GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Accessories or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Xbox 360 Play & Charge Kit Black

Recharge your Xbox 360 Wireless Controller while you play and kiss disposable batteries goodbye. Complete with a charging cable and Rechargeable Battery Pack, the Xbox 360 Play and Charge Kit is all you need to juice up your Wireless Controller - even in the midst of battle.
Average Customer Rating:
7.648
7.6
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (54 reviews)
10 stars
29
9 stars
7
8 stars
2
7 stars
1
6 stars
2
5 stars
0
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
4
1 star
6
40 out of 5474%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Xbox 360 Play & Charge Kit Black
Review 1 for Xbox 360 Play & Charge Kit Black
DO NOT BUY IT
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:11/14/10
DONOTBUYTHIS
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
At first, i liked it. Charging and playing at the same time sounds awesome. WRONG. Of course, you wont always charge while you play. you will need to charge without playing, but when it is charging, the xbox stays on, getting hotter and hotter, and if u try to turn it off it wont charge your batteries. The quick charge is WAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAYY better than the play and charge
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
24 of 88 found this review helpful.
Comments (5)
Comments (5)
Customer Avatar
XboxKid
 
Please wait while more information about XboxKid is loaded.
Additional information about XboxKid could not be loaded.
Posted 11/10/11
Wasted my time even reading this comment, 1st off no it does not heat up your console, & second of all you DON'T have to plug it up in your xbox you can plug it up into a laptop, wall charger, desktop, wii, & anything that powers on and has a usb port it will charge on, So people pay no attention to his/her ignorant comment. Works great for me
Customer Avatar
djmaxx3000
New York
 
Please wait while more information about djmaxx3000 is loaded.
Additional information about djmaxx3000 could not be loaded.
?
Posted 11/8/11
If your xbox is off, would u really be able to change anything?
Customer Avatar
ronniedonnie719
Glen Burnie, MD
 
Please wait while more information about ronniedonnie719 is loaded.
Additional information about ronniedonnie719 could not be loaded.
Top 10 Contributor
well...
Posted 6/24/11
To the previous two comments: Don't argue with a FEATURED review. Your comments are a waste of time. You are already wrong before you even start typing your response to the FEATURED review.
Customer Avatar
ju1cy1ne
Chicago
 
Please wait while more information about ju1cy1ne is loaded.
Additional information about ju1cy1ne could not be loaded.
no sense
Posted 3/23/11
Plug n play is if u need another battery pack the quick charge is for wen u already have two so ur comment was a waste of time
Customer Avatar
cddf
 
Please wait while more information about cddf is loaded.
Additional information about cddf could not be loaded.
you have something else
Posted 12/1/10
you plug it up at the side right but you can use it by taking off your phone charger thing thats attachable and plug it up on...........and you dont have to worry about your xbox getting hot........
Comments (5)
Comments (5)
Review 2 for Xbox 360 Play & Charge Kit Black
got to get if your a intense gamer
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/21/13
gamer5678910
Location: california
Age: Under 13
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I got this thinking it would not work wrong. works like a charm. I really recommend this if you hate spending alot of money on batterys. i do recommend this.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 3 for Xbox 360 Play & Charge Kit Black
Terrible Product
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:5/11/13
TheJonesGamers
Location: Jacksonville, Florida
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This is worthless. The cord stops charging after about 6 months.The battery cuts off at random times. Save your money. This is why I don't buy gamestop-brand items. Very mad.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 4 for Xbox 360 Play & Charge Kit Black
Great product
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:3/18/13
LightningDusk
Location: Kingsport, TN
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Buying batteries is a hassle, and when you're in the middle of a game and your controller dies, there's nothing you can do. With this you'll never need to buy batteries for your Xbox controller again.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 5 for Xbox 360 Play & Charge Kit Black
Great!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/8/13
TrojanStretcher
Location: AZ
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This product is amazing. It recharges very fast! The cord is very long and reaches most places. When the cable locks into your controller it is hard to accidently pull it out if someone trips over it. A must get if you play frequently.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 6 for Xbox 360 Play & Charge Kit Black
complete junk
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Design: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:12/26/12
jocko
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
It is a good design but when i am playing xbox and charging it, it always interferied with my turtle beaches X12. i got it today and hate it! Awful creation Ever!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Design: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Review 7 for Xbox 360 Play & Charge Kit Black
Lasted a whole year!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/30/12
UltraManiac9000
Location: Requiem
Age: Under 13
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I got this battery pack with low expectations, and in the end it lasted for a whole year! it saves you a ton of money because you don't have to by betteries. It broke after a year of heavy usage, and might last even longer for others. For It's very cheap price, this is definitely a must have!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 8 for Xbox 360 Play & Charge Kit Black
Won't keep a charge
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/16/12
grandbuddha
Location: Hamilton, Oh
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I bought this 3 days ago. It will not keep a charge at all. I charge it until the light turns green which means a full charge right? I guess if a full charge means 45 mins of playtime before it dies again then yes fully charged. Taking it back for a new one tomorrow if it does the same thing I want a refund and buy the nyko version which I have owned before and works great
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 9 for Xbox 360 Play & Charge Kit Black
good but can be cheaper
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:7/9/12
skullhead
Location: 92805
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
its great and all but cheap wire stops working if you dont take care of it after a year it will brake and should be 10$ dollars instead
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Xbox 360 Play & Charge Kit Black
Buy This! You will save money!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/7/12
ecaftoidi
Location: San Diego, CA
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This product is one of the best out there. You can charge your controller or you can disconnect the battery pack and play like the controller was made wired. The kit I bought has been working since I bought it a long time ago (about 5 months). If my sister's controller dies (She doesn't have the rechargable pack), then the cable can connect and allow her to continue playing until she gets new batteries. So, buy this. It will be a great investment.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Xbox 360 Play & Charge Kit Black
Don't let the negative reviews fool you...
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/26/12
OGPooh
Location: New York
Age: 45-54
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I am an extremely avid gamer, and have had two Play & Charge kits since I purchased my first 360 shortly after it released. On my days off, it is not uncommon for me to play 10-12 hours straight, and I have never had to replace one of these recgargable cells. If you don't want to leave your 360 turned on to charge your battery, the Play & Charge cable can be plugged into any USB port that has power (mine is usually plugged into my DVR's front USB port). For me, the Play & Charge kit is an absolute must have... I don't have to continuously buy batteries and I don't have to stop playing to charge up.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
xXTERMIN8RXXx
 
Please wait while more information about xXTERMIN8RXXx is loaded.
Additional information about xXTERMIN8RXXx could not be loaded.
Posted 11/22/12
Curious... could you confirm if you could use the play and charge kit for PC gaming as well? That would be excellent.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 12 for Xbox 360 Play & Charge Kit Black
Okay
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:6/14/12
LinkedBridge5
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
For the first year or so but after ward it just started disconnecting and i couldn't charge it i would use battery's as the better option.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 13 for Xbox 360 Play & Charge Kit Black
Junk, Don't buy it
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Design: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:5/11/12
AVD89
Location: Dallas, TX
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I bought this like month ago and working well, now it will charge no more. Piece of junk. Don't buy it.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Design: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
thesammyxboxwiz
portland,oregon
 
Please wait while more information about thesammyxboxwiz is loaded.
Additional information about thesammyxboxwiz could not be loaded.
good
Posted 5/31/12
just plug it in your computer and let it charge
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 14 for Xbox 360 Play & Charge Kit Black
Very Very useful
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:4/24/12
ShadowPayaso
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
this is probably one of the more useful accessories for my xbox. its annoying to constantly buy batteries but now with the kit, i have saved so much money. also, when im not charging my controller with the rechargeable batteries, i can hook it up to another controller and use it as a non-wireless controller. highly useful
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
7 of 8 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
GrandpaGamer
Cleveland, OH
 
Please wait while more information about GrandpaGamer is loaded.
Additional information about GrandpaGamer could not be loaded.
Really good product
Posted 6/12/12
I think that this is a good product because I don't have to buy a wired controller and NO more batteries. The cable that comes with the kit is long enough for hours of play time. The great thing also is that you can plugged the cable to your PC and charge the controller that way and if you have the software to use your Xbox 360 controller as a PC joystick, once again NO wired controllers you have to buy. Very good product.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 15 for Xbox 360 Play & Charge Kit Black
Not worth it
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Performance: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:4/9/12
illest
Location: San diego
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I dont know what's wrong with it, i check my battery, it says 3 bars, then it dies in two minutes. Works fine for a couple of days but its useless after that.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Performance: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Xbox 360 Play & Charge Kit Black
One of the most useful accessories EVER
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/5/12
Scorp1on1337
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Get this. You won't regret it. Batteries running low? Just plug in and keep playing. Most useful when playing COD, Halo, and other games like it.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Halo Reach Limited Edition
9.6 out of 10(100)
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Xbox 360 Play & Charge Kit Black
VERY USEFUL!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/1/12
Scorp1on1337
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
If you get this, you won't need to go buying AA batteries for your controller. I highly recommend this to any Xbox 360 player!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Halo Reach Limited Edition
9.6 out of 10(100)
 
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
XxR4G3xK1LL3RxX
 
Please wait while more information about XxR4G3xK1LL3RxX is loaded.
Additional information about XxR4G3xK1LL3RxX could not be loaded.
terrible
Posted 3/31/12
well, for the first couple weeks it worked okay then afterwards, it started not working unless i had it at an angle. same with all my friends, i'm pretty sure it will happen to everyone!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 18 for Xbox 360 Play & Charge Kit Black
pretty cool
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/10/12
gamerk
Location: Puerto Rico
Age: Under 13
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
It's really cool I can charge my control while I play kinect so its ready when I play something else.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Xbox 360 Play & Charge Kit Black
Amazing
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/3/12
CaptainUnderpants
Location: Seattle, WA
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I bought one of these well over two years ago, and just today it stopped charging. After two years of many extended gaming sessions, it finally decided its time had come. I don't know whether it's the port on my controller which broke, since I've had the controller for four years, but no matter the case, this product is absolutely worth the money.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Xbox 360 Play & Charge Kit Black
Love it
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:11/27/11
Gatordavon
Location: carthage,tn
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I bought this a couple of weeks ago and it works great.When you are in a game of black ops or mw3,your batteries are going low all you have to do is plug it up.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>