GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category

Product Reviews

The Golden Compass

The Golden Compass is an epic action adventure game that immerses you in the magical parallel world of the $150 millionbudgeted film from New Line Cinema, the studio behind The Lord of the Rings trilogy. With its AAA cast, including Nicole Kidman and Daniel Craig (the new James Bond), the story follows Lyra's heroic journey from the safety of her home to the dangerous wonders of the North. Armed only with a truth-telling compass, and accompanied by a giant armored polar bear named Iorek, the game takes you on a journey of adventure, exploration, collaboration and discovery.
Average Customer Rating:
3.5
3.5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
10 stars
0
9 stars
0
8 stars
0
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
1
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
0 out of 20%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Golden Compass
Review 1 for The Golden Compass
Can't wait!!!
Posted on:6/14/07
A Customer
I read the entire series and found it a lot of fun. Never in my wildest dreams did I think it would become a movie or a video game. Its great to see good literature being made in to video games. I'm curious to see how game play with Lyra and Pan works out. The idea of having a spirit animal or Dæmon was fascinating. The people in this world all have a Dæmon, which is there soul in living form. It talks to them and as a child the Dæmon is a shape shifter. Only when the child grows up does it decide on a permanent form. Humans and Dæmon can't be separated and causes physical pain or death to do so. Well the books are great and I would recommend that anyone read the series before the movie cause we all know how Hollywood can change the best of books. Hopefully the left this one intact like they did Lord of the Rings for the most part.
Review 2 for The Golden Compass
Movie game
Posted on:11/19/07
MovieGamer
I've played my fair share of movie games. Some have been pretty good (Godfather). Some have been terrible (Eragon). And some have just been stupid (Willie Wonka). BAsically past experiences lead me to beleive that a game based off a move based off a book either; A, will completely loose touch with the book (which i loved) or B, will be just awfull. However I hope that this game can capture the imagination of the Golden Compass, and keep me entertained for about 5 hours. If it can do that then I will definetly buy this game.
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for The Golden Compass
HOW BAD CAN IT GET?!?!?! DO NOT BUY!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:11/27/10
kolobok
Location: New York, NY
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
This game is horrible! no special techniques for the bear, all you do with the girl is trick people, dodge people and look at symbols! this was a waste of money! DO NOT BUY!!!!!! SERIOUSLY!!!!
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for The Golden Compass
Not a good thing.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:10/22/11
cypherrahl2003
Location: Hope, AR
This game is Not a good example of what a game should be. I first bought this game on the PSP because I am a fan of the book. Later, I rented the PS3 version to see how mush the consoles expanded on the game. Much to me disappointment, the console version is EXACTLY the same as the handheld version. While the story follows the movie (not the books) pretty closely, the gameplay and graphics are really repetitive and boring. Do not buy this game! If you feel like you MUST play it, RENT it first!
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 5 for The Golden Compass
please read!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Posted on:11/27/07
007
the movie the book are very against god in the book they kill god and adam and eve are the new god they are VERY antichristian please do not buy this game stand up for your religion and dont go see the movie or buy the game or book
4 of 43 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for The Golden Compass
hopes are high for the golden compass
Posted on:5/20/07
A Customer
the game is bassed on one of the most famous and fantastic fantasy trilogys of our time iorek is a absoluly massive armored undefeatable tank polar bear lyra capable of amsing thing using the althimeter and they have awesome daemons which are essentially the person soul revealed this game will be among my list of games i have hopes for aalong with heavenly sword lair stranglehold assasinscreed mgs4 dmc4 mercs2 and the darkness
Review 7 for The Golden Compass
what???
Posted on:6/30/07
A Customer
ok...ya i read the books to they were great and im glad they made a movie out of them because i was really hoping they would, but a video game...come on. this is almost as bad as when i found out they were making an office (like the tv show) game. what exactlly are u gong to do??? i dont think this is going to be a good game but the movie should be great!
Review 8 for The Golden Compass
Good stuff
Posted on:11/29/07
Average Joe
The book was awesome, the movie looks good, can the game live up to it? I hope so P.S. I say 007 can have an opinion but please do not tell other people what to do based on your religion. Anyway here's hoping for good reincarnations of a great book!!!
Review 9 for The Golden Compass
Kiddie Game?
Posted on:5/20/07
Monique
The graphics seem to be pretty good, however the story line and the fact its a movie/novel based game make me think its going to be sub-par. Hopefully I'm wrong but I think I will rent this one before I buy.
Review 10 for The Golden Compass
Fireplips
Posted on:5/20/07
Nonconcenseasaurus
This game looks like a cross between fifa 98 and major league baseball for nintendo, with a little bit of mario thrown in, simply fantastic.
0 of 1 found this review helpful.