GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

WWE Smackdown vs Raw 2008

WWE Smackdown vs. Raw 2008 lets players develop the WWE Superstars of today into the Legends of tomorrow. The #1 wrestling franchise in the world delivers more depth and strategy with prominent new features, key annual enhancements and incredible graphics while making its much-anticipated debut on three new video game systems. It's time to live the life of a Superstar. How will you play?
Average Customer Rating:
8.7
8.7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (85 reviews)
10 stars
10
9 stars
4
8 stars
2
7 stars
2
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
17 out of 2085%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for WWE Smackdown vs Raw 2008
Review 1 for WWE Smackdown vs Raw 2008
WWE Smackdown Vs. Raw 2008 For PS3 Takes A Big Step
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:8/24/08
King Of All WWE Games
WWE SmackDown! Vs. Raw 2008 takes a huge step up from the other SmackDown! games. While this game is missing features on Wii, DS, and Xbox 360, and is a huge disappointment on Playstation 2 and PSP, for Playstation 3 its just opening the door for the rest of the other WWE games. Just like every 1st wrestling game on each system, it has its kinks and mistakes but overall the game is decent for the first time on Playstation 3. The game's graphics are amazing (Love the sweat effect, and the fire!), the game play could use a little work but other then that its great, the unlockables are great, The special moves are a big upgrade from Playstation's and Playstation 2's, and the online game play is AWESOME. Overall this game is a big step up from PS2 to PS3, and as the years pass I know that the game will improve, with better matches and more people as long as the fans keep asking for it (I know I do!!! lol). THQ did great for the first year on PS3!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for WWE Smackdown vs Raw 2008
The Best SVR Game Ever
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/24/10
SVR King
WWE Smackdown Vs. Raw 2008 had something that was better than the rest. The developers were geniuses. First, the Hall of Fame Mode was challenging and if you won one of these Hall Of Fame matches, you would feel like a king(or queen if you are a girl.) Then, the unlockables were cool. For example, The Rock and Steve Austin will always be unlockables. But Vince McMahon BALD? Now, you could beat him up AND laugh at his bald head! Then, the graphics were sweet. The overall attributes were cool too. Extremely accurate. The Story Mode was the best. It was the first game to have characters from ECW. 2009 was missing a lot. To me, it was the worst SVR game ever. So, 2008 is a great low-budget game for $*****. 2010 is awesome too, but I don't have $*****; I only have $*****. I will be getting another $***** video game, but this game would be my first choice.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for WWE Smackdown vs Raw 2008
ECW!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:10/10/10
vm12
Location: brockton
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
great game, good graphics, good fighting styles. good game mostly because of ECW
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
8 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for WWE Smackdown vs Raw 2008
Nice
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:1/18/12
Alfadog
This is a good game for wrestling fans. not all of the favorite legents are on here, but you can always create them.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
brown34
memphis
 
Please wait while more information about brown34 is loaded.
Additional information about brown34 could not be loaded.
wwe2008
Posted 6/23/13
i had this game it is good and they have reealy old ledgends
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 5 for WWE Smackdown vs Raw 2008
Finally SVR comes back to playstation!!!!
Posted on:5/29/07
Shawn
I am one of the biggest fans of wrestling in the world. From what I have seen so far SVR 2008 looks pretty much like last years version on Xbox 360(which was the only reason I bought a 360). I am anxiously awaiting SVR on the PS3 as they have redone the moves and added ECW which is a very promising start to making this the best wrestling game to date. I do hope they make it where you can upload your own music on the game for entrances and fix the CAW where you have a lot more options like in previous SVR's. I am sure they will leave something out like they always do but I am also sure it will be the most amazing wrestling game to date as well. It would be nice to finally have Vince McMahon as a playable character so you can break out a can of whoop ass on him. I hope they bring lots of Legends to choose from, maybe even have the 4 Horsemen as some legends to choose from, and of course you gotta have D-Generation X in the game.
Review 6 for WWE Smackdown vs Raw 2008
Some minor issues but still a great game
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/4/08
Corvus
Greetings. Let me start out by saying that first of all, this is the first SvR game I've played on any other system other than PS2. Overall, I really enjoyed the gameplay. The general manager mode was pretty good (except for the fact that you couldn't use Tommy Dreamer). I did not like the controller figuration that came standard with the game, definately preferred the PS2 figs. I felt that the characters were top notch with pretty much everyone I could possibly want at the time on the game. I loved the unlockable characters, but I found the Hall of Fame mode to be completely unneccessary. Now when it came to career mode, I could NOT stand the story mode for playing as a superstar. This might have been just me, but when I'd have to make a decision, more often than not the other characters' responses as well the repercussions of the decision were the opposite of what they should have been, like I had chosen the other choice. Overall, I loved the game, it just could've used a little bit of tweaking. I can't wait for SvR '09, hopefully they've taken care of some of my issues.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 7 for WWE Smackdown vs Raw 2008
WWE SVR 2008
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:7/28/12
DJP23
Location: UNITED STATES
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
OMG THIS IS ONE OF MY FAVORITE WRESTLING GAME I MEAN IT HAS ALLL KINDS OF WRESTLERS. SOME STILL WRESTLE AND SOME DONT. MY FAVORITE PART OF THIS GAME IS THAT YOU CAN CREATE YOUR OWN TITLE SPINNING OR NO SPINNER. I HIGHLIY RECOMEND IT.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for WWE Smackdown vs Raw 2008
I LOVE PS3 and the WWE!!!!!
Posted on:5/11/07
Shawn S
I must say that SVR has never let me down as it continues to get better and better each and every year. I bought an Xbox 360 last year (which I never really wanted) just because SVR 2007 was only gonna be on the 360. Well I got my PS3 and just itching to get my fingers on the latest edition of SVR. I believe this will be the best one yet, just hope they try to get all the superstars that are in the WWE on it and leave no one out. I hope they go all out with the legends and put many to choose from, wouldn't it be great to see the 4 Horsemen on SVR. I mean come on they are the group that started it all when it comes to DX or the NWO. I dont know what all will be on this one but I have seen all the latest updates from the net and graphics and gameplay seem to be great as always. I suggest you pre-order yours today cause they will go quick.
Review 9 for WWE Smackdown vs Raw 2008
Does? it have the correct entrance creation?
Posted on:5/13/07
ferrari2728
SVR has always been good games and their creating modes hav e gotten better over the years but since that the PS3 has a hard drive and other things can be saved so it aside from games, while creating an entrance, will we be able to use our own uploaded music for an entrance theme. The Creation modes have always gotten better as i said but there have always been a few things that bothered me. Like sometimes there have been some stupid things to choose from for costumes pictures and whatnot. If they would eliminate the stupid things and put in better suited material that would rock. Not to mention if the soundtrack didn't suck so much. Some...actually a lot of the music over the last couple of games hasn't been that great. Its basically the creation modes and the season mode stuff. If those get fixed, people will be saying "MADDEN who?"
Review 10 for WWE Smackdown vs Raw 2008
Wow!
Posted on:9/11/07
wwefan
This is gonna be the best wwe game ever! but why is the collecters editon coming out like 4 days before this 1? jeff hardy has been confirmed in the game and so has mvp and cm punk. i hope that london and kendrick are in this and hornswoggle should come out of the ring during a match with finaly. and supposivley you can choose 4 weapons for a match like sandmans kendo stick triple hs hammer steel chairs barbed wire and other fun stuff. svr 08 has new and improved wrestler animations and entrances. i saw a video with rey mysterio and i think he changes suits every time you play as him. ECW announcers are in the game (joey styles and tazz) along with jr and king from raw and michael cole and jbl for smackdown. they need roster updates every time a new superstar comes to a brand. svr 2008 shows promising results for the 2008 wwe season
Review 11 for WWE Smackdown vs Raw 2008
Good game terrible unlockables
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/22/14
KnightTime
Location: New York, NY
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
This game is good the controllers aren't as good as other ones but the unlockables are terrible with no legends
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 12 for WWE Smackdown vs Raw 2008
Best Console Debut Ever
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/19/11
MrPinky
Location: San Antonio, TX
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game has to be the best debut for a franchise on a console. The gameplay is very solid with quick and easy controls. The A.I. is appropriately challenging (something that has been lacking for the newest wwe titles) and provide a good, solid match. The sound is excellent with the moves of the wrestlers (ex: when a slam is executed you hear a thunderous impact of the opponet hitting the canvas). This game is one of my favorites in the SvR franchise without a doubt. The only real problems with this game is you can't use ECW superstars in 24/7 mode and that there is a relatively small roster of (just guessing) around 40 something wrestlers. Overall it's a great game especially for this cheap price. It is definitley a buy................. p.s. Don't Forget to add me on psn ID: wrestlingaddict0
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
kewlgames
Chicago
 
Please wait while more information about kewlgames is loaded.
Additional information about kewlgames could not be loaded.
Good game
Posted 2/23/12
Good game. Roster can be a bit bigger. Add me i love wrestling games my PSN account is zzz333v111
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 13 for WWE Smackdown vs Raw 2008
anxious waiter!
Posted on:8/17/07
Eddie Shotsberger
hey anxious waiters! i hope that in the playstation 3 version, you can play your own custom soundtarck and in create mode, you could choose a song for your entrance theme from your custom soundtrack. i beg to god himself that The Big Show is in SVR2008 because i love big show and always use him once each smackdown game comes out! plus: bring back bra and panties and fullfill your fantasy match, those were pretty sexy and cool and even fun! hell here are some good match types that aren't in any other smackdown ever released: i quit match, texas bullrope match, (although it only happened once in WWE history) punjabi prison match. and hell put the 25-foot ladder in the SVR2008 game, that would be jeff hardy style! well good luck on the wait, November 13th, 2007 can't get heere soon enough!
Review 14 for WWE Smackdown vs Raw 2008
One of The Greats
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/19/11
jantheman
Location: PA, New Cumberland
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is truly amazing.The graphics were truly awasome, Truthfuly its The best
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for WWE Smackdown vs Raw 2008
Can't Wait.....
Posted on:4/8/07
Andrew. W
I played every WWE since 1993-present, I am really excited about the new WWE Smackdown vs. Raw 2008. If it has ECW in the game that would top off everything....if it does, the name could be called "WWE Smackdown vs. Raw vs. ECW. I'm really excited that theirs going to be new wrestlers, making the wrestlers look real, new moves for weapons, and very cool entrances. New Wrestlers I'm hoping to play is Jeff Hardy, Cryme Tyme, Highlanders, Paul London and Brian Kendrick, The Miz , Shannon Moore, Montel Vontavious Porter (MVP), Kenny Dykstra, CM Punk, Sabu, and the Sandman. I like the General Manager mode so much, I hope they keep it....The best thing about WWE Smackdown vs. Raw 2008 is the wrestlers entrances. I'm going to buy WWE Smackdown vs. Raw 2008 this fall which is coming soon......
Review 16 for WWE Smackdown vs Raw 2008
AWESOME
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/2/12
dhwsujrhs
Location: Detriot,MI
just a perfect game to ply its smooth awesome and fun i like it. but without a dought GM mode is the best
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for WWE Smackdown vs Raw 2008
GREAT game!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/1/11
Luisluis
Location: Rialto Ca
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Awesome SvR!THE BEST Svr probably.Cool 24/7.Awesome GM mode.Cool fighting skills.TNA sucks
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
TheBestCarter
Florida
 
Please wait while more information about TheBestCarter is loaded.
Additional information about TheBestCarter could not be loaded.
BEST WRESTLING GAME SO FAR ?!
Posted 7/24/12
This game is awesome it does not have ever thing that the present wwe games have but its 24/7 mode rocks THQ BRING BACK 24/7 MODE ROAD TO WRESTLEMANIA SUCKS!!!!!!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 18 for WWE Smackdown vs Raw 2008
BEST in the Series
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/18/11
SpryngzCx
Location: Brockton, MA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
By far the best WRESTLING game ever... GM Mode was the best. To bad u could add more Titles Divas (sholdve been DLC) I CONTINUE to play it over the other games!!!! =}
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for WWE Smackdown vs Raw 2008
smackdown v.s raw v.s ecw need i say more??
Posted on:5/4/07
southernG619
wrestling is and art , when you take it beyond the ring and into a virtural world , then you know you have achieved legend status, i am 27 years old and have been a wrestling far since hogan bodied slam andre the giant . they had me amazed then , they have me amazed now , and they will always keep me amazed. playing the gamr with the created player mode is the closest i have ever came of living my dream, the smackdown vr raw series is the best and gets better every november, graphics, and the power behind it all is the reason i alone got my ps3, no other reason!!! (except for final fantasy) but im a smackdown vs raw for life. 1 love
Review 20 for WWE Smackdown vs Raw 2008
Backstage wanter!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Posted on:6/28/07
Eddie shotsberger!
hey there smackdown vs raw 2008 anxious waiters just like me! my biggest hope for SVR2008 is that there at least 20 backstages that you could just roam through and wrestle the heck out of eachother and take that vefry stupid KO move out of backstage fighting!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! i love backstage and backstage in SVR, SVR2006, and SVR2007 SUCKED! it's like smackdown just bring it and smackdown shut your mouth and smackdown here comes the pain had outstanding backstage arenas and then when SVR came out, backstage started to get suckier and suckier! i really want backstage and that is all i got to say about SVR2008!
1 2 3 4 5 next>>