GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Brave Story: New Traveler

On a day that starts like any other, a boy's life is changed forever. As the main character and his friend Miki pass a leisurely afternoon, Miki suddenly collapses from an unknown illness. When the girl shows no sign of waking, the main character grows distraught over not being a better friend and not having the means to save her.Suddenly, a strange voice offers him a second chance: "Beyond the door you can change your destiny!" He soon leaves the real world and journeys to the world of Vision, where, as a novice "Traveler," he will surmount myriad ordeals in hopes of ultimately meeting with the Goddess of Fortune to have a single wish granted.
Average Customer Rating:
8
8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
10 stars
2
9 stars
1
8 stars
2
7 stars
0
6 stars
1
5 stars
1
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
5 out of 771%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Brave Story: New Traveler
Review 1 for Brave Story: New Traveler
Not worth the time it takes to finish.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:3/19/12
Muledragon
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
When you start playing Brave Story, you'll immediately be confronted by how bland everything is. The battle system is old-fashioned (though not executed very well in this case), the characters are ones you've seen before (though admittedly they are more based on anime stereotypes than video game ones), and, worst of all for an rpg, the story is boring and almost painfully cliche. While playing this game you'll actually be tempted to think, "This game can't really be this bland, can it? I'll bet it gets more complicated/interesting later on." Ignore this impulse, because it's completely wrong. This game really is just as simple as it appears in the first ten minutes of playing.
As I said, the battle-system is outdated and poorly executed. The random battles are annoyingly frequent and infuriatingly repetitive. The only truly entertaining and challenging parts of the game are the boss battles, and unfortunately those only make up a small portion of the game itself.
Also as I mentioned, the story is nothing at all special. It's the old: go around and gather the x-number of magic items to save the life of your best friend, cliche... bleh. I ended up trudging all the way through the game, and it was a long game for so little storyline, expecting things to get more interesting, and they never did. Granted, not everything is as it first seems. Unfortunately nothing is explained until the last thirty minutes of the game, and those last minute revelations simply do not make up for what amounts to a lackluster story overall.
Sure, the game is cheap, I'm sure they can be found in the used section of Gamestops everywhere (which is where I found mine). However, while it might (might) be worth the money, playing this game all the way through is simply not worth the time and effort it will take to complete it.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Brave Story: New Traveler
a great, albeit predictable, rpg
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/23/10
melly57
Location: PA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I picked up this game originally because I had just bought the book Brave Story (literally a day ago) and started playing it the same time I was reading the book. Though the story line of the game is a bit different from the original novel it's set in the same world and has a few familiar characters.
A know a lot of game sites and such slam this game because it's predicable and cookie cutter and follows along the same basic formula as FF and basically every other major RPG that followed. All of this is true but there really is something awesome in the familiarity of the game play. It's not something with a steep learning curve. You can pick it up and have a really good idea of what you're doing right off the bat. The story line is good even if it has been done before and the characters are memorable. There's a certain amount of flexibility with who you get in your party later in the game and some fine tuning you can do based on your preferences. It's a beautiful game in terms of graphics. And there are parts later on that get a bit monotonous but overall it's fun, if nothing else.
What honestly struck me as amazing about this game is the loyalty the story had to the original story line and plot presented in the novel. The game almost plays like a squeal to the events of the novel but you don't need to know the original story to get into the world and the characters. Not to mention the book is a good 800 pages long so you might not want to dedicate yourself to reading that chunk of words before playing the game. As an interesting note, yes the story line is familiar and done before and monotonous at times but the book was like that. The book itself read like the basic plot line for a FF-esque RPG, right down to the typical character archetypes. But just like the game the book was hard to put down because even though it was familiar it was fun. It dragged in a sense but in the way where your favorite fairy tale drags. Yeah you've heard it before, a different version maybe, but you still like it because it's nice and fun in it's familiarity.
That's what it really comes down to. This game breaks no boundaries and doesn't mess with preconceived notions. It's not changing the way video games are played, it's not warping the genre. But it's a good, fun, easy to play game and I really can't find a fault with that. In the end I highly recommend it and it's well worth spending the 15 bucks or so to pick it up used.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 3 for Brave Story: New Traveler
Did You Know
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:5/31/09
CA
Did you know that Brave Story: New Traveler started as a book? One of the characters in the game named Wataru is who the book is about. The book has Wataru, whose parents are splitting up traveling to the world of Vision when he sees Mitsuru use magic in the schoolyard. After the books premier, it made several games, Brave Story: New Traveler is the only one we have available. Though all the people and websites review this game badly, I personally think it is a wonderful game. You play as Tetsuyu(you can change his name in the beginning). Who after his friend Miki(Not playable, but you can change her name too) gets ill out of no where and hospitalized. Wataru hears a voice that takes him to the land of Vision where he must collect gemstones to get the ultimate weapon that is the key to the tower where his wish waites. Since Tetsuyu is a traveler, many of the people of Vision want to aid him on his journey. In the game, you will have 6 playable characters who you can create a party of three out of. You will periodically get guest characters who are people like Wataru, who(like i said before) comes from a book, Kee-Keema who helps Wataru, Kutz, etc... Traveler's are granted one wish if they can reach the tower where the goddess awaits, with all 5 gemstones in hand. Tetsuyu is trying to wish for Miki to get better.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Brave Story: New Traveler
Amazing graphics for the PSP, story line lacking same luster.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/1/09
Cat Giovetti
Ahh, Brave Story: New Traveler. I had such high hopes!! Graphics: GREAT! Story line: dumb. Characters: very predictable. It wants to be FFX, I think. the girl side-kick is YUNO, hmm... what, did you say? YUNA? And while Yuna was kind-of anoying - she was at least useful and had very powerful magic- Yuno is just plain a pain in the butt. Yeah, I played it a lot in the beginning, dispite the awful story-line, but it just kept dragging, and the whole bird-brawl is the worst side game I have ever played. (and I thought that blitzball was bad...) So I think it's a great game for the younger RPGers. As you get to be my age, you start to wish that beautiful graphics always come with great story lines and fantastical characters that bring you emotionally into the story. I am sad to say that I actually never finished the game due to the fact that the story was bad and I disliked how you couldn't change formation entirely. I was always having to use that traveler kid in my party. I usually trade out my characters at least every few battles so that they are on a level playing field and all level up at similar intervals. I really dislike that I couldn't keep him at the same level as the others, he was always much higher! I agree with the gaming mags, it's not as good as the game stop employee told me it might be. For that, I am also sad, because she usually points me in the right direction!
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
blitzballchamp
 
Please wait while more information about blitzballchamp is loaded.
Additional information about blitzballchamp could not be loaded.
blitzball fail
Posted 10/13/10
Blitzball was one of the highest rated side games in an rpg of all time. It was the only thing that made the main character look and feel like a one man wrecking crew.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 5 for Brave Story: New Traveler
A very Quirky Adventure
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:8/30/08
Jason The Meg & Dia Fan
Many gaming websites slam on this game pretty bad, honestly it is not that bad at all. If you enjoy rather quirky storylines then you will like it. You play as a Boy who's ?girlfriend? falls ill due to an unknown reason and you go to a world called Vision where you are to meet a goddess and make a wish to have it granted. The character customization blew me away a very cool and awesome cast. The battle system is really nothing that we haven't seen before but thats really not a problem. The game has quirky themes and an odd race of creatures but really it is good and very fun. The game seems to have a rather week soundtrack but thats something we expect from an RPG game. The game is not bad but I would only recommend it to hardcore RPG fans because it would not appeal to anybody else.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Brave Story: New Traveler
It takes the stains right out of the carpet
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/29/08
Bo-jesus
I bought this game at the same time I bought my PSP slim. I needed a game or two to play with it, or else it would have been useless. As I was browsing the games, Brave Story caught my eye because it was sideways. Naturally, I picked it up and read the back and looked at the pictures. It sounded like a dumb game, but looked decent, so I got it. This game was so good that I lost a lot of sleep and actually started to slack off at work. I wouldn't go to bed until around 3 or 4 in the morning playing this game. It took me 29 hours and 29 minutes of gameplay (I got most of the items and quest done before beating it) until I finally beat it. Brave story has a captivating storyline, interesting characters, several side quests to do, decent graphics, and a simple, yet not too simple, battle system (Final Fantasy style). I would HIGHLY recommend this game to other PSP owners, and even to those of us who don't have a PSP, it's worth getting one for just this game alone!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 7 for Brave Story: New Traveler
A well executed rpg based on a book/manga
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:6/18/08
TheLiving3nd
New Traveller is a solid rpg for fans of the genre, the fast paced battles help ease the transition of over world to battle map. I think the story is pretty solid and the characters are all very different and fairly stereotypical of fantasy type characters. The length of the quest is pretty hearty and moves along well. The graphics are very good and are my favorite next to maybe God Of War and Crisis Core. If you like RPG's you should like this game, if I was a little younger I think I might like it a little bit more, but for the most part its for gamers of all ages. The sound is good enough to get by, but games like Odin Sphere, have a more memorable soundtrack. If you didn't know the game is based off a book, check amazon for a review, and its pretty epic in scope, the game is called new traveller because it is a new story based in the world of Vision and the player is referred to as a traveller from this world to theirs. All in all I like this game and would recommend it!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 8 for Brave Story: New Traveler
The best rpg for the psp so far
Posted on:7/16/07
Stephen
This game has amazing graphics, a great story, short load times and blows a away every rpg that has been released on the psp so far. I'd even go as far to say that it will be the best rpg to land on the psp this year. tHe japanese version was amazing and what makes our version even better is the addition of voice overs in cutscenes. If you own a psp and love rpgs then you owe it to your self to get this game!
Review 9 for Brave Story: New Traveler
Great Game, Story and Graphics
Posted on:7/5/07
A Customer
I've played the Japanese version and the game rocks. The graphics are solid and the story sucks you in. I played this game going cross country from Arizona to Florida then to New York and back. I lost all track of time. This game is a definite buy.
Review 10 for Brave Story: New Traveler
Yess Mon
Posted on:6/22/07
Fud Army Man
this game is an RPG for the psp. which to most people = baddddd, but i say no to everyone who be trippin on this game, it has short loding(which is coolness X6) wonderful graphics, coolnessaful monsters, and you can run around. so all together it's going to be coolness X3
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Brave Story: New Traveler
Going to rock.
Posted on:6/21/07
Shamoo
This game is going to rock! It was originally planned to be a PS2 RPG, the quality really shows if you look for screenshots. I can't wait for this game the trailer of the game had in game cutscenes that resembled the visual quality of the kingdom hearts series. These next few months are RPG heaven for PSP owners. Jeanne 'd arc, Final Fantasy, Tales of the World: Radiant Mythology, Monster Hunter Freedom 2!!!! SO AMAZING. I can't wait for this game to come out.
Review 12 for Brave Story: New Traveler
Finally!
Posted on:6/11/07
Lance
Finally! I can't believe it's taken this long to get a realllly good role playing game ported from Japan, but here you go. Not only do we get Jeanne D'Arc next month, we get this absolute jem of a game. I played the Japanese version to the end, but sorely missed the story. So finally I'll get to experience it properly from beginning to end. The psp version severely whipped the PS2 version as well.