GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

NBA Live 08

When the game is on the line and the ball is in your hands, what will you do? Will you penetrate, drive the lane and rise above the rim for a monster dunk, or find an opening on the perimeter and sink a game-winning three? Take control of the game with a full arsenal to win the one-on-one match-up from every spot on the floor with NBA LIVE 08.
Average Customer Rating:
6.667
6.7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (83 reviews)
10 stars
3
9 stars
0
8 stars
1
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
4 out of 667%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for NBA Live 08
Review 1 for NBA Live 08
worst game ever
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:3/22/13
thatguydowntheroad1234567
Location: richmond va
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
this game is just terrible the graphics are really unrealistic the fouls just git called the whole time
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 2 for NBA Live 08
a lot of fun.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/25/13
theian
Location: newcomerstown,ohio
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
this game is so much fun. the graphics aren't very good. they were made to look too real. gameplay could be better. it's too hard too score. the sound is perfect. the soundtrack is amazing!!!! this is one of the best games ever made. everyone should get it.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 3 for NBA Live 08
great game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:7/29/12
marcos321
the go to moves are cool, 2k6 was better than live 06 and 2k7 was better than live 07 but live 08 finally got better
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 4 for NBA Live 08
For Casual Players
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:5/5/12
MASTERANONYMOUS
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I actually really enjoyed this game for both PS2 and Xbox 360. the game plays is fun. the All-Star weekend is fun along with the freestyle challenges. the graphics are good and i have had no problems with sound or anything else. i fully recommend this to causal players.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 5 for NBA Live 08
This Game is Terrible
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:6/5/09
CheesePuff90
First off, let me say I am a huge fan of the NBA franchise, but this game sucks. You cannot play D and the fouls are so infrequent and inconsistant that it makes the game rediculously frustrating. I just finished breakiing my controler because I blew a 20 point lead with 3 minutes left because all of a sudden, the way I had been playing the whole game got fouls called left and right, as well as my D just completely giving up. Don'teven get me started on the coaching options. Lets just put it this way, for the whole game I wanted LeBron to gaurd Kobe, and in all options for the game it said he was, but out on the court I had Wally Szerbiach gaurding him, which allowed him to have a 50 point triple double. I used to love these games, now everytime I play them I leave frustrated and disapointed in EA.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
2 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for NBA Live 08
A good basketball game for the occasional gamer.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/19/08
The Beast-2000
This game is the BOMB for the occasional video game player but,for the big gamer it would be too easy.I found the game was way to easy for me and I could win the game 100-0.In my opinion,a game you intended to play alot shouldn't be that way.It should a offer a challenge to the gamers that make corporations like EA Games so big with their dedication to video games.The players are top-notch.The graphics are excellent.Same goes for the sound and controls.The camera angles made me think that I changed the channels on my TV and the Celtics were playing the Lakers,but once again the challenge is something they pretty much skipped over.Overall,I would recommend this game to my friends.So,go out and get this game,today.It really would make a perfect addition to any game collection.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 7 for NBA Live 08
Actually Better than ever. Even better than 2k!
Posted on:10/1/07
Youngfly
I've played both 2k8 and Live 08 and I have to say, " this year Live has exceed my expectations." Don't be fooled by screen shots printed in magazines and web pages. The visuals and mechanics are both actually better than 2k this year. I'm usually very cynical when it comes to live. This year, the ice skating movements, and unfair/unforgiving computer AI system is out. Instead you get an impressive modern day simulator that surpasses its predecessors. My only concern is whether or not it will deliver a good online experience as well as other reasons to play after a good season mode.
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for NBA Live 08
wow i cant believe live sux like years to come and b4
Posted on:10/1/07
1derboy
just got off the demo 4 live and 2k8 omg the winner again each year 2k8 the graphics much more crisp the dunking looks real live is still an arcade game put it in a chuckie cheeze or something it doesnt belong on a console its so terrible ive been a 2k and live fan for years but adding extra features like olympics to help boost your fans attention is retarted they still get the same game year afta year afta year look go to ign.com or gamespot.com or gamespy or watch G4s Xplay and tell me which one is still dominating live 2k 6years in a row live made themselfs a hole theyre are gonna digout by buying the nba licensce lol watch live is an arcade game like nba jam player hotspots aint real becuz when a person play basketball the no spot where i can shoot at and make it a majority of the time raw talent is what its called BYE BYE BYE BYE LIVE ANOTHER YEAR OF PURE CRAP AGAIN NANANANANANANANA HEY HEY HEY GOODBYE NANANANANANANANANANA HEY HEY HEY GOODBYE
0 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for NBA Live 08
Better than 2k8-BY FAR
Posted on:9/30/07
N-weezy
I've been an NBA live fan for forever, but for the past 2 years it has been terrible, lay-ups through the back board and sloppy ball handling, but this year ive played the NBA Live demo and the 2k8 demo and NBA live is as close to real life gamplay as it gets, the ball handling is amazing, the post moves are all realistic no more layups through the back board while nba 2k8s graphics are terrible, layups through the bottom of the rim, and glitches galore, NBA LIVE IS BACK, and the best basketball game to date.
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for NBA Live 08
nba 08 smashes 2k8
Posted on:9/30/07
farmer
I played the demo on both of them..I loved live 08. the graphics are outstanding, player details are amazing!! the play seemed pretty smoothed. I am so excited about this game.. then I played the demo for 2k8..... terrible !! it plays and looks like xbox and playstation 2 graphics..
Review 11 for NBA Live 08
Live vs. 2k8
Posted on:9/30/07
DiAngelo T NYC
Live has come along way but has a long way to go. The dunks and lay ups are extremely fast and unrealistic. It is impossible to time a block on a lay up or dunk because on defense you jump slowly to block but on offense you jump quickly to dunk.... go figure. Further more the hot spots looked to be a revolutionary idea. But 2k8 stole this idea and made it 10 times better because they have a cellphone reception bars that grow and shrink automatically and change colors when a player is in the zone. Contrasting to live where you have to press a button to see the hot spots.... If you like similation hoops 2k8 has revamped that with all new 2 man games. sending particular players to curl off screens or post up and of course the pik and role, This year you pick which players you want to do perform these activities
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for NBA Live 08
NBA Live 08
Posted on:9/30/07
BIG REM
Everyone hopes that NBA Live 08 is going to be better than EA's NBA Live 07, 07 really did dissapoint me. If NBA Live 08 wants to come out in top of NBA 2K8 there going to have to throw something really good in...like a superstar mode were you can create your character, have a couple of training camp days, and let him go through a draft and he goes through his career. I really hope EA will do something to pull this off.
Review 13 for NBA Live 08
nba
Posted on:9/30/07
A Customer
look nba live 08 is awesome i played the demo the graphics improved and importantly the gameplay and better animations and improved the game in the paint but also 2k is good they got good animations and the graphics improved from last year and also added the dunk contest and i think they'll get about the same rating but wat they should do is nba live and 2k should make one game together like for example nba live would have the graphics and then 2k could put the gameplay and the animations to thats wat they should and how would people react but both games are awesome.
Review 14 for NBA Live 08
Better than 2k8
Posted on:9/29/07
A Customer
I really thought that this game was gonna be much worse than nba 2k8, but after playing both demos the controls, graphics, and all around game play in nba live was much better. i guess ea wins again
Review 15 for NBA Live 08
very dissapointing
Posted on:9/28/07
royalman55
nba live has been down the hill for past 3-2 years. Gilbert Arenas is my favorite player but i wish he was on cover of NBA 2k8 than NBA live because i've seen the screen shots and videos of NBA LIVE 2008 and its looks horrible. i recomment people to buy NBA 2K8 than NBA LIVE
Review 16 for NBA Live 08
Looks better than b4
Posted on:9/23/07
john
this years games seems a lot better than it did in the past. The graphics r sweet and gameplay is nice. One thing that i am just wondering about is will this game have superstar mode, like Madden does. If NBA 08 does has superstar mode, i will definitely get it instead of NBA 2k8. If not, then i would probably get 2k8
Review 17 for NBA Live 08
make the player to able 2 get thrown out of a game
Posted on:9/20/07
nba live fan...
in nba live 08 plz make the the game play better and fuun to play the game i think it would befun and cold if the player would get mad over a bad call and could get thrown out of the game and maybe stuff like if they take it to far about a bad call the player could miss some games 4 their acttions i mean i know it just a game but come now they say xbox 360 and its game is the new era so make the games better and looks and feel like a new era game come now live u can do better then 2k this year add supper star mode tolive 08 2 please.... i wanna see this work put in to the game...
Review 18 for NBA Live 08
nba live is back everyone
Posted on:9/18/07
collegeballer22
Well i have downloaded the demo, and I am here to tell you that NBA Live is back. This was the most realistic basketball game to date. I threw NBA live 07 out the window and went with 2k. Not this year though, this game is unreal, when you play with lebron, if you fade he does his shot and its perfectly on. Or Tony Parkers floater in the lane. This game has really stepped up and graphically there will be nothing that can challenge this. I coach and play basketball as well and the gameplay is unreal, the helpside defense, tough shots, the blending animations with contact in the year. Once again, look out
Review 19 for NBA Live 08
BUY BOTH
Posted on:9/16/07
BigKev45
I played the demo and I have to say it's a big improvement over 07. Live 07 & 06 sucked. NBA 2K8 will rule. The NBA 2K series has been on top since the dreamcast days and never has looked back. But this year, I will be buying both NBA 2K8 & NBA Live 08.
Review 20 for NBA Live 08
BEST game EVER
Posted on:9/15/07
A Customer
This game is going to be awesome. I downloaded the demo off of XBOX Live Marketplace and the graphics were so much better than last year. I also like the new hot spots feature.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>