GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Eternal Sonata

On October 17, 1849, Frederic Chopin, one of the most influential composers for the piano, succumbed to sickness and died at the young age of 39. Three hours prior to that, in the world according to this RPG, Chopin saw a dream of a fairy-tale land populated by people with incurable diseases but also magical powers. Eternal Sonata takes place in this dream world. Chopin comes into contact with Polka, a young girl who resides with her mother in the village of Tenuto. Polka is near her death, and Chopin, Polka, and her young friend Allegretto as they look for some way to make use of Polka's great powers to help save her. It's a whimsical fantasy, but this RPG designed by developer tri-Crescendo also a complex and combo-based battle system of swords and magic weaponry. In keeping with inspiration, music and story play a big part in Eternal Sonata. Performing the piano numbers that Chopin left to the world is Russian pianist Stanislav Bunin, with musical composition by noted game composer Motoi Sakuraba. challenge other gamers on Xbox Live®.
Average Customer Rating:
8.783
8.8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (26 reviews)
10 stars
12
9 stars
3
8 stars
6
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
1
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
21 out of 2391%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Eternal Sonata
Review 1 for Eternal Sonata
Eternal Sonata Review
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/24/08
xXGamerXx
OK, when I first bought this game, I thought, is this really going to be a good game? I myself am a musician, so I thought it would be a good game. After I started to play, I couldn't ever stop. I really never beat it, but I know that it's one of the best games I've ever played, or maybe the best. I really like the music in this game, because all of it is mostly of Chopin's music. It's incredible. The battle system keeps you hooked, and who doesn't want that? I know I would like a good battle system. The only thing that really bothered me was the short movie scenes about Chopin. It has nothing to do with the story. It's kind of upsetting, but the game makes up for it by giving you a good time. Sometimes, you could put down the controller, or just sit there, and listen to the music. My favorite music was when the battle started, during the battle, and when you win the battle. I know, its funny, but its the truth. That's all I have to say about the game! ITS A MUST HAVE RPG!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 2 for Eternal Sonata
Eternally Yours
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:11/30/08
Sealightbreeze
Overall, this was an exceptional game. The game play has a high rated value. You can battle monsters in both the light and dark. Depending on which area, and monster it is, they can transform and change with the day/night time. The character design was really cute. There are so many brand new characters at first, but they each have their own distinct personality. They are each so cute and distinct. Recently, this game was re-released for the PS3 with two brand new characters among other things that have been added. The battle system in the game is really fun, and is also well thought out. I like how each character has a musical name. The game time and game play is high. I think that it ranges between 30-40 hours. If you want to find every single item and extra in the game, it can last a lot longer. If you want this to be a gift for someone, they will be very happy to receive this game. I would have to rate this game a 9/10 or a 8 at the lowest. It is sure to bring smiles to other people's faces.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 3 for Eternal Sonata
The best pure-RPG on the 360 to date.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/31/11
Dinner
Location: Middleburg, FL
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
By "pure-RPG," I mean the classic RPG in which the story trumps all. Where your first stop in every new town is the weapon/armor shop to fully upgrade your characters. Where you fall in love with the characters and the game's scenery makes it feel like an escape into a fantasy world. Fallout and Oblivion are "Free-form RPGs" and their experiences are dictated by the adventures themselves. Neither Oblivion, Fallout, or Fallout: NV had great stories that hooked you, although they were all amazing games. I just had to clarify that because Fallout and Elder Scrolls are RPGs, just not the kind that Eternal Sonata is. ES is easily the best pure-RPG on the 360. Besides Polka and Chopin at time, all of the characters are lovable and you'll find yourself feeling sad for Viola and Falsetto, yet laughing at the antics of Salsa and Beat. Allegretto will have you rooting for him and you will really hate Count Waltz as the game progresses. The game, like many J-RPGS, tries to teach life lessons with ridiculous metaphors, although I find this entertaining and with good intention. Even the coldest heart will feel for Polka being shunned and for her hometown being driven into shambles by the mineral powder sales. The game is fun all the way through, although the fighting does get harder as you go through the game. The fighting system gives you less time to act and think later in the game, but it also introduces combo chains and with the right planning and equipment, you can do unimaginable amounts of damage, which I love. Any RPG player looks forward to the point in the game where all of your hard work pays off and you turn into a combat god, even though the game's characters still treat you like you're an average person in the story. To get all 1,000 gamescore, you do have to play through the game twice and the game's enemies have more health and attack the second-time through, but in all honesty, I loved playing it again. Your characters keep their levels and equipment and you can get new equipment only available the second time playing it. Most notably is the Sun Sword for Allegretto which makes every hit a critical hit. Yeah, match that up with equipment that gives you double combo hits and you really are unstoppable. This game was a gem and it was very overlooked, along with Tales of Vesperia. Any RPG fan would love this game and the 1,000 gamerscore is very easy and possible to get, if you're into that sort of thing. My friends and I all have all 1,000. You won't be disappointed with this game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
13 of 13 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
MonsterHunter
Denver,CO
 
Please wait while more information about MonsterHunter is loaded.
Additional information about MonsterHunter could not be loaded.
Eternal Fan?
Posted 4/21/14
Good review, very good review. What you typed makes me want to get the game even more. This was very helpful!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 4 for Eternal Sonata
Truly Eternal
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/14/08
Treble
When I first saw the preview for Eternal Sonata in my copy of Game Informer I figured I would like the game due to the fact that it was being released by Namco Bandai. A couple days after it was released I rented it and invited some friends over to play with me. The controls were a bit odd at first but once you got the hang of them they stuck like glue. The story was pretty original and the characters acted just like you would expect them to. The graphics really stood out in my opinion I really enjoyed seeing the cell-shading on the environments and the characters. The battles were pretty good as well. When your turn was over you also had a chance to block or eventually counter the enemies attacks which gave you something to due besides watch the enemies. Overall I really enjoyed the game, the fact that it was multiplayer just made it that much better. I can't wait to play the new version on my PS3.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 5 for Eternal Sonata
Great Game, period
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/29/11
granitefox
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
When I saw this game on the shelves I decided to buy it, because a friend just told me how wonderful it was and recommended it. When I first started playing it, i took some time to get used to, but later, after the prolouge and etc, it became one of the best games I've ever played. The gameplay and action is exciting as you get through things called "party levels", which as you progress, makes the game slightly more hard. But the cutscenes are amazing. They have so much thought in them, and draws you in to reflect about yourself. The music is the best part of it, though. By Motoi Sakuraba, (excuse me if I got his name wrong...) the music fits into each situation perfectly. From mellow and soft to hardcore and, well, epic, the music helps you stay in touch with the game. Plus at chapter intervals, you learn about Chopin's life, explaining mostly with music pieces he had created. All in all, I think this game is for those people who're not into harcore shooter games and epic themes or whatever, but someone who enjoys a philosophical adventure, JRPG, and a laid-back calming game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Eternal Sonata
Eternally addicting.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/21/10
Ryuna444
Eternal Sonata was shorts than i expected but worth the money. I became addicted with the game quickly with the unique fighting style, beautiful graphics, and the unique characters. However, the character names aren't very unique they are named after various things related to music - specifically sheet music and most like piano keys. The storyline was generally good accept for the constant history stories of Fredrick's life. The unique attributes to the game are score pieces - easy ways to get free items. Although in the stores throughout the game , which there isn't many, weapons and items are cheap. You can easily gain money from photographs that beat can take using his special attack. This game was generally good. I'd give it a 9/10. It has it's ups and downs. I beat this game pretty quick. probably around 25-35 hours of gameplay. i was rather sad when it ended.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 7 for Eternal Sonata
Solid RPG
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/14/08
GamerX
Eternal Sonata, if you haven’t bought it already, is a must buy for any RPG lover. It has a very unique battle system that you don't see on most turn based RPGs. You’re given a certain amount of time for your turn and you can basically do what you want with your character to move him or her on the battlefield either toward the enemy to make an attack or away to create a good defensive strategy. It is also multiplayer which is another rarity for RPGs. It’s a lot more fun to beat up fantasy creatures with your musical instrument weapon of destruction with a friend :). The graphics and sound are pretty darn impressive, and the interface / controls are very easy to get use to, even for people who aren’t use to playing turn based RPGs. The storyline is the selling point of the game though. It’s almost like finding that perfect movie/book and feeling like your right there with the characters. The only problems I had with the game is its not that challenging and there’s not much along the lines of customizing your character but it still has plenty of entertainment value. If you’re still unsure if Eternal sonata is right for you at least rent it to try it, you won’t be disappointed.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 8 for Eternal Sonata
Enternal Fun
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/1/08
Kingdomkey101
I am a JRPG (Regular and mmorpg are good to) fan. this is the first RPG game for the xbox consoles that I actually enjoyed playing. I thank Microsoft for putting out high quality RPGs on there system (only took them 1.33 generations). The music I would have given a twelve if possible (It's the best I have heard in a game). The story needs a sequel, due to the ending (while 30-40 minutes) not addressing major points. The story is very good though. The environment and character designs are beautiful and are far above another game out for this system (cough blue dragon cough). the battle system is easy to do, but near impossible to master (Thankfully you don't have to master it to beat the game). The characters and voice acting are good, believable, and funny. The controls are responsive and forgiving. there is going to be a PS3 special edition of the game, however it is still TBA (as of April first 2008). so count on another year or two for that, they are planning more playable characters, cut scenes, system that changes appearance with weapons and armor and of course more weapons and armor pieces. In conclusion if you like RPG (especially JRPGs) pick up this game it's well worth it.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 9 for Eternal Sonata
Amazing.....until you get to the end....
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:5/1/10
Travis Touchdown
I'm just going to say it right away, i loved this game so much....until i got about two hours away from the end. Now everything before the end was truly fantastic, interesting storyline, the greatest combat system i've ever played in a JRPG, the characters, the premise, all of it, loved every single thing. Granted there was a lack of sidequests but it honestly didn't matter to me. I tore through this game in a couple of days, loving every second i spent with it. Just as things started to get interesting the game took a....very bad direction. I was twenty hours in, everything was starting to come together and then you meet the main villain. I figured the game was falling into the cliche RPG thing where you fight the main villain a few times before eventually meeting him at the end of the game. No, you freaking kill him the first time you meet him. I was flabbergasted at this, but then it got worse. His assistant drinks some magic potion, turns into a dragon and rips a hole in space to another dimension. NONE OF THIS IS EVER EXPLAINED. I won't bore you with what happens next but i will tell you the story basically ends at this point, there's only one movie sequence left but quite a few hours of gameplay still. What killed me was that no one said anything about what happened, the characters ceased to care apparently because no one said one word about what had just happened. To conclude, it was a fun ride but the destination was not worth it.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
3 of 8 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
aiRbkwrds
San Jose, CA
 
Please wait while more information about aiRbkwrds is loaded.
Additional information about aiRbkwrds could not be loaded.
The end...yeah.
Posted 9/15/11
I loved the game. The graphics are great and it was a lot of fun to play...then you get to the end and all I had to say was, "huh?" I was so disappointed that it kind of killed the rest of the game for me. Sounds bad, I know, but that was how I felt and I am usually not so critical about RPGs, but this one...IDK. I guess it's just one that you have to try.
Customer Avatar
Tgr1012
 
Please wait while more information about Tgr1012 is loaded.
Additional information about Tgr1012 could not be loaded.
What?
Posted 1/30/11
Unless the PS3 version is DRASTICALLY different from the 360 version (which could be the case and if so I apologize), I don't understand your comment. Not only does the main villain NOT die during that battle, you DO fight him again. and the potion is explained VERY well throughout the game. In fact, its the main focus for the villains the entire game. It was a good ending to a great game.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 10 for Eternal Sonata
Awesome gameplay but never really finished
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/18/12
NinjaPotato
Location: New York, East Setauket
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I had absolutely loved this game from the start but at the end when **SPOILER* after you fight Fredrick and then polka jumps off but is saved by the agogos,**SPOILER OVER* it just kinda stops there. It never tells you about what happened with the mineral powder or anything they even went to forte to do! Otherwise, this game was absolutley perfect, and there are tons of save spots so you can have multiple games going at once and you can play as many times as you want. You can also opt. for multiplayer battling so you can go through the story and when you battle, three people can play at once (or two and somebody can controll two people while the other controlls one). So other than the hanging story line, this was a phenomenal game and i would reccomend it for anybody.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 11 for Eternal Sonata
Chopin fun
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/11/09
Jebtheone
As a lover of classical music, I couldn't wait to get my hands on this game. The soundtrack is beautiful and the world's are lush and colorful. The art f this game was simply fantastic. The storyline was engaging and I never got bored while playing. The game is a little on the short side but the game is designed for a second play-through. Gameplay was great. The challenge level on the first play-through is a little lacking. The second play-through however, is a lot harder. The character's are what you'd expect except for Chopin, who turns this game into something completely different. I also loved that at the end of every chapter, you got to learn a little more about Chopin's life. Overall, I would recommend this game to RPG lovers and Action/Adventure lovers. 9/10!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 12 for Eternal Sonata
not bad
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:8/30/08
final fantasy man
This game isn't that bad of a game. It has great gameplay and a good storyline for those who care about the storyline. It starts off at the deathbed of famous composer frederick and as he is on his deathbed and he is having a dream of a world that seems real to him. The sound isn't all that great and the challenge of the battles is easy as long as you train and equip the good items to your characters. The length of the game is not all that long and the story is easy to learn. The controls are also easy. The graphics are okay and the character customization is okay but it does help in a battle. The interface is pretty good. I guess i would recommend this game to people who can stand rpgs like me or to those who are just bored out of their minds.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 13 for Eternal Sonata
WOW A FUN RPG
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:5/11/09
EXPLOITER MASTER
ETERNAL SONATA really set the bars of rpgs to date.I played this game 5 times last year.SQUARE ENIX SHOULD KICK IT in GEAR FOR THE NEW GENERATIONS of RPGS LIKE NAMCO BANDAI.From beginning to the end this game is fun,a 9.5 in the greatest of rpgs books.Unlike Blue Dragon,Lost Odyssey,and Infinite Undiscovery,the game is till fun to play after ending it.The graphics is on point with 360,but I don't know about the PS3 version though.The storyline ain't to complicated and mixed,it's just great.The controls aren't to hard to get.The length is a good 50 hours on average of great awesomeness.The music is not manly,but it do have a good beat to it in certain situations and at periods of times in battles.The game is a must need for RPG COLLECTOR FANS.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Tenuto07
 
Please wait while more information about Tenuto07 is loaded.
Additional information about Tenuto07 could not be loaded.
Amazing game
Posted 10/15/11
Although the game has been out for a few years, I just got an xbox a year ago. My cousin has told me about this game and said it was very interesting. I have really never ever heard of this game or what it was about. She let me borrow her game when we bought it for her as a christmas present and at first i was all like, yeah ok, this is a bit fun… and then when i met all the characters and their backgrounds, it became the most insane epic awesome game in the world. and thats not just because i love music. this game really made me think about Chopin's life and stuff and i even did a project in english class about him.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 14 for Eternal Sonata
Better than anything Square Enix can pull off
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/16/09
Fierfokz
I have no Playstation, PS2, 3, or PSP. At first, I only has the Wii and DS, which barely, as far as I can see, have any good RPG games.Then my brother got an XBOX360. As you know, it's mostly known for it's shooter or sports games, both of which I shun. So, to make use of this new console, I went searching for a game that suited my likings.And Eternal Sonata is a dream come true. Challenge- Most would think of this as easy. But as you level up, the monsters get harder. For bosses, and I experienced this myself first hand- you have to make sure you're a decent level, or you stand no chance. Such as, instead of settling for level 20-22, bump it up to 24-26. It's worth the effort later in the game.Characters- I love how every character is different. Polka, the peace-maker, Frederic, the dying composer, Allgretto, the town thief... And many more. They each touch you in their own special way. And their equipment is all different. No one has the same type of weapon as another, and some weapons have an add-on that helps you or has a setback to the major bump up in the attack stat. Same for their garments. Do they just give you a bump up in defense stat, or do they also raise your attack? And then the extra items, such as the Lace veil and the pocketwatch, that raise your health or give you more time in battles. There's many accessories to explore and mix and match with to create the strongest characters.Controls- I could not ask for anything better. You can change normal "Attacking" from A to B, and they utilize each button on the Xbox360 controller. It's truly fascinating. And it does what you want, like if you just want to keep attacking, just keep mashing, and it'll do it. There's no lag at all in the game, and you can pause during the game at ANY time. Even during a boss battle. Say goodbye to, "Hold on, guys! I gotta finish this battle!". And I love the echo system. Every time you hit, it bumps up a little. Each character has a different way of hitting. Do they hit fast? Slow? Alot? It's amazing.Graphics- Sure, their hair isn't realistic, or their clothes don't show every little stitch, but it's better that way. It fits with the style. Sure, realistic is nice, but sometimes the characters just look downright weird when they are. Each special attack has a different look and different looking echo before it. The cutscenes look like the normal game, but it doesn't affect the greatness of it. The scenery is gorgeous, no place looking like another in any way. Each dungeon is different, no same pathways with just a different look.Interface- All I can say is just.... Wow.Length- Though if you played it right, it went sort of fast, it seems much longer. You can take as long as you want, finding every chest, fighting every monster, buying every upgrade. It's how you want to utilize your time before you fight a boss.Sound- Not only can you control which voices to use, be it the english or Japanese, but it's not all just "UGH UGH UGH" or "AHHHHHH~!" Every monster and character has a different saying, different voice, different sound when you attack or defend. It's truly amazing.Storyline- The storyline was simply amazing. There are so many twists and turns and surprises that will knock the wind right out of you and leave you speechless. I've heard people say it's stupid and girly and such, and sure, it may be, but so what? The storyline really pulls you in. It's not the same "OH I HAVE TO KILL MONSTERS AND SAVE THE WORLD AND PEOPLE HAHAHAHAH." At first, you're just a group going to ask Count Waltz to lower taxes on other things than just mineral powder. But then, you get involved into a huge, complex story where it seems nobody can be really trusted. It's truly breathtaking, a refreshment from the same old SAVE THE TOWN/SAVE THE WORLD hero heroine thing.I know I overused "Amazing" alot, but it's truly what describes it the best. Amzing, gorgeous, and breathtaking. Truly worth ever
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
4 of 8 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
bloodplus19
 
Please wait while more information about bloodplus19 is loaded.
Additional information about bloodplus19 could not be loaded.
Posted 12/11/11
thank u for describing every rpg ever created....u shud play more rpgs
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 15 for Eternal Sonata
Better than an enema, but barely
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:10/12/09
PershonWon
I had high hopes for this game. I tried the demo, found the controls to be fairly fluid, but not enough to buy it. Instead I rented it; I am glad I didn't buy it. This game is awful, awful, awful. Sure, there are lots of high points, but you will find the terrible battle system beyond tedious and borderline torture. Throughout the game you "Level up" your group. What does this mean? You have less time to act, less time to make decisions, less time to locate enemies, and you spend even more time simply desiring to throw your controller through your TV. (I recommend you not do this) I did enjoy the Chopin cut scenes, but even being a lover of music you won't want to spend the hours necessary to even see one of the cut scenes. I played the game the whole time I had it, making it quite far into the game, only to progressively hate it. I read through the instruction booklet, seeing if there was an error within the battle system, but no. The game was designed to anger you. It is a linear mess where you begin to dread every encounter. I consider myself a power gamer, for instance in other role playing games I find myself maxing out my levels and abilities before really progressing. This game was no exception, but I felt the hours I spent doing this to be beyond a waste. It's pretty, has good sound, can consume massive amounts of time, but overall I am thinking I may prefer an enema to playing this game ever again.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
0 of 29 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Eternal Sonata
This game is fantastic!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/20/11
rpgnerd21
Location: New Philadelphia, OH
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
When I first checked out this game at my local library, I fell in love with the storyline and characters. The environments were beautifully done and well thought out. The only thing that aggravated me about the game was Fort Fermata, it took me forever to figure out what the heck to do, but then my friend helped me out, and he basically played through the rest of the game with me. This game is great for one that is not well known. I definetly recommend this game to any casual gamers or people who just wanna have a good time.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 17 for Eternal Sonata
Pretty Unique Game
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:2/24/13
videogameplayer11
Location: Unknown
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game has a battle style unlike any game I have ever seen. The plot is a very gripping story that grabbed my attention easily. The only way the game can be beaten in under 20 hours is if you rush and sneak past all the enemies, so I don't really know why those gamers are complaining. All in all, I recommend this game to players that have time on their hands to enjoy this incredible and exciting game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 18 for Eternal Sonata
Eternal Sonata
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:12/14/11
Tashie
Location: Pensacola,FL
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I read the other reviews for this game and decided to get it because it sounded like a good game. I loved this game right from the start! It was colorful and had a great story line not to mention the history lesson about Chopin which I thought to be very interesting. Overall the game was great and it is kind of a short game so if you don't want to have to spend hours and hours on a game this one is perfect.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Eternal Sonata
A beautiful game, although it has its problems...
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:12/31/13
MasterRed01
Location: Covington, GA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I have had my eye on this game for some time, and now that I managed to try out the demo and got the game on a sale (I got the game for $3.74, which is awesome!), I can finally experience such a beautiful game.
Let us start with the story... it is centers around the 19th century musician, Frédéric François Chopin, or just 'Frederic' or 'Chopin' would be fine, who is in his deathbed, unconscious as he tries to battle his sickness. In his final hours, he would live in a dream, a dream that is exactly like another world all together. In this world, there are people that can use Magic. Anyone can use magic... but only when they are dying. By either an illness, injury, or something else. Honestly, that part isn't really fully explained, along with other things. Anyway! In this world, Chopin must travel through a world based on music and try to find out the truth... is the world he is in a dream? Or is it a whole new world entirely? Or could it be that that world is the real reality, while Paris and his own world was the fake world all along?
This alone is a rather interesting idea. Some people say, in real life, that our own reality might be fake as well, or is experienced through a different matter than others. The sad part is... well...
The plot and story of the game is very interesting, and had some real potential, but at the very end, at the last two hours or so, it falls flat on itself. The game will go from a fairly realistic world, with it's own twists of course, then suddenly gives a twist in the plot and, literally, have one character turn into a giant monster before your eyes and ripes a hole in time and space into the world of the dead. This I am not kidding. At this point, I actually jolted in place in shock, having it leave a bad taste in my mouth. Not because it happened, but because of how SUDDEN it was. And at the very end, it is like the game remembers 'Oh wait! This is Chopin's dream! We gotta focus on that now before we forget!'.
Quite honestly, I think that they should have stayed focused on the dream world, at least for a bit longer, and hit to Chopin's dreaming this. But I digress... up until that part, the story was interesting, the characters were fun, and the gameplay was well done. Think of it like the case with Mass Effect 3, for those who have played it. All until the last ten minutes, it is a wonderful game, and the last part (as some would say) ruins the trilogy. (It's not that bad to me, but that is a whole different topic altogether). I should also note that the ending is VERY confusing. I had to look up the details on the Internet to figure out what really happened, and why. Because it seemed like that scene (to avoid spoilers I won't go into detail) just happened out of the blue. With the character going 'Oh wow, we just beat the real final boss. Hey guys, see ya!' and... well, yeah.
The gameplay itself is fairly simple, yet fun, as well. You have 'A' as your regular attack, 'B' as your Guard, which you have to time yourself to press to use and cannot just rapidly press it (trust me, that doesn't work... it would have helped if it did, though!), 'X' to use your items, and 'Y' to use your Special attacks. For each character and enemy on the field, they are timed by the Action Gauge, which constantly decreased from five seconds to zero, then moves to the next fastest character or enemy. Also, the Special attack changes depending on whether you are in the light or in shadows. In the sunlight, for example, you can use a Light Special Attack, yet in a shadow of an enemy or behind an object, in darkness of any kind, you can use a Dark Special Attack. This goes the same for enemies, and some will actually change form and grow either stronger or weaker depending on if they are in the light or the shade. The first one you will see is a tiny melon enemy with stubby legs, which transforms into a giant rock/onion with demonic red eyes, which are REALLY freaky looking.
With this, the game also inputs what is called a 'Party Level'. It starts out at level one, which gives you more time and allows you to stay still and not have the Gauge decrease at all. After a certain battle, it increased to two, giving you less of a break, but allowing you to deal more damage. It goes all the way up to level 6, with up to 5 being unlocked through the story of the game. Level five has it where you have only four seconds to attack, but each playable character moves quickly through the field and can chain together special attacks and form powerful combos. The game basically changes things up bit by bit as you play, so things won't all be the same throughout the game. I honestly don't know how to feel about this... it gets harder, yet more rewarding, as the Party Level increases, so... I guess it depends on the person. On Encore Mode, which is basically New Game Plus and hard mode, you can change the Party Level to whatever level you would prefer as well.
I would also like to note that you gain a lot of party members in the game, yet you do not have to battle with each one to have them level up. In a game like Star Ocean: Till the End of Time, you have to use the character to level him or her up. Most of the time, a player will stay with one team set and the others will stay at a low level, which, if the game's story decides to have one of the characters you don't use to fight alone, it can... well, frankly, be a HUGE hassle. In this game, everyone levels up and gains experience through the battles, however, the ones who fight gets the majority of the XP, while the ones who don't fight gets about half I think. Whatever case it is, you can rest easy and use one set team, of which ever characters you would like, and not have to worry about the others.
The sound and music... holy... I... it is amazing! The music is based off of Chopin's own works, as well as having his music in the game as well. The battle music is usually the same song, except for certain boss fights, yet it is so good you do not get tired of it.
The graphics are... well, it came out in 2007, so the graphics for the characters are hit and miss. The biggest problems are their expressions, eyes, and their hands. Their fingers and hands do not really move, and you can tell everything was done with Motion Capture. Still, other than those parts, the graphics are truly beautiful to look at, and are crisp, even compared to some games now.
The voice acting is well done, too. There are a few great voice actors I know and love in the game, like Johnny Bosch, Liam O'Brien, and Stephanie Sheh as a few examples.
Each character stands out in his or her own way as well, and some even has their own side plots... which are not resolved.
I will say this now, many of the side plots, such as one character falling in love with another in the party, is never resolved, nor is much explained, as to why Polka has such a reaction to... well, no details here, but you will see if you play the game.
One important thing to note is that there is a PS3 version of the game, which includes two extra playable characters which are not in the 360 version and are not DLC (which stinks...), as well as an extra dungeon, and with items changed around in the story and other dungeons as well. So if you are going to get this game, get the PS3 version. I got the game for $3.74, so I'm not really complaining much that I don't have it all. It would just be nice if they released it as DLC for the 360 owners...
All in all, I very much enjoyed the game. The fighting did not become repetitive to me, which happens even in the best of games, the music was beautiful, the graphics, with a few exceptions, are wonder to look at, the world feels huge, the characters are fun to watch, and the story, up until a certain point, will grab your attention.
I would recommend this game to anyone, especially since it is so cheap these days. For me, it was a pretty easy game. I did not die once in the game, and rarely had a character be KOed in battle. I think that was I battled a lot because of how much fun I had in the battle system, though...
If you enjoy RPGs and Star Ocean-like games (this game seriously brought me some nostalgia from my past with Till the End of Time), you will love this game. Even with the bad ending, it is still a great experience and has some great complex things to think about...
Except for one ruler's reason for not going to war against the enemy nation. Seriously! I... ugh, no spoilers, but... GAH! It drives me nuts!
Anywho! Try and buy the game, or at least try the demo and see if you like the gameplay. I hope you enjoy it!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 20 for Eternal Sonata
not bad at all
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/22/08
drk_chaos15
GAMEPLAY(9) - The combat in ES is a mix of real time button mashing with traditional turn based decisions. This unique blend was put together very nicely and makes for enjoyable battles. The combat actually has a decent amount of depth, but takes you along gradually so that you've mastered all of the steps before they introduce a new concept. Monsters are seen on screen and most can be easily avoided, which is helpful if you're trying to get your party to a save point or trying to figure out a puzzle. Speaking of which, the save spots were never too far apart from each other and thankfully there were only a couple of areas that required puzzle solving such as teleporters or the dreaded "flip the switch and then go back and see if anything changed in the previous room". The game is quite linear, and any branching paths usually don't go very far. I had to do very little level grinding, as I found that if I generally took on any monsters in my path that would be sufficient in making my party strong enough for any Boss battles. GRAPHICS(9) - I have to say this is one of the prettiest games I've saw on the 360. The cel-shaded characters and backgrounds were very detailed with an amazing amount of color and the game truly looked like you were watching a high quality animated movie. Watching this on a large HDTV was particularly impressive. SOUND(9) - The voice work for the many different characters was above average, as the English voices sounded much better than what I usually hear when they are translating Japanese. As you might expect from a game involving Chopin the music was terrific, with many different piano and orchestra pieces.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 2 next>>