GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Ninja Gaiden: Dragon Sword

Uncover all the mysteries of Ninja Gaiden Dragon Sword as you fight enemy ninjas and battle various fiends while taking on the role of Master Ninja, Ryu Hayabusa, in an all new storyline for the Nintendo DS.
Average Customer Rating:
8.333
8.3
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (30 reviews)
10 stars
10
9 stars
3
8 stars
0
7 stars
2
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
0
15 out of 1883%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Ninja Gaiden: Dragon Sword
Review 1 for Ninja Gaiden: Dragon Sword
freakn awesome!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:5/1/08
true gamer chick
Ninja gaiden is the best game on DS so far. I would even dare to say that it is better than Zelda. It has really good sound especially for a game on DS. But the sounds the guy makes get pretty annoying. It has some pretty sweet graphics. But the controls are easily mixed up with the touch screen feature and since the way you control the sword in the game is using the stylus you scratch the screen alot. But using the stylus kind of adds to the challenge. I like how you have to turn the DS sideways and hold it like a book. That was smart. It is super cool. I would recommend this game to anyone who loves action games and owns a DS because most DS games are not really a challenge and you could probably beat them in like half a day. But this game seems to actually be taking some time. Another thing about this game is that it is actually worth the money. Other games you buy at this price are not really a challenge or you can't even do versus in, but this game you can do versus in.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 2 for Ninja Gaiden: Dragon Sword
A-MAZE-ING
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/8/09
DJ
This game......man where do i start. Firstly,i would like to say this game (to me) is pretty challenging. But JUST challenging enough to where i dont wanna give up.The graphics are stunning for the DS. And the levels are beautiful. It is fairly long a little too short though. I loved the story line. Byu's Apprentice, Momiji, has been kidnapped by the Black Spider Ninja Clan. So you must save her. As you go along you learn something that,if not stopped, could being endless chaos and destruction to the world. So what do you do? Slash fiends and enemy ninja to shreds. Speaking of slashing, the controls are really great.You slide your stylus across an enemy to slash 'em. And you tap them to shoot a shuriken or arrow. You slide your stylus up to jump and theres other stuff too....... The sound is awesome. During a cutscene the characters wont say much but it is still good quality. All in all i recommend this game to ANYONE. Especially those interested in Ninjas, Swords, Dragons, or weird monster called Fiends.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
JAHMONH
JACKSONVILLE,FL
 
Please wait while more information about JAHMONH is loaded.
Additional information about JAHMONH could not be loaded.
LOVE IT
Posted 7/26/11
I THINK THAT ITS A GREAT GAME AND I ADDED IT TO MY WISH LIST
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 3 for Ninja Gaiden: Dragon Sword
Best game I've had in months.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/30/08
johnnybgood
Ninja Gaiden, a renowned gaming series known for it's difficulty, has scaled new heights by bringing their game Ninja Gaiden: Dragon sword to the DS. The graphics are stunning; I could almost see the individual pixels of Ryu and his enemies. The soundtrack is wonderful; one of the best I've heard from all the games I've played. The story line captured my attention from the first cut scene to the very last battle. This game was challenging enough for me not to get bored by it, but not so challenging as to make me through my DS across my room in frustration. The controls were amazing; the best for DS by far. You used your stylus for everything, whether it be casting Ninpo magic, or slicing and dicing your enemies. And, last but not least, this game worked beautifully with the Nintendo DS system, and did not disappoint me in any way. Therefore, I am waiting with baited breath for the next release of Ninja Gaiden for the DS, that is how good Dragon Sword was!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 4 for Ninja Gaiden: Dragon Sword
YAY!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/22/10
Xander The Ninja Poet
I got this game a while back. I have to say, it's better than I expected. The touch screen controls are basically what you would be expecting, from a DS hack-and-slash game. The story seems to be that the Fiends are thought to be extinct. And then, Ryu's student is abducted by one. Ryu sets out to rescue her, but when he learns that the Fiends still exist, he decides to attempt to destroy them, again. The unique thing about this game is that, you have to hold your system sideways to properly play it. Though that may sound strange, it's actually pretty cool. The graphics are some of the best on the DS. I have played both XBOX Ninja Gaiden games. so I can safely say that those are better, but if you liked those this is DEFINITELY worth your time. I highly recommend it!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Ninja Gaiden: Dragon Sword
A must buy for anyone with a DS
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/30/08
Altair
This is a easy version of the console version with a story that takes place 6 months after the events of the console version. Now its not as hard as the other version but it is challenging. You move slash & use nippo attack with the touch screen & it works very well. The only problem is when you're far away sometimes you're combos don't come out as well but other than that its a great game. You can't just sribble on the touch screen to attack. You have to move smooth & with grace so every slash counts. You can do some crazy combos & The game is not that hard to play. Its about 6 hours long & its the best 6 hours I've played this week. This is by far the best use of the DS touch screen ever. I can't wait for Team Ninja & Tecmo to make another Ninja Gaiden cause this game is awsome. Great graphics, sound, story & gameplay witch makes this game shine. I recommend this to any Nintendo DS owner. I'm so happy to own this remarkable game & I don't think I'll ever trade this game. Get Ninja Gaiden & witness what a DS game is made to be.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 6 for Ninja Gaiden: Dragon Sword
Great..or not?
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/15/08
Ninja-Dude
This game is awesome, but kinda sucks. Brilliant, but pretty stupid. The wi-fi karma idea was a complete waste of time. It's just an excuse for people to gloat about their scores, but you technically can't. The controls are smooth as butter for the slashing and hacking, but the dodge could have improved. The whole blocking thing was a wierd control. Sometimes it would just block automatically, and then when I purposely blocked, the fiends just blew right through me! The hard difficulty is exactly that. I keep dying, which means that it's living up to the standards, but maybe too much. It's a pain to try to get to play momiji's story. That's a nice touch though. The prizes are fun; finding out what everyone thinks of stuff. It's also good insight for the people who haven't played the previous games. All in all this game needs more, but it was fun for the time you play. Also, i think my hand has gottan stronger from all the ultimate techniques!
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 7 for Ninja Gaiden: Dragon Sword
A Customer
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/27/08
THE GAMERz
Ninja gaiden: dragon sword is the best game on ds so far. The graphic is really amazing for ds system and the new storyline is just so awesome. Its challenging so it'll make you keep this game for long time. Also, there's 3 saving files which let you have a friend playing with their own profiles if they want to. And this game got 9 out of 10 in gamespot, 8.6 in IGN, and 4 out of 5 in gamespy. But for me, this games 20 out of 10! How you can hold your ds like a book was also brilliant. If you're lefty, you can change the setting too! There's like thousands of combo that you can do in this game. You also can shoot arrows and lot more. You get to upgrade your swords, buy new skills, and even raise your health! Man, I was like should I buy this game at first time but when i bought it, I was blown away by the graphics and gameplay. This game has easy controls so you'll get good at it when you beat the 2 chapter or the first chapter. It's also just so fun to watch cutscenes in between. SO GET THIS GAME NO MATTER WHAT KINDS OF GAME YOU LIKE!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 8 for Ninja Gaiden: Dragon Sword
Ryu Hayabusa has done it again!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/16/08
Another Halo player
It was an excellent idea of making Ninja Gaiden on DS. Though I wouldn't say that the game's better than Legend of Zelda: Phantom Hourglass. The Graphics is freakin awesome with excellent frame rate (60 fps). Controls are excellent 2. I didn't really expect the game to be so short though (6:30 HOURS!), I cant really complain about the challenge of the game, it makes it good 4 casual gamers (like my 4 year old bro) so they wont give it back 3 hours after buying it, but if u put it on Head Ninja Difficulty, you wont notice a difference of the difficulty, but when a path is blocked & you start fighting enemies, the dudes will keep coming & coming. I also like the fact that u get to play as a different character, Rin. I'm tell ya how to play with her, so if u don't like spoilers, don't read this part. BEAT THE BOSS ON CHAPTER 1 AS MOMIJI. They're simple right? I recommend you PLAY THIS FREAKIN GAME! ITS AWESOME!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 9 for Ninja Gaiden: Dragon Sword
LUV DIS GAME!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/16/09
Born2BK1NG
Okay, this game has the best graphics I`ve seen on the ds. The stages kinda of reminded me of Devil May Cry, and the monsters of God of War. This game was extremley challenging, maybe because its my first Ninja Gaiden game. Even though its challenging aspects, its still extremley fun, I just can't put it down. The storyline is Awsome, and there are great cut-scenes. They aren't animated, or have any voice, but they still look cool, and if it wasn't for cool cut-scenes I wouldn't play games probably. I wish they made it into CGI cut-scenes instead. Anyways, the controlls are OUTSTANDING. They are all touch screen, and you get to use these super tite spell attacks, and you get unlimited shurikens, and explosive arrows,. This game also has some RPG element to it. For example, you can upgrade your sword, health, and you can buy new spell attacks, which are called ninpo in this game. The characters name is Ryu, and what you basically do is Rescue a girl named Momiji, collect Dragon Stones, and save the world. Name is funny my Desi chaps. Anyways, this game doesn't take full potential of the wi-fi, and friend codes is defintley not helping. All you use the wi-fi for is checking your ranking info, which is pretty. Over all this game is a great buy. Plus Gamestop, and other Major retailers are selling it cheap.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Ninja Gaiden: Dragon Sword
think 2wice bout getting this game
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:8/1/08
gaaaaaaaaammmmmmmeeeeerrrrrrrrrr
i have read three of the reviews and all the three all said the game is great. in the beginning its really fun but after three days or even two, its mad boring. you basically do all the same things all the time. all it is is that you fight by sliding the stylus and that is all you do besides walking around. i got sick of it and besides the first boss the rest are very easy which should be the other way around. really you shouldnt waste your money on this game because it will really make you regret it. i say that my best game that i have would be new super mario bros. besides the main game there is also mini games that are fun and challenging and on multiplayer you only need one game. and there is even more minigames when you do that.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Ninja Gaiden: Dragon Sword
dont hate me
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:4/8/08
bruno b
First playing this game I was like woah then after like the second level i was bored out of my mind and it only takes about 7 to 9 hours to beat meaning its very easy and like 13 CHAPTERS! yay NOT the story line didn't make much sense I mean your in an ice cave then some old hag is turned into a flipping demon what's up with that and after the like 3rd mission the old dude is sleeping on the bridge do you really think people will remember his name is boppa loppa shaba lobba ding dong i doubt it and when you beat the last boss (which is incredibly easy) you have to fight one more which when you go to hit him with the finishing blow which you MUST USE WITH THE DRAGON SWORD NOT THE ARROWS!!!! he eats you like 5 times and you have to do it again avoid his mouth and hit him literally 50 TIMES so yea thats my review.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Review 12 for Ninja Gaiden: Dragon Sword
Quick best game
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:7/1/11
JustAGameAddictLoser98
Location: Chicago, Illinois
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
The game was amazing from the beginning but gotten hard and boring as the player progressed. The attacks and powers are repetitive. The storyline was good but the game become a wasted effort once you completed it.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Ninja Gaiden: Dragon Sword
AMAZING!
Posted on:5/19/07
Yaka
This game is increible the graphics are reasonable, the controls are just great I haven't reserved it but I love it for those who read this I will explain the controls if you tap the screen once Hayabusa wil throw a star tap twice and he will jump tap twice again while he is still in the air he will double jump slide the stylis across the screen he will slash there are 3 different ways of slashing, top to bottom, bottom to top, and across you use any button on the DS to block, and that is the only reason to use the buttons other than that you just use the stylus.
Review 14 for Ninja Gaiden: Dragon Sword
Respectable DS title...
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:8/9/08
Androo
I think that this game deserves a 7.5 but there are no fractions so a 7 will have to do, yet it would be too prestigious to give this title an 8. This game is Zelda style with the touch screen controls and stylus strokes. You will guide Ryu Hayabusa by holding the stylus in a certain place away from him and you can change his speed depending on how far away you are holding the stylus from him. Your basic attack is a simple stroke on the enemy you wish to disassemble and you learn different combos to dispose of your foes in a quicker and stylized fashion. The graphics are also raising the bar for the DS's horsepower through it's detailed characters, surroundings and smooth movements. You also hold the DS sideways Brain-Age style which can feel uncomfortable at times. All your controls are done via the touch screen except for parrying which can be done by any button. You are also given the ability to throw shurikens at hard to reach pests. This game has two main concepts: Walking and Fighting. Fighting is so repetitive to the point of mindlessness as you end up not even looking at the screen but slashing the touch screen slaughtering too many enemies. There are thirteen chapters or levels in the game; maybe 10 minutes each, and are all fairly simple and offer no challenge or puzzles. This is a good addition to the Ninja Gaiden Series and DS library, but the simplicity and lack luster fighting are not meaty enough to earn itself a high score.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 15 for Ninja Gaiden: Dragon Sword
Unique
Posted on:5/18/07
Azzurus
This game looks amazing from the hands-on videos I've seen. You will hold your DS sideways, just like "Brain Age" and use the stylus for just about everything including moving, attacking, throwing shuriken, and using powers. The only time you'll need the buttons is to block. The game's unique style and good graphics makes it look like a must-have for any DS owner! Developers sure are taking the DS software to the next level!
Review 16 for Ninja Gaiden: Dragon Sword
ninja gaiden on ds!
Posted on:6/2/07
A Customer
i haven't played any of the ninja gaiden games, but i am going to pre-order this game because it looks so awsome! the graphics seem good for a ds game, but for sure the game play will make up for that. the pictures that i have seen look really awsome. i really suggest this game for anyone who owns a ds because this game will be a best-seller for sometime.
Review 17 for Ninja Gaiden: Dragon Sword
This is how you make an action game for the DS.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:8/20/11
ThatNameIsAlreadyTaken
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
A handful of action-oriented Nintendo DS titles just somehow seem to fail to take advantage of that touch screen it was built with. Ninja Gaiden: Dragon Sword, on the other hand, did it right. The basic philosophy of this game, which is "Either use the touch screen or lose it," is very sound. Seriously, you bought the DS system, so you might as well get a game that fully takes advantage of the hardware. Yet, you also want to get that adernaline rush from an action game. This game gives you both. Slashing (not literally) across the screen with your stylus, scribbling back and forth to pull off Ryu Hayabusa's Ultimate Technique, and tapping the screen to throw shiruken, all parts of a pure stroke of genius by the guys at Tecmo. The story is merely an archetypical "save the princess/shrine maiden/hot chick while preventing the resurrection of an evil force" kind of thing told out through nifty cutscenes. The graphics are pre-rendered with polygon models as sprites, which make the game look fantastic. The soundtrack is neat and fits the action well. The only real thing to complain about is that the game is hard. Of course, every Ninja Gaiden game is supposed to be hard. Otherwise, it's not Ninja Gaiden. On the harder difficulties, and especially the final boss battle, prepare to get a lot of Game Overs. Overall, the game is excellent for those looking to get their fix of action gaming on the go. One word of advice: Buy a screen protector for the touch screen. You'll DEFINITELY need it. Also, be sure to give your hands a break every so often, because playing a level on the harder difficulties can really leave your writing hand sore.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 18 for Ninja Gaiden: Dragon Sword
I'm going to run up a wall now!
Posted on:7/22/07
Ima Ninja
They combined two of my favorite things into one awesome game. Ninjas+DS= Maximum Ownage. I wish they would make it for the 360 as well. Because 360 games tend to have better Real-Time gameplay. But DS games are known for the Touch Screen. So I hope that will be incorperated better than it was in Pokemon Diamond.
Review 19 for Ninja Gaiden: Dragon Sword
Different but Awesome!!!
Posted on:10/15/07
pin puller(-ping- KABOOM)!!!
Ever things seems to be giong great with game.At first I thought the controls werent giong to work out but they pulled in off!! The only thing thats kinda wierd is the side ways tilt. I dont understand the purpose of it. Even though, this game is bound to be just as awesome as its console brotheren
Review 20 for Ninja Gaiden: Dragon Sword
don't listen to the critics
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/27/08
Buzz boy
Let me begin by saying that some people say this game is bad. Well its not. The graphics are great, everything is crisp and detailed, save several far away backgrounds. The far away backgrounds are nothing but poorly detailed drawings. That's right, no motion in the backgrounds. The game looks bad paused but once it takes motion it looks much better. The style is mainly 3-D with beautiful colors. The soundtrack is also great with silence in some parts, battle music in others, dramatic music, and a great country soundtrack in others. Now for the controls: You slash at the touch screen to attack with your sword, tap the screen to shoot an arrow, and slash the screen upward to jump. The attacks you perform in mid-air are awesome. You can also perform sweet multi- attack combos. I also like how you use the microphone in several parts. The only thing screwed up in here is the blocking. You press and hold any button to perform it. (It's also the only control you use actual buttons for.) The problem is it's done automatically sometimes. You also don't use it much for ranged attacks since you can reflect and dodge attacks also. You reflect attacks by slashing the item coming at you, and dodge by tapping the area you want to roll to while holding the doge to while holding the block button. As for the length, it really is good for handheld standards. With 13 long chapters to go through on multiple difficulties plus tons off unlock ablest. The wi-fi isn't anything special; it's just posting your score online. I like how you can purchase upgrades a lot, also. The story is moderate but to me the story line isn't that important. Overall the Ninja Gaiden series made a great transition to the DS.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 2 next>>