokemon Ripoff A Disney Masterpiece
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/3/13
NintendoLoverWII
Location: California
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Ive played 47 minutes of the game so far because i just got it and i am impressed, the game has better graphics than POKEMON and is not a ripoff, its a uniqe game with a cool rpg style. i like the 3d graphics theyre the best graphics ive seen on the DS system and for 2.99 i recommend it !
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 10 for Spectrobes
Would be a decent game
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:7/12/12
Roxas358
Location: Clemmons, NC
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
I only got this to have a filler game on the DS. It is like Pokemon in the way that you can use them to fight alongside you. The bad thing is is that you have to dig them up using the touch screen controls (carpal tunnell here I come *ow*), and then awaken them using your voice (kind of cool, I guess). The battles are o.k., just hit L+R at entervals while you run around in circles avoiding the little blobs on the screen. I know this was oriented towards kids, but they shuld've allowed the main character to do some damge instead of 1HP hits until you get a decent weapon that still does 1 HP damage!!!
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10