GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Project Sylpheed: Arc of Deception

Project Sylpheed takes you centuries into the future where you customize and pilot amazing starships, battle swarms of enemy fighters, and enjoy stellar visuals
Average Customer Rating:
8.556
8.6
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
10 stars
4
9 stars
1
8 stars
2
7 stars
1
6 stars
0
5 stars
1
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 989%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Project Sylpheed: Arc of Deception
Review 1 for Project Sylpheed: Arc of Deception
worth the price.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:1/22/12
USArevenge
Location: Maryland
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
For those looking for a game to pass by some time this is perfect for sci-fi or anime lovers.
its a space flight arcade style game where you defend your team and destroy enemy fighters and capital ships.
the story is ok at best. its too short to develop character relationships.
the flight is hard to get used to but its fun.
there are only about 16 missions, which is unfortunate.
no multiplayer.
I got this game used for $4, worth every penny, i would say it takes about 30 minutes per mission, and I plan on getting every achievement which means you basically have to beat the game about 16 times
what's sad is, with a little love this could have been an amazing tactical game, but instead, you fly a fighter that can 1-2 hit large capital ships if your good.
there is a demo on xbox live, its much harder then any mission in the full game, so play it learn to fly and find the game on the cheap and pick it up to have something to do every so often.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Project Sylpheed: Arc of Deception
Great game, just, should have gotten way more attention
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/18/10
happycustomer
I have to say when i got this game i was like a one time game, thats it. well iv had it for 6 months, still playing it so i was completely wrong. this is such a great game and its really a shame that not to many people picked up on this game. now, the graphics have to be some of the best iv ever seen, EVER, and im not just talking about one or a couple of the cut-scenes or all of the cut-scenes, the whole game. this game is one of the few games that give a good challenge without getting really annoying and making u beating up ur controller in frustration, no its a game that gives a good challenge without being stupid. the game is also very long with very long missions, so if and when u buy this game, make sure u have plenty of time to spend playing this game. the missions are like 40 minutes if u do none of the side quests in the level, and if u do.... ull be there awhile. the storyline is great and i really hope there is a squeal because there just needs to be because that would really make a lot of fans happy (including myself and all my friends that have a 360). the controls are perfect and once u learn them (it really doesnt take very long at all) ull be an ace flyer in no time. interface i cant even discribe it was that good. special affects and sound were as good as the graphics so they were great. all in all this has to be one of the best games iv played, ever.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Project Sylpheed: Arc of Deception
Demo is solid
Posted on:6/24/07
flyer
So the age of space combat sims seems to be quite thin these days on either the pc or the console. A new pc game around BSG is coming out called beyond the red line however, on the new consoles, this looks to be the only one on the radar. I downloaded the demo and used the training missions to get familir with the controls and hud. Overall the training missions seems useful and easy to understand. I will be trying out the actual game play later today and do not expect it to be less enjoyable than the training session. I am not sure the story line or over all options for aircraft will match to the former Wing Commander series but one can hope. The early demo shows bullet style guns along with missle and laser weapons, everything a good star pilot needs to get to business disptaching the enemy.
Review 4 for Project Sylpheed: Arc of Deception
Ace Combat in space
Posted on:7/4/07
thompson10
I got the demo on the marketplace looking for a time killer, and found a trophy in Project Sylpheed. The graphics are amazing, with hundreds of missiles, tracers, explosions, and ships flying every which way, magnificent views from a 3rd person POV. The gameplay can be slightly confusing at times, but after a few tries i was flying like an ace. The controls are very natural and easy to use, and the game takes on a kind of anime-ish style, a la Gundam. The plot was not very revealed in the demo, but it sports a somewhat solid if not attention holding plot from what i saw from a small intro video. The customization of your ship was a lot of fun, and i spent a good 45 minutes switching up my weapons to fit my style. All in all, project sylpheed looks like a fun and fast paced flight shooter.
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Project Sylpheed: Arc of Deception
A very addicting game!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/13/09
Kikko
This game has been a very addicting game! Once you pick up the controller and play it you just wont stop! People who like RPG, flying and action, this is the game to get. The graphics and story line will make you beg for more. You start of as a regular ship then the further you go the better the weapons you get to add. Its just to bad you cant change different ships that would of been fun. Like an extra gameplay. But the game itself is fun and fun. The way they start off with hordes of enemies and then they fall by you and your teammates hands. If only the could be able to play online. That would be insane! Its to bad this game was not announced with alot of advertisements it deserved. I will keep this game and play it over and over again. Bring on the ships!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 6 for Project Sylpheed: Arc of Deception
Demo-ed on Live
Posted on:7/10/07
Evan
I downloaded the game believing it would be a fast paced fighter that needed a lot of coordination and thought processing and was rewarded greatly. The game forces you to go through training because the HUD is so complex and rich with information that it is impossible to comprehend unless you've been told how. ON the right of the map is a weapons range meter that tells you when a locked on target is in range of one or more of your weapons which keeps you from wasting ammo on fighters a million miles away in the hope of getting a kill. What little of the story line Square Enix reveals keeps you intrigued. - if only i knew how to pronounce the Games Title correctly.
Review 7 for Project Sylpheed: Arc of Deception
Great game that was overlooked by many.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/19/11
BriankLizard93
Location: Madison, VA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I have never been a fan of flight-sims. There are only a few "flying" games that I play and enjoy. Many flight-sims bore me, largely in part due to the fact that most only involve a few enemies at a time, broad/open landscapes, and dull conversations. Project Sylpheed, however, is a different story. If you know anything about Square Enix, then you know that their games often have an anime-ish style and a pretty-in-depth story. This holds true for PS, which is a good thing. The style and story are what make this game unique. Where most flight-sims have dull, army-style missions, PS has unique missions that involve different tasks. Sometimes you'll have to eliminate enemies who are about to ambush someone, sometimes you have to destroy huge missiles before hitting key ships in the fleet- it all varies, which keeps it fresh. There is also a DLC pack available online (it is free) which adds new missions, and a few other things as well. The controls flow very well, and are easy to get the hang of, but hard to master. The battles are intense, and often involve MANY enemies onscreen at one time. Combine this with multiple explosions, guns firing, ship exhausts, and beautiful space/planet areas and you get a gorgeous, intense, memorable battle. All-in-all, a great game for a great price. Definitely purchase this game. You will not regret it.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 8 for Project Sylpheed: Arc of Deception
Square Enix... 'nuff said!
Posted on:5/16/07
Efaw9004
Square Enix doesn't make a habit out of disappointing their fans. The game sound great and should provide hours of entertainment for the casual gamer. However, without a good amount of RPG elements like the companies hits of the past. I believe this game will prove to be too "Arcade" to hold the interest of the hardcore Square Enix fans. Let's hope they throw in some customization features because if this turns out to be just a hop-in-the-seat arcade style shoot-'em-up I'm afraid this game, even with tons of potential, will silently float under many gamers radar.
Review 9 for Project Sylpheed: Arc of Deception
Great space flight game!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:5/16/11
Vinnie83
Location: USA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I had been looking for a great space flight game. This game handles extremely well. I'm not sure why someone thought it was an rpg but it is far from in my book. The storyline is cheesy at times but I was only in it for the gameplay. You can choose the weapons on your ship to best suit the situation which was fun. The graphics and sound quality made the space combat a blast. The ship has the actual physics that a space fighter realistically would. I strongly recommmend this to anyone who is looking for a good space flight game!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 10 for Project Sylpheed: Arc of Deception
this game is awsome
Posted on:3/30/07
mr. unknown
I beta test for microsoft and game makers. even when its just a beta version I could say this game is awsome it blows motorstorms graphics and gameplay away big time. the game play is just incredible. the graphic have the highest quality of graphics, detal, and sound ever made in a racing. all the movement in the cars are realistic. making it challenging and fun to play. all i can say is this is another awsome racing game for the xbox 360. it the best racing game i have ever played so for
Review 11 for Project Sylpheed: Arc of Deception
Wow...
Posted on:4/21/07
Symphony1125
If this game is anything like it's predecessors (Silpheed for the PS2 and Sega CD), then it will definetly be worth picking up!!! I absolutely loved all of the mind numbing levels each with thousands of swarming enemies, challenging bosses, aesthetically pleasing gameplay, and the strategy involved with customizing your ship (after you've unlocked weapons of course) to tailor the type of environment that you're flying into.
Review 12 for Project Sylpheed: Arc of Deception
it blew major puppies
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:12/13/10
palekid
Location: cortland, ohio
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
im a huge RPG fan but this game ok. i saw the Square enix and i said it has to b worth the 10 buck. for 10 buck it was but it still suck. i more and more anger with this game the story was rip from an old gundam series, if like flyin in a big circle, get this game. other than that dont get it. let hust say i would rather play 2 worlds at least i was a tank in that game.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
0 of 11 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
WillyBgood
San Diego, CA
 
Please wait while more information about WillyBgood is loaded.
Additional information about WillyBgood could not be loaded.
???
Posted 7/30/11
How can you compare this to 2 worlds? That would be like saying Wing Commander series sucked because it wasn't as good as Morrowind...
Customer Avatar
Vinnie83
USA
 
Please wait while more information about Vinnie83 is loaded.
Additional information about Vinnie83 could not be loaded.
Posted 5/16/11
Lmao, it's not an rpg in any sense. Where did you get that idea? Square Enix does other types of games nowadays.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 13 for Project Sylpheed: Arc of Deception
Square Enix actually does good!
Posted on:6/29/07
A Customer
I've been let down time and time again by Square, but the sci-fi shooter fan in me couldn't help but give the demo a try. Its nice to see Square branch out from the RPG genre, and their foray into this field is incredible. Its fun, easy to get into, yet provides a challenge for veteran semi-sim shooter players. Highly reccomended (especially at the $40 price tag!).
Review 14 for Project Sylpheed: Arc of Deception
PROJECT SYLPHEED is amazing!
Posted on:6/13/07
Niiza
I own a Japanese imported version of PROJECT SYLPHEED (I own a JP 360 as well) and I must say this game is quite amazing. The visuals fit well with the intense and frantic speed of gameplay. The soundtrack also goes along well with some of the moments in the game. I would highly recommend this game when it is released in the states.
Review 15 for Project Sylpheed: Arc of Deception
this game sux!!!!
Posted on:7/9/07
vulgarusmc
If you buy this game your a geek. Where to begin the graphics are horrible, gameplay sucks, there is absolutely nothing good about this game. For the people that gave this game a good review What are you looking at!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
1 of 41 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Project Sylpheed: Arc of Deception
A great game that slipped under the radar
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:5/7/09
Aken909
First off I want to say I go way back on space flight Sims to Wing Commander and more recent game like X3 TC. This game is more like W.C. than X3 there is no trading just action. The game is produced by Square Enix so you know it's of high production quality. People say they didn't like the story, I'm not far into the game but its a Gundam Wing type story, Earth (Terra) space colonies are trying to break free of oppressive Terran control (think America rebelling against British colonial rule) you play a Terran Pilot, you best friend is your rival enemy. I like this style of story so, so far I like the story.The game itself if very fun to play, you get weapon upgrades you have to buy though points you earn by killing things and you lose points for things like friendly fire. All or at least most missions come in multiple stages and if you die you don't have to completely start the mission over, just go back to the start of the stage of the mission your on so there isn't a lot of wasted time which I like. Also most missions have sub missions to complete which are not listed in the debriefing. The game isn't too difficult on Normal mode after you figure out what to kill and in what order but there are easy and hard modes as well. The combat is very good, so far I like the large variety of weapons, many are very different from each other. You can have up to four on your ship at any one time but each weapon fits in a specific slot on your ship so choosing is part of the strategy. Your character has some special abilities you can activate such as slowing down time a ramming mode and a fire all weapons (lol Death Blossom from The Last Starfighter an old movie for you kids) as well as some flight tactics like doing a 180.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 17 for Project Sylpheed: Arc of Deception
Fun game if you like space flight games.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/5/11
cyberkriest
Location: NJ
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
The game is pretty fun and has good lasting appeal. It doesnt take long to beat but its pretty hard to get a perfect score. Graphics could be better and they could have added more content though. I hope they make another one with those things improved.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 18 for Project Sylpheed: Arc of Deception
Word on the street
Posted on:4/18/07
ItCantBe
Word on the street is this game will not feature online multiplayer. I look forward to playing this game, and hope that isn't true. I would have alot of fun in an online battle with 15 other players. Here's hoping for some online interstellar mayhem.
Review 19 for Project Sylpheed: Arc of Deception
this game sucks
Posted on:7/4/07
bigpimpin939
i have the demo and the game is possibly the worst game i have ever played. I dont know where to begin, the contols r lowsy, the graphics r last generation, and the screen is too cluttered. i would never b caught dead playing this game.
0 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Project Sylpheed: Arc of Deception
I like the sound of this game.
Posted on:4/4/07
Frenzy2001
I deffinetly anticipate any game where I can customize and battle my own spacecraft. I look forward to seeing how expansive the space locations are, and how many players can participate in a battle online.
1 2 next>>