GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Luminous Arc

One thousand years ago, dragons and Witches warred against God for the fate of the world. God's power was triumphant, but it was a difficult struggle, and the deity sent Himself into a deep sleep to recover from the terrible wounds he suffered in the battle. Ten years ago, the Church has proclaimed that a great event will soon occur: God will be reborn, and the world will be led into a new golden age under His guidance. However, this news is coupled with a grave warning: the Witches will soon reappear to begin the millennia-old conflict once again.Take control of the Garden Children, a group of fighters and mages trained since childhood and dedicated to eradicating the Witch threat, and discover the mysteries behind their return, their motives, and their history !
Average Customer Rating:
9.5
9.5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
10 stars
2
9 stars
2
8 stars
0
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
4 out of 4100%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Luminous Arc
Review 1 for Luminous Arc
Bewitching
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/1/10
PaperMemories
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game throws you into a plot of humans against witches. Countries have fought wars and are still at odds from the fighting that is happening between witches and humans. Yet as the story unfolds, your party is accompanied by a witch or two! As the story gets near its end, you find out who really is the enemy!
The fighting was good, and the different characters gave you a god idea of what you wanted your future party to be. I figured out pretty quickly which characters I took with me to finish the game! I loved the epic story line and the bends it took you on! It was really that hard, but if you get stuck, just gain a few level ups. Use characters that have potential to be great. Once again, I good game!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Luminous Arc
I have but one word.
Posted on:5/4/07
thePelican
I have but one word. AMAZINGGGGGGGG. This is my most anticipated game as of right now. This really looks promising. I can see loads of hours of gameplay pouring into this. There is finally a good strategy rpg coming out for the DS. The thought of making new weapons is just freakin sweet! Will there be hundreds of different combination?!?!?! I cant wait. After viewing the trailer for how many times? I lost count. But the graphics are making me drool and the magic system is looking.... nuts. And teaming up with your team is freakin crazy. I can see a powerful blow with team attacks and whatnot. Being able to play with your friends via Wi-Fi will be something else. I cant wait to leave my friends astonished with better equipments, magic, etc. I just can't wait for this game to come out. The anticipation is making me shudder. Haha. People keep a look out for this game. I'm sure it won't displease.
Review 3 for Luminous Arc
Protect the light, condemn the dark!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/29/10
CaptainGreene
Location: Somewhere else
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game feels something like Disgaea with a little Fire Emblem mixed in. It's easy to learn, easy to master. Just watch your back! Great for casual gamers.
- Isometric tactical rpg
- You start each map with a certain number of characters in battle formation.
-There's at least one good chuckle per chapter, sometimes slapstick or childish, but can be appreciated by all.
- The music is nice, and the graphics are pretty good.
- The majority of the game is voiced over, and the acting is really good, for the most part, including profanity.
- Your character's direction facing and height relative to the enemy affects their damage and hit ratio.
- Upon completion of the game, there are two options: New Game + (which allows you to start the game over but keep your high-level characters. Remember those characters who joined you after you defeated them? Now you fight them with all the spells and skills and weapons you gave them!) and the "never-ending" dungeon (which, as the name suggests, is said to be bottomless, but an in-game character mentions that it probably isn't really. This author wouldn't know, he traded it in before reaching floor twenty. He has since rebought the game in hopes of exploring further, but hasn't taken the time to do so yet. One day...).
-Characters who fall in battle are revived automatically at the end of a chapter, but can also be resurrected by certain mages at a high enough level.
- Characters automatically learn new skills and spells as they level-up.
- Kopin, the Prinny of Luminous Arc, is sure to keep you entertained.
- There's an option to save your game mid-battle, such that you can power-off the system and resume where you left off, should you need to.
The game isn't without its quirks, of course.
- Each elemental affinity has a supporting and opposing type (there are six), which affects damage and healing. Attacking with a supporting element means less damage dealt, but healing supporting elements results in lesser curative properties.
- Characters health and SP are restored every time they level up, which comes in real handy. This was removed for the second game, which changes battle strategy greatly (this is not a bad thing).
- 9/10 of the game must be played with the stylus (this also was addressed in Luminous Arc 2, which is much more button-friendly)
- Not a whole lot in the way of team customization. Each character has only one usable weapon type, and usually only one or two new weapons are available per chapter (per character).
- Grinding must be done via random encounters (which isn't terribly fun. LA2 gives optional side quests that can be done for exp and rewards).
- Relatively short (forty chapters or so, I think).
Over all, it's a fun game with an interesting story and a logical and easy-to-master battle system.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Luminous Arc
Great game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/11/13
UMgirl
Location: MIami
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I love this game so much. I randomly bought it one day because I was looking for something new to play. I am so glad I did. Get it! you won't regret It.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 5 for Luminous Arc
Pre-Order N-O-W!
Posted on:5/14/07
SteveDuderson
You know how Atlus is always printing limited quantities of their games, like they did with Disgaea? Well, that means that there's a good chance that if you don't preorder yours now, you're only going to find this one on eBay for $120. The graphics for the characters look sweet, and from the interviews with the staff I've been reading, they really put a lot of love into the voices and the text. Forget FFTA 2 and its lame "law" system. This is the SRPG to own for the DS in 07!
Review 6 for Luminous Arc
Familiar
Posted on:7/17/07
Devin Walker
From looking at screen shots on Google, game play seems to be a lot like Final Fantasy Tactics Advance. You'll likely have several characters who you train and advance through different job classes. The battlefield will be turn by turn based, where you may only move on an isometric screen. Complete with pretty good graphics, cut scenes, (and what will be an improvement over Tactics) a second screen, Luminous Arc should be a very promising game.
Review 7 for Luminous Arc
Great Game To Own
Posted on:3/24/07
Mike B
Luminous Arc is a great title that is finally making it way from Japan..This game is a stragety tactic style game. Tons of voices in this game. great game play and it will take any RPGers out there on a great story. easy to pick up and play.Thank You Atlus for bringing this Title overseas here..Other Japanese titles I bet like this I hope make it here..
Review 8 for Luminous Arc
looks amazing
Posted on:6/20/07
peach
Since i'm really picky about what kind of games i'm gonna get so i usually look into any game before i buy it. After a bit of research this games looks amazing. the graphics look good and so does the plot. The great thing about this game is that it is NOT turn based fighting styles. since i hate turn-based fighting styles this is an ideal pick for me.
Review 9 for Luminous Arc
Kill The Witches...Why?
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/7/11
JB007
Location: MA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I absolutely adore this game! As soon as I beat it and heard about luminous arc 2, I was instantly sold. I love the chess like movement in the battles, just like fire emblem. It is amazing when you later befriend all the characters and you can do joint attacks. My favorite witch is Lucia, by the way.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 10 for Luminous Arc
A strategy game with Wi-Fi in portable form? Count me in!
Posted on:6/23/07
Brandon
I honestly was at first very skeptical of this entire strategy RPG genre, but after playing Fire Emblem I really got into it. I'm really looking forward to this game, I've played FFT and for the most part enjoyed it. Now I can't wait to play this game, especially since there are Wi-Fi battles!
Review 11 for Luminous Arc
It's Going to Be Good
Posted on:7/17/07
Casso
Atlus is such a overlooked company, but since playing Riviera: The Promised Land I've realized that the quality of the titles they turn out is usually top notch, If you play Final Fantasy Tactics Advance, you'll enjoy this game, and if your lucky you'll be able to beat it before FFTA2
Review 12 for Luminous Arc
Can't wait
Posted on:8/7/07
RPG and RTS
This game sounds great. Not so much the story line from what i have heard. But it sounds like the game play will make up for that. and who knows the story might be good. I'm also looking at Heroes of Mana. i'm hoping to get them for christmas
Review 13 for Luminous Arc
Awesome
Posted on:8/13/07
Incredible I
This game looks so fun! I want to get it since not only are the unit designs cool but the story plot is somthing I haven't seen before. The fighting system reminds me of Final Fantasy Tactics Advanced (which I love) so it's on my to get list.
Review 14 for Luminous Arc
can't wait
Posted on:5/28/07
emoninja
this will be great and i would get it. i would suggest getting it early but you won't see it at $120 on ebay for at least 3 years, much like disgaea, if it even gets to that point. I want this game but I won't be running out to get it.
Review 15 for Luminous Arc
Whacked...
Posted on:8/5/07
SilverFox
Gameplay looks great as well as graphics and sound ( with all the voice overs ) but the story sounds terrible! If I am going to put many hours into a game it deffinately won't be this one. Now, Heroes of Mana is a game worth praising.
Review 16 for Luminous Arc
appears promising
Posted on:8/5/07
B.A.J.
looks good but there is one thing im worried about the characters and job system characters dont appear to be very deep and the job system is non-existent. but that is just a worry but the story, gameplay, and sound seem top-notch
Review 17 for Luminous Arc
I smell a Final Fantasy Tactics takeoff
Posted on:5/17/07
Zehydra
I've seen snapshots of this, and it looks just like Final Fantasy Tactics Advance, but for DS. But hey, why not? I'm all for an isometric rpg-strategy! Though, it could have been better if it were 3d.
Review 18 for Luminous Arc
Atlus Localization AND Wi-fi Battles?!
Posted on:5/20/07
HeMightBeGiant
So this is a tactical strategy game by Atlus, with music by Yasunori Mitsuda that we can wi-fi against other players!? I just might cry... This is now my must have DS game of the year!