GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Mercenaries 2: World in Flames

Mercenaries 2: World in Flames is an explosive open-world action game set in a massive, highly reactive, war-torn world. A power-hungry tyrant messes with Venezuela's oil supply, sparking an invasion that turns the country into a warzone.
Average Customer Rating:
7.833
7.8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (80 reviews)
10 stars
10
9 stars
4
8 stars
7
7 stars
2
6 stars
1
5 stars
2
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
22 out of 3073%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Mercenaries 2: World in Flames
Review 1 for Mercenaries 2: World in Flames
I LOVE THIS GAME!!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/8/08
Anonymous
This game is so cool! Im gonna start off with the good stuff. I LOVE the story line in this game, I mean I love the whole payback aspect of the game! Some people say its just about you getting shot in the dairy-air (butt), but they obviously didn't pay attention to one of the first cutscenes in the game (which have surprisingly great graphics and are pretty humorous by the way) it's not about getting shot, its about not getting your well deserved CA$H. The sound is great, I could hear the whistling of the RPG perfectly! The challenge is pretty tough, especially getting to the Estate in 5 minutes from the other side of the map, I mean its almost impossible without a helicopter. But, as every game does, there are some flaws. I think it really waters down the thrill of blowing stuff up when every thing gets covered in smoke, or if it just automatically bends. I absolutely HATE blowing up bridges! I mean come on, they dont even fall down! And there could have been more side missions and more bounties, but I guess thats ok.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
gangstr98
 
Please wait while more information about gangstr98 is loaded.
Additional information about gangstr98 could not be loaded.
Kind of a let down....
Posted 11/16/10
When i first saw the commercials i thought that i had to get it. mostly because the first one was possibly one of the best games i ever played. then i borrowed it from a friend and played it. first off a real let down for me. half the vehicles in the xbox 360 and ps3 version weren't in the ps2 version. no motorcycle no garbage truck etc. second the ps2 version was cut short. but still the story was pretty bad. first game your handling this epic battle between the koreans and other factions and general song. the second one your character gets shot in the butt "grrr now its personal i gotta kill this guy" what? honestly what is that. it was kinda glitchy too. you drive a tank on a bridge it gets stuck. these are just some of the reasons why mercenaries 2 was bad and mercenaries 1 was WAY better.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 2 for Mercenaries 2: World in Flames
A Playstation 2 Gem
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/24/14
Alpha101
Location: United States
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game was one of the best games that I have ever played for the PS2. But you must understand, this game does not have an amazing story. This game is simply for players who like action. There is lots of firefights, blowing stuff up, and riding fast cars. If you are looking for a great story, then you should pass up this game. But personally, I enjoyed it, and I'm sure others do as well, no matter how many people criticize it.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 3 for Mercenaries 2: World in Flames
You hate it or you love it
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/15/09
Kothe96
I got this game for christmas and I was really exited to play it. When I did play it I was very disappointed with the graphics which aren't much better than the first mercenaries game. The variety of weapons were good but there really weren't very many cars and that kinda sucked. The sound is very good in this game and I really liked that because everything sounds very realistic and that was pretty cool. This was a very short game I beat it in four days after I started playing it. This game may be pretty short but it is pretty challenging some things are plain and simple but some other things are pretty difficult. The controls are good and basic you will get used to them the first time you play the game. One thing I did like about this one better than the first is that there are boats and you can swim. You are either going to hate this game or love it and I think it is pretty fun. This is an average game and i would recommend it to anyone who likes third person shooter games. I think you should buy this game if you liked the fist one.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Mercenaries 2: World in Flames
its a good game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/22/11
solidsnake12
Location: ohio,tallmadge
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
this game is for gamers who want a hard game and/or an exiting game. if you are looking for a game that is simple and stupid i sugjest tetris, but if you want a game that is chalanging and fun then this is the game for you and its good on any game system
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Mercenaries 2: World in Flames
FUN! NEEDS MORE LENGTH THOUGH!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:5/17/10
Gamez r uz
This game would be one of the best Playstation 2 games out there, but one reason it is held back. The storyline sucks and it is way to short. Other than that though, it is a very good game. The game offers a variety of weapons, from machine guns to sniper rifles, to anti-armor and anti-air rocket launchers, this game has it all in the area of weaponrey. I cant even spell. You can also get alot of vechiels, tanks, jeeps, civilian cars, helicopters, you name it. The storyline is this basic summary: Your chosen mercenary gets ripped off for saving a dictator's general, now you have to get your money back, or just kill the moron. The games controls are very good I thought, and they were very basic as well. R1 to fire, L2 to reload, that simple stuff. This game was very good, but it could have been longer and have a better plot. 8/10
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Mercenaries 2: World in Flames
GREAT!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/20/10
SniperJOSE
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is awesome it has good graphics, good game play, and a good story mode.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Mercenaries 2: World in Flames
KA-BOOM!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:12/20/10
ExplosiveGamer
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This is a perfect game for relaxation. Pretty much anyting can be blown up in some way. I got this game months ago, and am still entertained by it, but that's just me
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Mercenaries 2: World in Flames
Just an update!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:8/31/08
Mexpunk666
Even though the game seems ambitious as it was delayed for another year, Mercs 2; world in flames is a pretty fun game for those who enjoyed the first game. The PS2 version doesn't look bad, it looks slightly better than the previous one, and the controls have been sharpened to a more "realistic perspective" making vehicles harder to handle, the new PDA is not as effective as the previous one, but it still does the work. The AI has been improved, and they give you a better challenge, but its still not too hard. Blowing stuff up is the main reason of this game, and it's just as fun as the explosions on the previous game, and they even have worked on a story line, which is nothing special, but it does the job to get you into the game. Overall, if you enjoyed playground of destruction, you'll love this game, if you're not a fan, you'll still have a good time. You'll have fun with this game, no matter what.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 9 for Mercenaries 2: World in Flames
This game is going to be a world in flames!
Posted on:7/31/08
superinsomniac
I have played the first mercenaries game countless times and if there is anything that I loved about the game it was that you could do anything you want, you were free to destroy any thing, use any vehicle, use any weapon, kill who ever you want, the only thing that could get in your way was water (that's right in the first game if you fell into watter higher than your waist you were as good as dead) there were a few glitches in the game but they were more helpful than harmful. The first one was a playground of destruction and this game is going to be a world in flames. I have been to their website, seen previews, even watched a playthrough of a demo and I can't wait to get my hands on a copy of this game! in this one the mercs are back and this time there is nothing to stand in their way, not even water (this time they can swim), this game is going to have more weapons, more vehicles, more airstrikes (bigger, badder, and better) a bigger map, and all the freedom from the first game. This game is definantly going to be a Must Have for all PS3, PS2, Xbox360, and PC gamers.
Review 10 for Mercenaries 2: World in Flames
Boring
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/29/08
wasted my money
This game is so boring. I am sick of the missions. I dont even do them any more because they bore me I just go around blowing stuff up, which isn't even that fun. This game is so much different from the game for xbox 360. And the graphics are just horrible. In the xbox 360 game you have a huge variety of boats and cars, but for the ps2 one there are only a few kind of boats and cars to choose from. Also in the xbox 360 game you can drive motor cycles and even buy estates but you cannot do that in the ps2 game. And it would be a lot better if it was 2 player. In the xbox 360 game you can go and do any mission for any faction at any time but you can only choose to do one mission in the ps2 game. Another thing is in the xbox 360 game you can be pretty far a way to hijack a vehicle and grapple to a helicopter, but in the ps2 one you have to be directly in a little circle to hijack a vehicle and you have to be directly on land and under a helicopter to grapple. Lastly you can move and swim a lot faster in the xbox 360 game but u move and swim so slow in the ps2 game. Do not get this game for ps2 it is a rip off.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Mercenaries 2: World in Flames
Horrible!
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:9/14/08
Munseman
I bought the game thinking oh my gosh, a new mercenaries. This is going to be great. But I was way wrong. The game is super fun in the blowing the living crap out of everything but the game is very short. I beat the game in about 6 days. It is fun to have the cutscenes and the short mini-game when hijacking tanks and helicopters. The original mercenaries was an A. But this one is a C. About 14 missions then your done. This I think is the greatest disadvantage to this game. I suggest to not buy. The sound, graphics, and storyline is okay but as far as length goes... horrible. It is nice to not worry about drowning with the swimming feature. The vehicles are pretty cool too. Like the venezuelan gunships, guerillas dune buggies, and the allied nation ambassador gunship. As though the trailers or videos may seem magnificent, don't buy it. You'll want your money back within a week.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
josht
 
Please wait while more information about josht is loaded.
Additional information about josht could not be loaded.
Posted 9/19/10
This Game is Amazing
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 12 for Mercenaries 2: World in Flames
Mercenaries 1 or 2? Which is for you?
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:12/12/09
Corey17
Well I, for 1, enjoy open world mission games. Games that you can still play after you beat them. That's the kind of game I spend my $ on! I would really recommend the 1st though because it’s more organized in combat. But the idea of you going around killing people for $ does sound pretty interesting to my ears! A more variety of weapons are available on the 1st but if you want to get transportation then Mercenaries 2 is just for you. The graphics for Mercenaries 2 on ps2 isn't "A-1" But it's still pretty basic. The story isn't the greatest because all you do is work for different countries and kill people but it is still a great game! I was expecting more from Mercenaries 2 but it went a little below standards if you've played the first 1. So if your looking for the best graphics and sound then pick the first 1 but if your an all around gamer then I say try Mercenaries 2 out!
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
jok3r
 
Please wait while more information about jok3r is loaded.
Additional information about jok3r could not be loaded.
ok
Posted 12/21/10
the game is alright but i consider getting ps3 version. and looking forward to mercs 3
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 13 for Mercenaries 2: World in Flames
BEST SANDBOX!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/3/08
Guitar Hero Maniac
This is onr of the best games I have played in awhile. I have waited months to get this game and my wait was not a dissapointment. The storyline is kinda lame the guy gets shot in the butt and wants revenge so you make a team of mercinaries to take him down. The graphics are great for a ps2 game I love the fog in the backround because it actually looks like venezuela. You will never get bored of this game even if you have beaten this game adn everything in it you still wont be bored because who doesnt like to blow up hundreds of buildings and cars. One of my favorite things to do is get in a car go full speed jump out at the last second and ram a tree or rock or buildings and watch it explode!!!! The controls are like most other games you hit R1 to shoot triangle to get in a car etc. The game is extremly challenging I have died so many times I cant count (half of them were from my stupidity). OK to wrap this up you have to buy this game it is one of the best games ever!!!! From my percective this is GTA without the blood and sex. I think this game is even better than GTA. You have to get this game!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 14 for Mercenaries 2: World in Flames
best mercenaries game ever
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/13/10
vm12
Location: brockton
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
the reason why i bought this game is because of the commercial and song.i bought the game the day it came out and i am still playing it.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Mercenaries 2: World in Flames
ehh not what i expected...
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:10/1/08
dojoking
This game is okay i'd have to say but one huge problem with it. Ok got it and played like none of the side missions so it was short as can be for a mercs game. It sucked compared to the first one to say the least i can't say it was better cause that would be one huge lie. It is a big waste of money to buy this game i'd say rent it like for 2 days and you should have this game beat, well you can have the main storyline of this game beat no joke its that short. Next time a game comes out like this one i'm gonna stinking rent the dang thing cause now i'm upset that i wasted my money on this when i could have rented it and still had money to waste on other games. This game was good for the new way to steal helicopters i cannot deny that and the different vehicles made it a good game to say the least but i would only recommend renting this game and not buying it.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 16 for Mercenaries 2: World in Flames
The RPG made me do it
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/9/08
It was me
This game is excellent. People may be saying that it is just a failure. No. Wrong. The experience is similar to the 1st Mercenaries, but it is also different enough that you will still enjoy playing. In my opinion, the features that have been added to this sequel make the experience that much better. My favorite new feature is the stockpiling which lets you store vehicles until you need them. The missions you have to complete to get it can be annoying but are totally worth it in the end. It will take a little while to get used to, especially if you are new to the series, but you will catch on and will soon be a pro. The shock wave from an explosion can be a little annoying seeing as how you have to almost get a head shot with an RPG to inflict any damage but load up on ammo and C4, unleash, and there will be no survivors.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 17 for Mercenaries 2: World in Flames
Not bad but not good either...
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:7/15/09
BillyBob007
I'm a big fan of the 1st Mercenaries game on the ps2 and i heard from lots of people that Mercenaries 2 was suposed to be really bad. so i finally bought it a couple weeks ago and here is what i had to say: - Somehow, the graphics got worse. - The widescreen for the cutscences is to narrow and animation is poor. - There are less collectables. And they put in pirate chests as one of them. Really? This game is rated T, its clearly not for 2-year-olds. - The button pressing minigame for whenever you go to hijack a tank or helicopter is xtremely annoying. - The deck of 52 is pretty much gone... :( - Repetitive sounds and music is the most annoying part. Each merc has only like 2 or 3 catchphrases they say... OVER AND OVER But the game isn't all bad i have to point out: - You can't drown in the water anymore :) - The game includes boats for easy transport. - RPG's and other weapons can hold more ammo. There are more cons then there are pros but overall i would not recommend this to someone who hasn't played the first Mercenaries. For people who have i recommend to rent it, and if you like it buy it. Hopefully Mercenaries 3 will be better then this trainwreck...
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 18 for Mercenaries 2: World in Flames
Great fun, but way too short
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/17/09
Zamarickz
I own the first game and I thought it was great fun. I just recently got Mercenaries 2 and have been playing it a lot. This game is very fun and you can play it for hours, however if you follow the story line only doing important missions you can finish the game in a few days just playing a couple of hours a day. But with all the extra little missions and the great fun of getting a tank and blowing cities up many more hours can be squeezed out of it. For the PS2 the graphics are good but I notice they were about the same level of Mercenaries 1 and thought that was lame. Also I noticed you don't make nearly as much money as in Mercs 2 as in Mercs . If you want to get a mercenaries game I suggest you get the first one. It is much longer, very fun, much more money can be made in it, and the graphics are pretty good.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 19 for Mercenaries 2: World in Flames
Pretty great
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:8/31/08
dorkyness619
This game owns. It's basically the same engine as in the last game and the hud is the same other than the fact that it's red instead of blue. I haven't played long enough but the weapons are pretty much the same so far. It's the same game just new missions and a new country. It's the same basic concept. The characters look cooler and it's a bit harder. There's new vehicles that are pretty cool and stealing choppers isn't a pain in the butt. You shoot the chopper with a harpoon and climb on it and button mash what it says till you throw the pilot out and it's yours. There's more factions to take care of too. The best part is you can get a monster truck. That would be fun to drive. I haven't driven it yet. But anyways if you don't have a next gen system, this is a must buy.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 20 for Mercenaries 2: World in Flames
The mercs are back
Posted on:8/8/07
umama
All of the mercenaries from the previos game are back with a new look (though there are no new characters to play with). This time around the game will go into a much greater story and you will get to know your character alot better. though there is a better story line doesnt mean that you can't do or blow up anything you want like in mercs 1. The world is bigger than all of the areas in the previos game put together and will be set up in a GTA format, which is basicly one huge world. there will be over 100 vehicle to use, ranging from motorcycles to helicopters, and if you can see it you can drive it. there are many more wepons and air supports also. All in all this is going to be be one of the best games out there when it releases. I can't wait for it to come out!
1 2 3 4 next>>