GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

God of War: Chains of Olympus

12th Annual Interactive Achievement Awards Winner: Hand-Held Game of the YearBEFORE HE WAGED WAR ON THE GODS...HE WAS FORCED TO SERVE THEM. The ancient world speaks of a mortal that slayed a God. But long before his battle with Ares,Kratos sought absolution from his past sins by pledging himself as a champion to the Gods.These brutal crusades in the name of Olympus became legendary. The Ghost of Sparta isnow ordered by the Gods to journey the underworld, after the world plunges into darkness.There he must face the most feared creatures of Greek Mythology and forced to choosebetween his own personal redemption and saving the ancient world from certain destruction.
Average Customer Rating:
9.255
9.3
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (192 reviews)
10 stars
62
9 stars
23
8 stars
9
7 stars
5
6 stars
0
5 stars
1
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
99 out of 10297%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for God of War: Chains of Olympus
Review 1 for God of War: Chains of Olympus
Challenge the Gods
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/4/12
PaperMemories
Location: In amazement
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is epic. There is no other way to say it, really. I was working at GameStop when all my other co-workers told me that I was in the wrong for never having played a God of War game. I realized my fault and looked up the first game in the seires. I know that the first game was GOW was for the play station 2, I know, but I found out that this was a prequel and wanted to play the story in order so that I would get the whole effect.
This GOW game wasn't hard, or long at all. But this is a prequel, as we know. The game throws you right into the violence, which is a perfect way to get a gamer into the story. For me at least. There was a complex story that I can only hope continues throughout the other games, and the fighting was enriching. It wasn't like Ninja Gaiden (which I heard it equaled with) because this game isn't as cheap. You can still die easily, and get so much easily mauled.
If this was a promise for a fantasic series,
I won't be surprised.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 2 for God of War: Chains of Olympus
Kratos.....oh Kratos
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:10/5/12
funnybone5000
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
First off, Chains of Olympus is one of the BEST PSP games you can find. It's Cheap, Beautiful and Lovely to the Ears. So the game itself is only about 2 hours on the easiest difficulty. Not bad....but not good either.... You'll be going through Beautiful Sceneries with an amazing Soundtrack to boot. The story really isn't that great. If you want a good story, go buy Ghost of Sparta! Anyways, to me, the story was pretty hard to follow. You start in Athens then jump straight to the gates of Hades!! You then Travel through the gate that seperates Hades and Olympus and take a boat up to Olympus. Its a lot to take in when it is so short. Chains is the Prologue to the first God of War. I Highly recommend both Chains and Ghost to any hardcore God of War fan or to any Hardcore Adventure fan.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 3 for God of War: Chains of Olympus
GOD OF WAR!!!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:7/27/12
B1GACE
Location: Lewisburg tennessee
lol at my title this game is awsome.. ive played all the god of wars for psp umd and ps2 they are all amazing! this game is a great game its easy to pick up and just play..if you arent a gamer and are looking to get into games this is perfect for you put it on easy and it will be easy to pick up my dad picked it up on easy lol its a good starter game on easy..now move it up a couple notches on the difficulty now you got a challenge for hardcore gamers....this game is perfect for anyone ..
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 4 for God of War: Chains of Olympus
GOOD GAME
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/7/12
Anonymous
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
everything is great i mean you have a war god with blades chained to him what eles do you need to cause chaos in the world of god of war come on think about buy the fist one that was that was the first game i ever played and it was the best
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for God of War: Chains of Olympus
It's good but short
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:3/1/12
snowkronos
Location: Yuma.AZ
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I love the god of war series but they are always too short.This one is the shortest game and has the worst story to it but it has very good gameplay and would be good to play if you like the series
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Review 6 for God of War: Chains of Olympus
Not fun, it's Awesome!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/27/11
Tobisper
Location: Miami,Fl
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Well, I have to admit story was really short, but who am I to complain this game is worth $12.99 at least I didn't pay $30 when it first came out, but this game was pretty addicting I loved it, just wished more bosses but still fun.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 7 for God of War: Chains of Olympus
Really intense game!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/10/11
battlefieldfan1231
Location: Florida
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Although it feels a bit like God of War: Lite, Chains of Olympus delivers a great, combat-heavy adventure with excellent production values.One of the best looking games on PSP. The Good:Outstanding technical and artistic visuals.Combat is intense and gory. Soundtrack fits the game perfectly. The Bad:Very, very little in the way of new gameplay elements. Can easily be beaten in less than seven hours. Could have used more puzzles, platforming segments, and bosses.
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for God of War: Chains of Olympus
GOD OF WAR CHAINES OF OLYMPUS
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:12/9/11
hardcoregamer4321
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
god of war is an awesome game !! i dont have a PSP but all my friends have it ive played ive beat iT think its awesome!the game play graphics were awesome!...the weapons were awesome .. it was supper short who cares ITS TOTALLY WORTH IT!!!!!!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 9 for God of War: Chains of Olympus
READ AND WATCH
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/6/11
theekgamegod
Location: CA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
GO GAME WITH SHOT FUN PLAY! BUY THIS RIGHT AWAY ITS GOOD FINNISHED IT 10 TIMES AND STILL PLAY IT ALOT! BUY
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for God of War: Chains of Olympus
The chains have unleashed !!!! >:)
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:8/9/11
zeldahero
Location: Ohio , OH
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is freaking awesome!!! its either longer or just as long as ghost of sparta and less than half the price sure its short i mean cmon , all god of war games are but this ones awesome it has zues's fist as a weapon which is so epic because it does butt loads of damage and its quick to use .. my favorite battle is either the one against charon or the one against persephone but truely both were sweet ... anyway if ya have a psp and like 14 bucks you should most definetly get this game. oh and the game may be great but after you beat it and all the challenges of Hades(if ya can) there really not much to do after that......................
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for God of War: Chains of Olympus
One of the best psp games ever!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/7/11
NerdGirl
Location: ohio
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
At first I thought it was just a game where you beat up bad guys as you went along but it turned out to have some puzzles and a pretty good story line( I felt bad for Kratos at the end). I loved the graphics and the character designs. I hated how it was so short - I guess I'll try beating on God mode now.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 12 for God of War: Chains of Olympus
short story line but still awesome
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:8/4/11
tree17
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
the game was good but i beat it twice in 3 days. so the only problem was it was to short
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 13 for God of War: Chains of Olympus
great
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:6/28/11
blood123
Location: alabama
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
this game is great but after you beat it twice theres really no need to give it another whirl do it only if your bored or on a really long trip.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for God of War: Chains of Olympus
AWESOME!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/25/11
ezio123
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
i love this game the graphics are awesome everything was awesome but the games was a little short i beat the in 2 days
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 15 for God of War: Chains of Olympus
awesome game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:6/13/11
godofwarplayer117
Location: ?????
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Great game, the only reason this didn't get a 10 is because of the short game. I beat it in like 4 hours.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 16 for God of War: Chains of Olympus
Great Game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/19/11
monkeyboyoc
Location: nc
this game is awesome. while it seems impossible on god mode is easy on easy mode. great game play and amazing graphics i would recommended this game any day
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for God of War: Chains of Olympus
This game is the best just like GHOST OF SPARTA
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/8/11
shadow123
Location: Philadelphia, PA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
God Of War: Chains Of Olympus is the toughest game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for God of War: Chains of Olympus
Good but could be better
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/18/11
deadlydold123
Location: Genoa, IL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
The game is similar to other installments in the series, and is a third-person action adventure game containing quick time events, box-based puzzles and boss fights.
Kratos' weapons includes the trademark "Blades of Chaos" and new weapons the "Sun Shield" and "Gauntlet of Zeus". New magical abilities include the use of an "Efreet", the "Light of Dawn", and "Charon's Wrath". Health and Magic upgrades - Gorgon Eyes and Phoenix Feathers respectively - reappear in addition to normal Health and magic-giving chests.
In addition to an array of normal opponents (such as soldiers; harpies; gorgons and the cyclops), major foes include a Persian King, a giant basilisk, the ferryman of the dead Charon and the goddess Persephone.
A Challenge mode (the “Challenge of Hades”) is also included in the bonus features, which unlocks a secret costume and a behind-the-scenes video.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for God of War: Chains of Olympus
Great game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/11/11
hiphopdancer
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This is an amazing game... I beat in like 5 hours though. That was its only real setback. Definatly get it! It is worth 30 bucks and its only 20!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for God of War: Chains of Olympus
These games are awesome.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/10/11
CoolestMan1
Location: Rochester, MI
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is one of my favorite G.O.W games because it's an original. After beating it, I got G.O.W Ghost of Sparta. Not saying that Chains of Olympus is a bad game, but G.O.W Ghost of Sparta is a better game. I don't remember how long the campaign was on Chains of Olympus was, but the campaign in Ghost of sparta was pretty short. If you choose to get the God of War series, you should get the games in order unless you've played some before.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>