GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Accessories or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

DS Lite NERF Armor

NERF Armor protects your Nintendo DS Lite system form bumps and bruises with a thick layer of authentic NERF material. "Protects DS from falls and scratching very well indeed." - Score: 9.0/10 IGN
Average Customer Rating:
7.579
7.6
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (26 reviews)
10 stars
13
9 stars
1
8 stars
0
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
5
14 out of 1974%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for DS Lite NERF Armor
Review 1 for DS Lite NERF Armor
Nerf to the rescue!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/29/08
onesoul_mate
I have twins boys that are all boy-meaning they are rough and tumble and they would rather take something apart to see what is inside than take someone's word for it. These boys have a daily demolition derby in the front room. This year I have gotten them both a Nintendo DS for Christmas. They knew that it was coming and were excited. I thought they would really be happy, but was concerned that they would drop the unit or just not be as conscious as to where it landed. The nerf cover is really great for me to have on their game systems. The charger and stylus are easily accessible, along with the controls. I have much more confidence allowing the boys to play with them at anytime. I also feel that having the nerf case on there makes the unit a little easier for them to grip. The case is on quite securely and I have no fear that I will find it lying on the floor or tossed in the closet like so many of the other cases that I have bought. I can see where this may be hard to get off, but right now, I am ecstatic that it is there to protect and hopefully keep all my DSs in the house happy!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
7 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for DS Lite NERF Armor
great for kids!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/28/08
crambler
I bought my 5 year old son the nintendo ds for christmas and this was a must have! He has dropped it and the nerf kept the nintendo ds from breaking. I can see that adults may not like this product but it has been the best for my son. I would recommend this product for anyone who has kids that play the ds. It will save you money in the long run. It is a cheap and efficient, you cannot beat the durability. There were several colors to choose from and it was easy to put on the nintendo ds. My don has not had trouble using it, some may think it is too bulky but it is cushy and has a sleek design. They should have come out with this some time ago, I could have used this for the game boy advance as well. If something happens to this one I will buy another.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
8 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for DS Lite NERF Armor
NERF Armor!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/14/08
imhotintheshade
I won't lie - I was a little leery when I bought this. I was expecting just another mediocre product. But man was I surprised when I opened it up and put it on. It was so simple to put the case on. It literally just snaps onto the Nintendo DS Lite. And as for the comfort level, it is off the charts. I've never felt anything like this on a handheld device before. As for the durability, I've already dropped my poor Nintendo DS Lite a few times, and when I do so, the NERF Armor just laughs at me! It barely even makes a mark in the padding. My Nintendo DS is still virtually in mint condition with this thing on. Also, it comes in four colors: purple, pink, yellow, and blue thus giving your Nintendo DS Lite a completely new look. I own an Onyx Black Nintendo DS Lite with a purple NERF Armor case and it looks awesome. All in all I give this product 5 stars. There really is nothing bad I can say about it!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for DS Lite NERF Armor
ESSENTIAL if you have a DS and kids
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/20/08
homefly
I've read the bad reviews, and I can say that the problems most of them encountered can be easily avoided (none of mine smelled, so I can't say much for that complaint). First, don't ever try to remove this product from the DS without sacrificing it. Once it's on, it's on and cannot be removed without either destroying the Nerf Armor, or the DS. Get yourself some wire snips and go to work tearing it off the DS bit by bit. This way, you save the DS, which is altogether more expensive to replace. It can be done with the proper tools and care. That said, it has saved at least two of my son's DS's, and is a MUST BUY if you plan on getting a DS for a young child. The first Nintendo DS I bought, I didn't have the Nerf Armor. The DS lasted under a month (no kidding), when my son broke it in two. Whereas the old Gameboy's would live through a nuclear explosion, conversely the DS is quite delicate. The player itself really can't take much abuse, so the Nerf Armor is absolutely needed. I've had Nerf Armor on my sons' DS's (age 5 and 8), and after replacing the first round of Nerf Armor (it can get beaten up and need replacing after 6 months or so), I've seen what looks like perfectly new and unblemished DS's underneath. It's as if they've never been used. Perfect. I can say without reservation that the Nerf Armor has been worth it and is ESSENTIAL if you have young children. Just be prepared to have to tear the Nerf Armor to shreds in order to remove it from the DS.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for DS Lite NERF Armor
Wonderful Product!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/16/11
MrsPeterPan
Location: Visalia, CA
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For someone else
I absolutely love this product! Our older girl was given a DS w/the Nerf protector when she was 5 years old (she's now 11). It's been dropped, bounced and kicked (accidently of course) I can't tell you how many times. She got a DS I for Christmas/Birthday this last year and we went right out and bought one for it. Our 3 year old daughter now has the original DS and it's still going strong - drops, bouncing and all. People stop us quite often asking where they can get one because their child is now on their 2nd or 3rd game system because it's been dropped & broken (What a waste). There has never been an odor but it does need a little larger bag to hold it. Well that's all right, we girls always carry a purse and the boys we know always carry a backpack. lol
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for DS Lite NERF Armor
AWSOME PRODUCT!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/10/08
Supermom8924
I am a 47 year old mother of 2 . My kids and I both got DS lites for chirstmas 2 years ago. Since then, I have gone through at least 8 to 10 cases until I found the NERF Armour. I LOVE IT. First off, I like the look of it and the protection in gives to my DS is phenomonal. Next, I love the fact that ALL the ports are open no matter if I am charging, playing a ds game or a game boy game, I do not have to remove the ds from the case to do any of these things, I can also access my stylus easily without removing the DS from the case. The fact that all the ports were not accessible with other cases and that I had to remove my ds from its case just to charge it was very frustrating to me. Now I dont have to worry about it my DS is protected at ALL TIMES. I love the colors it comes in and it makes my DS more comfortable to hold and play for any length of time. I would definitly recommend this to anyone that is trying to find the perfect case.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for DS Lite NERF Armor
broken DS after trying to remove Nerf Armor
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:8/8/08
smilecme
I purchased the Nerf Armor for my Child's Nintendo DS. In the beginning it was a good choice. The Nerf armor started to fall apart after 2 months so I decided to remove it from the DS. The armor does not come off easily and during the process it snapped the DS in two. Now I have a broken DS and a child whom is very upset and sad. I don't have money to replace my son's DS. Nintendo won't replace the DS because it's not a product they recommend people using on their DS's. Nerf won't take reponsibily for the broken DS either. I strongly recommend against buying this product. Your child will be upset then their DS is broken because the armor is not in anyway easy to remove. I hope people have better luck with the product than me. If I had to do it all over again, I would never buy this product
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
5 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for DS Lite NERF Armor
It’s ugly, but comfortable
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/15/08
cardex
I am probably not the average gamer. As someone over 25 and many playing brain age one of the problems that I have had with the DS from the moment I got it is that the system is just a little too thin to be comfortable when I hold it for more then 10-15 min. When I was in the local game stop I noticed this and decided to give it a try figuring that at worst I would be out a few bucks and at best I would be able to do a sudoku without having to put the system down for a while. I can't begin to describe how comfortable the Nerf case is, it adds just the right amount of thickness and padding to make holding the DS easy for adult sized hands. I can’t say how the case would work for its intended use but then I have never felt the need to throw the DS around to find out. It is somewhat ugly by my taste but probably a good fit for kids under 14. The only problem that I have had with it is the part for the top cover is fairly heavy, with that part on the screen will not stay open when I am in bed holding it upside down unless it is at the fully open position.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 9 for DS Lite NERF Armor
Best thing since sliced bread
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/16/11
cp1234
Location: chester county,Pa
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Dropped my ds lite out a second floor scaffolding and broke it; bought another with nerf cover; yup did the same thing- it survived intack nothing wrong!!! enough said. Couldn't wait for it to finally come out on Dsi; glad it did, yup-nerf armor on that one too!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for DS Lite NERF Armor
I Love Nerf Armor
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/29/11
antique
Location: Ohio but moving soon
Age: 45-54
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I had to buy the nerf armor for the Ds Lite. Once the nerf armor was put on it never came off. I have had the same one on the system for years. I love this product. It's great!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for DS Lite NERF Armor
Nerf
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/21/08
cookin' mama
This is an awesome gift for kids and birthdays and any other special occasion. I got this for my child's teacher and he/she loved it! He she used it all the time! I got one for child! He/She kept on dropping the D.S. but the Nerf kept it clean and strong! I took the Nerf off to check if the D.S. was damaged and it was in perfectly good shape! The Nerf was so easy to take off and it is nice if you want to change colors! I don't know how long the Nerf can last because we are still using it! I mean he/she is still using it! Ha ha ha ha! We had the Nerf for about 3 yrs! Isn't that durable! So I suggest this is the best D.S. cover someone could get! I really love Nerf! Even ol' grandma loves it! Silly ain't it? No, it ain't! She has her own D.S. and has about 7 Nerfs! She thought that if one wears out she'll always have another one but so far she was only able to use one! Wowsa!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for DS Lite NERF Armor
Got it elsewhere early
Posted on:5/8/07
Brooks
I got one of these at "another" retailer that somehow got them before the release date. Just picked it up off the shelf. I got an orange one, and it's amazing. I now have a DS Lite, and I used to have a regular DS, so my carry case is a bit larger. My Lite in this nerf armor still fits in the case. ALL buttons and necessary spots are open to use, for example, I can still get my stylus out and put it back in with ease! I can't accidentially turn on the DS as it protects the power switch. I have large hands, and found holding my Lite a little more difficult than the original DS, but with this case, I have alot to grab onto. It has a textured finish on it, so holding it securly is easy. The DS closes properly with this case! I GIVE IT A 5 OUT OF 5... TWO THUMBS UP... A MUST HAVE FOR ANYONE WHO USES THEIR DS IN LOCATIONS OTHER THAN LAYING IN BED!!!
Review 13 for DS Lite NERF Armor
FAN-FREAKIN-TASTIC!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/4/11
AnDrEwLiNeBaCkEr
Location: Pleasant Hill, CA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I BOUGHT THIS CASE AND IT IS SIMPLY AMAZING, MY BROTHER GOT MAD AND THREW MY DS AGAINST A WALL AND IT WAS PROTECTED BY THIS CASE 1000/10 STARS!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for DS Lite NERF Armor
Great Idea!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/28/08
Kirosu
This is a MUST BUY for anyone with kids or that is just clumsy (like me). It has saved my DS many times from pavement and falling from high places. No lie, without this I would be DS-less. Although it is bulky and won't fit in most holders or bags made for the DS, it does the job. The only issue with the product itself is that its hard to get off of the DS once it is on. If you attempt to unhinge the armor the top comes right off and you just need to force the bottom off by pressing in on the shoulder buttons. I can see where issues can occur and I have heard of people breaking their systems, but I assure you that is user error. I have had mine since it came out and only had to replace it once when my dog chewed it up. DS is still in MINT condition. ^__^
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for DS Lite NERF Armor
The only thing that stands out is it's added DS ruggedness
Posted on:5/11/07
hardasanut
For anybody amazed by this product's playthrough (leave in case to play) ability, the Joytech's ArmorLite Case for the DS is a playthrough accessory, and it happens to be clear "cheap sunglasses" quality plastic. It'll protect from scratches, but not as much as this Nerf product does for drops/bumps. However, the ArmorLite is about as form-fitting as I've found to keep the DS lite slim while adding just a bit of bulk to make it more holdable. Anybody more adventurous can look up "Shock! DS Lite Replacement cases", actually replacement *bodies* for the DS lite that leaves your DS the same shape but with different colors or even a really uber chrome metal that also resists scratching. Still, I gotta give it up for the probably increased dropability this Nerf case provides, even if it's chunky looking.
Review 16 for DS Lite NERF Armor
THIS IS WHAT I HAVE BEEN WAITING FOR
Posted on:4/26/07
sweet3xbaby
I can't believe they've FINALLY come up with this concept....a prtective case THAT YOU CAN OPEN AND STILL PLAY YOUR DS IN THE CASE!! Sounds pretty logical to me, but this is one of the first things like this on the market...if I'm mistaken...PLEASE LET ME KNOW so I can go out and look.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for DS Lite NERF Armor
STEAR CLEAR OF THIS PRODUCT
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:3/5/11
Daftendirekted
Location: Lancaster, CA
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
First of all, let me say that nerf (who already can't make a decent product) shoul'dve never gotten into the game world. This prodict does look cool at first, but it make the ds WAY to thick and uncomfortable! Second the rubber smells like a tire fire. Third, it is impossible to fit in a pocket, unless they are like size 10 XL pockets. Fourth, it is a bad product. I tripped over my dog while walking in the dark (I guess that was kind of stupid of me) and the case broke in half, and I had a little crack on my ds. WORST MONEY EVER SPENT!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
9 of 37 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Flintfireforge
WA
 
Please wait while more information about Flintfireforge is loaded.
Additional information about Flintfireforge could not be loaded.
take better care of it
Posted 6/16/11
First don't play and walk at the same time that is common sense and though it might make the DS thicker it does not make it harder to play unless the person trying to play it has small hands and for the protection value it protected my DS from damage after falling off my table while it was charging and it survived falling off from the bunk bed of after my nephew after he dropped it i just think your DS was defective or something...... P.S they smell fine to me and Nerf is an awesome company
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 18 for DS Lite NERF Armor
DAMAGED MY DS LITE
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:6/18/08
Damaged ROSE :(
I just bought the Metallic Rose DS Lite on Saturday. That very next morning I decided to buy a case to protect it, since it is going to be in my backpack and I do a lot of traveling. Unfortunately I chose to get the NERF Armor. First off, it smells! It left a very bad odor in my backpack and the odor just lingers. Second when I removed my Ds from it, it DAMAGED MY NEW DS LITE!!!! I only had the case on the DS for 3 hours and it never left my computer desk. The "Armor" scraped the paint off the back and it left dents where it latched on. I would not recommend this product to anyone who wants their ds to be in mint condition!!! It is to bad thought because I loved the look and the feel it has but the case is suppose to protect from damage not be the cause of it!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
0 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for DS Lite NERF Armor
this is a great buy
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/23/11
opalos
Location: los angelos
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
if you are looking to buy this u should this is a must
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for DS Lite NERF Armor
dont buy this
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:8/15/10
yoshirulez54321
i thought this would be good but it isnt first it smells like burnt rubber and plastic it is bulky and my dsi almost broke using this it got stuck and now it has a scratch but it went away also the smell rubes off onto your clothes and skin the camera protecter keeps geting into the picture and is almost impossible to remove without a screwdriver the SD card and styles is usually stuck and the plastic on it keep getting stuck in my opinion i would not get this in any othor words this sucks and is really the whole this is easy to go in but hard to go out
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
7 of 32 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
meee
 
Please wait while more information about meee is loaded.
Additional information about meee could not be loaded.
READ!
Posted 1/31/11
A lot of people use the dsi for this case thinking they spend less money, if the title or description says ds lite the its obviously for the ds lite not the dsi, good case also
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
1 2 next>>