GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Castlevania: Dracula X Chronicles

The legendary action game Castlevania: Rondo of Blood is reborn on the PSP system with incredible 3D graphics and timeless side scrolling gameplay in Castlevania: The Dracula X Chronicles. The first time Rondo of Blood has been released outside of Japan, Castlevania: The Dracula X Chronicles lets gamers take up the Vampire Killer whip as Richter Belmont as they seek to destroy the maniacal Dracula once and for all in this pivotal piece of the ongoing Castlevania saga. Castlevania: The Dracula X Chronicles also includes unlockable versions of the original Rondo of Blood and Symphony of the Night games, delivering incredible gameplay and value while updating two of the most beloved video games of all time for a new generation of gamers.
Average Customer Rating:
8.625
8.6
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (42 reviews)
10 stars
4
9 stars
3
8 stars
0
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
7 out of 888%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Castlevania: Dracula X Chronicles
Review 1 for Castlevania: Dracula X Chronicles
Awesome!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/20/11
NewWaveNinja
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I bought this game because I got bored of PSP fighting games and wanted something new. This absolutely delivered. It is a fast, fun, side-scroller with simple controls, a great story and, epic boss fights. I was not a Castlevania player until I got this game and now I'm hooked. As a note for fans of this series: this disc has two versions of Rondo Of Blood, plus Symphony Of The Night. Yeah, it's that good!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Castlevania: Dracula X Chronicles
Insanely Difficult = ZERO fun
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:3/13/11
Sinatra1
Location: Milwaukee, WI
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
Castlevania is reaching new lows, in my humble opinion. Dracula X Chronicles has a fairly simple side-scrolling game play that should be semi-interesting and challenging. Alas, the result is an extremely difficult game in which you move a fraction as fast as your enemies and your "special" weapons almost never match-up against the bosses with any success. Remembering the first 3 Castlevania games on Nintendo, I can tell you that my weapons seemed MUCH more effective against level bosses. In Dracula X, once you have a boss down to 1/3 of his life force, he always seems to unveil some invincible attack that Jesus Christ himself couldn't deal with. Oh, and compared to the DOZENS of times YOU have to hit a boss, he gets to wing you about five times before killing altogether. If that sounds fun (and fair), by all means, buy the game. Personally, if this and Lords of Shadow (a God of War rip-off) are the best this sagging franchise have to offer, I suggest saving your money.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
0 of 14 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Castlevania: Dracula X Chronicles
Just an Excellent collection
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/13/10
FoolyCooly
The Rondo Of Blood remake is great, but the fact that you can unlock Sympathy Of The Night and the original Rondo Of Blood makes this an excellent buy.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Castlevania: Dracula X Chronicles
RONDO OF BLOOD REBORN!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/22/10
CastleVaniaFan900
Location: Miami, FL
I got this game on my PSP about a month ago. I have played Rondo of Blood and loved it, but this is awesome. The levels are set up the same way and gameplay is similar. I totally recommend it for anyone.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Castlevania: Dracula X Chronicles
great game play and value!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/10/10
gomgomboy
castlevania! this should be enough said! but then again at $15 ??? 3 games in one? this would last u at least 30 hours! yes! 3 games for $15! first u get the new rondo of blood , then rondo of blood and the most beloved symphony of the night... omfg! freaking buy this! one thing though in the new dracul x chronicles there is a double jump back feather which i hate so much because i usually panic when there is a lot of enemy and that always get me kill , other than that it would be a 10! in the game play but over all? 9!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Castlevania: Dracula X Chronicles
Castlevania: Dracula X Chronicles
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/2/09
godofawsome02
I've been a fan of Castlevania since Circle of the Moon on GBA, but sadly I never got much chance to see the true classics from the beginning of the series. While they still aren't the very first in the series, Dracula X chronicles gives me a chance to see some of the best of the old-school bunch. On the back of the package in prominently displays information on the main game (The Rondo of Blood Reamake) and Symphony of the Night (Arguably one of the best games in the series). You can also unlock the original Rondo of Blood that was released in Japan back in the 90's but never saw the light of day in the US. I don't think the SNES version counts as it's dramatically different from the original. I must inform you that to play Symphony or the original Rondo of Blood you must unlock them by finding hidden items in the game. These items are little icons of each game. While I don't mind having to unlock the games the method is a little annoying. I'd much rather have to beat the game first to unlock the games. That's still challenging and it would be a fitting reward. Instead you may very well have to read a strategy guide to find and unlock the games which can be frustrating. But if that's the only thing that really bugs me about the package, then I'm pretty satisfied to say the least. Moving on to the actual review, I'll start with the interface. For the most part it works very well. The menus are straightforward and do what they're supposed to. I enjoyed the ability to select a background style for playing Symphony of the Night and the original Rondo of Blood as they don't fill the PSP's widescreen completely. My only real beef was with the remake of Rondo of Blood. It was a bit tricky to quit the game if you passed a certain part of the start menu. I ended up having to exit the entire game by using the psp home button but that's a minor issue to be sure. Otherwise everything worked just fine. Gameplay is of course one of the most important aspects of a game and Dracula X does not disappoint. Controls are straightforward and everything runs fairly smoothly for all three games. My only gripe is that Richter seems to move a bit sluggishly on stairs in the main game, but it's easy to overlook this when everything else is fine. Actually playing the games is a blast. To put it plainly, if you like Castlevania you'll like Dracula X. While some say the mechanics are getting old, I say they are tried and true and work just how any Castlevania game should. An interesting fact to note is that Symphony of the Night is the direct sequel to Rondo of Blood. It was really fun re-living the final fight between Richter and Dracula in Rondo of Blood. Now the intro to Symphony of the night makes a bit more sense. It's also interesting to witness the transition from old Castlevania games to the newer ones. Rondo of Blood was the final stage based Castlevania and Symphony of the Night was the first to incorporate what has sometimes been dubbed Metrovania style gameplay. That is to say, it plays a lot like a metroid game in the sense that you are in a pretty massive map and must explore the entire environment while collecting items and power-ups that allow you to proceed to areas you wouldn't have access to previously. While I'm a fan of the Metroid style gameplay, it is still just as fun to play in the original style as well. Though I would normally put difficulty under the gameplay category, I feel it needs special note here. These games are brutally hard. Rondo of Blood (remake and orginal) Are very punishing and the only real way to get far in this game is through trial, error, and memorization. Until you know what to expect from a level you will more than likely die a lot. Thankfully the game has infinate continues, but continuing means you'll have to start the level all over again which can get frustrating. But once you get the hang of it you really feel like a master so that has its own reward. Symphony of the Night is easier in my opinion but
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 7 for Castlevania: Dracula X Chronicles
This is a love/hate relationship
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/19/08
OneBigBossandOneSnake
Well Castlevania The Dracula X Chronicles is a remake of a game never released in america. I think the makers should of kept it that way. The main game for this title is kind of crappy. The only thing i did with this game was get to the secret level 3 and unlock Symphony of the Night. Now i just play SotN. You move very slowly and as guillotines and saws and monsters come flying at you, you look like your just walking to your senior prom. If you have a playstation and have been playing it since the 90's you should now about SotN. It is the best castlevania game ever. It is the only thing that gives this game worth. Don't let anyone tell you Sotn or Dracula X are easy. Both of these games have challenging parts but i have to say Dracula X is only for the highly skilled castlevania fans.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Castlevania: Dracula X Chronicles
3 Great games in one!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/1/08
Eternal Crimson
I've been a fan of Castlevania since Circle of the Moon on GBA, but sadly I never got much chance to see the true classics from the beginning of the series. While they still aren't the very first in the series, Dracula X chronicles gives me a chance to see some of the best of the old-school bunch. On the back of the package in prominently displays information on the main game (The Rondo of Blood Reamake) and Symphony of the Night (Arguably one of the best games in the series). You can also unlock the original Rondo of Blood that was released in Japan back in the 90's but never saw the light of day in the US. I don't think the SNES version counts as it's dramatically different from the original. I must inform you that to play Symphony or the original Rondo of Blood you must unlock them by finding hidden items in the game. These items are little icons of each game. While I don't mind having to unlock the games the method is a little annoying. I'd much rather have to beat the game first to unlock the games. That's still challenging and it would be a fitting reward. Instead you may very well have to read a strategy guide to find and unlock the games which can be frustrating. But if that's the only thing that really bugs me about the package, then I'm pretty satisfied to say the least. Moving on to the actual review, I'll start with the interface. For the most part it works very well. The menus are straightforward and do what they're supposed to. I enjoyed the ability to select a background style for playing Symphony of the Night and the original Rondo of Blood as they don't fill the PSP's widescreen completely. My only real beef was with the remake of Rondo of Blood. It was a bit tricky to quit the game if you passed a certain part of the start menu. I ended up having to exit the entire game by using the psp home button but that's a minor issue to be sure. Otherwise everything worked just fine. Gameplay is of course one of the most important aspects of a game and Dracula X does not disappoint. Controls are straightforward and everything runs fairly smoothly for all three games. My only gripe is that Richter seems to move a bit sluggishly on stairs in the main game, but it's easy to overlook this when everything else is fine. Actually playing the games is a blast. To put it plainly, if you like Castlevania you'll like Dracula X. While some say the mechanics are getting old, I say they are tried and true and work just how any Castlevania game should. An interesting fact to note is that Symphony of the Night is the direct sequel to Rondo of Blood. It was really fun re-living the final fight between Richter and Dracula in Rondo of Blood. Now the intro to Symphony of the night makes a bit more sense. It's also interesting to witness the transition from old Castlevania games to the newer ones. Rondo of Blood was the final stage based Castlevania and Symphony of the Night was the first to incorporate what has sometimes been dubbed Metrovania style gameplay. That is to say, it plays a lot like a metroid game in the sense that you are in a pretty massive map and must explore the entire environment while collecting items and power-ups that allow you to proceed to areas you wouldn't have access to previously. While I'm a fan of the Metroid style gameplay, it is still just as fun to play in the original style as well. Though I would normally put difficulty under the gameplay category, I feel it needs special note here. These games are brutally hard. Rondo of Blood (remake and orginal) Are very punishing and the only real way to get far in this game is through trial, error, and memorization. Until you know what to expect from a level you will more than likely die a lot. Thankfully the game has infinate continues, but continuing means you'll have to start the level all over again which can get frustrating. But once you get the hang of it you really feel like a master so that has its own reward. Symphony of the Night is easier in my opinion but
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
AnimeGameFreak
Ocala,FL
 
Please wait while more information about AnimeGameFreak is loaded.
Additional information about AnimeGameFreak could not be loaded.
Castlevania is to hard!!!
Posted 7/2/13
This game is way to complicated!!! This was the first game of the castlevania series that I played. I couldn't even beat the first level!! I wouldn't recommend this to ANYONE, even to someone I didn't like. This was a major disappointment... :(
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 9 for Castlevania: Dracula X Chronicles
2d castlevania=me buying a psp
Posted on:10/7/07
gov sam
2d castlevania is why i bought a gameboy advance then a ds and now a slim psp i own 2 games for the ds and they are both castlevania and of course i own symphony of the night and castlevania chronicles for ps1 and all the older 8 and 16 bit castlevanias so basically what im saying is if they make a 2d castlevania i will buy it ive never been let down by one yet.
Review 10 for Castlevania: Dracula X Chronicles
Wow
Posted on:10/4/07
jiki
To all people who talk down about this release... First off, your precious little HD 3d PS3 and XBOX 360 games would NOT be here if it were not for games like these. CLASSIC 2d sidescrollers and platformers. Want a 3d Castlevania? They have TWO out on the PS2, N64 and LOI on the Xbox. They were OK titles, but no where near the greatness of Rondo Of Blood or Symphony. PERIOD. You hate these games since they are not 3D ultra mega lifelike graphics running on a system that costs as much as a computer? Stop playing games period.
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Castlevania: Dracula X Chronicles
2-D castlevanias are the best
Posted on:10/2/07
Cleetorus
It's great that Konami has finally brought Dracula X - Rondo of Blood to the United States. That PC-Engine game was a lot of fun. This is such a great package... Symphony of the Night, Rondo of Blood classic and this new updated version. Even if this just had classic dracula x it would be worth it.
Review 12 for Castlevania: Dracula X Chronicles
2-D Bliss
Posted on:10/2/07
jo
Don't listen to naysayers, this is what true gaming is about. This industry was founded by outstanding 2-D games like these. The 3-D Castlevania games were bad (to put it lightly), and certainly don't hold a candle to the majesty of Rondo of Blood or Symphony of the Night (easily the two best in the series). The game looks beautiful, and the fact that Symphony is unlockable seals the deal for me. If there were two hardcore games to get this fall on your PSP, make it this and War of the Lions.
Review 13 for Castlevania: Dracula X Chronicles
castlevania = sweetness
Posted on:10/1/07
Alucard
blah blah blah, castlevania & 2D games rule : ) !!!!!! majority 3-D games overrated ; (, yes even Halo 3. Drac is back for the 10000000000 time, and still looks GREAT. Buy this game, DS castlevanias, NES castlevanias, Super NES castlevania, Genesis castlevanias, and all future castlevania, cuz I said so and besides they ROCK and you will enjoy them. Oh yeah i forgot to mention, I own Konami.
Review 14 for Castlevania: Dracula X Chronicles
It had to be a 3d game
Posted on:9/29/07
#1Player
What i was hoping for when they were going to release a dracula for psp was a a 3D game kind of like Monster hunter, or MGS kinda style game play. Personally i'm not too much of a 2D gamer, this game looks old even if they say they put new elements in it, it's still an old game.
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Castlevania: Dracula X Chronicles
Must Buy.
Posted on:9/24/07
Mike.B
First off any one that played the PC-Engine duo 2 version of Dracula X knows how popular this original was. I own it and it was the best in it's time in fact still the best 2D version out. Now it is remade into an awesome game and will havethe original and Symphony of the Night Titles in it to unlock..Looks like a great deal for a great price..check your local store to preorder and get something extra for doing so..I know people the played the original title will want this. Great game to sell more PSP's. Oh last thing is superb music and intermissions look online at trailers of the game...
Review 16 for Castlevania: Dracula X Chronicles
about time!
Posted on:9/19/07
Erk the Archsage
Yes!The wait is over!Konami finally listened to my pleas!When I heard this was coming out, I specifically got a PSP just for this game.Plus the fact, it also has Rondo of blood,which I've only played once, gives anyone whos a fan of the series(or not)a reason to get one.But SOTN?My PS version is starting to get trippy on me.thank you konami
Review 17 for Castlevania: Dracula X Chronicles
my first..
Posted on:9/18/07
life absorber
how many years ago has it been now? castlevania one on nintendo was the first game i ever played in my life, the rest is history. i own every casltevania out there on nintendo, super nintendo, psx, ans psx 2. its a great game and im beyond happy that psp is finally getting castlevania. the only flaw with the series that i have noticed over the years has been the "easy" aspect of it. to me dracula has always been extremely easy to beat. i hope for the psp version that konami adds an easy, medium, or hard game level option for us old time gamers.
Review 18 for Castlevania: Dracula X Chronicles
14 years,but not for me:]
Posted on:9/17/07
Josh
I imported this maybe 7 years ago,the original Dracula X,it was such an amazing game,and im glad Konami finally brought it here,its an amazing game ,and if you've never played it you'll love it,not to mention the fact that theres a portable symphony of the night,so that was amazing:D ill finally understand what the intros mean,if they translated the japanese in them haha
Review 19 for Castlevania: Dracula X Chronicles
Finally!
Posted on:9/10/07
Drak
I still own the Japanese version of Rondo for the Turbo-Duo and I gotta say; anyone who hasn't played it is in for quite the treat. Don't go thinking that this is in any way like the Super NES Dracula X that came out years ago. That was a dumbed down version of this beautiful classic! The fact that the original version AND SoTN are unlockable rounds out this piece of Castlevania heaven quite nicely! Thumbs way up!
Review 20 for Castlevania: Dracula X Chronicles
a game worth revisiting
Posted on:9/7/07
benjamillion
sure i never got to play the original but after playing so many games of castlevania's past, i know how it will play. i recommend this to anyone who has a psp. you'll salivate over the gameplay, be dazzled by the new cutscenes, and having the original rondo and symphony of the night is icing on the cake. this is a psp title not to be missed!
1 2 3 next>>