GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

NBA Live 08

When the game is on the line and the ball is in your hands, what will you do? Will you penetrate, drive the lane and rise above the rim for a monster dunk, or find an opening on the perimeter and sink a game-winning three? Take control of the game with a full arsenal to win the one-on-one match-up from every spot on the floor with NBA LIVE 08.
Average Customer Rating:
6.667
6.7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (83 reviews)
10 stars
3
9 stars
0
8 stars
1
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
4 out of 667%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for NBA Live 08
Review 1 for NBA Live 08
wow i cant believe live sux like years to come and b4
Posted on:10/1/07
1derboy
just got off the demo 4 live and 2k8 omg the winner again each year 2k8 the graphics much more crisp the dunking looks real live is still an arcade game put it in a chuckie cheeze or something it doesnt belong on a console its so terrible ive been a 2k and live fan for years but adding extra features like olympics to help boost your fans attention is retarted they still get the same game year afta year afta year look go to ign.com or gamespot.com or gamespy or watch G4s Xplay and tell me which one is still dominating live 2k 6years in a row live made themselfs a hole theyre are gonna digout by buying the nba licensce lol watch live is an arcade game like nba jam player hotspots aint real becuz when a person play basketball the no spot where i can shoot at and make it a majority of the time raw talent is what its called BYE BYE BYE BYE LIVE ANOTHER YEAR OF PURE CRAP AGAIN NANANANANANANANA HEY HEY HEY GOODBYE NANANANANANANANANANA HEY HEY HEY GOODBYE
0 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for NBA Live 08
Live vs. 2k8
Posted on:9/30/07
DiAngelo T NYC
Live has come along way but has a long way to go. The dunks and lay ups are extremely fast and unrealistic. It is impossible to time a block on a lay up or dunk because on defense you jump slowly to block but on offense you jump quickly to dunk.... go figure. Further more the hot spots looked to be a revolutionary idea. But 2k8 stole this idea and made it 10 times better because they have a cellphone reception bars that grow and shrink automatically and change colors when a player is in the zone. Contrasting to live where you have to press a button to see the hot spots.... If you like similation hoops 2k8 has revamped that with all new 2 man games. sending particular players to curl off screens or post up and of course the pik and role, This year you pick which players you want to do perform these activities
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for NBA Live 08
This Game is Terrible
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:6/5/09
CheesePuff90
First off, let me say I am a huge fan of the NBA franchise, but this game sucks. You cannot play D and the fouls are so infrequent and inconsistant that it makes the game rediculously frustrating. I just finished breakiing my controler because I blew a 20 point lead with 3 minutes left because all of a sudden, the way I had been playing the whole game got fouls called left and right, as well as my D just completely giving up. Don'teven get me started on the coaching options. Lets just put it this way, for the whole game I wanted LeBron to gaurd Kobe, and in all options for the game it said he was, but out on the court I had Wally Szerbiach gaurding him, which allowed him to have a 50 point triple double. I used to love these games, now everytime I play them I leave frustrated and disapointed in EA.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
2 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for NBA Live 08
what was they thinking
Posted on:5/9/07
childish
i hope it would be better then the last live because 07 was a rast of my money first i bought one and end up buying the 2k7,the dunk contest was the same as the others,the only thing i liked on the live07 was theloading ang the graphics, the next game need to change their whole game around if they want to beat 2k and the worst thing they did on the game was take the 247 off and the create player really sucks they should add more items other then shoes all the time it would be nice if they made their 247 more of a street look the wearing just gym clothes and the story mode to be more as a storymode with more or any cutsceens rather then just make it a play for a while then get bored. i realy like live better but this year it let me down ihope it make this improvements if they wont more money and not lose it to 2k7 so to like i say STEP YO GAME UP OR GO HOME or whatever
Review 5 for NBA Live 08
A good basketball game for the occasional gamer.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/19/08
The Beast-2000
This game is the BOMB for the occasional video game player but,for the big gamer it would be too easy.I found the game was way to easy for me and I could win the game 100-0.In my opinion,a game you intended to play alot shouldn't be that way.It should a offer a challenge to the gamers that make corporations like EA Games so big with their dedication to video games.The players are top-notch.The graphics are excellent.Same goes for the sound and controls.The camera angles made me think that I changed the channels on my TV and the Celtics were playing the Lakers,but once again the challenge is something they pretty much skipped over.Overall,I would recommend this game to my friends.So,go out and get this game,today.It really would make a perfect addition to any game collection.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 6 for NBA Live 08
Actually Better than ever. Even better than 2k!
Posted on:10/1/07
Youngfly
I've played both 2k8 and Live 08 and I have to say, " this year Live has exceed my expectations." Don't be fooled by screen shots printed in magazines and web pages. The visuals and mechanics are both actually better than 2k this year. I'm usually very cynical when it comes to live. This year, the ice skating movements, and unfair/unforgiving computer AI system is out. Instead you get an impressive modern day simulator that surpasses its predecessors. My only concern is whether or not it will deliver a good online experience as well as other reasons to play after a good season mode.
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for NBA Live 08
nba 2k8 is gonna be better again
Posted on:8/31/07
jon
NBA live 08 is not going 2 be good. believe i played nba live through out my and last nba live 07 really let me down,so i bought nba 2k7 dat game is so sweet it wasnt dat great on ps2 or xbox but its great on 360.nba live makes da gameplay looks like everybody on da court is daydreaming and 2k make it looks so smooth like da game speed of phoenix suns and how every body shoots,and i just dont get it why r they tryin 2 add new features on a garbage game,it dosent matter bout teams it matters bout da gameplay .EA just tryin2 get more teams likes usa team and all other 6 international teams but da thing is thhey change da gameplay instead of adding new features 2 da game.
Review 8 for NBA Live 08
supperstar mode?
Posted on:5/30/07
moneyfast04
i think the game would alot better if they put in supperstar mode in live like they have in madden i mean if its in football put it in basketball 2 4 something new i think ea sports would alot more respect if they listin to the fans of their games 2 and i think supperstar mode would be a perfect fit 4 live to get rite back on top wit 2k sports i think supperstar would be good because then u can make your own player the way u want 2 and see what team likes the way u play n how u act on and off the court.... please think bout really putting this in live 08 i think its would really make the game a hit for ea sports and the fans both....
Review 9 for NBA Live 08
make the game more real and with superstar mode
Posted on:6/19/07
a live fan
add things to live 08 like creating your own stadium and all star weekend. it also needs more emotion from the players and fans like players showing more excitment like jumping off the bench, celerations, ect. And you should be able to get the crowd and add superstar moder please i know live does not want 2k8 to be better them them so add small things like superstar mode have fights when it is a hard foul make it real as you guys can think of like if somebody on a team doesnt like the team have them wanted to be traded to a other team or somethin please listin to the fans of live to make the game worth buying... !!!
Review 10 for NBA Live 08
nba live is back everyone
Posted on:9/18/07
collegeballer22
Well i have downloaded the demo, and I am here to tell you that NBA Live is back. This was the most realistic basketball game to date. I threw NBA live 07 out the window and went with 2k. Not this year though, this game is unreal, when you play with lebron, if you fade he does his shot and its perfectly on. Or Tony Parkers floater in the lane. This game has really stepped up and graphically there will be nothing that can challenge this. I coach and play basketball as well and the gameplay is unreal, the helpside defense, tough shots, the blending animations with contact in the year. Once again, look out
Review 11 for NBA Live 08
make the player to able 2 get thrown out of a game
Posted on:9/20/07
nba live fan...
in nba live 08 plz make the the game play better and fuun to play the game i think it would befun and cold if the player would get mad over a bad call and could get thrown out of the game and maybe stuff like if they take it to far about a bad call the player could miss some games 4 their acttions i mean i know it just a game but come now they say xbox 360 and its game is the new era so make the games better and looks and feel like a new era game come now live u can do better then 2k this year add supper star mode tolive 08 2 please.... i wanna see this work put in to the game...
Review 12 for NBA Live 08
nba
Posted on:9/30/07
A Customer
look nba live 08 is awesome i played the demo the graphics improved and importantly the gameplay and better animations and improved the game in the paint but also 2k is good they got good animations and the graphics improved from last year and also added the dunk contest and i think they'll get about the same rating but wat they should do is nba live and 2k should make one game together like for example nba live would have the graphics and then 2k could put the gameplay and the animations to thats wat they should and how would people react but both games are awesome.
Review 13 for NBA Live 08
live needs to be better than 2k
Posted on:6/11/07
carver city
this year live needs to b way better than 2k cus im sick of everyone saying its not. if you add better graphics and put a superstar mode in the game and way better gamepleay the game will sell and play better than 2k. put more freestyle moves and less pass deflections and better in game dunks and self ally oops. also i think it would be fantastic if there was a feature were the big time dunkers/shooters in the game could do outstanding dunks on other players or the shooters could hit from any where around the arc. that would be great if that was in the game
Review 14 for NBA Live 08
This better be good...
Posted on:6/24/07
StupidMonkey
I rented and played the current nba live.... sucks. i mean, the graphics are great but only when the player is not in movement they should add more things to 08 like give the players more realistic value... for instance getting fouled real hard and start swinging at the opponent. That would be cool because we are starting to see stuff like that now a days. And it wouldent hurt to add a superstar mode like 2k7(can't wait for the next version). But overall 2k beats live like 4 years in a row... lets try to change that or im stickin to 2k.
Review 15 for NBA Live 08
Better than 2k8-BY FAR
Posted on:9/30/07
N-weezy
I've been an NBA live fan for forever, but for the past 2 years it has been terrible, lay-ups through the back board and sloppy ball handling, but this year ive played the NBA Live demo and the 2k8 demo and NBA live is as close to real life gamplay as it gets, the ball handling is amazing, the post moves are all realistic no more layups through the back board while nba 2k8s graphics are terrible, layups through the bottom of the rim, and glitches galore, NBA LIVE IS BACK, and the best basketball game to date.
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for NBA Live 08
More Than just graphics
Posted on:7/29/07
Bulldog
I want more than just graphics I want features. NBA 2k7 was alright but NBA Live08 has to be better. The features have to be better. Say if the ball is going off the court and you running to get it from going out, I want to be able to dive for it instead of it just going out. I want the playmaker play buttons to be a whole easier to press. When your at the end of creating a player I want every thing to be open like headbands, shoes, etc. ps, try to make the Franchise mode only 4 years.
Review 17 for NBA Live 08
NBA live 08 is AWESOME!!!!!!!!
Posted on:9/6/07
A Customer
I just downloaded the demo for this game and i have to say this is the most realistic nba game yet. And its the first to include the FIBA teams. Plus those who have a 360 lucked out cause its running on 60 FPS only on 360 while the other systems including ps3 are running at 30 FPS. Live 07 was horrible, their was clippings and you could dunk through the backboard. But everything that was wrong with nba live 07 has been removed or fixed. You just have to get this game. It WILL be better than 2k8.
Review 18 for NBA Live 08
this game is so overrated
Posted on:6/28/07
zdogg
like i said this game is so overrated i think its going to be the same thing as last year which i mean its going to suck. they always have the best b-ball players on the game covers but the games aren't good some of the players that go on the games cover need to go on the 2k basketball covers. sometimes i think that ea sports pay the b-ball players so much to go on the covers of live and pay for the advertisments and commercials. that they just dont have enough money to make their games better.
Review 19 for NBA Live 08
nba 2k8 dominates again
Posted on:9/7/07
A Customer
nba live sucked it had the worst graphics ever its either swish or miss nba 2k8 is going to be awesome i have nba 2k7 and live o7 2k7 was a whole lot better than live 07 better graphics everything i wouldnt waste my money on live 08 if i were u i hope they fix the gliches in 2k8 because i dont want to see players running around without a shirt or shorts but its still goin to be better than live 08 ea sports needs to quit bmakin basketball games cause they dont know what theyre doin
Review 20 for NBA Live 08
maybe the make or break year for nba live
Posted on:7/15/07
the champ
i hope live bounces back cause i've been a ea sports gamer my whole life until last year with nba2k7, signature shots and better gameplay will definetely put the muscle back into ea b-ball games cause even before 360 or ps3 the gameplay was not realistic then either with those icons where u can abuse them over and over, real gameplay and real live looking players is a must plus signature shots if i'm gonna buy this or not if not i know 2k8 will be far more pleasurable.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>