GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Mario and Sonic: Olympic Games

The historic sports action face-off of the video game industry now comes to the Nintendo DS indual-screen glory with new DS-only features! Utilizing the Touch Screen and stylus technology,players will make their favorite characters - including Mario, Sonic, Luigi, Knuckles, Yoshi andTails - run faster, jump higher and compete like true champions. Up to four friends can connectwirelessly and compete for the much sought after gold medal in actual Olympic events fromtrack & field to swimming in the ultimate showdown between Team Mario and Team Sonic.
Average Customer Rating:
8.308
8.3
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (56 reviews)
10 stars
4
9 stars
3
8 stars
4
7 stars
0
6 stars
1
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 out of 1385%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Mario and Sonic: Olympic Games
Review 1 for Mario and Sonic: Olympic Games
Best game!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/1/09
Mariohoopsfan10
WOW!!! i always wanted this game cuz i love sonic,mario AND sports! i didnt buy this game at first cuz mario hoops 3 on 3 had a rating of 10.0 and this one had 8.0 . so i returned mario hoops 3 on 3 and got this one and boy is it good! some of the events are pretty hard to get hang of ( like swimming, running, ect.) but they are fun at the same time.the easiest and the most fun game is hammer throw. the trampoline one is pretty hard because of the curve thing but probobly not for you. cycaling is kinda hard because you have to get the stamina all the time.fencing is pretty neat. table tennis is really fun too( the second easiest and most fun game) cuz it can go on and on and on forever.the jumping thing is kinda hard cuz you gotta make sure you dont make a foul. the rest, youll have to find out. so if your decideing wheater to get this or not, i recommend it. dont get fooled by the ratings.:)
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
9 of 9 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
sammuel
 
Please wait while more information about sammuel is loaded.
Additional information about sammuel could not be loaded.
Posted 1/30/11
it is cool
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 2 for Mario and Sonic: Olympic Games
sega's getting creative
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/10/11
1012killer
Location: Atlanta, GA
mario and sonic at the olympic games is pretty much.. based on the live olympics (Hence the name) and most events require the use of your stylus. if you don't have a stylus, you won't get far in the game (same goes for mario and sonic at the olympic winter games). the up-close character graphics are nice, however, i noticed that over in the bleachers in any event (not Dream events), the chao and shy guys and etc. look like... GBA sprites? and the minigames in the gallery are just too easy (got a high score of 98 in one level of that minigame where you control a shell and hit the goombas). The gallery is however good for learning facts about the olympics (though some are obvious, like the "The olympics never happened in which continent?" question).i I can tell that sega did do voices of the characters perfectly. Then, there's plenty of stuff you can do in the game, especially winning awards, or setting the world records for every event. couldn't they have added a story mode (though i can't think of any good storyline for this game).
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Mario and Sonic: Olympic Games
Mario and Sonic at the Olympic Games
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/25/09
Proffessor Game
In this review I will discuss every part of the rating above. Camera Angle: Great. Controls: Awsome controls. They use the touch screen in a new and fun way. Interface. Would not change a thing. Statistics: When shown the stats show everything needed in a simple organized way. Challege: Many of the events are hard, but they are all fun at the same time. Graphics and Animation: Really good. Sound: Good enough Team/ Player Variety: This aspect of the game is so cool. Many characters from both Mario and Sonic makes this game amazing. Special Additions: Cool multiplayer mode and 24 events to be played. Also several single player modes available. This game got a 100% on the rating. I have not found a flaw yet in anything. Great game and I look forward to getting the winter games addition.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Mario and Sonic: Olympic Games
Excellent Combination
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/10/11
Rockfancy
Location: Maryland,MD
This game is perfect for: party gamers
This game is a game that i will never forget. For a ds game, the graphics are pretty good, the gameplay is fun, and the minigames keep you playing this game for a long time.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
7 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Mario and Sonic: Olympic Games
It's about friggin time!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Posted on:5/20/07
M.S. Gamer
Ever since I played Sonic Adventure 2 Battle for gamecube and played Sonic the hedgehog 3 for Genisis and ever since I played Super Mario Bros. 3 for GBA and New Mario Bros. for DS, I was a Sonic and Mario fan. Both characters are doing marvelous, well, Sonic slowed down a bit, but he's still in my heart. Now here they come together. I've imagined that for a long time, but I never thought it would ever happen. But why did they take so much time to crossover. Nintendo and Sega could of fused a long time ago. I mean, after Sonic went to Gamecube in 2001, It seemed to be the perfect time. Oh well, better late than never. And there are signs that this game is going to be good. We all know that Mario games are usually good and since this game is for the DS and the Wii, Sonic has done good for the DS (I'm lookin at you Sonic Rush) and the Wii (Sonic and the Secret Rings). So this is a must have for Sonic fans, Mario fans, or both.
Review 6 for Mario and Sonic: Olympic Games
Only if you like other Mario games
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:5/17/08
justdoingtyme
I recently bought Mario and Sonic: Olympic games. It's okay, not something I would spend hours playing or even suggest it to other people unless you enjoy other games of the same nature. The colors are good, the game concept is good, the price was good, but I just think it's a repeat of all the other Mario games, just a new fling. The sound is what you expect with the DS system, the music can get to you after a while like any other game. I like that they have a few levels of getting to the stage you want, you can practice and practice until you're ready to move on. I also liked the idea of being able to touch the screen to move on to the next screen. Overall, it is a good game, Mario is like the lost cousin... you know he's there when you just feel like messing around without thinking much of what you're really doing. Don't get me wrong, everyone loves Mario and his gang. And this game... they are there!
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Mario and Sonic: Olympic Games
I liked it
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:6/22/08
LPadres
I bought this 5 days after it came out and it is so much fun. You have a lot of games to play and you can play which ever person you want. Some parts of the game are annoying because they repeat themselves over and over again. Another annoying thing is that you have to do a lot of stuff to get new games. For instance, you can play a lot of games and get gold medals in all of them and you still wont have a new game. You have to play a tournaments (i cant remeber the name) in which there are several of the games you have and you have to do them all, beginner,intermediete, and advanced. Each one has 5 cups and beginner has 3 games in each cup, intermediete has 4 games in each cup, and advanced has 6 games in each cup. When you get a lot of these cups you will get new games. This is one of the games that you can't techincaly win. Yoyu can get gol medals in all of the games and you still dont win. There is no storyline so there is no story mode. You just keep playing the games like in nintendogs. It is a fun game and I would recommend it to all of my friends.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 8 for Mario and Sonic: Olympic Games
Awesome
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:7/6/08
sportswhiz14
One of my favorite DS games ever. When I first got it, I had no clue what do to on it. But the in-game directions cleared that up. The only reason I would not recommend this game to people is because of the jump events and the vault. These three events require exact precise movement, which I don't exactly have, so I got very frustrated with them. Yet this is a game that you can pick up any time and enjoy it. Even if you are playing as a weak wimp like Peach, Daisy, or Tails in the hammer throw or a fatty like Wario or Bowser in the 400 meter, you still have a chance to win. Long story short, players excel at any event. If you are a young player to this game and you see the huge Olympic and World records, don't be intimidated. With practice and skill you can make your own record. This is a great game.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Mario and Sonic: Olympic Games
BEST PARTY GAME EVER!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:8/2/08
Z-chimp
This is probably one of the best ds games I have ever played! From its remarkable graphics, to its amazing touch screen controls, this game has it all! There are sixteen characters,(half from Mario games, and half from Sonic games.) There are many events, like long jump, vault, and trampaline, as well as dream events in which all there charecters have a remarcable power called special move. This game also includes a fun mission mode where each charecter has six missions to complete in different events. If you complete all six, you will earn a special bade called an emblem, and the face of the character you beat mission mode with will be on the badge. You can also play wirelessly on ds connection or wi-fi and compete against your friends. This game is great fun by yourself or with a friend.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Mario and Sonic: Olympic Games
Mario and Sonic rules! :)
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:11/11/11
daBHguy
Location: Mesa, AZ
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This was a very good game. My only issue is the fact that some of the characters incertain events looked weird.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Mario and Sonic: Olympic Games
its fun!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:9/7/11
pacmanlover
Location: USA
i love mario and sonic games so a had to buy this after seeing it on TV i loved it at ferst and played it all the time but after i played it a little it got a little old. i do come back and play it now and thin i love to play sord fighting ginastices and Deam raceing its fills right and is fun to play it has fun mine games and good music so if u like the olimpices or are wanting a fun cross over buy or rint it! i do have to say the winter olipice is a little better and thay are macking a new one for the wii and 3Ds so if u like this one look out for mario and sonic at Londen olicpices!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Mario and Sonic: Olympic Games
Nice
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/26/11
dolphinboy
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
This game is good because the tornement is fun and I love the events in it.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Mario and Sonic: Olympic Games
Sweet
Posted on:6/17/07
Nine-Tailed Naruto
Well I think that it will be good for the kids or adults or whatever who like sport games. And any TRUE Sonic or Mario fan would like this. Nintendo and Sega should of combined together a long time ago in the first place. But making them in the olympice is even better. I mean what a better place to compete against your rival. I plan on getting a DS soon and this will be on of the first games I buy. And if I dont like it I can return it and, well, all is good. But sonic would beat Mario in an instant in a one-on-one battle. Speed beats strength any day. If Sonic faced Mario he would race around and totally beat him up. Mario couldnt even keep track of him. I also think that they should put the Sonic characters in Super Smash Bros. But I rate this game an overall 9 out of 10.(Even though I havent played it yet.)
Review 14 for Mario and Sonic: Olympic Games
Hope it's cool
Posted on:12/5/07
S-Man
Hopefully this game will be as it is on the Nintendo Wii Entertament System and if pepole are asking who would win I think that mario would be good at the jumping because he's the jumping superstar am I right? And of course Sonic will win at the running I mean he can run faster than a race car! so really it's up to you who wins am I right or am I wrong preview by S-man my name will never be found out!!!!!!!
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Mario and Sonic: Olympic Games
Hmmmm
Posted on:9/3/07
Knux07
I think this game is gonna ruin the whole Mario vs Sonic thing. This'll be weird since everyone argues about it but it is better not knowing and imagining the outcome of the battle. Also, Mario vs Sonic in a tied race? Sonic can run at super sonic speed and what can mario do? grow twice his size or eat mushrooms? they also put eggman as a playable character,which looks stupid since you always find him flying in his machines or just plainly sitting on one not runing in a olympic games race track. The main reason of because i'll buy this game is because im a Knuckles fan and a sonic game fan...
Review 16 for Mario and Sonic: Olympic Games
Could've been alot better.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/22/11
Daftendirekted
Location: Lancaster, CA
This game was very average I felt. The graphics and sound were ok, especially for the DS, but the gameplay wasn't very good. I kinda wish there were more sports. There were a good amount but this is an Olympic Games Game you know. The controls were ok I guess, but I wish they were more interactive. I did like the selection of characters, although I stayed mostly on the mario side. I wouldn't really reccomend it, but you might have better luck with it.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Mario and Sonic: Olympic Games
This is the best1
Posted on:3/29/07
spongebobalibird
I cant wait for this game to come out! I am a huge Mario and Sonic fan. I found information about this game at aim.com. It comes out during the holidays. Here is some stuff about it. the games are based on the olympics for 2008. Mario's team is mario, Luigi, and Yoshi. Sonics team is Sonic, Knuckles, and Tails. There will be snowboarding, and Swimming. This is for DS and wii. I have both but i think i should get this for the wii because there is motion controls and it is more real than a touch screen. Any way i cant wait!!!
Review 18 for Mario and Sonic: Olympic Games
Knock our socks off
Posted on:5/31/07
Noob
Mario and Sonic on the same game for the first time ever!!! That in itself is really exciting. I only hope they can deliver the quality of game everyone is expecting. This is a big first for the videogame world if you ask me. They need to go all out for this one. Just your average game could leave fans from both parties let down. If this game goes over well, I'd like to see nintendo invite Sonic into the next Smash Bros. game. Speaking of that, where is Smash Bros. DS!? Deliver please.
Review 19 for Mario and Sonic: Olympic Games
Going Too Far
Posted on:7/15/07
Gamer
Sonic and Mario together doesn't sound right. Making this game is going to mess up these characters stories. I love both the characters games but combining them without telling things (like how they both get to our world and are allowed to compete in the Olympics). Also Sonic is probably going to be stript of his speed and other abilities (or at least have them tuned way down) just to make it fair. I hope the game will have a good story and not alot of sport mini-games also.
Review 20 for Mario and Sonic: Olympic Games
I'm a big Sonic fan and boy does this sound good!
Posted on:4/23/07
Sonic girl
I think this sounds so cool! I'm a big fan of Sonic and I like mario games so this thing is going to be awesome. I mean for years people have been trying to put Sega's all-time favorite mascot and the italian plumber together and they're finally doing it! I really hope my all-time favorite Sonic character Amy is in there, (though I doubt it...) Still, I'm definitely getting the game! Who knows? Maybe they'll come out with another Sonic-Mario crossworld game one day!
1 2 3 next>>