GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare

War rages on in the fourth edition of Activision's acclaimed war game. For the first time in the series, Call of Duty moves away from WWII to the modern battlefield. The epic title also delivers an added depth of multiplayer action providing online fans an all-new community of persistence, addictive and customizable gameplay. Armed with an arsenal of advanced and powerful modern day firepower, players are transported to treacherous hotspots around the globe to take on a rogue enemy group threatening the world. As both a United States Marine and British S.A.S. soldier fighting through an unfolding story full of twists and turns, players use sophisticated technology, superior firepower and coordinated land and air strikes on a battlefield where speed, accuracy and communication are essential to victory.
Average Customer Rating:
9.432
9.4
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (748 reviews)
10 stars
306
9 stars
94
8 stars
28
7 stars
9
6 stars
2
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
6
431 out of 44796%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare
Review 1 for Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare
Best Call of Duty in the ModernWarfare Franchise
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/4/14
DigitalDalton
Location: Sacramento, CA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Call of Duty 4: ModernWarfare is the best Call of Duty game that Infinity Ward has developed. The graphics are nothing special but it makes up for that in it's fast and fun game-play. The Story/Campaign in CoD 4 is a modern-military-shooter,"We need to stop the terrorists!" story with Over-the-Top action and like-able characters. The multiplayer is the main feature to Cod 4:ModernWarfare. The multiplayer lets you play online with up to 16 other players, there are a bunch of game-modes to play through with friends or just some random people online, the most popular are: Team-DeathMatch, Domination, Search and Destroy, and Free for All. I would definitely recommend this game for you if you are a fan of First-Person Shooters.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 2 for Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare
best C.O.D game ever
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/23/13
CodGamerForLife
Location: tn
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
i love it its the best C.O.D game ever and i think you would like it and you should buy it its awesome
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 3 for Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare
it is a great game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/13/13
patel2830
Location: Forney,TX
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
love cheap awesome good for people who like war game awesome everything easy for starter who want a war game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 4 for Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare
intense campaign fun multiplayer
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:6/21/13
tribe22
Location: Louisville, Ohio
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
The campaign is one of the best ever that and all of the other modern warfare's. Multiplayer is haha
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 5 for Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare
The Best Call of Duty.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/18/13
Nateman3000
Location: Chicago, IL
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is the Best COD to date. The story and multiplayer are fantastic. The story revolves around SAS and Marines during a war involving Russia and a the Middle East. Saying anything is a spoiler so I am going to leave it at that. Multiplayer is simplest and addictive here. Get Call of Duty 4, you won't regret it.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 6 for Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare
a waste of time
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:5/4/13
thehardwar
Location: birmingham al
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
the game has no perfect graphics, pathetic campaign, and a horrible sound quality. i hate it very much
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare
To War with a 10!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/29/13
strayrogue
Location: Harrington Park, New Jersey
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
i am astounded by this game. i thought i would never buy call of duty modernware fare games but i did. after a few minutes of playing it it was fantastic. i fins=ished the game on haqrdened and played arcade mode on Veteran. im still playing the game just for fun and either way this game rocks better than medal of honor and maybe Gears of war but it definatley beats Halo for sure.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare
I'm a new convert!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/22/13
Anonymous
Location: Delaware
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I have played every version of the Halo series including the PC version and beat all on Legendary Solo.
Rarely do I find a FPS game I like, but after reading reviews on GameStop for this title, and the low price, I decided to give it a shot.
I am adicted to this game now. For a game that came out in 2007, the game is still fresh to a new player, and the graphics are surpisingly great.
Read the other reviews, and you'll see that this game has endured years of rivals and still stands strong as an intense FPS game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 9 for Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare
Honestly the Best Game that I have Ever Played
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/7/13
modernwarfareguy123456789
Location: butler, pa
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
campaign, amazing
multiplayer, amamamamazing
graphics are great for six years ago, multiplayer still impresses me, it is still much better than any call of duty that has come out after it, the only game that can compare is modern warfare 2. It is the greatest game ever.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 10 for Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare
AWESOME SHOOTING GAME!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/11/13
Anonymous
Location: Gulfport,MS
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I LOVVE SHOOTING GAMES THIS ONES A GOOD ONE.I WOULD RECCOMEND THIS GAME TO EVERYONE,ESPECIALLY BLACKOPS 2 AND MW3...ALL OF THESE GAMES ARE FUN AND EXCITING..CANT WAIT TILL THE NEXT ONE COMES OUT.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 11 for Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare
COD 4 Still On Top
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/9/13
Coffdrop
I have all of the COD's from this one on, and this is the one I still love. The story is the best by far and the multiplayer is the most addictive (just infront of black ops). The story is different in every mission so you never get bored and the multiplayer maps are the best made and that is backed up by each modern warfare has used some COD 4 maps on DLC's. I would recommend this game to anybody.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 12 for Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare
Most Memorable COD EVER
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/13/12
LukeMan
Location: NY
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
While Black ops 2 is good, but to be a real COD fan you had to have played this game. I owned it for a while but I eventually sold it (BIG MISTAKE). For those who think "this is crazy, how can an old game be so good?" G4 said "COD4 is in the TOP 20 GAMES EVER MADE". So BUY THIS GAME it really is good.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 13 for Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare
Best game of COD series
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/10/12
Smiggs
Location: St. Clair Shores, MI
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is the best game of all time for me. I had the most fun when I played this and still do!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 14 for Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare
Game's boss.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/26/12
TortureTrilogy
Location: Michigan
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Game is dope........................................................................................
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 15 for Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare
Best shooter ever. Ya, it kind of is.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/26/12
EpicFanBoy
Location: VA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
It's literally flawless. The entire game is just perfectly crafted, AI, gameplay, level design, graphics are excellent, the list goes on. If you like to shoot things, GET MODERN WARFARE!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 16 for Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare
Incredible game, hackers ruined it.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:11/25/12
acaruthers23
Location: Baxter Springs, Kansas
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
While Call of Duty 4 will go down in my, and most other, CoD players greatest games book, it basically hit a huge downgrade once CoD: World at War came out. The game became a playground for hackers and soon found itself lacking any competition, as it all left for World at War. However, even today still it can maintain 3,000 players online at once which is astounding. Right now I would not recommend this game because you simply missed out on a great experience. Don't waist your money. Don't buy ANY new Call of Duty's either, they're FAR worse than any game I've ever seen.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 17 for Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare
CoD 4 is the Game to Beat
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/22/12
NeGJacob
Location: Newport, PA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Infinity Ward did a great job with Call of Duty 4. The campaign was unbelievably amazing. You are a character named John "Soap" Mactavish. You also play a few missions as Paul Jackson and Captain Price. The thing about CoD 4's campaign is that it gets you know and love the characters in the campaign. The story is amazing, there is a Russian Civil War and the USA and Britain invade. Capitan Price, leading British Special Air Service (SAS) refuses to believe that the man leading a separatist group Khaled Al-Asad, has fled the country. Captain Price takes out Al-Asad and finds out the leader of the ultranationalists Imran Zakhaev, was working with Al-Asad. Then the SAS had to take out Zakhaev.
The graphics and sound of the game is why this game is perfect. The multiplayer is one of the most successful multiplayer games in gaming history. The graphics looked amazing the characters had great detail and looked great. The character voices were great and the gunshots actually sounded good in this game. It was a great job from Infinity Ward.
Multiplayer was very great and addicting. In CoD 4 Infinity Ward added kill streaks which made Call of Duty more exciting to play. CoD 4 also had what seemed like infinity options to customize a custom class. The multiplayer was very successful and it's what separated Call of Duty from every other first person shooter.
The multiplayer may be great but the reason why I give this game a rare 10 out of 10 is because how amazing the campaign is. If you haven't played the CoD 4 campaign you don't know what a good campaign is.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
25 of 25 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare
Call of Duty 4 Modern Warfare
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:11/3/12
mrmdc
Location: New York
Call of Duty 4 Modern Warfare is a great game. Gameplay: It was fun to play as Sergeant John "Soap" Mactavish in most of the game. Graphics: The Graphics took a step up from Call of Duty 3. It was an amazing change. Sound: The Sound was cool and good for the game. I would recommend this to anyone who loves the Call of Duty franchise.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 19 for Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare
Awesome game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/9/12
supermattgames
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
A really good game. The multiplayer maps could be a little better. Very fun on xbox live. You should definitly buy it. It is also a great place to start if you are going to begin playing call of duty.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 20 for Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare
Greatest COD Ever Made
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/8/12
Fatalfrizzl
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This is by far the best call of duty that has ever been made. It is simple and that's the best way to have. The other cods after waw had lots of kill streaks and if you we're really good you could kill everyone making the game less fun for everyone else. This game had the best campaign I've ever seen in a video game. I've haven't played the campaign in a year and I could give you a summary of it. Before you buy mw2 or mw3 give this game a go and you won't be sorry. The only bad part is there are modders on it but they ussaly suck and you can take care of them pretty easily and there aren't even a lot of them on enymore. This is the best cod ever made so please buy it before you get corrupted by the junk that came after it.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 2 3 4 5 ... 38 next>>