GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Shin Megami Tensei: Persona 3

In Persona 3, you'll assume the role of a high school student, who was orphaned as a young boy, and has recently transferred to Gekkoukan High School on Port Island. Only days after he arrives at the school dorm, he is attacked by a Shadow. The assault awakens his Persona, Orpheus, his only chance at defeating this creature of the night. He soon discovers that he shares this special ability with other students at his new school. From them he learns of the Dark Hour, a hidden time that exists between one day and the next, swarming with Shadows that have been slowing claiming victims known as The Lost - poor souls who have inexplicably been turned into walking zombies. Under the supervision of school chairman Shuji Ikutsuki, he joins his new friends in confronting this evil threat. With your school as the primary battlefield, you'll be forced to juggle between two lives: student by day, defender against evil by night. And your greatest challenges await you on the eve of each full moon.
Average Customer Rating:
10
10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
10 stars
3
9 stars
0
8 stars
0
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
3 out of 3100%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Shin Megami Tensei: Persona 3
Review 1 for Shin Megami Tensei: Persona 3
One word, AMAZING!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/20/10
DonkeyK0ng
Shin Megami Tensei: Persona 3 is one of the greatest games to own on a PS2. You live the life of a Highschool boy who has the power of the Persona. After loosing his parents, he is shipped off to go to school at Gekkoukan High, where he meets peculiar characters that say he has the "Potential." Battling Shadows and living with the Dark Hour is not what a normal teenage boy wants. The graphics are what you say, more than expected. They are no Final Fantasy graphics, but still, amazing. The art for the cutscenes, being anime, is what keeps me attached. The soundtrack is amazing, the battle music keeps me going through the long boss battles. The story line, and if i may express my feelings for the story line, is so messed up, its almost perfect for a game. The fact that you choose the destiny makes the game even more invigorating. The difficulty of this game varies. I love the battle system, I love the character development, I love the plot, I love everything. I would recommend this game to anyone and everyone!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Shin Megami Tensei: Persona 3
Persona 3
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/29/08
persona3rocks
Persona 3 is about a high school student that starts at a new school with a bit of a bad history. The main character starts at a new dorm but when he get off the train to go to the dorm late at night everything seems to stop people turn in to coffins. He later finds out that this period of time between midnight and next day is called the Dark Hour. He finds out that why he is awake during this time is because of a power he has within himself. Along with his new dorm mates that are all in the group the S.E.E.S. He learns that they all have this special power that not everyone else has. This special power within is call a Persona. Its like another self. Along with your dorm mates you must fight the battle with the monsters in the Dark Hour. These monsters are called Shadows. Shadows are able to fight and hurt other people in the Dark Hour while people are transformed into coffins. So thats why you must stop them before they destroy all of the city, and you and your dorm mates are the only ones that can do it!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 3 for Shin Megami Tensei: Persona 3
No Fes For Now
Posted on:4/28/07
Tony
This isn't including Fes, it's been confirmed already (RPGFan, NeoGAF). Fes just came out last week in Japan, so soon before the US release of the main game that it's likely Atlus USA barely had a chance to work on a lot of it. Fes is well beyond most bonus content games come with. Maybe you'll get to visit an extra area or some new items will be added or you'll get some bonus character. Fes itself is practically the size of the main game and would require a LOT of work. Beyond which, it's being sold as a new game in Japan (if you get both Persona 3 and Fes packed together, it's not exactly cheap). Atlus USA would have to put a lot of work into it and it would be financially, well, stupid to pack them both together for $50. I suppose there's some hope that it might pop up as a separate release eventually, but what's really going to help determine that (more than anything I imagine) will be Persona 3 sales.
Review 4 for Shin Megami Tensei: Persona 3
A Complete Work of Art 10/10
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/17/11
TWEWYplayer
Location: Minnesota
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Persona 3 was the first Shin Megami Tensei game that I played and boy was I surprised. Playing this game got me into the Shin Megami Tensei series and today it is one of my most favorite series’. But I can still safely say that my favorite of them is Persona 3. Actually Persona 3 is my favorite game of all time. It is a work of art in my eyes and I’ll tell you why.
Story 10/10:
You play as nameless male main character who’s silent throughout the game. At the beginning of the game you’re being transferred to Gekkokaun High School. When you arrive in Iwatodai you notice that the sky is green and that there is coffin’s everywhere. You run off to your dorm only to be greeted by a mysterious boy. He asks you to sign a contract to move on. Then you are greeted by all of the people who live in the dorm and they tell you about your special power “Persona” which requires you to shoot yourself to unleash the power. They also notify you about the “Dark Hour” a time at which your school “Gekkukaun High” is changed into a massive tower crawling with creatures called “shadows”. This tower is called Tartarus. They appoint you as leader of the group to explore Tartarus. The group is cleverly named S.E.E.S. (Specialized Extracurricular Execution Squad). The story grabbed me from start to finish and left me hanging at several parts. The actors did a tremendous job and the story was very cleverly planned out.
Graphics 10/10
The game looks great and the backrounds look marvelous. The in-game characters look fine but the character portraits shown when they interact with you look absolutely beautiful. The anime cut scenes were so amazingly done. The shadows and persona’s all look very well done and are very detailed.
Gameplay 10/10
This is an area that makes Persona so unique. All of the grinding takes place in Tartarus. Its battle system depends on hitting the enemies weaknesses to trigger an ALL OUT ATTACK! An All Out Attack consists of all of your party members attacking all of the enemies at the same time usually resulting in killing the enemies unless they are a boss, tough enemy, or you’re just under leveled. This battle system is very unique and makes you feel really good especially when you take out 5 or more strong enemies with one attack to trigger an all out attack. You will be spending a lot of time climbing Tartarus as it’s your only source of grinding throughout the game. You need to prepare yourself for each monthly full moon occurrence and keep a nice balance between climbing to the top of Tartarus and doing things at school. There’s multiple things that you need to do during each school day. By joining clubs, talking to some people around town, etc. you will form friends by a system called an S-Link. An S-Link maxes out at rank 10 which is an unbreakable bond between you and your friend or girlfriend. You can also date girls to form S-Links but if you form S-Links with two girls at the same time you may cause a negative social link which causes your S-Link with the girl go down. You may be asking “What does a social link do?” A social link has a certain arcana and raises the power of persona’s that you create of the certain arcana. You can fuse, register, and combine your personas in the Velvet Room which is in the entrance of Tartarus and in the back of Pawlonia Mall. In the Velvet Room a guy with an absurdly long nose named Igor can fuse from 2 to even 5 personas together towards the end to create a more powerful persona. However you can only create a persona that has the same or lower level as you. It is a very addicting system with all sorts of possible persona combinations. An S-Link causes the persona to gain exp after Igor fuses it. A maxed S-Link of the fused arcana will almost always level your persona up and will cause the persona to learn new skills. It is a fairly long process to level up your personas up in combat so the S-links help out greatly. The only other individual in the Velvet Room is Elizabeth. Elizabeth can register your personas and also give you a number of requests to do with some of them having due dates. None of her quests are mandatory but can help you a lot because some of the rewards are great. She gives you yen, weapons, items, etc. for doing requests to help you on your journey. While you’re at school you also should increase your Academics, Charm, and Courage. Without some of these boosted or maxed certain people will not form social links with you and academics help you on your final minorly. At the Pawlonia Mall you buy weapons, armor, and rings for your party members. You can also fuse Persona’s and synthesis items to make weapons and items to increase your personas stats.
Sound/Music: 10/10
The voice acting in the game is top notch and it really helps out the story. The soundtrack in the game is my personal favorite of all time. Shoji Meguro is an excellent composer and a lot of his best music was on Persona 3. They do a beautiful job of changing some of the music during the changing of the seasons and depending on the situation. The music has a wide range of tunes consisting of really catchy JPOP and completely upbeat music and when you get into a darker more serious situation the music changes to the situation. The soundtrack couldn’t have been better done and Shoji Meguro is my favorite composer of all time.
Final Verdict:
Oh what an experience Persona 3 is. With its top-notch soundtrack, unique gameplay, and a story that draws you in from start to finish. I can safely say that Persona 3 is my favorite game of all time. There is no reason for any PS2 owner to not have this game in their collection. It is a must have for any RPG fan and is completely 100% perfect in my eyes. If you are a fan of the game I definitely recommend that you also get the Persona 3 Fan Book (It has a cover that says S.E.E.S. across the cover), and the Persona 3 FES Perfect Guide as they have some brilliant information in them. Persona 3 gets a flawless score: 10/10. If you own and have not already played this game get off of the internet right now and put Persona 3 in your PS2 and drop your jaw in complete awe.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Shin Megami Tensei: Persona 3
I want it!!
Posted on:7/3/07
Serph
Ive always like the MegaTen of the Atlus but all the other games they make are a waste of my money.. I loved the Avatar Tuner games and the first one I ever played was Nocturne i think? I also played devil summoner but never played the persona games tho. Ive been trying to get some on my ps1 emulator but i havent seen any so far. I hope this will be an awesome storyline. still i think that Avatar Tuner was the best game they ever made it was so fun to play too I wish they make another game about people turning into demons rather than people controlling demons...
Review 6 for Shin Megami Tensei: Persona 3
Looks Really Awesome!!
Posted on:6/19/07
doggfighter108
I've never played any of the previous Persona games (well I never even new they existed until now), but from the videos I've seen and articles I've read this game looks really freaking awesome. The story sounds interesting enough. The only thing that doesn't sound interesting is having to do school stuff during the day. I play games to get away from school not to do school stuff, but then again who knows might be more interest than it sounds. But anyway I can't wait to get this game. I'm definitely getting it when it comes out.
Review 7 for Shin Megami Tensei: Persona 3
It's so-so
Posted on:3/27/07
Cidsa
I played the japanese version of Persona 3 and it's really inferior to the first 3 (especially both parts of Persona 2). In the game you are in school and during the day you spend time doing school stuff such as pop quizzes and at night you fight demons. The annoying part is that you only have so much time at night to do dungeons before your characters get tired and have to go home. It's not a bad game, but those looking for something just like the other Persona games might be disappointed.
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Shin Megami Tensei: Persona 3
good then, better now?
Posted on:7/18/07
platinumx
I've played the second Persona in the series and enjoyed the gameplay and everything as a whole, even though the graphics were something to be desired. I loved the fact that all the characters before could switch to any persona they wanted, and weren't just limited to one. The newest installment in the series will probably be pleasing, I just hope they didn't take out many of the elements that were exciting in the previous games.
Review 9 for Shin Megami Tensei: Persona 3
Can't Wait
Posted on:6/21/07
Lumi
Atlus never fails to impress me with the MegaTen games and I can't wait to play this game. The battle system appears to be similar to previous MegaTen games and as always, the style and artwork are beautiful. If you haven't done so already, check out the various clips from the game on some of the gaming websites, whether they're in the original Japanese or English, they're pretty good stuff. I can't wait to play it!
Review 10 for Shin Megami Tensei: Persona 3
P3: Content
Posted on:4/20/07
Jimmy!!!
Heres hoping that they do what many other japanese translated games do... Include all the bonus content. Of course, a little while after P3 came out, they came out with P3: Fes, a suped-up version with 30 more hours of gameplay, 20 new persona, and more. They did it with Rogue Galaxy, Kingdom Hearts I and II, and Final Fantasy, why not do it to Persona? Everbody likes a little extra bang for there buck!
Review 11 for Shin Megami Tensei: Persona 3
YES!!!
Posted on:7/30/07
Seraphim
I can't wait for this one. I'm a huge fan of the Megaten series. Whats even better about this one is the depth of involvement you have with the story and characters. Plus, you have to juggle school (friendships, homework, etc.) and fighting baddies (leveling, fusing, missions) with a calendar thrown into the mix for events like christmas vacation and new years. I think I just drooled all over myself...
Review 12 for Shin Megami Tensei: Persona 3
Persona 3
Posted on:7/9/07
Lazerbyte
I played Persona and Persona 2 on the PS1 and I really liked the games as it was a different take on traditional RPGs. You have personas that come out and help you and you can get monsters to join you and help you and can fuse them and make your persona stronger. I recommed you get this game as they become hard to find later on and they are fun to play!
Review 13 for Shin Megami Tensei: Persona 3
guess we have to wait...
Posted on:5/3/07
devo
i've been waiting for this game for what seems like 2 years. before seeing this, i'd never played any of the persona games, but knowing that i was going to get 3, i went back and played 1 and 2, and man, if you haven't played them yet, you're definitely missing out. anyway, this game looks incredible. oh yes. it does.
Review 14 for Shin Megami Tensei: Persona 3
going to be a great Game
Posted on:8/1/07
Razor Blitz
This is probably a long time wait for me since I heard about it through a couple friends of mine. The story, gameplay, and the characters all seem to function well together. Not to mention the great soundtrack that accompanies well with it. It looks like it's going to be an awesome game throughout. Can't wait for it!
Review 15 for Shin Megami Tensei: Persona 3
gah i cant wait
Posted on:8/3/07
the other guy next to you
i cant wait for this game to come out i have been watch the previews and all that stuff about it just to calm me down a little. it sucks that it is m rated though but it has got to be worth it. But it is kinda an emo game but still get it if you like anime rpg type of games or if you like the atlus games.
Review 16 for Shin Megami Tensei: Persona 3
This game rocks!!!!!!
Posted on:7/24/07
alucard
This game by far rocks all the persona games in this series. i looked at some ingame vid's and MY GOD it looks so much fun to play. I have to say, altus has impressed me with this game. The games plot, gameplay, combat gameplay has surpassed any i've ever seen. When it comes out im sooo going to buy it.
Review 17 for Shin Megami Tensei: Persona 3
Drooling
Posted on:4/18/07
A Customer
I havent seen a Persona game since Persona 2. Hopefully my anticipation will be done justice. And hopefully there will be better voice-acting than Persona 2. Or at least the ability to change it to japanese. If this is anything like Persona 2, I'll fall in love all over again.
Review 18 for Shin Megami Tensei: Persona 3
like whoa!
Posted on:7/1/07
systris
i've never had the chance to play any of the Shin Megami Tensei series, but THIS game looks like something that i can't wait to play! the graphics, the story, the concepts. i'm all over it! my wallet's gonna hate me but my aging PS2 is gonna love me for this!
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Shin Megami Tensei: Persona 3
looks cool
Posted on:6/6/07
animedrawer#1
looks cool. really cool. so cool it makes ice look hot. so hot that it makes da sun look cold! so cold that it gives me shivers!! so cool i want dis game!!!!!!!!!!!!! A.K.A yea its cool i want dis game = )
Review 20 for Shin Megami Tensei: Persona 3
Finally
Posted on:6/15/07
Shin the Mizuri
I have been a fan of the persona series for a while so knowg 3 is coming soon only gets my heart pumping. I also love the new system for summoning and the persona only look feircer!
1 2 next>>