GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Left 4 Dead

12th Annual Interactive Achievement Awards Winner: Outstanding Achievement in Online Game Play and Computer Game of the YearSet in a modern day survival-horror universe, the co-operative gameplay of L4D casts four "Survivors" in an epic struggle against hordes of swarming zombies and terrifying "Boss Infected" mutants. The Survivor Co-op Game Mode is played out across four sprawling campaigns, set in urban and rural environments. Each campaign has an over-riding team objective, and is comprised of five large maps. The campaigns link together to tell the story of the Survivor's escape to safety. The team of four Survivors may be comprised of 1 to 4 human players, allowing for single player and multiplayer co-op games.
Average Customer Rating:
8.96
9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (42 reviews)
10 stars
14
9 stars
6
8 stars
2
7 stars
1
6 stars
1
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
24 out of 2596%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Left 4 Dead
Review 1 for Left 4 Dead
best horror game for pc or 360 ever
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/14/08
zombiesgonnagetyou
For everyone out there thinking about getting this game stop thinking and just buy it ! this is deffinately one of the best games i have ever played for pc i'm a huge fan of the valve games and the stuff they put out on a daily basis i play atleast 5 hrs of their stuff including counter strike , team fortress 2 and tons of others. However, in this gamers opinion this one blows them all out of water to the point where i need to tell my cs buddies i wont be on for awhile because of the game. the graphics are deffinately an upgrade the story line behind it is the classic zombie apocolypse that we all love sound is nuts really gets you into the game controls are much like other valve games so easy to get used. personally though the best part of the game is deffinately the zombies one they aren't all the same two they pop up out of no where ! you really gotta watch you and your teams back in this game or your done for. like i said don't think don't do anything other than buy it
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 2 for Left 4 Dead
Never ending excitement
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/20/08
rovaira
From the start of this game it grabs you and doesn't stop. You can play online with three other players and you have to help each other out to succeed. There is constant action and you never know where the zombies are going to attack you from. You need to rely on teammates who help you out because they need you as well. The game is definitely challenging, my understanding is it adapts according to how well you play. I haven't felt frustrated or bored to the slightest degree. The graphics are good, but probably a little bit behind the current games. They are enough to keep you going though, especially with the millions of zombies everywhere. Sounds are nice, and enough. I can't say they blow me away, but they complement the game well. I have never been a hardcore shooter game person, but this game definitely is worth buying. I'm not as good as the other players, but it doesn't matter as this game is awesome. You will definitely be pleasantly surprised playing this game!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 3 for Left 4 Dead
A game from 2 years ago
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/18/08
AverageToaster
A Zombie Apocalypse with 4 player co-op what more can you ask for? Its a simple great idea the guys at valve put to work and it turned out nicely, Replacing the shambler-esque zombies with a 28 days later rage infected zombie but as the story says they are just infected people of a rare strain of the rabies virus. Challenge wise going with the rage zombies should of made the game a lot harder then it is, while some people may have a hard time on advanced, all my friends and I were ripping up expert without a problem. Graphics were on par with Half life 2 and while not bad they are meager for today's standards. Responsiveness, this game controls amazingly as good on the 360 as it does on the pc. Storyline, 4 different movies (yes movies) of 4 people trying to survive the end of the world. Sounds, sounds are what make this game push the scary, sounds change and react to the players and what's going on. Games like oblivion and halo say they do this but L4D really melds the experience together just like a movie.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 4 for Left 4 Dead
Its alright... NOT what I thought
Posted on:11/10/08
Pete Pooner
After seeing the intro for this, I was boned out to play, so I got my demo/preorder and installed off steam. First time through I played single player and its pretty much just wave after wave of zombies, no story at all in the demo but I would imagine this will change with the full version (20 maps, we got 2 on the demo and I can finish it in around 15 mins). The graphics and gameplay don't seem like Valve had much to do with this game, it looks and feels dated. You pass through characters like they are not even there which I didn't like, feels like they rushed it. Weapons were same old that I saw and you can't order your members around at all, they just follow and shoot. You guys have it all wrong, this is by FAR not even close to game of the year or HL2 for that matter. You'll see the people complaining after launch of how disappointed they are at Valve. I really was expected a killer game like HL2, this is not it. Give me Episode 3!
Review 5 for Left 4 Dead
Survive or Destroy the Competition - 10/10 game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/21/08
JF2
Left 4 Dead is a highly addictive co-op, first person shooter that forces you to rely on your teammates and them on you. It is a team-based FPS game. If you don’t like the “Survivors,” then you can play as the “Infected,” humans that have transformed into monsters. For example, in player vs. player mode, you will alternate between the “Survivors” and the “Infected.” You can play as the Tank, a monstrous, steroid-injected brute about 9 feet tall that quakes the ground beneath its feet as it runs. The “Survivors,” named Francis, Zoey, Louis, and Bill, will run from you, shoot at you, climb to higher ground to escape, but many times they will fail to stop you and one of which named will die. Because of the Tank’s power, it doesn’t spawn much. You will be selected to play it randomly or if you score enough points for the “Infected” team. The Hunter, Smoker, and Boomer are the “Infected” enemies that consistently spawn. The graphics are quite impressive at 1024 x 768; I have an Intel Pentium D CPU at 3.0 GHz, 2.0GB of Memory (RAM), a 256 MB NVIDIA GeForce 7800 GTX video card, Windows Vista Home Premium Edition, and I have no complaints at this resolution, except at times exceeding lag due to a poor server connection, or my computer freezing during game play – I mainly experience these problems on Versus mode rather than on the Campaign, I suppose due to hosting and server problems. Packs of zombies running at 15 mph towards you are what you’ll encounter in this game, whether you’re stationary or running away from them. They’ll never stop to try and kill you. They may be standing in one place, and then all of a sudden, they’ll charge you if you get to close or a Boomer either vomits or explodes on you. You really have been left for dead, so why not join them? Well, for one, you have your teammates to help you through the fight. Besides the voices of the in-game characters, your human teammates can either type a message to you or speak to you by microphone. So be encouraged. Left 4 Dead is different than Team Fortress 2 in that it has graphic content, “blood and gore,” “intense violence,” suitable for those 17+, without regard for a cartoonish atmosphere. I mean, really, Team Fortress 2 appears cartoonish. Above all, your FPS skills will be tested in Left 4 Dead because there is no “switch-off” of friendly fire. Meaning, if you have horrible aim you will likely infuriate your human teammates as your in-game character keeps shooting at theirs, lowering their health and at times incapacitating them. In other words, you must use caution where you shoot. The maps are amazing and the level design captivating. Urban cities. Subway train stations. Sewers. Hospitals. Forests. Parks. Tunnels. Factories. Rooftops. You name it. You’ll never get bored of the maps thanks to the AI Director, an artificial intelligence that assesses your team’s strengths and weaknesses and places enemies and supplies randomly each time you play a map. In other words, game play on a map of choice, although no matter how familiar to you, will be different thanks to the AI Director. For example, a Tank may spawn or it may not. It may be at the beginning of the map or at the very end. Zombies will swarm at you in overwhelming numbers, or at times, they’ll go easy on you only to allow the AI Director unleash a Tank on you. You may expect a Smoker to tongue-lynch you from one building, only to be tongue-lynched from another building. A Hunter may pounce you from the ground, or perhaps from atop a building. You may encounter a Witch at the center of the aisle or hallway your team needs to travel on, or you may not encounter one. In summary, Left 4 Dead is an incredible game for the PC and one that should not be missed. It is the best game made by Valve since Half Life 2, HL2: Episode One, and HL2: Episode Two. Left 4 Dead will test your skills as a FPS gamer and will also improve them. Your human teammates will love you if you help them survive the onslaught from the “I
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
10 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Left 4 Dead
Believe the hype
Posted on:11/10/08
C4D
The demo has spoken loud and clear on the game's merits meeting the expectations set by every preview that has been printed or posted. Everything about the game's design is geared towards making it a survival co-op shooter, unlike anything that's really been seen before. While there are parts that are reminiscent of older games, the whole is far greater than the sum of its parts. Played as single-player, it really doesn't seem too special - but with 1, 2, or 3 buddies this game shines like no other. Every time you play comes out different, and it's remarkably fun seeing plans get destroyed by the horde of zombies. Some of my best memories of it already have come from harrowing defeats or last-ditch heroics with one survivor making it to the safe room. I was really concerned it couldn't live up to how good I wanted the game to be, and am more than pleased to confirm that it met, and in some ways exceeded, those high expectations.
Review 7 for Left 4 Dead
Great GAME MUST HAVE, BUY 2 or 3
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/19/09
mailmanorange
This game is the for all zombie lovers. If you don't have a bomb shelter yet, get this game and you will build one in a couple of days if you even get the chance because you will be playing this game so much. There are some glitch's but I got the valve version and they keep sending updates so its much better know. The time of environment the developers put you in is crazy real. It is the perfect time of zombie scenario you would want to play in. The developers really know how to make a very "scary" game and make it fun. The "scary" I found in the game was the tanks. They get you heart raising and you just run for it and throw a moly. Verses is the get also get scary as the other team maybe really good and you need to come up with a stat to beat them. You really need to use team work in this game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Left 4 Dead
BEST ZOMBIE GAME EVER!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/10/12
Epicfox257
Location: California
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
if you are a hardcore gamer you will love this game this game tops all the other zombie games you will never get bored of it you can go online play with friends or go solo
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Left 4 Dead
4 Player massacre!
Posted on:11/7/08
Crimsn
For one of the games that are most looked forward too this year, a zombie survival game that has never been seen before, having 4 players playing cooperatively for their survival, and a new AI engine that has a different scinerio every time, as well as enemy difficulty and placement. It is sure to supply endless hours of gameplay for you and three of your friends, or anyone else you happen to play with
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Left 4 Dead
Awesome...
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/18/08
TearGaS
So, I'm not much of a steam fan, but I thought I'd give the demo a try for this since I read it was supposed to be a great coop game. The first 10 min. of playing, I pre-ordered this game. It is so freakin fun, you can't imagine. If your a person who loves coop play, then by golly this game is just for YOU! The gun and such have that half-life and counter strike feel where it's not very big and what not, but the gameplay outdoes everything I've ever seen before. Most games if you look at the enemy they come attacking you. Here you can look at the zombie for 5 min. just staring at it and it WON'T attack you unless you attack it. I love how it forces coop play and how everything isn't the same if you die [dynamic spawning]. The storyline seems short from what i could see from the demo, but i'm sure they'll make up for it sooner or later.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 11 for Left 4 Dead
go by yourself is a great idea
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/2/09
schummoo
I got a lot a fun to discover left 4 dead. When you play versus there is not enough maps only 2. Hopefully they will put more next left 4 dead. I guess a lot of people got the game for Christmas because there is a lack of server. I try to connect to a server not to easy!!! Remnder guys for that game need to stick together to survive, i have to help out so many brave players who try to go by themself, hunter smoker catch and the are the first one to cry for help, when they get mad a the team because we didn't help him!!!!!!! To have fun just please stick together and communicate and we will survive. The bomb and the molotov cocktail are very useful when u use it right!!! Please make sure there no kids around when u are playing because i don't understand parent let their 10 years old kids playing that kind of game, i just don't get it!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
BlackRose542
 
Please wait while more information about BlackRose542 is loaded.
Additional information about BlackRose542 could not be loaded.
Posted 7/13/12
this game is the best. i love the game and all its features. the game keeps u on edge and keeps u thinking all the time. u can never sit still or relax during this game. and if u do- u might not survive....
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 12 for Left 4 Dead
I love Valve.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/17/08
bl00dy.1
Valve has done it again with the release of Left 4 Dead. For those of you thinking about Resident Evil or any other zombie game as a basis for L4D, throw those thoughts out the window. The zombies in L4D (or infected) act as spastic and crazily terrifying than any game I've seen. If anyone has watched the movies 28 Days Later or Weeks Later, the zombies behaviors resembles the zombies in this film. The controls are organic as would agree any Half-Life or Source Engine fan. The only thing is that there is no difference between characters, no added attributes, etc. and since the demo has been released there shows to be no storyline at all other than zombies have invaded the town you are in. Hopefully Valve will release an in-depth storyline (which they usually do) to accompany the awesome, scary, and fun-filled gameplay.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 13 for Left 4 Dead
three simple words...OMG
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/10/08
headshot
left for dead is easily one of the best games ive ever played! like what another reviewer said "you have to work together to stay alive. teamwork isnt optional! i remember, i was playing online on a versus match and i was the humans. one of the players just walked off. two minutes later he's asking for some help when he was on the other side of the map! so i love that. also, some smaller things ive noticed in the game...when a hunter zombie pownces on you, it actually shows blood, organs, (that type of gore) actually being taken out of your open body. normal games wouldve just showed claws going through your body while you loose health. but left 4 dead has gone beyond that. far beyond that. also when you heal your-self, you actually see bandages being wrapped on you...also, zombies can start shredding a door apart with high detail and no framerate loss. the game can withstand a horde of 30-50 zombies with out framerate loss. another thing i should mention: the AI scripting in the zombies. they actually know whats goin on around them and respond to that. they know who to attack, who not to attack etc. in my expierience playing, it was easily the best FPS game ive ever played
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 14 for Left 4 Dead
Neverending Fun!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/16/08
greatcaesar
I just downloaded the beta for this game and it is really quite possibly the best multiplayer first person shooter for PC. The AI is totally random, as well as weapon placement, item placement and zombie placement. There are countless ways to kill zombies and the physics engine is just superb. It's violent on a very realistic level and that really put's the icing on the cake for this game. Shoot off limbs or just evaporate a swarm of zombies with a pipe bomb... it never ends. This game is very much a multiplayer game. The extreme mode is unbeatable by yourself so don't even try it solo. Nevertheless go buy this game and you won't be disappointed! Also, be sure to have a decent computer to run the graphics. This game is meant to run on very high details on a PC beyond the capabilities of the 360.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 15 for Left 4 Dead
best game over
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/15/12
BeastKid805
Location: ventura
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
If your love zombie games this is the game for you. It will keep you on the edge of your couch. Way better then resident evil!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Left 4 Dead
Wow! Just wow!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/13/08
Uberpwnageman
Only the demo is out at the moment but just by playing the two missions, i know it's good. The four characters have no difference so it's equal. The weapons are nice, graphics are nice, lots of good things going on here. If you love zombie horror games you will love this. The added "movie" thing is also nice. The suspense will kill you, literally, there could be zombies around the corner there may not, the director, which is the AI computer that controls the zombies, can place the zombies anywhere, making each gameplay unique which is nice, because you will never get bored. Healing your teammates, helping them up, saving them, this game is full on a co-op game. You can't win yourself, some situations only teammates can help you. Bottom line is, this game is AWESOME!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 17 for Left 4 Dead
Going to be incredible...
Posted on:6/10/07
guitr_freek
Finally a game, not a mod, that involves co-op and zombies. The zombies (if even considered zombies), are not slow like shamblers, these are FAST zombies, that will do anything ... ANYTHING to get you. The AI director will obviously give a fun time playing this game, where you expect zombies will be, they will not be there, they will be where you don't expect them. You can even be zombie bosses! This game WILL live up to it's hype. It's a shame not so many people know about it, this game will be much better than many of those main-stream games, such as Halo 2 and probably Halo 3. And the best part about it, Left 4 Dead comes out 6 days before my birthday, I will probably beg for it!
Review 18 for Left 4 Dead
Zombie-apocalypse is a hit!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/22/08
MyUserName0027
Honestly, when I heard about a zombie game, where you just go around shooting zombies trying to survive with three other players, I thought this game would be terrible. But after playing the demo with a friend and by myself, I realize this may become game of the year. There does not seem to be a story, other than you must survive, but their might be more of a story as the game progresses. No matter how many times you die on a single level, the level will continually change because the zombie attacks are completely random! Also, this game is very detailed in the way zombies act, and how the environment can help or harm you. The only problem I have with this game is the character customization. There are none. I always enjoy having the ability to change how a character looks to how I want him to look. But that really is no problem for me after playing for a little while because you get so into the game while playing that you forget about everything else around you. I would DEFINITELY RECOMMEND this game to anyone above a young age because it should only be for mature audiences, but other than an age difference, everyone should play this game! Which is really surprising for me to say because I dislike playing zombie games since most of them are the same. But trust me, this one will be a big hit among many.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 19 for Left 4 Dead
Cant Wait
Posted on:9/8/08
hk-Thanatos
This is going to be the game of the year; no contest. Left 4 Dead just looks absolutely amazing, It's going to set the bar for fps co-op gaming. Reasons why you should get this the first day it comes out: 1. Its gameplay is going to be fun, fast-paced, and generally awesome 2. The AI director is going to make the replay value almost limitless 3. The updates Valve is going to (at least they said they would) bring to the game is just going to continually add onto the already superb game. 4. Zombies. In conclusion, this game is going to be The Game to get and that's why I'm going to pre-order mine.
Review 20 for Left 4 Dead
Run and Shoot
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:3/16/13
NashSu
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This is a good game if you are into a mixture of zombies and guns. All you have to do in this game is run and shoot. There are some special areas where you have to go off and do something, but the majority of this game is simply running and shooting zombies. If you are looking for one of those rare zombie survival games, this isn't the game for you. But if you just want to pass time killing zombies in high speeds than you found the right game.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
1 2 3 next>>