GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Universe at War: Earth Assault

Universe at War: Earth Assault is the next sci-fi real-time strategy game from Petroglyph, the award-winning developer comprised of ex-Westwood Studios members that developed the original Command & Conquer and C&C: Red Alert. The latest strategy game from these RTS pioneers features unprecedented levels of customization and an epic storyline set on near-future Earth. Powerful forces from across the universe have brought war to our planet. In Universe at War, you take command of several unique factions with awesome powers and spectacular units. Control massive-scale alien war machines that are fully customizable. With "Tactical Dynamics," Universe at War's on-the-fly tactical customization system, you can dynamically swap out weaponry, rework your tech tree, and retrain units in the middle of combat to thwart your foe and seize the advantage. This advance on the traditional rock-paper-scissors model of balance gives players even more control over how they respond and adapt to their opponent's strategies.
Average Customer Rating:
10
10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
10 stars
1
9 stars
0
8 stars
0
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
1 out of 1100%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Universe at War: Earth Assault
Review 1 for Universe at War: Earth Assault
A True RTS
Posted on:9/24/07
KanDoo
I had to post after playing the BETA all weekend. I'm a huge RTS fan, been playing since Dune II and I must say UAW is spectacular. I have been waiting a long time for game makers to bring out an RTS as rich in diversity and uniqueness as Starcraft, I almost didn’t think it was possible until I played UAW. What I really enjoy is how different each faction feels. Novus is fast and furious. The Hierarchy is slow and powerful. The Masari are the middle ground with units and powers that rival both factions. This is very refreshing to see and something I have greatly missed in recent RTS games. Currently, the overall game balance feels pretty darn good for being only a BETA. There are a few issues here and there, but I’m still impressed none the less. Now if Petroglyph and SEGA can keep UAW updated with new maps and patches like Blizzard does for their games, I’ll be a fan for life.
Review 2 for Universe at War: Earth Assault
surpriseley asome
Posted on:12/1/07
commander kool
this game is surpriseingley fun it has a diverse selection of units a large tech tree and units on the same side that dont get along it takes me back to the old SC ages i reallyu enjoy the fact that the races are so diffrent i recond this game deffinitley
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Universe at War: Earth Assault
So many RTS
Posted on:11/5/07
Nathan
I would say this is more along the lines of C&C3 than Sup. Com. Although it looks like Sup. Com. with the units and the races, the game doesn't nearly have the army sizes that Sup. Com. does support. This means that the game will run much more smoothly for computers that might not be up-to-date and have the potential of having much better graphics and more explorable terrain, but you won't get the large scale battles that Sup. Com. has. Overall my opinion is that for those who like SC and C&C, this is a game for you if you have the computer to handle it. If you like strategic gameplay and massive armies, Sup. Com. is a better choice, however since I'm not a Beta tester, and I am only based off of researching what has been released, don't make a choice simply because I said so. This will be a good RTS, whether or not its like C&C.
Review 4 for Universe at War: Earth Assault
More Beta Testing Experience
Posted on:10/17/07
Xanth
Well, I am yet another beta tester. First of all, the Windows Live service is absolutely horrid. Took me a while to get that straight. Now, I can play the game, but only in a custom mode. So, that leaves me to join a game or host my own. From playing so far, if you like games like Warhammer 40K Dawn of War, Star Wars Empire at War, World in Conflict and even oldies such as Starcraft, then you will like Universe at War. The graphics are really good, the music is nice and the gameplay is something we are all used to. I will say that a tutorial or strategy guide would be nice to get started. At all costs, play the single player campaign and stay away from the multiplayer due to the Windows Live.
Review 5 for Universe at War: Earth Assault
Pure Awesome
Posted on:10/17/07
heavensarmory
I got accepted into the beta, and let me tell you, the thing is awesome. the factions are so different! their strategies, tactics, and units are all different from faction to faction, and their playstyles are completly different. I love this game, and will definitely be buying the full game when its released. l et me tell you though, you're going to need a relatively high-end computer to play this on. the interface is pretty good, and the learning curve is actually rather small. hope to play you guys when this comes out!
Review 6 for Universe at War: Earth Assault
Beta Testing
Posted on:9/15/07
world_potentate
I am one of the selected few to be doing beta testing before the game is released in october. I find that the game is extemely strategic between the three different factions a player may choose from. I enjy playing the Novus race because their tactical ability. The game is one progressive world, Earth, and there is not lag time or loading errors. If you are in to consolidation, research strategies, all-out power, or all around abilities, then buy this game. Yay! Go to the forums website for more info.
Review 7 for Universe at War: Earth Assault
Its the next level
Posted on:9/21/07
RedX
I happen to be a bata player and let me tell you IT IS FREAKEN AWSOME!!! Personal I am a SC fan but this gives it a run for its money. the game interface dose give more room and a little more to pay attention to. Each race Differs on a HUGE level. unlike StarCraft or WarCraft where their all basicly the same, this game has it to where you need to leran and master many differnt types of game play, and ecah new opponet means you need to use a new mothed to take them down.
Review 8 for Universe at War: Earth Assault
Pure Fun!
Posted on:11/23/07
RicH
Played both the demo and BETA, by far UAW is the most impressive RTS game to date. Not because of the graphics or technology (which is good also), but because the game-play created by three totally unique factions is just plain fun. UAW is the only RTS game, next to Starcraft, where I had to learn how to play each faction. It's good to see some depth in an RTS game for once. Definetly check Universe at War out!
Review 9 for Universe at War: Earth Assault
Freaking Awesome!
Posted on:9/16/07
RADestroyer
I too made it into the BETA and all I can say is WOW! The sides are truly unique and fun to play. The graphics are killer, the giant walkers moving through lakes and walking up mountains is something I have yet to see in any RTS game to date. Both C&C 3 and Supreme Commander have been uninstalled in preperation for Universe at War. If you like RTS games, UAW delievers in spades.
Review 10 for Universe at War: Earth Assault
Great game but....
Posted on:9/27/07
Phillgood
I was lucky to be chosen to the beta i got a crazy machine whit a geforce 8800 gtx 680mb so i got the card to play this game but since i play the beta for some sort of reason the game keep on crashing no matter what i do it look cool but i never had the chance to experience fully.So i hope that the release will be better it similar to Suprem Commando so it will be a good game
Review 11 for Universe at War: Earth Assault
Great game
Posted on:11/1/07
HissingNewt
I've been beta testing it, and so far it's been great. I personally haven't had any troubles with Live and the problems people are having are probably going to be fixed (that's a major turn off for an online system if you can't use it, they'll want to fix it). The factions are very unique and the gameplay is amazing. This might be the best RTS game I've played.
Review 12 for Universe at War: Earth Assault
Another Command and Conquer... :)
Posted on:9/10/07
HungryMocha
I looked at the screen shots and this game looks like another great command and conquer game, and probably will be up there in the ratings too. If you love making armies and just watch you slaughter your enemies with huge hordes of lazers (yes people that is with a Z in the middle) and bullets and whatever crap you use, this game is for you.
Review 13 for Universe at War: Earth Assault
Whoo first post
Posted on:5/5/07
Jherico
This game should be very inovative. Units will be able to be customized differently than each other and another faction's units can be have different programs uploaded to change their use in combat. seems to bring back the strategy and intense microing RTS fans like most, instead of a mass unit race to over power the enemy.
Review 14 for Universe at War: Earth Assault
Great game from Westwood 2
Posted on:9/18/07
A Customer
I have been lucky enough to be part of the beta test and I must say this game is great. Usually with an RTS I know quite soon what faction I will use but in this game the three factions are so well done and unique that for the life of me I still do not know which I will focus on. It is a must have.
Review 15 for Universe at War: Earth Assault
Universe at War
Posted on:10/30/07
Roymustang
looks a lot like supreme commander but what do I know... I shouldn't be judging a game when its not out yet but I am just stating my own opinion.. I hope this is NOTHING like Star Wars Empire at War because they really messed that and Forces of Corruption up big time
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Universe at War: Earth Assault
Not bad at all
Posted on:11/20/07
A Customer
Played the demo - Tutorial and a couple of the missions. From what I've seen and performance, its been pretty good. I would recommend this game to anyone who would like to add it to their collection of RTS. No in par with COH mind you but not bad nonetheless. :)
Review 17 for Universe at War: Earth Assault
beta
Posted on:9/18/07
Fenix
I’ve been playing the beta not a bad game. But from what I’ve played so far, I don’t think it will really big hit., Especially when we have way better rts coming out like starcraft 2, halo wars and the expansion for command and conquer 3.
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Universe at War: Earth Assault
Universe at War: One of the Best War Games
Posted on:9/10/07
A Customer
My favorite games are tatical War games and I know what makes a good War Game. This has the graphics, the attacks, the variatety. And most of all the feeling of being The General of an Unstoopable Army. Being able to Attack with Tremendous Power.
Review 19 for Universe at War: Earth Assault
Good Times!
Posted on:11/20/07
Josh Hollaway
Love the demo, awesome RTS game. As a long time RTS fan it is great to see someone finally bring fresh game-play ideas. Also, runs great on my P4 3.0 Single core computer, unlike most PC games these days. BTW the large walkers rule!
Review 20 for Universe at War: Earth Assault
Universal Fun!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/6/11
Pluck47
Location: Wrentham, MA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
The Game is totally worth it. The gameplay is great and easy. The only problem with it is the Live play. I couldnt get my gamertag to link. Other than that Its a must buy.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10