GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare

War rages on in the fourth edition of Activision's acclaimed war game. For the first time in the series, Call of Duty moves away from WWII to the modern battlefield. The new action-thriller from the award-winning team at Infinity Ward, the creators of the Call of Duty series, delivers the most intense and cinematic action experience ever. Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare arms gamers with an arsenal of advanced and powerful modern day firepower and transports them to the most treacherous hotspots around the globe to take on a rogue enemy group threatening the world. As both a United States Marine and British S.A.S. soldier fighting through an unfolding story full of twists and turns, players use sophisticated technology, superior firepower and coordinated land and air strikes on a battlefield where speed, accuracy and communication are essential to victory. The epic title also delivers an added depth of multiplayer action providing online fans an all-new community of persistence, addictive and customizable gameplay.
Average Customer Rating:
9.292
9.3
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (76 reviews)
10 stars
17
9 stars
2
8 stars
3
7 stars
0
6 stars
1
5 stars
1
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
21 out of 2488%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare
Review 1 for Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare
fantastic
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/26/12
killmnobill357
Location: ALBUQUERQUE NM
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
its a shame infinityward doesnt make games this fun or balanced anny more this game has hours of entertanment.plus after sveral years the game is still kicking strong
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 2 for Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare
Help!?!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/15/12
bright
Location: Panama City FL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I have this game on Xbox and PS3, I LOVE it! The graphics are AMAZING! Black Ops and cod4 are the BEST! But How long did it take to get use to the controls? PLEASE ANSWER ME!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare
Jackpot
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:12/3/11
Sku11y
Location: Blackstone, MA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This is the start of a trilogy in the modern warfare series. The campaign introduces the characters and is easy to follow. The arcade mode adds challenge to anyone who wants to retry the campaign. The multiplayer has a killstreak but if you get 1 after another the first one will dissapear which is bad but the guns and attachments and challenges for it are great.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 4 for Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare
No CoD will ever be the same as this.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/24/11
PwnDaSystem
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This is my favorite CoD ever not even MW3 is as good. Just plain and simple as that.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
8 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare
One of the greatest of all time
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/18/11
tyfly773
Location: Chicago, IL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
A must buy for players who like shooters. When i first played this game i wasnt into the fps genre anymore and wasnt good at these typesd of games since Goldeneye. Its easy to pick up and play and very addictve. Even casual gamers wont be able to put it down, if u dont have it get it now. This game is hands down one of my favorite games of all time.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 6 for Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare
Digital Copy MP Patch Issues, But Still Good
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:8/5/11
Spadedog
Location: Michigan
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I purchased this game after having had it for the Xbox to try to get some PC gameplay to record. The game itself is great and a lot of fun to play online (I haven't played the campaign really since I beat it on the Xbox so I know how it goes). However, if you want to patch the game to any version really after launch, DO NOT DOWNLOAD IT. Please buy a physical copy. With Gamestop's digital version, it is very difficult to patch it to anything later than 1.0.5.something, where the current version is 1.7, which is required to do some of the cool mods, such as the Galactic warfare mod. If you get a physical copy, these problems are most likely nonexistent. So basically if you want to play anything other than singleplayer or outdated MP then do not download the game.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
3 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare
Best COD
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/29/11
dmd2256
Location: Capital Wasteland
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is spot on and deserves a 10 out of 10 in every review. Nice graphics, campaign, and multiplayer! This game came out in 2007 and I'm still not bored of it.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare
i like a lot
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:6/26/11
zomsniper59
Location: nc
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
good game way better then bbc2 bbc2 sucked no single player
call of duty 4 is yyyyyyaaaaaaaaa conpard to bbc2
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 12 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare
The best game I have ever played!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:6/15/11
JJLeGeNdArY
Location: Tinley park, IL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I am a major gamer and I highly recommend it to hardcore gamers!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
4 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare
COD that broke the mold
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/29/11
tyfly773
Location: Chicago, IL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Every COD game has been trying to capture what this one did. This is the perfect COD game in my opinion. Every fan of the shooter genre should have bought this game at least twice, enough said u fill in the rest.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare
OMG SOOOO G00000O00000D GAMEEEE!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/25/11
ModernWarfareProZZXZZ
Location: New York, NY
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
< I would recommend this to everybody who like Call Of Duty >
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare
nice
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/30/11
catdude
Location: somewhere
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
yes, ever since Black Opps, this games poularity started to downfall. But i have to say, this is a nice game.It's a little over priced, but there are many improvements from COD 3. First off, the graphics are SO much better compared to COD3. the maps are fun and nice. The wepon variety is a deffinete yes.No wonder this game got game of the year!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare
INSANE
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/12/11
XboxGTKookieSWFT
Location: Texas
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I got this cause i wanted to do mods they all work especially the awesome Before The Dawn zombie mod
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare
nobody plays
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:11/24/10
marcotilla
Location: florida
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
i like the game and all but when i wanted to play online and looked for someone to verse nobody was playing -.-
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare
Okay
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:11/21/10
fuzzball
Location: Boston, MA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I hate playing PC games with my keyboard, which is exactly what this game does, no template for the PC. A company named xpadder maes a template, it's okay, still not worth buying the gamsl
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
1 of 26 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare
Awesome
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/10/10
James123ghp
Location: Alexandria, VA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is awesome but i wished the american campaign did not end how it did and the ugly russian dude he should ve died in the mission when u snipe his arm off.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare
help!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/16/10
ryan100000000
This game is perfect for: party gamers
i have the ps3 and i love call of duty series there but i want to try this for a pc but i want a trial where can i get one for this game???
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 5 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
DawnIndianGirl
 
Please wait while more information about DawnIndianGirl is loaded.
Additional information about DawnIndianGirl could not be loaded.
Call of Duty 4
Posted 1/20/11
Is there a free trial for this?? Can't find it anywhere. Thanks for the help!
Customer Avatar
Kabar
 
Please wait while more information about Kabar is loaded.
Additional information about Kabar could not be loaded.
help!!!
Posted 1/16/11
Hey do u know how to get a free trial and is the online have lots of servers and people playing?
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 18 for Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare
Phenomenal Game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/26/09
Your friendly neighborhood customer
Unlike previous Call of Duty games that take place in WII, this particular one is set place in a more modern setting, hence the name Modern Warefare. The graphics are spot on, they look great, especially if you max out all the settings. Even without all the "eye candy" the game still looks great. The sound is amazing, from the sounds each individual gun makes, to the sound of a helicopter coming down it all sounds great. The singleplayer aspect of the game is short, but sweet. It'll take you about a minimum of maybe 4-5 hours to complete it, but the storyline makes up for the length of the game. The game isn't really difficult if you set it on the lower difficulties, but if you set it on veteran you'll go down in just a couple of hits, although the difficulty of veteran makes it more frustrating to pass the levels and takes away some of the fun from the game. The multiplayer is where it really shines. The game's multiplayer has a ranking system and you can create your own personalized classes with the weapons and perks you want. It has a variety of game modes ranging from a simple team deathmatch to a slightly more complex headquarters. All in all the game is great even though the singleplayer is short, the multiplayer is the games stong point. I would recommend this to any gamer looking for a great experience and is into first person shooters.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare
very good game!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/28/09
NIRAJ
This game is a very exciting to play. Every time you play this game it’s like playing a new game. Since I bought the game I have kept playing for a few hours a day. One of my favorite’s features of the game is "live". I really like to verse people that I’ve never seen play before unlike some there games I’ve played that have gotten boring within a week of playing live. This game makes it seem so realistic especially when playing live with the sound effects. What also makes the game better is how you can communicate with your teammates and work together. Secondly, I love the graphics. In my point of view something that makes the game better is obviously having good graphics so for the game I would personally rate it a 9/10. The game has a very good mixture of graphics and background effects. This game is definitely one of the best if not the best one we have had in a few years.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare
Best Version
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/21/08
boats n pros
Call of Duty 4 may be the best first person shooter of all time. A robust online mode, and an incredible story mode. Call of Duty 4 for the PC is, without a doubt in my mind, the better of the three versions. I own all three, and I can say, the PC version is better in everway than the PS3 and 360 versions, except for the graphics, depending on what type of graphics card you have. Online is the best aspect of the game, boasting a ton of customizable "classes" to suit your needs. The max amount of players is more than the console versions, and some players even customize maps, a feature the console versions are lacking. As for the lasting appeal goes, getting to the 10th prestige and unlocking all gold guns should keep you occupied for a long, long time.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>