GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

NHL 08

Use every skill in your arsenal to experience the explosive power of hockey with NHL 08. Combine the elements of power, speed, and finesse like never before as you develop from an up and coming player into an electrifying NHL superstar. Use the enhanced Skill Stick to shoot anywhere on net, deke past opponents, or check rivals into the boards as you become the league's most dominate player. With the integration of all 29 AHL teams, an improved deking system and analog checking, and innovative gameplay features, no game is ever the same with NHL 08.
Average Customer Rating:
7
7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (45 reviews)
10 stars
0
9 stars
0
8 stars
0
7 stars
1
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
1 out of 1100%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for NHL 08
Review 1 for NHL 08
NHL 08
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/21/10
hockey
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
nhl's graphics are good but could be better. The players look good but when you create your own their is only so much you can do. also sometimes it's impossible to get a breakaway goal.anyone can get knocked over. if you create your own team the game only has about 20 logo's. when you create a goalie you can't get many nice pads or helmets. one other thing you do to score is shoot on net constantly and one timers.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for NHL 08
I want 2 get this game
Posted on:9/8/07
i've got money
nhl 08 will be the best hockey video game ever and I know because I've seen all the previews,gameplays & so on in this new game you can practicaly do anything you want, you can go crazy with this game.yay!
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for NHL 08
Surely better then NHL 07
Posted on:9/7/07
A Customer
'07 was a horrible game. They changed the controls like mad.I played '07 3 times and now it's collecting dust. I play '06 like crazy still. Hopefully '08 will have improved on their online play as the servers were horrible trying to connect with people.Hopefully they have also increased the number of characters being used when making a Persona.
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for NHL 08
Nhl 08
Posted on:8/19/07
bramble
I think NHL 07 was a great game but i did not like when they came out with it for 360 they completely changed the controls for the 360 and camera angles it was not the same game played for playstation 2 i look forward to seeing if Ea Sports will go back to the old style with the right anelog stick being used for passing or if it will be for shooting like 360
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for NHL 08
the game itself
Posted on:7/30/07
the root beer king
To make this game really fantastic why not put in a mode like superstar in madden and road to the show in mlb the show it would make it a lot longer and funner gameplay experience plus it would really increase sales!
Review 6 for NHL 08
I Don't Know What 2 Choose
Posted on:7/28/07
DC
NHL 08 hopefully will be a good game. The graphics hopefully will be better than last year, and that you wouldn't go by the defense so easily, because i did difficulty on NHL 08, and i was still scoring 20 goals. these are the 3 things i would like 2 see in NHL 08: 1. Crowd wouldn't be in another world. 2. Defense would be harder. 3. There would be the real Sabres Uniforms and that all the rosters would be updated. Now 2 2k8, even though the graphics aren't that great, and the checking, the defense is tough 2 get around and the game is challenging. Also you might be getting the better game for the better price. So hopefully i will make the right descision on the game that i want to buy.
Review 7 for NHL 08
nhl07
Posted on:7/12/07
chris...
nhl07 wasnt that good it was to easy for me i want a game thats more chalenging to play like 08 but we wwill just have to see if it is good and better graphics and more chalenging!
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for NHL 08
Need Career mode
Posted on:7/11/07
steven
I really want them to make career mode. MLB has it, NFL has it why can't NHL have it. You get drafted then you can play your career in ahl and then nhl. it would really help the game
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for NHL 08
Better be better than 07
Posted on:7/9/07
A Customer
this game better be good because 07 wasn't good at all. so many careless mistakes on 07. I just found out that when i played against the flyers on 07 they called nittymaki, cam ward. They better step it up with this game.
Review 10 for NHL 08
NHL 08
Posted on:7/4/07
C-Train
you know, maybe I would buy NHL 08 if it weren't so easy, if i didn't win all the games by 13 goals it would be fun. so thats why I sold 07 and went and got 2k7, I may give up graphics, but at least it's some what of a challenge, make it harder and I'll buy
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for NHL 08
i hope it better than nhl 07
Posted on:7/2/07
duckman
I did have one problem with nhl 07, it was so easy to score goals from the blue line ex slap shots.. Please make it harder too score on the goalie.... Graphics were great... Nhl 08 i will be buying it .......
Review 12 for NHL 08
Hopefully it will be good
Posted on:7/2/07
Joe
Wow, I can't wait for 2008 to cone out. Especially since its from EA Sports. My biggest mistake was buying from any other sports brand. EA Sports always satisfies your craving for hockey. I definatly gonna want to get this for the PS2.
Review 13 for NHL 08
sweet
Posted on:6/27/07
cool
NHL 08 will be sweet with AHL teams they need to CHL teams in the OHL,WHL, and QJHL but i will also play as AHL teams NHL teams were geting so boring and i hope Nasville will move to Hamilton for and NHL team and all the good palyers like Jordan steal and i will also have Hamilton Bulldogs so get ready to rock the Houes
Review 14 for NHL 08
PSP NHL 08
Posted on:6/17/07
Kevin
Everyone NHL 08 is coming out for psp. I preordered it. anywho i do belive there will be a superstar mode....read this! "as you develop from an up and coming player into an electrifying NHL superstar. " Doesn't is make sense??? Superstar mode i belive is likely
Review 15 for NHL 08
nhl 08
Posted on:6/15/07
micky
Finally, an AHL expansion, all they need now is a "NCAA : Ice Hockey" and i'll be a happy man. I also hope they get out the glitches for the checking system because it is horrible when you get a boarding penalty while checking them back first into the boards. Last but not least i hope they make it harder.
Review 16 for NHL 08
superstar mode
Posted on:6/14/07
A Customer
i hope theres a suerstar mode, because that would be amazing being able to play as yourself and being drafted. just like maddens because those were sick.
Review 17 for NHL 08
good add ea sports
Posted on:6/13/07
iwashere
i was very happy to hear that they added the skills comp. and ahl teams every one wanted them to add it. i will be dissappointed if the graphics are like the ones last year for ps2. they need to look like xbox 360. if not im not buying it and i guess ill have to buy an xbox 360!!!!!!!!!!!!!: )
Review 18 for NHL 08
Create a Player
Posted on:6/11/07
starsfan
create a player mode needs to be awesome. I think you should be able to choose his gear from knee pads to elbow pads. If its you then YOU should be able to give him the gear YOU want him to have. For goalies you need to be able to make the designs and colors on there pads. Also they need to have a more veriety of gear. Like they should have a bunch of different brands of gear and sticks. You should also be able to choose how long there hair is not just what color it is as well as choosing the hair style. Like you should be able to have a mohawk and afro and every style. Oh yeah and the hair needs to actually stick up. NHL ROCKS!
Review 19 for NHL 08
finally PLAYABLE AHL TEAMS!!!
Posted on:6/8/07
SAL
Finally playabe AHL teams in the game !! Now in the franchise mode players can be moved up or down based on there performance in there respective leagues! Gretzky did it but the game play was horrible . i've been waiting for a long time for this! thanks EA SPORTS GO PHANTOMS!!!!!
Review 20 for NHL 08
this would be cool
Posted on:6/6/07
hi!bye!
i think it would be really cool if on game modes they had a mode where you had to beat records. what i mean by that is mike modano beat the american goal scoring record at the trashville predators arena so on the game modes they put you as mike modano and you were 1 goal away from beating the record and you had to try and score it im not saying they would just have it for mike modano they could do it for a couple people who beat records this year!i think it would be kinda fun!!!
1 2 3 next>>