GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

NHL 08

Use every skill in your arsenal to experience the explosive power of hockey with NHL 08. Combine the elements of power, speed, and finesse like never before as you develop from an up and coming player into an electrifying NHL superstar. Use the enhanced Skill Stick to shoot anywhere on net, or check rivals into the boards as you become the league's most dominant player. With stunning gameplay graphics, an improved deking system, and innovative gameplay features, no game is ever the same with NHL 08.
Average Customer Rating:
8.333
8.3
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (28 reviews)
10 stars
0
9 stars
1
8 stars
2
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
3 out of 3100%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for NHL 08
Review 1 for NHL 08
Great hockey game.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:4/1/13
Shamus
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
NHL 08 is a great hockey game, good for both NHL fans and sports fans who may be unfamiliar with the sport. But if you are unfamiliar with the sport, or unfamiliar with hockey video games, fair warning - you'll need to practice and have patience. This game has a very realistic feel to it, but a lot of faceoffs occur, due to a lot of friction between players. This gets frustrating, but as I said, have patience. It's a fun game, and it's enjoyable above all else.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 2 for NHL 08
I'd prefer NHL 2k8
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/25/08
lacrossefreak
Well the reason I would prefer 2k8 is because it has a lot more features and better realism when it comes to how players would handle the puck. don’t get me wrong NHL 08 is a very good game but if you are looking for a game where the goalies actually play like NHL goalies then 2k8 is your answer. In NHL 08 the goalies just sit there and they never actually challenge anyone like real goalies. They never get on their backs and make the saves that they used to make in previous games. Another advantage NHL 2k8 has over NHL 08 is face-offs. In NHL 08 someone wins, but in 2k8 you have the advantage of actually fighting the computer for the puck as you would in real life. You can also do a variety of trick plays in 2k8 that you can’t do in 08. However this is just a review so to really say they both have their ups and downs but it looks like 08 would win it out.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for NHL 08
The Definitive Sim?!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/13/08
Counterbeat
This game is the definitive sim for hockey games. NHL 08 plays smooth and quick with none of the traditional hickups of frame rate associated with the PS3. The animations in NHL are a big part of creating a real hockey feel. It should also be noted that you can smoothly go from one animation to the next without being "locked in". A major inovation on the gameplay side is the adaptive AI; this means that if your always one timing the AI will adapt to shut you down. This gives you the disired effect of never playing the same game twice. Strategies that work in real life hockey will work in this game. The skill stick allows you to effortless move the puck around in an attempt to lose the deffender or the deke out the goalie. Deffending has been changed big time, deffending now is more about putting yourself in position to intercept passes block shots and setup for hits. Of course there is an indepth franchise mode to enjoy. This is absolutely the best hockey game available.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 4 for NHL 08
should be great
Posted on:9/8/07
A Customer
i think this game is going to be great 07 was realy good and from what i hear they have improved alote in 08 also just so you guys know in hockey the shots are over a 100 mph i mean i play hockey and the game wasnt perfect but it did do a pretty descent job of realism.
Review 5 for NHL 08
This Game is gonna rock!!
Posted on:9/7/07
A Customer
Well to start off the game is gonna be awesome because its the first game to use the dual stick controls on ps. ok and for the person who stated that this isnt a realistic game, ok #1 there are 100 mile an hour shots in the nhl and in the lower leagues.
Review 6 for NHL 08
ps3 version best ever
Posted on:9/4/07
go canadiens
this game will be awesome for the ps3. There r so many new features like the custom play mode and the updated create-a-player and create-a-team features r super cool
Review 7 for NHL 08
online and realistic play
Posted on:8/18/07
jay
If NHL 08 delivers more realistic play liek no more 100 mile an hour shots and screwed up blueline goals, then this game will be a hit and revive the nhl series. Also, if online play can be a bit more solid with less lag, because I found that to be a major problem with 07, then NHL 08 will stand tall to 2k8. looks liek a solid game so far, cant wait
Review 8 for NHL 08
Gonna be Good
Posted on:8/14/07
Go Rangers!
It will be a good game as long as it is realistic. there is no point of scoring on bad shots. If the online works and you can get updated rosters, this game will be the one to get, especially with the draw your own play preview
Review 9 for NHL 08
CanT Wait
Posted on:8/5/07
A Customer
I cant wait for NHL 08 becuase NHL 07 was great for the ps2 but i was disappointed that it wasn't on the ps3. I didn't like that i could score from the blue line in 07 it wasn't very realistic. I hope thats not the case in 08 i hope its got realistic play and not some non realistic play like in 07. I just hope that it will just blow me way becuase when i got 07 from having 2k5 before 07 wasn't that good and i was disappointed
Review 10 for NHL 08
rosters
Posted on:7/5/07
Aaron
i hope nhl 08 will have the real rosters, like briere on the flyers and smyth on the avs, karyia on the blues ext. bc it will be stupid with just the new rookies like malkin and semin.
Review 11 for NHL 08
About TIme
Posted on:6/10/07
A Customer
It's about time the PS3 got a good hockey game. I was disappointed that NHL 07 was not for the PlayStation 3 and I am not a fan of the 2K series. It was a solid game for the PS2 but the XBOX 360 version was much better. Hopefully NHL 08 will be much like the 360 version only better and have the same quality game play that it has had in the past.
Review 12 for NHL 08
Can't wait for NHL 08
Posted on:6/8/07
davidb69
Well, NHL 07 was great on the 360. I sold my 360 due to fear of the of the red rings of death and I like Sony better. For those that don't know, the swingstick is AWESOME!!!!! I had to deal with NHL 2k7 on the PS3, while the game was good but I enjoy the EA's version better.
Review 13 for NHL 08
Crossing my fingers...
Posted on:6/6/07
A Customer
The NHL 07 game was (in my opinion) a great game for the PS2. With the great PS3 graphics, i think this will be an unbelievable game. I can't wait till it comes out
Review 14 for NHL 08
who
Posted on:5/22/07
which player
Okay the game on PS2 was alright but on PS3 hopefullly it will be the best sports game ever and hopefully they have the new jerseys. okay i hope the gam is good but who is going to be on the front crosby phaneuf ryan milller danil briere i dont know i need to see the cover who IS IT
Review 15 for NHL 08
NHL 08 can't wait for previews
Posted on:5/19/07
Troy
NHL 07 on ps2 was good, but if EA can make 08 on ps3 like they are doing for 360 the game will be amazing. considering that there are so many possibilities with SIXAXIS controls. and enhanced graphics.
Review 16 for NHL 08
Alright Here We Go
Posted on:5/13/07
A Customer
I can't wait to play this game on the PS3. I will be preordering it and playing it constantly online. I am def. getting my copy the day this game comes out for sure. If this is going to be anything like NHL 07 for the PS3 then I am all for it. The controls were amazing on the 360 in NHL 07. I like the analog stick controls a lot. I am a big fan of that. Fighting really needs to be more realistic. Like I understand not everyone should fight, but GOALIE FIGHTS DO HAPPEN YOU KNOW and each team should have a few enforcers. Am I the only one that WANTS TO SEE THE MINORS in the NHL game. They do exist. Come on now. Let's put them in and be able to use them in a season. You should have a choice to play with the Washington Capitals or the Hershey Bears. If your not going to add the minors then you better just add the whole minor league roster to the pro teams roster. I don't think that would be a bad idea either.
Review 17 for NHL 08
SUPERSTAR MODE!
Posted on:5/12/07
Kenny Elliott
I think superstar mode for NHL would be awesome! I've been an NHL purchaser since the days of 94'. Superstar mode is a huge factor in producing more sales. Being able to at least pretend you would go through a draft makes the whole gaming experience more realistic. I agree with some of the other comments posted as well. I believe there should be a practice mode, better goalies, better stick handling skills(more moves), along with being able to score in a variety of different ways rather than just a three deke breakaway or blue line slapshot.
Review 18 for NHL 08
No Superstar
Posted on:5/10/07
A Customer
If they put in a Superstar mode i will not by this game! I don't wanna build up a fake players skills and put him on an NHL team. I wanna play hockey. I want better passing shooting and checking (the deking last year was actually fairly realistic since most players can't play with the puck like Bure was able to, i like how u were able to deke by moving ur player with the left analog stick). Anyway, EA, lets not distract people with a new superstar mode. Lets get down to the important stuff (gamplay) like it looks like ur doing for Madden 08.
Review 19 for NHL 08
goalies/graphics/penaltys
Posted on:5/7/07
cole
I like 2k7 for ps3 because you got to play goalie with the controler that was realy fun but the goalies sucked that let in goals from the blue line when it look like you were going to stop it. On the other end i liked to score from the blue line and when u did it got tipped in. I hope the graphics are better. i hated that there was like no penaltys called they should let you pick like strict normal or something.
Review 20 for NHL 08
Hope it has better goalies...
Posted on:5/3/07
Stalker Bob
the goalies in 07 were small, stupid, and it was way to easy to score from the blue line. Over all it was a good game, great graphics for the ps2 and good mechanics, but the bad goalkeeping lacked in the game.
1 2 next>>