GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare

War rages on in the fourth edition of Activision's acclaimed war game. For the first time in the series, Call of Duty moves away from WWII to the modern battlefield. The new action-thriller from the award-winning team at Infinity Ward, the creators of the Call of Duty series, delivers the most intense and cinematic action experience ever. Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare arms gamers with an arsenal of advanced and powerful modern day firepower and transports them to the most treacherous hotspots around the globe to take on a rogue enemy group threatening the world. As both a United States Marine and British S.A.S. soldier fighting through an unfolding story full of twists and turns, players use sophisticated technology, superior firepower and coordinated land and air strikes on a battlefield where speed, accuracy and communication are essential to victory. The epic title also delivers an added depth of multiplayer action providing online fans an all-new community of persistence, addictive and customizable gameplay.
Average Customer Rating:
9.292
9.3
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (76 reviews)
10 stars
17
9 stars
2
8 stars
3
7 stars
0
6 stars
1
5 stars
1
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
21 out of 2488%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare
Review 1 for Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare
A new shooter
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/6/08
Paul Valseth
All shooters to day have only made plots about past they are mostly WW2, Futuristic, or alien taken over. This one address today’s war at a very deep level. The storyline doesn’t at the end the world is not a better place which has always been the case. You’ll incarnate 2 us solder and one British. The multiplayer is amazing it has plenty of modes and instead of pointless kill which count for nothing you exp and get to customize your character. Like new weapons, and some perks like run faster but not so rushed it makes your character to strong you can still get your as kicked by any one. And the multiplayer is easily picked up by noobs to. The environment is destructible. Though the single player is excellent it is rather short but is more a tutorial to the multiplayer so if can’t play this game online you should consider whether o buy it or not don’t. So I don’t forget the graphics are hella nice and the sound is even better. I love this game get it.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare
very good game!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/28/09
NIRAJ
This game is a very exciting to play. Every time you play this game it’s like playing a new game. Since I bought the game I have kept playing for a few hours a day. One of my favorite’s features of the game is "live". I really like to verse people that I’ve never seen play before unlike some there games I’ve played that have gotten boring within a week of playing live. This game makes it seem so realistic especially when playing live with the sound effects. What also makes the game better is how you can communicate with your teammates and work together. Secondly, I love the graphics. In my point of view something that makes the game better is obviously having good graphics so for the game I would personally rate it a 9/10. The game has a very good mixture of graphics and background effects. This game is definitely one of the best if not the best one we have had in a few years.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare
Best FPS to Date
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:5/29/08
Dr.Zoidberg
Well...being that this is the first "modern" shooter for the call of duty series I believe there are only a few parts of the game that could be improved. The challenge of the single player mode really depends on the difficulty setting you choose, the recruit setting is brain dead easy, the regular setting was decent but the enemy ai was lacking aim, the hardened setting was pretty challenging, and the veteran setting took alot longer than any of the others. the controls of this game are the best so far of any pc fps, I only wish it were possible to steady the ACOG scope. The interface of the main menu is not difficult to understand making it good I guess. The graphics are really good, it may not be as good as Crysis but they are good for a normal computer. This game had one of the most intriguing story lines of any shooter, each mission had an effect on another one even if you are fighting as S.A.S. or Marines. One complaint I have is that you can only choose one attachment for your custom class in multiplayer.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 4 for Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare
No CoD will ever be the same as this.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/24/11
PwnDaSystem
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This is my favorite CoD ever not even MW3 is as good. Just plain and simple as that.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
8 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare
nice
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/30/11
catdude
Location: somewhere
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
yes, ever since Black Opps, this games poularity started to downfall. But i have to say, this is a nice game.It's a little over priced, but there are many improvements from COD 3. First off, the graphics are SO much better compared to COD3. the maps are fun and nice. The wepon variety is a deffinete yes.No wonder this game got game of the year!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare
Phenomenal Game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/26/09
Your friendly neighborhood customer
Unlike previous Call of Duty games that take place in WII, this particular one is set place in a more modern setting, hence the name Modern Warefare. The graphics are spot on, they look great, especially if you max out all the settings. Even without all the "eye candy" the game still looks great. The sound is amazing, from the sounds each individual gun makes, to the sound of a helicopter coming down it all sounds great. The singleplayer aspect of the game is short, but sweet. It'll take you about a minimum of maybe 4-5 hours to complete it, but the storyline makes up for the length of the game. The game isn't really difficult if you set it on the lower difficulties, but if you set it on veteran you'll go down in just a couple of hits, although the difficulty of veteran makes it more frustrating to pass the levels and takes away some of the fun from the game. The multiplayer is where it really shines. The game's multiplayer has a ranking system and you can create your own personalized classes with the weapons and perks you want. It has a variety of game modes ranging from a simple team deathmatch to a slightly more complex headquarters. All in all the game is great even though the singleplayer is short, the multiplayer is the games stong point. I would recommend this to any gamer looking for a great experience and is into first person shooters.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare
Bout time!
Posted on:10/10/07
lrrprecon
Finally! A game about modern warfare. COD has lagged soooo long with WWII. Just WWII PC games have been way over done, I'm a OIF III combat vet, and it's awesome that they have moved on to greener pastures. I really want to see how well they modeled modern combat. As it seems most gaming companies like to come up with ideas, that have no realism about the true soldier. Well i hope the game is true to the men that have fallen in the years fighting in Iraq, cause you can only truely get the real story from somebody who has fought in that war.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare
Digital Copy MP Patch Issues, But Still Good
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:8/5/11
Spadedog
Location: Michigan
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I purchased this game after having had it for the Xbox to try to get some PC gameplay to record. The game itself is great and a lot of fun to play online (I haven't played the campaign really since I beat it on the Xbox so I know how it goes). However, if you want to patch the game to any version really after launch, DO NOT DOWNLOAD IT. Please buy a physical copy. With Gamestop's digital version, it is very difficult to patch it to anything later than 1.0.5.something, where the current version is 1.7, which is required to do some of the cool mods, such as the Galactic warfare mod. If you get a physical copy, these problems are most likely nonexistent. So basically if you want to play anything other than singleplayer or outdated MP then do not download the game.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
3 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare
OMG SOOOO G00000O00000D GAMEEEE!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/25/11
ModernWarfareProZZXZZ
Location: New York, NY
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
< I would recommend this to everybody who like Call Of Duty >
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare
The best game I have ever played!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:6/15/11
JJLeGeNdArY
Location: Tinley park, IL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I am a major gamer and I highly recommend it to hardcore gamers!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
4 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare
BETTER THAN HALO 3
Posted on:10/14/07
Eric
i just finished download ign the demo of cod4 and it is the most intense game i have ever played. i think this is better than HALO 3! the demo had good graphics and it felt like you were actuall yin the war. it is addiciting! your teammates react to what is being shot at them. if an RPG is about to blow, they yell RPG! your enemies also react to what is being shot at them. if you shoot them in the leg they will still be on the ground, they will shoot you with their pistol sometimes. and sometimes an enemy will be shot down around the corner and as you walk past him and look at him you notice he is still alive. he pulls the ping off the gernade while his is shot somewhere and the gernaqde goesd BOOM! man you have to get this game it is it is the best!! AWESOME !!!!AWESOME!!!!AWESOME!!!AWESOME!!
Review 12 for Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare
Best COD
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/29/11
dmd2256
Location: Capital Wasteland
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is spot on and deserves a 10 out of 10 in every review. Nice graphics, campaign, and multiplayer! This game came out in 2007 and I'm still not bored of it.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare
COD that broke the mold
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/29/11
tyfly773
Location: Chicago, IL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Every COD game has been trying to capture what this one did. This is the perfect COD game in my opinion. Every fan of the shooter genre should have bought this game at least twice, enough said u fill in the rest.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare
Call of Duty 4 rocks the Casbah
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/30/08
MisterBonestripper
I am a huge fan of the Call of Duty series and I must say this is the best one yet. The single player is a challenge and will keep you on the edge of your seat. The story is also very well done, I felt like I was there! The multiplayer is just fantastic, and it adds so much. The replay value on this product is very high in my opinion. I am not much for playing online, but I find myself playing this game online all the time. The graphics, gameplay and sound are all very realistic. I was impressed. I cannot wait for the next one to come out. I bet the next one will be even more imressive. Gee, what else can I say about this game? It's just cool, so if you like FPS, combat sims and just like to shoot people then this game is for you. So go get it already!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 15 for Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare
Best Version
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/21/08
boats n pros
Call of Duty 4 may be the best first person shooter of all time. A robust online mode, and an incredible story mode. Call of Duty 4 for the PC is, without a doubt in my mind, the better of the three versions. I own all three, and I can say, the PC version is better in everway than the PS3 and 360 versions, except for the graphics, depending on what type of graphics card you have. Online is the best aspect of the game, boasting a ton of customizable "classes" to suit your needs. The max amount of players is more than the console versions, and some players even customize maps, a feature the console versions are lacking. As for the lasting appeal goes, getting to the 10th prestige and unlocking all gold guns should keep you occupied for a long, long time.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare
Call of Duty 2 with a new coat of paint
Posted on:10/13/07
A Customer
I'm glad that the Call of Duty series has a game that isn't set in World War 2. From the demo, I only have this to say, Infinity Ward is doing a good thing by not fixing what isn't broke, the demo of Call of Duty 4 is nice and feels very similar to Call of Duty 2. It is so similar, however, that it feels like it's just Call of Duty 2 with a new coat of paint. Apart from it's obvious graphics enhancement and how it's set in modern times, there are many aspects that are reused from Call of Duty 2. This isn't a bad thing as both Call of Duty 2 and the demo of Call of Duty 4 are really good, but it just doesn't feel that amazing because of that. Still, I'm really excited for Call of Duty 4 and I'm hoping to crank up my 5.1 speakers if I ever get it.
Review 17 for Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare
Demo Impressions
Posted on:10/12/07
Kalbactsalmon
I just finished shooting through the demo, and I am very impressed. First of all, even with it's rather steep requirements it must be known that it looks awesome on lower settings, and plays very smoothly even if your system is just half a notch above the requirements. BTW it does not run on UE3. As for the gameplay; it is very similar to previous CoD games, all of the game mechanics are tightened and feel more realistic. It is literatly like a modern version of Call of Duty 2. My only gripe is that there is too much player camera shaking (to simulate running, leaning etc.). Other than that it feels very good, and I am looking forward to playing the full version. :)
Review 18 for Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare
Good
Posted on:11/3/07
acestriker1
Similar to call of duty 2. Improved graphics that run smoothly, better physics (you can shoot through walls, cars, etc. ;P) Ive spent 6 hours on the demo and it is fun, but like all call of duty games it is way too easy unless you play on veteran difficulty. It is a must buy, and in my opinion better then Halo 2 and 3. I'm looking forward to seeing how the perk system will work. From what I have seen of the game I cannot comprehend why it didn't get a teen rating, not that it really matters, considering the fact that parents will buy their kids M rated games anyways. Look at Halo 3 I have not yet played a game where there weren't any children.
Review 19 for Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare
help!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/16/10
ryan100000000
This game is perfect for: party gamers
i have the ps3 and i love call of duty series there but i want to try this for a pc but i want a trial where can i get one for this game???
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 5 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
DawnIndianGirl
 
Please wait while more information about DawnIndianGirl is loaded.
Additional information about DawnIndianGirl could not be loaded.
Call of Duty 4
Posted 1/20/11
Is there a free trial for this?? Can't find it anywhere. Thanks for the help!
Customer Avatar
Kabar
 
Please wait while more information about Kabar is loaded.
Additional information about Kabar could not be loaded.
help!!!
Posted 1/16/11
Hey do u know how to get a free trial and is the online have lots of servers and people playing?
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 20 for Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare
Demo Version Is Excellent!
Posted on:10/18/07
Shastaski
This game is truely a modern version of COD 2 with better graphics and comparable in game play to Battlefied 2. Some of the character death animations lean more toward a TV show rather than a video game with blood and body movement being more lifelike. It ran smoothly at approximately 35 FPS with all graphical settings at the highest values on my 2 year old machine with an upgraded ATI 1950x (512mb video RAM) Video Card and 4Gb RAM on my Motherboard. The Demo version is only Single Player, but it will give you a good idea of what to expect out of the game when it is released in November. Excellent game, I recommend a try!
1 2 3 4 next>>