GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Super Paper Mario

Mario and Luigi are enjoying a lazy afternoon at their house when they hear the terrible news: Princess Peach has been kidnapped! The two brothers head straight for Bowser's castle to get her back, but Bowser is just as surprised about Peach's kidnapping as they are. At that moment, a strange top-hatted villain warps in and abducts everyone but Mario. The mysterious villain then forces Peach and Bowser to get married, creating a rift of dark energy that threatens to tear the universe apart. Only Mario can save the day ... but he can't do it alone.The newest chapter of the Paper Mario story isn't just out of this world ... it's out of this dimension. What at first glance appears to be a 2-D side-scroller ripped straight from the stylized pages of the Paper Mario universe soon turns into a hilarious dimension-shifting platformer possible only on Wii.
Average Customer Rating:
7.75
7.8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (68 reviews)
10 stars
25
9 stars
12
8 stars
11
7 stars
2
6 stars
5
5 stars
5
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
4
1 star
4
50 out of 6874%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Super Paper Mario
Review 1 for Super Paper Mario
Excellent little game
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:2/16/13
aco612
Location: Future wetlands of Louisiana
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Much has been made of the Paper Mario series as the "Mario RPG" end-all, and while there are RPG elements to the game, it is hardly as involved and deep as those I am most familiar with. What it is, though, is a cheerfully well-executed platformer brimming with cuteness and color. Don't take that as dismissive, as the gameplay may be predictable and somewhat limited but is solid and engaging. Some minor puzzle-solving is involved, and the capacity to "flip" the 2D world into 3D leaves lots of places for hidden goodies and treasure; both of which add a level of complexity and depth to the game. There is also a good deal of humor that is both accessible to new Mario gamers and those familiar with the franchise. This game may not be the pinnacle of Wii game development, but it is further proof of the very solid and entertaining quality of Nintendo's gaming division and the high level of execution they consistently provide. Highly recommended game for all ages!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 2 for Super Paper Mario
An underrated game....
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:11/25/12
JoyfulBanana
When I heard there was a paper mario game on the wii, i was excited! So i looked up the reviews, and most of them were negative.
Why, well the battle systems are different from the other games and its 2D, but you can flip in the 3rd demension with mario. Does this make it a bad game though? No Way!!!!
If you take it for what it is, you will find a quirky, fun adventure, with your favorite mario characters. I like this game, so give it a chance.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 3 for Super Paper Mario
Endless continuities
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/3/12
GooglePlusReviewer
Location: Illinois
The negative reviews that I have read are all saying that this isn't as good as The Thousand Year Door. The reason that they say this, is because it's two separate types of games. This version ties closer to the original NES Mario, but adds a lot more. This game has several puzzles that you can't beat in a day or so. I recently sold it to my regret, and about a week after I wanted to play it again. The puzzles are more direction based then logic based, and simply finding everything is extremely difficult. Just trying to unlock one extra Pixl takes a good hour at least. The storyline is intensly satisfying and the music keeps the game light hearted and open. You aren't constrained to go ahead on the next level as you were in Super Mario Bros 3. You can replay levels in order to unlock more Easter Eggs. One of the most satisfying games I have ever played and hope to continue to.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 4 for Super Paper Mario
AWESOME GAME!!! SUGESTING TO EVERYONE!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/26/12
awesoneman6666666
Location: sterling,ks
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
awesome game!!! sudgest to everyone!!the new effect is awesome!!! I have been a big fan of paper mario only for about 3 months now!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 5 for Super Paper Mario
THE BEST!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/30/12
goodacheese1
Location: colorado
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
this game is great. It is great for people who like surprises. I started wanting this game after I watched chuggaconroy do it. It has a great story line and an unexpected boss. I love this game. Who ever doesn't like it never played the whole game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Jacksonville, FL
Love It!
Posted 4/1/13
I love it! It's Awesome. I love how count bleck's name is actually blumere. The Story is great.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 6 for Super Paper Mario
DESERVES MORE CREDIT
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/20/12
nirgitybirgity
Location: Covington, LA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is awesome! The storyline is great, I love all the unlockable pixels, and all the other awsome things in the game. I probably would prefer normal battles like from PM:TTYD, but it's still a great game!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 7 for Super Paper Mario
Different from the prequels
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:9/1/12
narutopg9
Location: Pennsylvania
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
After playing Paper Mario for the N64 and Paper Mario the Thousand Year door for the Gamecube i decided to give Super Paper Mario a try. i expected similar turn based battles on a stage with an audience once you touched an enemy. instead when i jumped my first goomba i flattened it and it died instantly. yea i miss the old turn based style of fighting but over time the game just became boring to play. unlike the others where i had fun exploring and jumping into fights with enemies this one felt like a chore and i did not enjoy playing it. overall i give it a 5 because yea i didn't like the new change in gameplay but the game still wasnt bad either. Paper effects were just as good if not better
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Super Paper Mario
Good Game!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:7/31/12
Gamefrog96
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Even though this paper mario isn't as good as the one for the gamecube still it is fun. The only think I don't like about it is there is no stage when you battle an enemy. Almost as good as the other 2 though.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 9 for Super Paper Mario
A good game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:7/24/12
HypotheticallyDuffy
This game was my first introduction to Mario and company (excluding Mario Kart, which really doesn't count). I honestly can't compare it to other Mario games, but in and of itself, I think it's a great game. The story is compelling (if somewhat cliched at points), and gradually evolves as the game progresses. For example, the first few Pure Hearts you collect (you need them to unlock new worlds) simply appear after you beat the world's boss, but gaining the final Pure Heart involves the sacrifice of one of your companions (not one you play, and not one you're likely to get particularly attached to, but she and her parents still manage to give a touching speech before she transforms). My personal favorite character is Count Bleck's loyal assistant, Nastasia. She goes around Count Bleck's castle imposing his rule on the other characters with a casual, callus attitude. I'm a casual gamer, and some of the bosses are way too hard for me to get the first time through, and I've had to peek at some walk-throughs to advance from certain screens, but otherwise the game isn't particularly hard. It can be annoying to constantly switch between characters and pixls, but it's ultimately worth it.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 10 for Super Paper Mario
Good Game
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/8/12
DiZbandicoot
Location: Los Angeles, CA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I am going to have to agree with Chuggaaconroy on this. This is underrated and It does deserve more. And although the gameplay can be a bit shallow. I know a guy who hates mario but loves this game. The funny diolouge and characters are fantastic so this is a no brainer pick up.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 11 for Super Paper Mario
I like Mario games, but...
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:6/11/12
Roxas358
Location: Clemmons, NC
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
When I think Paper Mario, I think about the "Turn-based" Paper Mario 64 and the Thousand Year Door. When I figured out that this was a platformer, I was kind of like "o.k, let's see how this works". Starting out the game was very fun to play, and then at the end it got sort of annoying (curse you koopas...). Overall, this game is fun for maybe kid gamers, but to an 18 going on 19 year old guy, this is not quelching my appetite.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
2 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Super Paper Mario
BEST GAME FOR THE WII
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/28/12
Partyperson
Location: Maryland,MD
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is probaly my favorite game for the Wii. Its gameplay is awesome.In what other game can you flip into 3D and 2D? There are so many pixls you can find and use throughout the game. Even though this was supposed to be a Gamecube game i'm glad it is for Wii. 1 Paper Mario for the N64, 1 for the Gamecube, and 1 for the Wii. You should definitly get this game if you have a Wii. =) =) =) =) =)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Super Paper Mario
Why all the hate?
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/28/12
Anonymous
Location: Phoenix, AZ
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Just because this is a very different game in the series does not mean it is a bad game. It has a good story good controls but to be candid it does have its faults. They over simplified the game by removing badges and not being able to chose what your level ups give you. But it most likely was done to introduce younger kids into the series.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 14 for Super Paper Mario
Best Mario game i've ever played.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/21/12
N1ntendogam3r
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I rented this game once and loved it now i bought it and I can't put it down INCREDIBLE GAME!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Super Paper Mario
bad
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:3/15/12
reaper85
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
not worth the mario name i got bored becouse of over dramactic cut scenes that take forever to get throught
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
2 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Super Paper Mario
Lame by Far!
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:12/29/11
HeroChic
Location: nicholasville, ky
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
Most boring of a game that I've ever had to deal with. Don't get me wrong I love fantsy games and am a huge fan of "Paper Mario and the thousand year door" for gamecube/wii, and "Paper Mario" for Nintendo 64. But I sat down and gave this game a good couple hours of play time. In two hours I thought it would have been slightly fun by then but wasn't and I had even already moved on to chapter two by then. I returned it two days later, don't waste your time or money. Buy the cheaper "Paper Mario and the Thousand year door" instead, trust me.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
2 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Super Paper Mario
Great game!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/28/11
Kirbycatcher
Location: WA
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
I wanted a paper mario game. So I searched and found this great fun easy game!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Super Paper Mario
BEST......RPG.........EVER!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/27/11
Supergamer49
Location: Charleston, WV
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is a REALLY good game. I love how you can go to different parts of Flipside and go into the shops. You can also change into 3D mode and find awesome stuff. I like to do that in shops in different worlds because you never know what you might unlock! I have not yet bought but played some of The Thousand Year Door, and it was pretty good. I like this one ten times better. It is literally worth every penny!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Super Paper Mario
Extremely dissapointing.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:12/4/11
Teck
Location: Silver Spring, MD
This game is perfect for: party gamers
The 2D and temporary 3D in this game really just killed the series. I mean, you've got to be kidding! Surely the Wii can do much better than this...
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
0 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Super Paper Mario
ok and...
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:11/12/11
warfarefan210
Location: Pennsylvania
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
this is the worst mario game ive ever played.I think this game is,hard,has good graphics,and is very annoying going back in levels and trying to finding stuff.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
1 of 6 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>