GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Rock Band - Game Only

Developed by Harmonix, creators of the blockbuster Guitar Hero franchise, Rock Band is an all-new platform for gamers to experience music, giving players the chance to rock in the shoes of the biggest guitarists, bassists, drummers and singers of all time - as a solo superstar or as part of a hard rocking band. Rock Band delivers four music games in one - challenging rockers to master lead guitar, bass guitar, drums and vocals. Built on unprecedented deals with top record labels and music publishers, the music featured in Rock Band spans all genres of rock and includes many master recordings from legendary artists.
Average Customer Rating:
8.308
8.3
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (75 reviews)
10 stars
4
9 stars
5
8 stars
2
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
1
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
11 out of 1385%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Rock Band - Game Only
Review 1 for Rock Band - Game Only
i think this game is awesome
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/31/10
LoneWolf37
Location: Port Washington Oh
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
the sound is great the graphics are awesome and the songs are great
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Rock Band - Game Only
i understand i am a musician
Posted on:11/15/07
FLuSH
i understand you guys complaining about thinking it's wastefull to play a fake guitar when it is much more satisfying to learn the real thing i play guitar and i understand believe me, but come on guys like others have said it is just a game besides even though it is just a few buttons it develops good hand eye coordination and timing which i believe would help anyone trying to actually learn how to play, just like driving games help a person be prepared to learn to drive easier i mean come on was anyone knocking GTA cause you weren't really killing people? like you should skip the game and just buy a real gun no i don't think so and in this game the drum set seems pretty real and the mic actually judges your singing pitch so i think there is some reallity to it.
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Rock Band - Game Only
Better than Guitar Hero?
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:10/30/09
bobson
I am still a fan of GH's songs and controllers, but the atmosphere of RockBand is awesome, I love team-based games, and this one is the most fun with a bunch of friends at parties! Whip out the microphone and your in for a few great moments. The guitar is not as easy (for me) to control as the GH Les Paul or Xplorer, but hey, I just plug up my GH controller and play all the songs on RB. It really gives you optimal customization of your characters and band "career." Providing a good variety of songs, from pop to grunge and everything in between. So, is RockBand a better option than Guitar Hero? Overall, I'd say yes. I still love GH's songs and controllers, but Rockband definetly wins on the customization and overall multiplayer experience.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Rock Band - Game Only
won't disapoint
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/30/11
AngryLime
Location: Wisconsin
This game is perfect for: party gamers
This obviously was the first game in the series , and the first game to introduce the "drum Controller set". It was an instant hit, even though a lot of the original drum sets were not very durable. But the music setlist is very good, both for younger and older genterations. Plus they offer so many songs to buy that i can't even count that high!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Rock Band - Game Only
Guitar Hero is WAY better!
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/8/08
Agent Lemon
Rock Band's singing ain't half bad, but drums and guitar just suck! I play expert on singing and easy on drums just because of the stupid footpad, guitar is a little more complicated. On guitar hero I can play on expert but rock band has such crappy responsiveness i have to play on medium. Also the bottom of the guitar is such a stupid idea. If any thing they should have made it part of the original game. Both sound and video are so off (by two or three seconds) that getting a one hundred is nearly impossible. Also the frets on the screen are terribly hard to see, sometimes I miss notes just because I can't see any notes. Guitar hero is so precise and pinpoints all of the notes while, well, what does rock band do? It just doesn't respond properly. All in all I'd definitely recommend guitar hero over rock band. Oh, and did I mention the price?...Yeah that's what I thought.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Rock Band - Game Only
Great Game!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/27/10
DeclanDrums
Location: Frederick, MD
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Got this the day it came out, it was better than guitar hero by far because of the songs and the fact it had drums. This game is amazing and don't put it down because it came out a couple years ago so what if the graphics aren't halo. Great game and I recomend it.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Rock Band - Game Only
Just have some fun people!
Posted on:11/15/07
Nightfox
I love reading the idiots who have these holier than thou attitudes like "Go buy a real guitar, I think it is funner anyway". People have fun with this, even the actual rock bands out there enjoy this game, and if you are so damn good at playing the "real" instruments, why are you waisting your time writing comments for a game and why aren't you out trying to land a record deal? Everyone should just have fun, I play the keyboard, but I still love playing these games because it takes you out of reality and lets you play songs that you have grown up loving or songs you love now. It isn't stopping anyone's creativeness in fact it has only made my songwriting more creative, because you start listening to every part of the song, not just the lyrics. I think these are the best things to happen to video games, it gets you up and moving instead of slamming on buttons all day.
Review 8 for Rock Band - Game Only
Best Music game ever!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/17/08
Mista Mista
This game is the best music game ever. Guitar Hero 2 may stand up to it but not Guitar Hero 3.I mean guitar hero 4 on tour looks pretty good but with rock band putting out new songs like evry week or so and guitar hero comming out with songs like once a month it pwns it truely it does. Rock bands drums are great but the foot pedal takes a lot of abuse so becareful with that. The mic. is very cool when singing the who, and iron maiden is great. During Won't get Fooled againthe synthisiser break ends Pete Townshend actually jumps and slides on stage like in concert. it is very reallistic .Most of the songs are preformed by the original artists. Then there is the hardest song called greengrass and high tides which is so hard on expert on the guitar. Then Run to the hills on drums in almost imposible, but some people can beat it. So truely it's the best music game ever.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 9 for Rock Band - Game Only
Best music game ever!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/10/11
ArenaPro
Location: San Jose, CA
This is my favorite music game in the world. It has a great song selection and if you get bored with the songs then all you have to do is go to the rock band music store and get more! The graphics are awsome and the sound is beautiful! This game is fun to play alone but is really awsome when you play it with friends and family! This game is great for parties or to anyone who loves music!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Rock Band - Game Only
GH is better, but barely
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/13/10
SgtSpud
Location: Denver, Colorado
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I think GH is better (only 2 and 3) because of songs, but not by far. This game has alot of great songs perfect for anyone (but "through the fire and flames" by Dragonforce tops off GH3). I reccomend you get this game if you like GH 2 and 3.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Rock Band - Game Only
Great Game, Bad Hype
Posted on:11/13/07
Jester8652
This game looks great and has a great premise. But there has been a bit of negative hype surrounding it... First off, dont buy the package off Ebay, its only the demo. The game doesnt have all the songs, plus it only comes with a guitar that only reads up strokes and a drum set with no kick pedal and wired sticks. Second, the sound of you actually hitting the pads is quiter when the sound is up and you are actually focusing on the song. And finally, the people singing in all of the previews we have seen suck, we know this. But by no means does that mean that the in game singing is bad. So for everyones sake, dont sing if you suck. I will have this game on luanch and will be looking for bands, im willing to do everything, especially sing... GT: Jester8652
Review 12 for Rock Band - Game Only
this game is amazing
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/20/11
legoman01
Location: okc
This game is perfect for: party gamers
this game is perfect for people that cant play instermaents
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Rock Band - Game Only
Disagree with everyone here.
Posted on:10/23/07
MikeP
I am in a band and it is very stupid to say go play a real guitar etc. if you want to buy this game. Music in general is very hard to play or sing. for one. 2. Its just a game. If you guys look at it as people trying to play for real or that it teaches kids its easy. then I guess you also think that if you play half life you might as well put it down go buy a gun and a space ship and kill everyone including but not limited to aliens.lol Play the game have fun and if you decide you want to play for real in a band cool. By the way those five buttons are not as easy as you might think to play. I actually find it harder sometimes than playing my gibson.
Review 14 for Rock Band - Game Only
RB not GH
Posted on:10/18/07
Argo29
Seriously, think about it. You saw what happened with GHII. They made all the songs and never made any downloads so you just got those songs ( they made rock the 80's but not for 360) GH has around 70 tracks but I dont think they put much into a big DLC line up. On other hands look at RB. You get more for just alittle bit for money. Add up all you are getting and ya it blows GH out of the water. Yes you only get around 40 soundtracks. But they put aside about 2 million dollars for DLC. They will have weekly downloads. It is thought to be like itunes where you cen even get whole albums. Make the right choice! Rock Band all the way!
Review 15 for Rock Band - Game Only
noone cares tht its a game
Posted on:11/13/07
guitar hero
alright you all need to calm down, I don't think anyone thinks that playing guitar hero/rock band is the same as playing guitar. What guitar hero did for me was get me out of liking rap which i now relize was a big mistake and it got me into playing real bass. I still play guitar hero because it is fun. GH and rock bands are both games that are fun and noone cares if you play a real guitar, i happen to play both a real instument and a plastic one that hooks up to my xbox and i think both are fun. Also whoever said that people will laugh at you if you say you are good at GH is wrong GH skills demand respect among everyone i know
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Rock Band - Game Only
Awesome
Posted on:4/9/07
Billy Bob Jimson
This game will be awesome. My friends are always talking about how cool it would be to have different instruments, and now this is coming out. I hope it has tons of different kinds of songs, specifically metal. (Metal haters, don't say anything. I will ignore it. You have your opinion and I have mine) The only bad thing about this will be the price, since each instrument is sold seperately and pretty expensive for each one, including the game. If I do happen to get this game and all the instruments, I'll probably be switching between all of them, mostly on guitar or vocals.
Review 17 for Rock Band - Game Only
looks sick!
Posted on:7/17/07
mason
i saw this game in gameinformer magizine, and i saw it on E3 07 Live on G4. It looks the same as guitar hero, only with more fun, bass, drums, and mic. Online looks awesome. you can make your own band, name it, and have your own logo...awesome!!...if someone could write a preview telling me, if you know, if when you sing on the game you have to sing on key. instead of just saying the words at the write time. plz someone i need to know cause i can't sing!....and if someone knows if their will be a demo somewhere..(like at bestbuy) thanks people!
Review 18 for Rock Band - Game Only
Great.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/25/11
MrNinja
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is way better than Guitar Hero, mainly because of the setlist and the customizability factor. There are 58 songs on the disc, with more than 1,000 in the music store. All the songs are fun and most of them are preformed by the original artists. It is far easier than Guitar Hero. The setlist includes such songs as "Black Hole Sun" by Soundgarden, "Gimme Shelter" by the Rolling Stones, and "Run To The Hills" by Iron Maiden. The only problem with this game is that 15 of the songs cannot be played on Easy mode.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 19 for Rock Band - Game Only
here a suggetion they should do
Posted on:7/31/07
metal4life
this and guitar hero 3 will be both good no doubt about it.They should make it more "real" tho.Im not saying its not fun but it is fun that is guitar hero 2.But for this and guiatr hero 3 they should make it to you actualy have to use an actualy string guitar and not only you could play your guitar out side of video games and you could play it on video games.You know what i mean.It would be a good idea because you could learn how to actualy play guitar and maby even tune it.But its just a suggestion.
Review 20 for Rock Band - Game Only
Not worth it....
Posted on:10/22/07
A Customer
ok, so lets say you wanta buy this game and the guitar controller. Thats 140 bucks right there, why not just buy a cheap REAL guitar and learn how to play? if you become good at guitar, people will respect you, if you try to tell someone that you don't play guitar but can really shred on rock band, they'll laugh at you. When the game and the equipment get so expensive, it probably will be cheap to buy a cheap guitar and some learning books.
1 2 3 4 next>>