GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Splinter Cell: Conviction

Coming exclusively to the PC and Xbox 360 video game and entertainment system from Microsoft, Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell Conviction is the highly anticipated sequel in the multimillion-selling Splinter Cell series and one of the most critically acclaimed Xbox franchises of all time.An investigation into his daughter's death unwittingly leads former agent Sam Fisher to discover he's been betrayed by his prior agency, the Third Echelon. Now a renegade, Fisher finds himself in a race against time to thwart a deadly terrorist plot that threatens millions.
Average Customer Rating:
8.771
8.8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (404 reviews)
10 stars
90
9 stars
63
8 stars
13
7 stars
12
6 stars
11
5 stars
4
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
3
177 out of 20188%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Splinter Cell: Conviction
Review 1 for Splinter Cell: Conviction
Very Good
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:3/4/12
Link10103
Location: Virginia
Not the usual Splinter Cell, where you have to creep and crawl everywhere in order to avoid detection or you pretty much die instantly. Considering the end of Double Agent, the Sam Fisher we all knew and loved died when his daughter did, and after leaving Third Echelon he pretty much has nothing holding him back now. You can literally walk into a room full of guys, and take them out within 5 seconds if you took the proper precautions. The story is semi short, but interesting nonetheless. Stealth isnt as big as it was previously, but you can still manage it if need be and still enjoy the game. The multiplayer aspect of it didnt appeal to me as much, co op is maybe about 5 levels, but they extend a little farther in length than a singleplayer mission would. They have 3 other co op types, at least without any dlc (never got it), where you are hunting enemies as silently as possible, protecting an emp generator, or facing off against the other player while killing/avoiding enemy AI. Like the direction they took in this game, but I was severely annoyed that it is a Xbox exclusive. Only just now was able to play it since i mooched off my brothers xbox. All in all, a great game, cant wait for the next one i hear might be in development.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
critter757
fort worth tx
 
Please wait while more information about critter757 is loaded.
Additional information about critter757 could not be loaded.
Posted 3/21/12
yes the game is in the making and it might be on 360 ps3 but you know how that goes they have denied everything that has to do with it so there not gonna say till it is closer to the release date but i hope this eases your mind on that subject
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 2 for Splinter Cell: Conviction
a fun way to lose track of time
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:2/26/14
TheMightySpacePope
Location: The Moon,
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Overall the game is great, the controls are annoying to get used to especially if your a cod or halo gamer. the campaign is enjoyable while the co-op experience has much to be desired. I'll recommend this to casual and hardcore gamers although young children should stay away because the language can get rather nasty. I truly enjoyed this game and i hope you will to.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 3 for Splinter Cell: Conviction
Awesomeness!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/3/13
GamerFail228
Location: Parker, CO
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game was extremely addicting. The story line really helps you get super into the game. The only disappointment I had was the fact that you cannot pick up and hide bodies after you have "knocked them out". The multiplayer games were also fun; however EXTREMELY LAGGY! Overall a Great Game!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 4 for Splinter Cell: Conviction
AWESOME GAME FOR STEALTH GAMERS
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/29/13
jmo1427
Location: Birmingham,MI
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is perfect for stealth gamers. I prefer conviction over double agent because you had to have the exact same guns every time. This game has a little bit of a selection now. You can go to a weapon stash and you can get guns that you picked up or was standard from the levels. I really liked the storyline because I have never played a game like it before. It was that you were betrayed and it was you versus third echelon and a private security firm called black arrow. This is one if the best games I have got for 10 DOLLARS! That is a awesome price for a amazing game. You have to play this before blacklist
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 5 for Splinter Cell: Conviction
Olympus has fallen!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/1/13
Joethegamer
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game reminds me of a awesome movie I felt like I was playing an actor in a action flick great job by ubisoft. I know this game is old now but still a great buy and plus for 10 bucks its a great economical addition to the collection.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 6 for Splinter Cell: Conviction
So far best yet
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/14/13
bbbbb
Location: california
This game is perfect for: party gamers
Splinter cell is a good game. some of the games are good and bad. i have played numerous of them and they are good. but Conviction is the best. the only thing i did not like was when you were in the desert. i expected they should let you drive a car. the weapons were really good because you can upgrade once you have the amount of points. i cant wait for the new one coming out Blackist. the others you might like are any of the Tc games like the new Ghost Recon Future Solider.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Splinter Cell: Conviction
Great Action Game!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/11/13
LROGER299
Location: JACKSONVILLE, FL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I have gone through the campaign for this game three times...each time trying to dispose of the enemies in a different manner. I love this game. It shouldn't be a Splinter Cell game...It should be it's own game. I wish they made it for the PS3.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 8 for Splinter Cell: Conviction
Nice story, but....
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:10/28/12
biker
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game has excellent graphics and sound. From the looks of it a lot of people really loved this game. However, I've seen it before and with this game I'm seeing it again: The older, original Splinter Cell games for the original Xbox were much funner and more challenging. Once again, they've dumbed down the skill level for this game to make it more "playable" for more casual gamers. Drives me nuts.
I noticed they've been doing that for a lot of Xbox 360 games. For example Ninja Gaiden 2, it was a great game when Itagaki had control over it for the original Xbox....then they make it for 360 and a new guy comes in to make it "more playable for casual gamers" and the series goes to garbage.
I'm glad I played it and finished the story of Splinter Cell, however, I would not recommend this game to a friend. It was way too easy. I had to wait till the very last level to get any sort of a challenge out of it. Buy a used version for like $15 somewhere, play it for a while and be done with it.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Review 9 for Splinter Cell: Conviction
this game is great
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:10/22/12
bluedemon1990
Location: Ashtabula oh
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
i played this game multiple times and i have always loved the splintercell games except pandora tomorrow. this game shows what not only an secret nsa agent, but a father will do to save the things that matter most. this game is great for sneaking around or for all out firefight take your pick sam fisher can do it all
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 10 for Splinter Cell: Conviction
THE GREATEST STEALTH-ACTION GAME EVER MADE
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/10/12
SUPREME1IMPERIAL
Location: NY
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
THE GREATEST STEALTH-ACTION GAME AND SERIES EVER MADE GETS BETTER BECAUSE IT'S SPLINTER CELL. SPLINTER CELL HAS ALWAYS REVOLUTIONIZED AND REDEFINED THE STEALTH-ACTION GENRE. UNLIKE THE INFERIOR-METAL-GEAR-SOLID SERIES IT HAS ALWAYS MADE A GIGANTIC LEAP IN SOUND VISION AND VISUALS AND IT CONTINUES HERE.SPLINTER CELL CONVICTION DARED TO BE BETTER AND IT SUCCEDED AT EVERY LEVEL TECHNOLOGICALLY AND HUMANLY POSSIBLE. IMMEDIATELY GET SPLINTER CELL BLACKLIST WHEN RELEASED.
THE END
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 11 for Splinter Cell: Conviction
THE GREATEST STEALTH-ACTION GAME EVER MADE
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/8/12
SUPREME1IMPERIAL
Location: NY
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
THE GREATEST STTHE GREATEST STEALTH-ACTION GAME AND SERIES EVER MADE GETS BETTER BECAUSE IT'S SPLINTER CELL. SPLINTER CELL HAS ALWAYS REVOLUTIONIZED AND REDEFINED THE STEALTH-ACTION GENRE. UNLIKE THE INFERIOR-METAL-GEAR-SOLID SERIES IT HAS ALWAYS MADE A GIGANTIC LEAP IN SOUND VISION AND VISUALS AND IT CONTINUES HERE.SPLINTER CELL CONVICTION DARED TO BE BETTER AND IT SUCCEDED AT EVERY LEVEL TECHNOLOGICALLY AND HUMANLY POSSIBLE. IMMEDIATELY GET SPLINTER CELL BLACKLIST WHEN RELEASED.
THE END
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 12 for Splinter Cell: Conviction
Too cool for words
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/8/12
z80zman
Location: Scottsdale
This game is perfect for: party gamers
This game is a must have. I have the complete collection, and I must say that Conviction is the best in the collection. This game has a great multi player mode. With a story mode, hunter, last stand and infiltration modes the fun just keep on coming. This game is cool because of the multi player modes and it is a challenge on all levels. It is even better with a friend. If you can not complete a level, you can always invite your friend to help you out. This game Is is with out a doubt my favorite game. I even have 2 Xbox 360s so each player can have a full screen. It is even better on a big screen. I have a video projector to have it on a 8' x 12 foot wall. Just buy this game you will not be disapointed .
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 13 for Splinter Cell: Conviction
Best gameof the series .
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/25/12
ZReviewer
This game is not your normal splinter cell sneaking around in this one feel like a real, renegade agent. This splinter cell has the best graphic's, the game play is awesome, but you kinda feel to good, if that makes since .
The best feature of all is the multiplayer in my opinion it's just so much freaking fun, and addictive. This game is worth the money great game and I'm looking forward to the next game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 14 for Splinter Cell: Conviction
This Series Has Evolved
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:8/22/12
mitchinator
Location: Portland,Oregon
Splinter Cell: Conviction has changed stealth forever. Instead of memorizing enemy movements, walking very slowly, and being very careful with your movements, this game just let's you take cover take out each enemy however you want. This can be good and bad. It is great because you will no longer have to study and wait for ten minutes, now you can just run and gun you way through the level. It is not as stealthy anymore. Or you can move fast, but stay true to Splinter Cell. This is bad, because it does not let you be the ultimate spy. You are now more of a Rogue Soldier. You are stealthy, but everyone knows of your presence. This game's stealth mechanics are very similar to Arkham Asylum's stealth missions. The story follows rogue Sam Fisher trying to find out why he was betrayed by Third Echelon. The story is cliched, but is indeed fun. You move your way through different countries and states, but once the game sets you in America, that is when the fun begins. Now, the main problem of this game is that the single player story is about four or five hours, which is an insult to Splinter Cell. These game are usually twelve to fifteen hours. This game however, has much more replay value than the rest of the pack. Multiplayer returns, and it is down right addicting. There is no cooperative modes though. This is a game that will really make you think, in order to get passed missions. Overall, this is a great game that delivers in the spots that count.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 15 for Splinter Cell: Conviction
Not A Big Fan
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:7/8/12
BigADawg
Location: Middletown, CT
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Listen, if you haven't played splinter cell from the first one to double agent (and double agent was a little different too but closer to the old ones than conviction) then this game will be fun for you, it has a lot of action and you kill everyone. If you played the first three (and ill count double agent too) then you will not like this game. It really has little to do with stealth and trying to approach the mission in a non lethal way like the old games, which gave them such a thrill and intensity that I have never seen in other games. I hope that future splinter cell games are not like this one, but I have to say Blacklist is already looking the same which is really disappointing. They should go back to the old style.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
z80zman
Scottsdale
 
Please wait while more information about z80zman is loaded.
Additional information about z80zman could not be loaded.
WHAT?
Posted 10/15/12
Splinter cell conviction has it all, stealth and awesome game play. There are so many ways to play this game. I will say that one bad thing is that you can not move the bodies. But who cares, just shoot the lights out and you are golden. The only other weak thing is how the coop story ends. Also Black will be sweet except for the voice change of Same Fisher. But if you think Splinter cell is all bad, that is your choice. This game is not for everyone, but if you like shooter games you should like it. Like I do not care for driving games, that does not that all driving games suck. It is just my forte.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 16 for Splinter Cell: Conviction
A Perfect Change in The Series.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/4/12
HighLife
Location: Kightdale, NC
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This Splinter Cell isn`t like the others, in the others its all about stealth and not being dectected and kill or knock out as few enemies as possible. In Conviction its more of a "Run `n Gun" type game where you kill everybody anyway you want, be as loud as you want, and use stealth when you want. Also the the "interrogating" in this game is more or less "beat the guy until he tells you what you want to know" trust me you`ll love it. I recommend this game ONLY if you have played the other ones, at least play Splinter Cell Double Agent before this one because Conviction follows up the events from Double Agent so it`ll make the story a lot easier to understand.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Splinter Cell: Conviction
Awesome!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/1/12
Pat20
Location: Michigan
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I just picked this up from Gamestop a couple of days ago and it has taken up most of the time I have available. The way it combines combat elements with stealth elements is quite simply pristine. I love the campaign, but I decided to stop playing it until I can hone my skills in deniable ops. I'm stuck on a part (I won't tell you where it is so I don't spoil it) where a squad of ~15 guys shoot their way into the room I'm in and they usually travel in groups so it's just a pit of a pain. I love the deniable ops hunter mode (fight your way through rooms of people. They call backup if everyone knows where you are). It's pretty fun to use the telecom outfit and pretend your a janitor (it looks like a janitor suit). Overall I'd definitely recommend this game!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 18 for Splinter Cell: Conviction
Amazing addition to the series
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:6/29/12
DefianceRising
Location: Deland, Florida
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I am a big fan of stealth games, and I can be hard to please, but Splinter Cell Conviction was truly a splendid addition to the Tom Clancy game collection. Given it's AWESOME single player story line, and it's multiple multiplayer layouts, it can keep the most hardcore gamers hooked.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 19 for Splinter Cell: Conviction
Awsome game cant wait for blacklist
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/28/12
ELiIzSiC
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
When I first got conviction I played nonstop.its a great stealth game and i love deniable ops,if you do not have it i recommend getting it and ghost recon future soldier if you like Tom Clancy games.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Splinter Cell: Conviction
A different kind of Splinter Cell
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:6/27/12
kenjisan231
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I've played all of the Splinter Cells except Pandora Tomorrow; I can't remember why I didn't play it, but I didn't. I enjoy stealth games probably more than any other genre, which is incredibly ironic, because I am terrible at stealth games. I continually buy them every year and I continue to fail miserably. I trudge on though and I eventually beat them. The past Splinter Cells were heavy on the stealth, but I knew that going in. I may have been bad at it, but I still had fun. Splinter Cell conviction is still a stealth game at heart, but it takes on a more action oriented role.
Strictly gameplay wise, this is game is kind of like Deus Ex (or similar title) where the room is a big puzzle, but there are a bunch of solutions. For most of the game, you can primarily still be ninja Sam and quietly sneak through without touching a single enemy. The game at times forces you to participate in action based events, but these are times where its clear you shouldn't be sneaking. You are still buying a stealth game. Unfortunately, you may not be buying the same Splinter Cell you may be used to in years past. Sam looses some of his cool features (no more whistling/tapping on walls, no carrying bodies, and a loss of certain gadgets, loss of certain acrobatic abilities). You can compensate for some of this. For instance, you can use enemies as human shields, where Sam quietly subdues them and has the ability to maneuver them. This technique often will not alert enemies, and you can scoot the bad guy to a dark location before 'disposing' of him. Its a work around, but its not quite like it used to be. No more throwing bottle either, although, sticky cams are still here and they provide a distractive noise.
The game is not dumbed down, its just different. The plus side, if you want more of an action packed game with stealth elements, you really have that option. In the past, the Splinter Cell games didn't really reward you for getting caught. With conviction, you can gun a lot more without seeing too many consequences. It is unwise to start a firefight every chance you get. You can die quickly, enemies are armored, they throw grenades, they will flank you, and they take cover. I would often mix stealth and action with every situation. The game is about picking your own path. Instant take downs are still present, along with the new execution ability. The execute ability allows you to mark up to a certain amount of targets. If you are within range of your targets, tap the respective controller button and Sam will do a slow-motion style takedown off all marked individuals. Its a nice feature for clearing large groups of enemies. Its somewhat of an easy button, but to do this ability, you must do a hand-to-hand take down. Every time you perform an execute, you must perform another takedown to be able to execute again.
The Graphics are great, and the lighting is awesome, however, if the game goes into 'monochrome' a lot. It doesn't bother me, but when Sam is in complete darkness, or when he uses his Sonar goggles (the new thermal goggles), the game turns to a monochromatic color scheme. I don't think the game looses quality and its a nice change in pace some times. The environments are almost always extremely detailed, although at times, they can get a little repetitive. The music is great and it sets the mood well, the score for this game is excellent.
Overall, I had a blast playing this game. At times, I had a blast mixing stealth and action. This is a more agile and active Splinter Cell, and the game sometimes forces you to realize that. Its never a bad thing, and the action sequences are really fun. There is still a stealth game here and you can play most of this game in that fashion. I believe the play style fits the mood of the game and the premise of the story. Is this fair to the fans of the Splinter Cell series who are used to a more strict stealth game? I can't really answer that question, but I had a blast playing it knowing what the game was about before I purchased it.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 2 3 4 5 ... 21 next>>