GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Castlevania: Dracula X Chronicles

The legendary action game Castlevania: Rondo of Blood is reborn on the PSP system with incredible 3D graphics and timeless side scrolling gameplay in Castlevania: The Dracula X Chronicles. The first time Rondo of Blood has been released outside of Japan, Castlevania: The Dracula X Chronicles lets gamers take up the Vampire Killer whip as Richter Belmont as they seek to destroy the maniacal Dracula once and for all in this pivotal piece of the ongoing Castlevania saga. Castlevania: The Dracula X Chronicles also includes unlockable versions of the original Rondo of Blood and Symphony of the Night games, delivering incredible gameplay and value while updating two of the most beloved video games of all time for a new generation of gamers.
Average Customer Rating:
8.625
8.6
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (42 reviews)
10 stars
4
9 stars
3
8 stars
0
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
7 out of 888%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Castlevania: Dracula X Chronicles
Review 1 for Castlevania: Dracula X Chronicles
Insanely Difficult = ZERO fun
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:3/13/11
Sinatra1
Location: Milwaukee, WI
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
Castlevania is reaching new lows, in my humble opinion. Dracula X Chronicles has a fairly simple side-scrolling game play that should be semi-interesting and challenging. Alas, the result is an extremely difficult game in which you move a fraction as fast as your enemies and your "special" weapons almost never match-up against the bosses with any success. Remembering the first 3 Castlevania games on Nintendo, I can tell you that my weapons seemed MUCH more effective against level bosses. In Dracula X, once you have a boss down to 1/3 of his life force, he always seems to unveil some invincible attack that Jesus Christ himself couldn't deal with. Oh, and compared to the DOZENS of times YOU have to hit a boss, he gets to wing you about five times before killing altogether. If that sounds fun (and fair), by all means, buy the game. Personally, if this and Lords of Shadow (a God of War rip-off) are the best this sagging franchise have to offer, I suggest saving your money.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
0 of 14 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Castlevania: Dracula X Chronicles
Wow
Posted on:10/4/07
jiki
To all people who talk down about this release... First off, your precious little HD 3d PS3 and XBOX 360 games would NOT be here if it were not for games like these. CLASSIC 2d sidescrollers and platformers. Want a 3d Castlevania? They have TWO out on the PS2, N64 and LOI on the Xbox. They were OK titles, but no where near the greatness of Rondo Of Blood or Symphony. PERIOD. You hate these games since they are not 3D ultra mega lifelike graphics running on a system that costs as much as a computer? Stop playing games period.
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Castlevania: Dracula X Chronicles
This is a love/hate relationship
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/19/08
OneBigBossandOneSnake
Well Castlevania The Dracula X Chronicles is a remake of a game never released in america. I think the makers should of kept it that way. The main game for this title is kind of crappy. The only thing i did with this game was get to the secret level 3 and unlock Symphony of the Night. Now i just play SotN. You move very slowly and as guillotines and saws and monsters come flying at you, you look like your just walking to your senior prom. If you have a playstation and have been playing it since the 90's you should now about SotN. It is the best castlevania game ever. It is the only thing that gives this game worth. Don't let anyone tell you Sotn or Dracula X are easy. Both of these games have challenging parts but i have to say Dracula X is only for the highly skilled castlevania fans.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Castlevania: Dracula X Chronicles
great game play and value!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/10/10
gomgomboy
castlevania! this should be enough said! but then again at $15 ??? 3 games in one? this would last u at least 30 hours! yes! 3 games for $15! first u get the new rondo of blood , then rondo of blood and the most beloved symphony of the night... omfg! freaking buy this! one thing though in the new dracul x chronicles there is a double jump back feather which i hate so much because i usually panic when there is a lot of enemy and that always get me kill , other than that it would be a 10! in the game play but over all? 9!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Castlevania: Dracula X Chronicles
Awesome!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/20/11
NewWaveNinja
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I bought this game because I got bored of PSP fighting games and wanted something new. This absolutely delivered. It is a fast, fun, side-scroller with simple controls, a great story and, epic boss fights. I was not a Castlevania player until I got this game and now I'm hooked. As a note for fans of this series: this disc has two versions of Rondo Of Blood, plus Symphony Of The Night. Yeah, it's that good!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Castlevania: Dracula X Chronicles
Just an Excellent collection
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/13/10
FoolyCooly
The Rondo Of Blood remake is great, but the fact that you can unlock Sympathy Of The Night and the original Rondo Of Blood makes this an excellent buy.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Castlevania: Dracula X Chronicles
It's Finally Here...
Posted on:8/17/07
Lotus Petal
After waiting over 10 long years, "Chi no Rondo" or "Rondo of Blood", the PC Engine-Duo/Turbografx-16 exclusive in Japan, is finally coming over here to the U.S. (and the rest of the world I hope!) Patience is a virtue, and with this game, proves that it hath its esteemed reward. Further more, "Symphony of the Night" (which is regarded by many as the epitome of "Castlevania"'s grand moments and is, in fact, the sequel to "Chi no Rondo") is going to be included with an all-new localization. Please, PLEASE, if anyone is considering looking into this game, loves action/adventure games, and hasn't played "Castlevania" before, consider this title. I promise, you WON'T be disappointed. This is going to be a fun one.
Review 8 for Castlevania: Dracula X Chronicles
Holy Grail for Castlevania fans
Posted on:4/5/07
SGA Brandon
If you don't have a PSP yet, this game alone should make you at least consider one seriously. Very seriously. If you're familiar with the Castlevania series, I don't really need to explain how exciting it is that we're getting Rondo of Blood at least, with slick 2.5D graphics but the same classic gameplay. Not to mention the fact that the original Rondo of Blood is an unlockable feature, as well as Symphony of the Night, my favorite Castlevania by far (SotN will have the same original graphics, but may contain expanded contain, still only a rumor as far as I know). Those of you who have never played a Castlevania game before... go play a Castlevania for God's sake.
Review 9 for Castlevania: Dracula X Chronicles
JUST THE FACT THAT ITS CASTLEVANIA ...
Posted on:3/9/07
Aries
A+++ All the way. Just the fact that its a Castlevania, never released stateside game, coming out, for us vampire loving, Metroid repressed, classic game playing FOOLS, is enough to get any classic gamer to break there bank wide open!! One would say, "we are not worthy of such a great game to befall us." But I for one, am greatly anticipating the arrival of this pre-order!! I'm almost as excited about the release of this game as I am for the release of God Of War 2!! Of course, a remake of Castlevania: Syphony of The Night, or the classic Metroid game in a Konami classic games release would top that by leaps and bounds. LMAO (Hint ,Hint Konami).
Review 10 for Castlevania: Dracula X Chronicles
IGA FINALLY LISTENED TO THE FANS!!!
Posted on:3/7/07
PATTERNS
I remember playing Rondo of Blood (Dracula x) on the PC engine and loved every second of it. From the music to the diverse game play, this was the best Castlevania of its time. I don't own a PSP but I will definetly but one due solely to the exclutivity this tiltle has to the PSP. Not only will this tilte include a revamped 2.5D version of this classic but you will be able to unlock the original version. And the best of all (espcially one's that missed out) you will be able to play the best sequel in the Castlevania library, Symphony of the Night. Get it! If you love the sereies or just need quality PSP games, GET IT!!!
Review 11 for Castlevania: Dracula X Chronicles
Finally a castlevania game on my PSP!
Posted on:3/31/07
SubZero9230
Ive been waiting a long time for a good Castlevania game to appear on a Sony System since SOTN.I have a DS and I love PoR and DoS.Now its time for the PSP to get a great Castlevania game, and the fact that its a compilation of 2 fanastic classics,one of which is very rare,and a remake just blows my mind.First we get the main game,a 3D remake of Rondo of Blood.The original was only available in Japan for the PCE.The game looks great.Then we get the original port of RoB.And last but not least we get the best Castlevania game ever,Symphony of the Night!You got to be a fool not to buy this game!
Review 12 for Castlevania: Dracula X Chronicles
Must Buy.
Posted on:9/24/07
Mike.B
First off any one that played the PC-Engine duo 2 version of Dracula X knows how popular this original was. I own it and it was the best in it's time in fact still the best 2D version out. Now it is remade into an awesome game and will havethe original and Symphony of the Night Titles in it to unlock..Looks like a great deal for a great price..check your local store to preorder and get something extra for doing so..I know people the played the original title will want this. Great game to sell more PSP's. Oh last thing is superb music and intermissions look online at trailers of the game...
Review 13 for Castlevania: Dracula X Chronicles
my first..
Posted on:9/18/07
life absorber
how many years ago has it been now? castlevania one on nintendo was the first game i ever played in my life, the rest is history. i own every casltevania out there on nintendo, super nintendo, psx, ans psx 2. its a great game and im beyond happy that psp is finally getting castlevania. the only flaw with the series that i have noticed over the years has been the "easy" aspect of it. to me dracula has always been extremely easy to beat. i hope for the psp version that konami adds an easy, medium, or hard game level option for us old time gamers.
Review 14 for Castlevania: Dracula X Chronicles
Castlevania re-imagined
Posted on:3/8/07
Bishop X
I love castlevania, I am a big fan, and the fact that I have never played Symphony of the Night or Rondo of Blood made me mad. but now I get to play it and the remake at the same time when it comes out. Castlevania: The Dracula X Chronicles is going to be great because it looks great. Although I did not play the demo, I have seen a video of it, and Castlevania: TDXC (The Dracula X chronicles) looks great and the graphics are beyond this world. thank you Konami for bringing my favorite games and extra.
Review 15 for Castlevania: Dracula X Chronicles
2-D Bliss
Posted on:10/2/07
jo
Don't listen to naysayers, this is what true gaming is about. This industry was founded by outstanding 2-D games like these. The 3-D Castlevania games were bad (to put it lightly), and certainly don't hold a candle to the majesty of Rondo of Blood or Symphony of the Night (easily the two best in the series). The game looks beautiful, and the fact that Symphony is unlockable seals the deal for me. If there were two hardcore games to get this fall on your PSP, make it this and War of the Lions.
Review 16 for Castlevania: Dracula X Chronicles
My Favorite Castlevania game 1993!
Posted on:8/2/07
A Customer
Oh man the preview blew me away! the original German opening scene etc is in here! I hope this is not just the Japanese version the game has got it all! PSP is getting a must own game to treasure for Life!.Unless it moves to the other consoles!.anyway buy this! I heard SE might be in here as well!.This is probably by far the best of the Castlevania games besides SOTN.. A very cool story and graphics etc..Plz Konami don't mess this up! =)
Review 17 for Castlevania: Dracula X Chronicles
Awesome, but a little creepy....
Posted on:5/10/07
Dark Ridley
First off, YAY! I was going to have to download SotN off Xbox Live Arcade, but now that it's coming out for PSP, i don't have to give Bill Gates any more money than he needs. And he doesn't need any more (they make you pay for literally EVERYTHING on 360, but not for Nintendo consoles hint hint wink wink ;) ). But, unless the release date changes, it's apparently going to come out on 9/11, which is a little unsettling....
Review 18 for Castlevania: Dracula X Chronicles
Finally!
Posted on:9/10/07
Drak
I still own the Japanese version of Rondo for the Turbo-Duo and I gotta say; anyone who hasn't played it is in for quite the treat. Don't go thinking that this is in any way like the Super NES Dracula X that came out years ago. That was a dumbed down version of this beautiful classic! The fact that the original version AND SoTN are unlockable rounds out this piece of Castlevania heaven quite nicely! Thumbs way up!
Review 19 for Castlevania: Dracula X Chronicles
castlevania = sweetness
Posted on:10/1/07
Alucard
blah blah blah, castlevania & 2D games rule : ) !!!!!! majority 3-D games overrated ; (, yes even Halo 3. Drac is back for the 10000000000 time, and still looks GREAT. Buy this game, DS castlevanias, NES castlevanias, Super NES castlevania, Genesis castlevanias, and all future castlevania, cuz I said so and besides they ROCK and you will enjoy them. Oh yeah i forgot to mention, I own Konami.
Review 20 for Castlevania: Dracula X Chronicles
14 years,but not for me:]
Posted on:9/17/07
Josh
I imported this maybe 7 years ago,the original Dracula X,it was such an amazing game,and im glad Konami finally brought it here,its an amazing game ,and if you've never played it you'll love it,not to mention the fact that theres a portable symphony of the night,so that was amazing:D ill finally understand what the intros mean,if they translated the japanese in them haha
1 2 3 next>>