GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

FIFA Soccer 08

Featuring the image of two-time FIFA World Player of the Year Ronaldinho on the cover, the 2008 edition of FIFA once again rocks the world for fans of the game. For the first time ever, fans playing FIFA Soccer 08 will face the pressure to improve their game that real-world players endure every day. Be A Pro Mode locks you in the role of a single player and challenges you to master the same disciplines as a real soccer player - from positioning and tackling to reading the field and passing.
Average Customer Rating:
8
8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (62 reviews)
10 stars
0
9 stars
0
8 stars
2
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
2 out of 2100%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for FIFA Soccer 08
Review 1 for FIFA Soccer 08
The Usual FIFA, With a Little Flair
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/30/09
PSUMan09
FIFA 08 is a great game. Like most other recent sports games, its adapted to have the features of a carerr mode, an online mode, a play-now mode, and a few other general ways to play. But like most of the other 2008 sports games, FIFA does not support a feature where you only play as one player. As seen earliest in Madden, the feature allows you to create a player and life his life both socially and through the sport. It's been very popular and was one of the main reasons I bought the game. Of course I knew when I was buying it that it did not support that feature, but I still bought it and have a great time with it. I wish FIFA had adapted to the 'Be a Pro Mode' in a full career long feauture as opposed to only being able to use it during a game rather than a season. Yet other than this, FIFA 08 is still a good game and deserves respect, but if you are thinking of buying it now with FIFA 09 and FIFA 2010 out, I suggest buying 09 or 2010 rather than 08.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 2 for FIFA Soccer 08
Definitely will hold you over till World Cup 2010
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/24/08
BiggRigg
Fifa 08 has many positives but a few negatives that must be addressed. Firstly, the positives, graphics and sound are excellent with this title, as expected. I have a 480i standard definitely TV and it is still gorgeous. Crowd chants are spot on with their international counterparts but the commentary is rather bland. If you can get past the commentary and momentary repetition, then on these aspects, it is a good game. The menu and interface system is ok. It is the same as 07 with Ronaldo playing one on one with a no-name keeper. It is a good practice, but in the live game modes, you rarely get a one-on-one situation. Also, menus do not immediately come up on this interface, which can be frustrating with pick-up-and-play players. Controls are on par with the other Fifa titles. Ball control and tackling are still lacking and it is very easy to get carded or lose the ball on a challenge. Getting the ball back can be frustrating as well. Shooting is still extremely difficult with little ability to aim shots without facing the area you wish to shoot, including PKs. Overall, good, challenging game with a few kinks to work out.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for FIFA Soccer 08
Total Letdown
Posted on:10/7/07
A Customer
I have never really been a FIFA fan to begin with, but everyone was hiping this game up to be the best soccer game ever, and I was, once again, very disappointed. I downloaded the demo and I can't tell the difference between 07 and 08. If the demo is anything like the actual game, than I would strongly recommend not buying it unless you just wanna waste money.
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for FIFA Soccer 08
Fifa 08
Posted on:10/7/07
A Customer
Ok i've played this demo, and all i gotta say is that EA has to go back and do their homework. It seems EA puts more effort into the Madden series then anyother sports game. Graphics are great but the controls suck...EA please go back and do your homework...Its a shame seeing as im one of the biggest fifa fanatics but after playing this demo i'm sadly dissappointed
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for FIFA Soccer 08
The best game fifa 08
Posted on:10/7/07
A Customer
Its a very good game especially if you want to see David Beckham in the La Galaxy and all the new players in diffrent teams another thing thats good about this game is that you have to pass or else there is no way to get passed the defenders because soccer is a passing game. I think you should buy this game if you're a big soccer fan.
Review 6 for FIFA Soccer 08
fifa 08 is gonna own
Posted on:10/6/07
pwnage
fifa 08 is gonna own. you can actually do moves, over 600 teams, and if EA sports uses the same engine they did for UEFA Champions League 06-07, it will the best soccer game on the market, and probably the best ever made
Review 7 for FIFA Soccer 08
manager mode
Posted on:10/6/07
Wink
Does anyone know if the creators of fifa 08 for xbox 360 have changed the manager mode at all? Last year you were only allowed to play up to five seasons with a team and i was just wondering if they modified that in the new game. If anyone could give me some info on this i would appreciate it. Thanks.
Review 8 for FIFA Soccer 08
fifa08
Posted on:10/2/07
habachizero
Ok....lets see..most of the leauges are back....the carribeans team and most of the southamrerican ones are still out...the gameplay as been extremly redone and its more fun to even lose..the new be-a-pro brings a new spin to things,, but its sucky that its not a career mode thing...the career mode features i think stills need have a little life to it,,its jus the same scrol out menu..now gameplay...its BETTER THAN 07 by miles...player speed has improve from previous ones were they just slowed down..we will now have trick to embarass our foes off and online...all in all this games is a must play not have if your new to fifa...but its a keeper alla(Buffon,Cezh, Van DER SAR,Casilla,Sanchez,)if your a fan of the franchise...
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for FIFA Soccer 08
Great Football Game!!!
Posted on:10/2/07
Nicholas Barresi
Yet me tell u guys one thing his game is gonna be the best soccer game.I have played the demo and it is great.I love the fact how they have all the leagues like MLS.I cant wait to play the be a pro mode.I love the graphics.They have improved alot.I love the sound of the players.I didnt get any sound of the announcers.I hope they get rid of the last years announcers.I hope they get the UEFA anoouncers for the UEFA Champion League game.I hated last years announcers in fifa 07.I wish the game was a little faster though.I love the new tricks and everything about it.Good job Microsoft.GO BARCELONA!!!!!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for FIFA Soccer 08
IT WILL NOT BE A GREAT GAME
Posted on:10/1/07
A Customer
sports games have become really popular. Apparently EA sports does well, but not good enough. Madden is the best football game, but NBA LIVE and baseball games are not even close. But there are only 2 brands of soccer games. Winning eleven and FIFA. WInning is the more enjoyable, but it still isnt that fun. So fifa 08 will just be an ordinary game. 2k sports should make a soccer game. It would sell all over the world
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
megawolf
usa
 
Please wait while more information about megawolf is loaded.
Additional information about megawolf could not be loaded.
fifa fan
Posted 1/27/11
the best game i ever played and its the best
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 11 for FIFA Soccer 08
The Best Fifa Game to Date
Posted on:10/1/07
Touchtone
The Best FIFA game in the series, no doubt about it. I have dowloaded and played the demo to this game probably a hundred times, I have also tweaked all the camera's and I must say I am impressed. The AI defense in this game is dramatically improved, more specifically the keeper's defense. Trust me I know there are a lot of people who know what problems and headaches the keeper has caused in previous versions. The Pro-mode camera is an awesome insight into how an actual game is played, and finally the leagues that were missing are back, such as MLS, Japanese Leagues, etc.. Overall a very cool game and more challenging, a must have if you even resemble a soccer fan!
Review 12 for FIFA Soccer 08
08 has many improvments
Posted on:10/1/07
Quintanamo
I've played the demo and the improvments that have been made are crucial. You can finally shield the ball and the defenders can't steal the ball when they are standing behind you. But the biggest improvments are that you can actually score on crosses and do moves. Unfortunatley the graphics didnt get much better but they are still good graphics.
Review 13 for FIFA Soccer 08
OH MY GOD
Posted on:10/1/07
DIXONATOR
THIS IS AMAZING....I have played the demo and all i can do is hand it to the guys at EA sports. They have perfected the game so much, to the extent that i personally feel like i am in the real action of the game. The new pro camera angle is amazing. Follow your player at pitch level and feel the heat of the defender who is waiting to make a bone crunching tackle. New online mode that is going to be avaliable 6-8 weeks after the release in the US is going to allow us to play as one player on a team of 11. Camera will be down at pitch level and we can form teams on XBOX LIVE. WHO IS NOT EXCITED FOR THAT???? Nobody. More leagues. More modes. More tournaments!! Fasten your seat belts, Fifa 08 is going to take you for the ride of your life!
Review 14 for FIFA Soccer 08
so far so bad
Posted on:10/1/07
blob
a) holland has been in the recent games...as netherlands...they are one in the same. b) the player switching has gotten worse and worse since fifa world cup 06....the player switching is very frustrating on fifa 08 so far. c) shots are tough, but that's not a bad thing. d) too much assistance on thru balls, chips, etc....its all getting worse....plus the options to change assistance are horribly made. All you need is solid gameplay for a soccer game...EA was close to getting it with World Cup 06 and have gotten only worse since then.
Review 15 for FIFA Soccer 08
After playing the Demo
Posted on:10/1/07
AroByte
I've played the demo for Fifa08. I am an avid Pro Evolution fan and haven't really liked Fifa since playing Pro Evo. I downloaded the demo with the impression of lets see what joke they are going to release in 08 and I was shocked! It is pretty AMAZING! I was not expecting that at all. I haven't been able to contain my excitement waiting for the release! Dunno what Pro Evo will be coming out with next, but this will be the first time in years I will be coughing out money for an EA Fifa game!
Review 16 for FIFA Soccer 08
Great Game
Posted on:9/30/07
EpL WooT
I have played for the demo for hours on in, and I must say they really improved the game play this time around. It will also be nice to have all the leagues back, as last years Fifa 07 only has 6 leagues. I am also very interested in the "Be A Pro' mode. Also for the person who left a preview below, the reason Holland isn't in the game is because of licensing problems.
Review 17 for FIFA Soccer 08
fifa 08
Posted on:9/29/07
ernie
ok, ive played the demo and to tell you the truth, its great!!! its more difficult to control and make shots but its challenggin and there are tricks and the graphics are sick, this is a must buy game when it comes out'!
Review 18 for FIFA Soccer 08
International
Posted on:9/29/07
A Customer
I have been playing FIFA since FIFA 99 and am in love with it. But it seems that Holland has not been in the game since 99. I am a Holland fan and am hoping that this year is the Year that they reinstate Holland into the mix of the International teams. There are countries that shouldn't be in the game over Holland in the past.
Review 19 for FIFA Soccer 08
fifa
Posted on:9/29/07
kareem
FiFa 07 game play for the xbox 360 was not the best. Even regular xbox FiFa 07 game play was so much better. I understand that we need the gameplay to be as real as it gets, but not to real, because fifa o7 for 360 for example was to real. Tricks were had to create, FiFa 06 tricks/dribbling so far to me was the best of them all. How about adding in some more south american teams and stadiums from all over the world. Plus some teams from the caribbean. Club/ International teams.
Review 20 for FIFA Soccer 08
Demo
Posted on:9/28/07
El Gato
I''ve played the demo, and to tell you the truth its not that good. Its the same as fia 07 except slower. The gameplay is really slow. But i think they shoulld start making the ganes like in the opening screen of the game with Ronaldinho.
1 2 3 4 next>>