GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

FIFA Soccer 08

Featuring the image of two-time FIFA World Player of the Year Ronaldinho on the cover, the 2008 edition of FIFA once again rocks the world for fans of the game. For the first time ever, fans playing FIFA Soccer 08 will face the pressure to improve their game that real-world players endure every day. Be A Pro Mode locks you in the role of a single player and challenges you to master the same disciplines as a real soccer player - from positioning and tackling to reading the field and passing.
Average Customer Rating:
8
8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (62 reviews)
10 stars
0
9 stars
0
8 stars
2
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
2 out of 2100%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for FIFA Soccer 08
Review 1 for FIFA Soccer 08
Definitely will hold you over till World Cup 2010
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/24/08
BiggRigg
Fifa 08 has many positives but a few negatives that must be addressed. Firstly, the positives, graphics and sound are excellent with this title, as expected. I have a 480i standard definitely TV and it is still gorgeous. Crowd chants are spot on with their international counterparts but the commentary is rather bland. If you can get past the commentary and momentary repetition, then on these aspects, it is a good game. The menu and interface system is ok. It is the same as 07 with Ronaldo playing one on one with a no-name keeper. It is a good practice, but in the live game modes, you rarely get a one-on-one situation. Also, menus do not immediately come up on this interface, which can be frustrating with pick-up-and-play players. Controls are on par with the other Fifa titles. Ball control and tackling are still lacking and it is very easy to get carded or lose the ball on a challenge. Getting the ball back can be frustrating as well. Shooting is still extremely difficult with little ability to aim shots without facing the area you wish to shoot, including PKs. Overall, good, challenging game with a few kinks to work out.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for FIFA Soccer 08
The Usual FIFA, With a Little Flair
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/30/09
PSUMan09
FIFA 08 is a great game. Like most other recent sports games, its adapted to have the features of a carerr mode, an online mode, a play-now mode, and a few other general ways to play. But like most of the other 2008 sports games, FIFA does not support a feature where you only play as one player. As seen earliest in Madden, the feature allows you to create a player and life his life both socially and through the sport. It's been very popular and was one of the main reasons I bought the game. Of course I knew when I was buying it that it did not support that feature, but I still bought it and have a great time with it. I wish FIFA had adapted to the 'Be a Pro Mode' in a full career long feauture as opposed to only being able to use it during a game rather than a season. Yet other than this, FIFA 08 is still a good game and deserves respect, but if you are thinking of buying it now with FIFA 09 and FIFA 2010 out, I suggest buying 09 or 2010 rather than 08.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 3 for FIFA Soccer 08
Great Football Game!!!
Posted on:10/2/07
Nicholas Barresi
Yet me tell u guys one thing his game is gonna be the best soccer game.I have played the demo and it is great.I love the fact how they have all the leagues like MLS.I cant wait to play the be a pro mode.I love the graphics.They have improved alot.I love the sound of the players.I didnt get any sound of the announcers.I hope they get rid of the last years announcers.I hope they get the UEFA anoouncers for the UEFA Champion League game.I hated last years announcers in fifa 07.I wish the game was a little faster though.I love the new tricks and everything about it.Good job Microsoft.GO BARCELONA!!!!!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for FIFA Soccer 08
Fifa 08
Posted on:10/7/07
A Customer
Ok i've played this demo, and all i gotta say is that EA has to go back and do their homework. It seems EA puts more effort into the Madden series then anyother sports game. Graphics are great but the controls suck...EA please go back and do your homework...Its a shame seeing as im one of the biggest fifa fanatics but after playing this demo i'm sadly dissappointed
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for FIFA Soccer 08
.........people
Posted on:5/27/07
bigwilly
i honestly dont understand the tendencies of people to down something simply because they want to be different. Fifa 07 was a breakthrough in soccer gaming technology and will continue to be the driving force in soccer gaming period. it was the introductory piece in ea's new set of fifa software and set the foundation for the greatness that is to come in the series. fifa 08 will be monumental in the area of gameplay and graphic realism and will solidify ea's hold on the soccer maket for YEARS. winning eleven has absolutely NOTHING on this game, the only thing i want to come out of this is to see the look on the faces of these truly small minded people when ea and fifa 08 takes a massive dump on the rest of the sports gaming world with this ground breaking game. honestly you people have no clue.
Review 6 for FIFA Soccer 08
Hoping
Posted on:5/2/07
A Customer
I own both Fifa 07 for 360 and regular Xbox and I got to say the 360 one was dissapointing. I love manager mode and 360 really had no manager mode. The graphics were great and the physics for the ball and players were much more realistic but it was dissapointing when it came to manager mode. Too short of time I think 5 seasons, few leagues, and fewer teams. Nothing like taking a team from second division in england up to the premier league. The xbos version was great with tons of players, teams, and new management options but graphics were ok and nothign to scream about and no real ball physics. I hope for 360 they make it like the Xbox version with all the positives of the 360 version included. Plus add some more features I have seen floating around the internet.
Review 7 for FIFA Soccer 08
EA Sports needs to improve!!!!
Posted on:6/21/07
12BocaJuniors12
Fifa 07 was a good game compared to 06, even though its fair to say it is nothing compared to World Cup 2006. I have owned every Fifa game starting from 2001, to World Cup 2006, and even Champions League. They need to add more Cup competitions like the Copa Libertadores, Copa Sudamericana, and the FA Cup. Fifa needs to improve in the MLS part, they need to include TORONTO FC.. and they need to start giving players the credit they deserve, Like Landon Donovan, who is rated a Low 80 in Fifa 07. Fifa needs to improve on the stadiums, tricks, fan reactions, and the player looks. They need to include more leagues like the Argentine Clausura. If it is possible to have the K-League... I know they can have the Argentine League. Overall, Fifa needs to improve....
Review 8 for FIFA Soccer 08
fifa needs improvements
Posted on:6/23/07
T-chop
fifa 07 had a much more realistic gameplay than fifa 06 and volleys look very realistic. However fifa 08 must allow you to do tricks/moves!!! How can you have a soccer game without moves. It was virtually impossible to dribble by anyone that has any clue of what they are doing in fifa 07. The game was minimized to skillful passing, good crosses, and perfect finishes. Also, fifa 08 needs to add the MLS, especially because Beckam is coming to the galaxy. I hope US players in fifa 08 dont have such bad rankings. Lastly, fifa 08 needs to make fouls more realistic and have less of them than in 07. In 07 the players would often just collide and bounce off eachother. In conclusion, fifa needs to improve in several aspects of their series of soccer games.
Review 9 for FIFA Soccer 08
OH MY GOD
Posted on:10/1/07
DIXONATOR
THIS IS AMAZING....I have played the demo and all i can do is hand it to the guys at EA sports. They have perfected the game so much, to the extent that i personally feel like i am in the real action of the game. The new pro camera angle is amazing. Follow your player at pitch level and feel the heat of the defender who is waiting to make a bone crunching tackle. New online mode that is going to be avaliable 6-8 weeks after the release in the US is going to allow us to play as one player on a team of 11. Camera will be down at pitch level and we can form teams on XBOX LIVE. WHO IS NOT EXCITED FOR THAT???? Nobody. More leagues. More modes. More tournaments!! Fasten your seat belts, Fifa 08 is going to take you for the ride of your life!
Review 10 for FIFA Soccer 08
fifa08
Posted on:10/2/07
habachizero
Ok....lets see..most of the leauges are back....the carribeans team and most of the southamrerican ones are still out...the gameplay as been extremly redone and its more fun to even lose..the new be-a-pro brings a new spin to things,, but its sucky that its not a career mode thing...the career mode features i think stills need have a little life to it,,its jus the same scrol out menu..now gameplay...its BETTER THAN 07 by miles...player speed has improve from previous ones were they just slowed down..we will now have trick to embarass our foes off and online...all in all this games is a must play not have if your new to fifa...but its a keeper alla(Buffon,Cezh, Van DER SAR,Casilla,Sanchez,)if your a fan of the franchise...
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for FIFA Soccer 08
The Best Fifa Game to Date
Posted on:10/1/07
Touchtone
The Best FIFA game in the series, no doubt about it. I have dowloaded and played the demo to this game probably a hundred times, I have also tweaked all the camera's and I must say I am impressed. The AI defense in this game is dramatically improved, more specifically the keeper's defense. Trust me I know there are a lot of people who know what problems and headaches the keeper has caused in previous versions. The Pro-mode camera is an awesome insight into how an actual game is played, and finally the leagues that were missing are back, such as MLS, Japanese Leagues, etc.. Overall a very cool game and more challenging, a must have if you even resemble a soccer fan!
Review 12 for FIFA Soccer 08
IT WILL NOT BE A GREAT GAME
Posted on:10/1/07
A Customer
sports games have become really popular. Apparently EA sports does well, but not good enough. Madden is the best football game, but NBA LIVE and baseball games are not even close. But there are only 2 brands of soccer games. Winning eleven and FIFA. WInning is the more enjoyable, but it still isnt that fun. So fifa 08 will just be an ordinary game. 2k sports should make a soccer game. It would sell all over the world
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
megawolf
usa
 
Please wait while more information about megawolf is loaded.
Additional information about megawolf could not be loaded.
fifa fan
Posted 1/27/11
the best game i ever played and its the best
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 13 for FIFA Soccer 08
fifa sucks
Posted on:4/11/07
drago
i have the game on 360 and belive me it's the worst soccer game ever, if you ppl are like me and like to play with style when you are controling c.ronaldo or ronaldinho forget about it the 07 game has no moves except runing and they(ea) think that runing is a move. I hoppe that they won't make the same mistake in fifa 08 because i had it (losing 70$) for this !?!?! even world cup 2006 had better graphix. so if you like soccer with flavor just buy winning 2007 it has alot of tricks flip flap, rabona, drag the ball and other cool tricks. some times i wonder why i bought this game???
Review 14 for FIFA Soccer 08
Fifa 08
Posted on:5/29/07
Bochom
In all honesty i like the way fifa 07 was from the playing perspective, a little sloppy at times and hard to haev total control of ball, but come on guys in complete honesty we all know loooking at the world cups graphics of upcloase facials compared to fifa 07, fifa 07 cant compare, in world cup it looks so real its astonishing, that was a step forward, it was everyplayer too, had facial hair and hair perfect, christiano ronaldo looked perfect and so did ronaldinho, in fifa 07 doesnt even compare, ea makes both games, why not use world cups graphics?
Review 15 for FIFA Soccer 08
so far so bad
Posted on:10/1/07
blob
a) holland has been in the recent games...as netherlands...they are one in the same. b) the player switching has gotten worse and worse since fifa world cup 06....the player switching is very frustrating on fifa 08 so far. c) shots are tough, but that's not a bad thing. d) too much assistance on thru balls, chips, etc....its all getting worse....plus the options to change assistance are horribly made. All you need is solid gameplay for a soccer game...EA was close to getting it with World Cup 06 and have gotten only worse since then.
Review 16 for FIFA Soccer 08
More american continent cups
Posted on:6/16/07
Diego
For the most part FIFA is the BEST series when it comes to real football (not Soccer). I love the official teams, players, and some of the european cups. But EA sports, seems to forget that there are several International league CUPS such as, Copa Libertadores, Copa Sud Americana, , CONCACAFChampions Cup to name a few that are always ignored. It seems to me that Europeans always get the best from EA, but it's never too late to make some changes and keep us Americans(american continent) happy.Long live Football.......
Review 17 for FIFA Soccer 08
CG Vrs NG
Posted on:5/20/07
Liverpool
Why is it that all Next Generation EA games are worse than their old generation counterparts? I bought Fifa 06 for hte PS2 and thought I upgraded to 07 on the X-box 360. WRONG!!! Not as many leagues, poor controls and poor player realism. I'm sorry but if I can dominate the leage with Peter Crouch with the ratings EA gave him, there is something wrong. One more thing, purely because I like it in the old generation madden series, there should be a create a team option or a relocate franchise option or both.
Review 18 for FIFA Soccer 08
After playing the Demo
Posted on:10/1/07
AroByte
I've played the demo for Fifa08. I am an avid Pro Evolution fan and haven't really liked Fifa since playing Pro Evo. I downloaded the demo with the impression of lets see what joke they are going to release in 08 and I was shocked! It is pretty AMAZING! I was not expecting that at all. I haven't been able to contain my excitement waiting for the release! Dunno what Pro Evo will be coming out with next, but this will be the first time in years I will be coughing out money for an EA Fifa game!
Review 19 for FIFA Soccer 08
ronaldinho
Posted on:6/21/07
hugo
this game is going to be pretty good i seen the graphics of this game it looks so real this years game it has 30 soccer leages including my favorte one mexican leage and #1 divison A mexicana . and ronaldinho is going to be in the cover for this years!! fifa game. and it has copa sudamericana and copa toyota libertadores. too. and this fifa game has 28 new international teams including netherlands, colombia, panama, canada, trinidad & tobaco and a lot of more teams................
Review 20 for FIFA Soccer 08
fifa
Posted on:9/29/07
kareem
FiFa 07 game play for the xbox 360 was not the best. Even regular xbox FiFa 07 game play was so much better. I understand that we need the gameplay to be as real as it gets, but not to real, because fifa o7 for 360 for example was to real. Tricks were had to create, FiFa 06 tricks/dribbling so far to me was the best of them all. How about adding in some more south american teams and stadiums from all over the world. Plus some teams from the caribbean. Club/ International teams.
1 2 3 4 next>>