GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Universe at War: Earth Assault

Universe at War: Earth Assault is the next sci-fi real-time strategy game from Petroglyph, the award-winning developer comprised of ex-Westwood Studios members that developed the original Command & Conquer and C&C: Red Alert. The latest strategy game from these RTS pioneers features unprecedented levels of customization and an epic storyline set on near-future Earth. Powerful forces from across the universe have brought war to our planet. In Universe at War, you take command of several unique factions with awesome powers and spectacular units. Control massive-scale alien war machines that are fully customizable. With "Tactical Dynamics," Universe at War's on-the-fly tactical customization system, you can dynamically swap out weaponry, rework your tech tree, and retrain units in the middle of combat to thwart your foe and seize the advantage. This advance on the traditional rock-paper-scissors model of balance gives players even more control over how they respond and adapt to their opponent's strategies.
Average Customer Rating:
8.143
8.1
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
10 stars
1
9 stars
3
8 stars
2
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
6 out of 786%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Universe at War: Earth Assault
Review 1 for Universe at War: Earth Assault
Best 360 Strategy Game So Far
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/10/08
Pillow Paper
This game is very good. It is kind of hard to understand the controls at first, but when you figure out all the controls and Faction powers it's a really great game. If you enjoy C&C, then you will enjoy this game. I am very satisfied with my Purchase. Online is very challenging. The game is sort of like Starwars Empire At War. You have a Conquer the world were you try to fight to own territories all over the world. Each Faction brongs it's own special Abilities to the game. I would not this many characters in a review if it wasn't this good. When you get the money go out and buy it. By the way if you want to play the game with me, my gamertag is ( **** ). Look me up on X-Box live. One last thing, the acheivements are very spread out. You can get them on skirmish, online, and campaign. See you all there.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
DeusTelorum
Lancaster
 
Please wait while more information about DeusTelorum is loaded.
Additional information about DeusTelorum could not be loaded.
First Game
Posted 1/12/13
This was one of my first Xbox 360 games and it honestly kept me busy for hours. The graphics were good, the gameplay was fun, and having all of your friends watch you wreck whole cities with a giant mech army while mowing down enemies isnt bad either. This game is ridiculous fun and i'd recommend it highly.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 2 for Universe at War: Earth Assault
This is a very good game.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:3/31/08
dbzap19
As a C&C fan, this game is very solid. The graphics are good for an RTS on the 360. The interface is a little different than C&C, but easy to use and quick to pickup. The screen is uncluttered with menus and maps. You pull your right trigger and the map is enlarged for quick review. The controls are simple by clicking the "a" button to control or hit "x" to control all of your units on the screen. You can even controls types of units by hitting the RB button which already has the groups set up for you. You can also set custom group controls to switch back and forth for easy control. This is a solid RTS in the vein of C&C that is fun and has a bit more challenge than C&C since it has heroes and special abilities that can be tapped in battle. Hopefully this will be supported by Sega with downloads of maps and other items. This is a very good RTS that is worth the money. Pick it up and enjoy.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Universe at War: Earth Assault
Universe at War for the Xbox 360
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:7/27/08
The Silent Gamer
If you are a fan of online strategy games Universe at War should definitely be in your collection. While having the same overlay and game play as Command and Conquer it shows a completely different style of fighting and it keeps within the bounds of an even fight. They're countless unique battle tactics you can choose from whether its sending small waves or steamrolling right over the enemy; all with their advantages and disadvantages. All the factions have specialties as well Novas being speed, Hierarchy being attack power, and Masari being defense. However it seems that there is no noticeable difference in the difficulty of the skirmish mode, easy is just as hard as hard. Not that it matters that much because with the very enjoyable game play it is easily overlooked. If you see it in a game store or even in a game rental store, I strongly suggest that you give it a try.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Universe at War: Earth Assault
Good RTS
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:3/31/08
Kinslayer
I would have to say, having played C&C3 and BFME2 on Xbox 360, this game tops them as far as control scheme is concerned. The controls are VERY well thought out and work much better than any other RTS I played on my 360 so far. The story is nothing ground breaking but so far it's keeping my interest. I haven't tried online yet, but will very soon. Graphics are nothing to write home about. But they are good enough for me. Lots of good effects and stuff you would expect in such a game. Races are quite different and have a lot of options. I really liked the different variations of the races and their units. Overall, I think it's a good game for sure. With cross platform on the way, and a great control scheme, they just need to not pull a "EA" and support it. Good stuff.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Universe at War: Earth Assault
Can you please be quiet?
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:6/5/08
PapaBear
First off the characters with their repeated phrases get old...fast. After the first 10 Mins of game play I was so tired of hearing the characters say the same things over and over again through out mission after mission. I had to mute the T.V. just to be able to enjoy a couple missions. The story is some what original though every RTS I've played has been about global take over. The graphics are al right, crisp but lack any real design. The different races each play differently and requires you to learn the curve of dealing out the damage to your opposing race. I was let down by the real lack of options and customization of your group. Controls were easy to deliver your orders but lacked in any good close up angles and game play. I'd rent this one, but to fork out the money on this title would unfortunately be a waste.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
1 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
chaos515327632
 
Please wait while more information about chaos515327632 is loaded.
Additional information about chaos515327632 could not be loaded.
Posted 11/26/10
it only costs 12 dollers!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 6 for Universe at War: Earth Assault
Great RTS, Improves on C&C 3
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:4/2/08
THEMISSING
Great game. They've managed to take everything good about Command & Conquer 3 on the 360 and improve upon them. The controls are easier to use, more fluid and the actual gameplay is great. The 3 factions are extremely well balanced and the story is fun. Once you get through the lengthy campain on single player, you can hop online for some great battles. I really enjoy this game and although Command & Conquer looks a little better, I think Universe At War is actually more fun overall. If anyone is on the fence about this title or about purchasing an RTS for a console as opposed to a PC, I'd say go for it, they've really done a lot to help streamline the gameplay to make it enjoyable even if you're not using a mouse or keyboard. Highly recommended.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 7 for Universe at War: Earth Assault
Game looks alright
Posted on:11/29/07
Stoked20
Ok i just have to correct sinisterelf because what he said is just.... well we'll just say it was wrong!!! Those tanks are ABRAMS AND THOSE HMWVV'S are modern era military vehicles, where did you ever see an ABRAM tank in WWII, no doubt you seen bradley's but not abrams or those HWMVV's. But anyway game looks pretty cool going to try the beta just to see whats up.
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Universe at War: Earth Assault
Very good so far
Posted on:11/1/07
HissingNewt
I've been playing the beta (I know it's for PC, but it's still the same game, just different controls) and it's been really good. Once the game is patched and a few balance changes are made it will easily be better than other strategy games. Definitely an original game with unique factions and gameplay.
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Universe at War: Earth Assault
A little confusing
Posted on:7/1/07
sinisterelf
the game looks a little confusing in the screen shots. The aliens or whatever look like they have one unit. The human units look like they are from the world war 2 era. Strategy games aren't very good on consoles so I'm curious to see what they can do with it.
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Universe at War: Earth Assault
looks cool
Posted on:5/25/07
mickey
this game looks cool.i like the the fact its a stragey game because ther isnt to many out there.the front cover looks tense it looks like a buy.but i cat judge it so fast its coming out in 2008.think will be popular. -mickey
Review 11 for Universe at War: Earth Assault
My new favorite RTS for the 360.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/22/11
Tragic
Location: Memphis, TN
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Universe at War is just an awesome game. I do own quite a few RTS-styled titles for the 360. While they are solid in their own ways, I feel that Universe at War is just better overall. It is easy to pick up and play thanks to its no-nonsense tutorials, which I recommend completing as with any game that features a tutorial. Now please take note that the tutorials featured in the Tutorial menu of this game are merely just videos. They do however offer a significant amount of insight regarding how effectively well this game can be played. The "bread and butter" tutorial in regards to how the controls work and the what not is in the Campaign menus. It is the Prelude section. It is there one will get a great idea on how to play this game in regards to the controller. With that being said, the controls are not complicated and should be at least moderately easy for anyone to pick-up on. Same goes for the in-match menus. It doesn't really feature anything really complicated.The story is solid. It is not great, but it is keeping my attention nonetheless so far. Universe at War does have depth and diversity, more so than the majority of other RTS titles I own or even played. There are three factions, each of which have their unique feel in regards to how they are played, what they can produce and the like. The Skirmish and Online modes are solid and even somewhat flexible regarding options. My only gripe is the sound. Although I feel it is not a game-changing gripe, I do feel they could have done a better job with the voice-overs and the such. Like I said in the previous sentence, it is not game-changing and only minor. Overall, Universe at War is a great RTS that lacks nothing of significance and is easy to pick up and play. I would definitely recommend it to anybody that is a fan of the genre or even new to the genre. If you have Xbox Live, there is a free demo you can download. At least give it a shot and be the judge for yourself.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Halo Wars Platinum Hits
8.9 out of 10(30)
 
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10