GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

StarCraft II: Wings of Liberty

So why do you need StarCraft II? Well, 11 million StarCraft fans can't be wrong. The original StarCraft made its debut in 1998, and it quickly became one of the most popular real-time strategy games of all time.We've waited a long time for an updated sequel, and rumors of it were periodically dangled in front of us like a space carrot over the years. So why did it take so long? Because that is precisely how long it took to fill it with the perfect amount of awesome. It's a continuation of the epic struggle between the human Terrans, the insect-like Zerg and the psionic Protoss. Fans of the original will see some familiar faces, as well as a cast of new heroes as they do battle across the galaxy with veteran, upgraded and brand new unit types. To remain consistent with the game's new-millennium feel, the Battle.net gaming service has been completely revamped to offer noticeable enhancements and new features in multiplayer mode. The fun of StarCraft II is not limited to those who played the first StarCraft, however. Even if you were a toddler when the first game came out, you'll be able to choose your faction and jump right into the fray.
Average Customer Rating:
9.349
9.3
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (362 reviews)
10 stars
63
9 stars
10
8 stars
2
7 stars
2
6 stars
1
5 stars
3
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
75 out of 8390%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for StarCraft II: Wings of Liberty
Review 1 for StarCraft II: Wings of Liberty
STARCRAFT STILL THE BEST GAME SINCE 1998 .
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/12/13
IceCraft
Location: Miami, FL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is the modern representation of a chess game but in a far better perspective, it requires strategy and adventure, and also how to manage your resources, expantions and espionage of your opponents... I have been playing this game for years and can't get tired of it, simply... any match is always different.
Anjoy the game and have fun ... GLHF
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 2 for StarCraft II: Wings of Liberty
Starcraft 2, now even bigger.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/8/10
A WoW Player
Bought it the first day it went out in Canada, there we're already 1,000,000 players on Battle.Net, i played the Campaign at first, and i have to say, good job Blizzard. They kept the ''Old'' Starcraft 1 Interface Style (Depending on the Race you play)! The Story matches PERFECTLY the Lore. The Books also. Cinematics are simply INCREDIBLE. Sometimes i wished videos would last longer so i could get myself some popcorn and watch them as a movie!!! The gameplay is VERY well made, haven't found alot of bugs concerning controls and Macros yet. To those saying this game is the ''worst'' of the year, no offense, but you've got to learn more on Strategy Games. This is one of the BEST Strategy games ever made with the First Starcraft. These games are a Monster of the Gaming Industries. And Blizzard did a good job on this one. Honestly, Blizzard, good job, you took your time, here goes the honor boys! Waiting for expansions/ next part! i R-E-C-O-M-M-E-N-D this game, BUY it! seriously!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for StarCraft II: Wings of Liberty
Another Beta Tester
Posted on:5/27/10
Raquel Santiago
I have to disagree with all the Hullabaloo and Happiness over SC2, it is still unbalanced, the only good thing that will come out of this game is the Single Player Campaign (which we couldnt test in Beta), so all we did was the same things over and over again. And 99 percent of the time it was against an 8 year old who decided to send his entire start of miners to attack with one unit and wipe u before u could even get a base up, or u start off with 0 minerals while opponent gets an extra 250 bonus pool. Its still very unbalanced and the ladder system is not fine tuned at all nor is the matching system. As someone else said the only reason i will also buy this game is for the Single Player Campaign and when the price goes down cause it is not worth $59.99 plus tax by far. There are Fewer protoss units in this vs the other races who have more units to choose from last count it was 4 less. I even went so far as to finally remove the beta game from my system. Boring battlenet.
Review 4 for StarCraft II: Wings of Liberty
Even if you don't like RTS games, try this one.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/16/11
Zzac
Location: Memphis, MI
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I put hardcore gamer, but this game is perfect for casuals as well. I picked up this game having never played an RTS game in my life, (I previously played a lot of Call Of Duty, and World of Warcraft) I only got it because one of my friends wanted me to play with him, and it's by a company I like. Wow, this game's story mode sucked me into RTS games in minutes! The story is so good, and the gameplay is easy (To clarify, easy to grasp etc. they teach you everything you need to know without it feeling like learning it etc.). Also the online is very competetive, and a ton of fun; I can play it for hours. If you played the first starcraft, just like the info up top says "It's everything you wanted to do and more!" (I got the first one also because I liked this one so much).Honestly, if you are even slightly curious about this game, I would try it; this is coming from a PREVIOUS FPS and MMO gamer.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for StarCraft II: Wings of Liberty
Worth the 10 year wait
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/10/10
RPGfan
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This is one of the greatest games you can buy. Many people dislke that on the single player you cannot play as all three races but there are things in this game that can only be done paying as terran such intereacting with other characters and making converstation. the story is about Jim Raynor and what he is doing about the Mensk empire. The graphics look amazing and the new units are even better than ones before. There are a ton of achievements to be earned which include doing certain feats in each mission such discovering all artifacts in the mission, not losing any buildings, destrying a special enemy unit in a pit of lava, etc. All the missions tend to be very different from the rest giving you a great variety. The mutiplayer is even more fun. You play a few rounds which decides what rank you'll be placed. If you win more games you go up in rank, if you lose you go down so no matter what you wil always have an even challange. There are also custom games which are more like mini games for those wanting to take a break from the hardcore gaming and have some easy fun.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for StarCraft II: Wings of Liberty
Great game, but...
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:8/7/10
Overkill2k
I'm a long time Blizzard fan. I own all of the titles and Starcraft 2 is the first one I've had disappointments with. Everything about the game is top notch except for the lockdown. I for one never needed to use battle.net in the past. I play with a close group of friends so being forced to use battle.net now is just annoying. I used to love to make custom maps for my group of friends, now there's all kinds of restrictions on what I can make, publish, store, whatever. I don't want to have to deal with battle.net for map making either. I can say I love the cinematics, and the single player campaign is quite enjoyable. Graphics and sound are a nice improvement from the original, but then again, I would hope so, it's been over 10 years. I also like the ability to set the difficulty level as well as game speed. All in all it's a great game, but be prepared to give up any freedoms you might have in order to play it.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for StarCraft II: Wings of Liberty
Not what i was expecting
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:7/27/10
SomeoneGood
Starcraft was one of the greatest RTS's i have ever played in my life, finally starcraft 2 comes out after over 10 years from its original predecessor, you would think it would be an improvement with more races, superb graphics, and great quality, but instead all i've experienced was a great downfall. The number of units in this game are very numerous but they replaced many of the major units such as, the firebat, wraith, medic, vulture, etc. I wouldn't really add the "II" to the end of "Starcraft, when it seems that all they improved were the graphics, but even the graphics aren't that great. The music in this game could be so much better (in my opinion), especially for Terran, their music just sounds like an endless western guitar solo, it destroys the mood everytime i play them. The zerg however is better. Protoss sounds like a copy of World of Warcraft music. All of this was my opinion, i really wish they could've added a bit more races, and make the game better...
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
0 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for StarCraft II: Wings of Liberty
Blizzard Becoming the Next EA (that's bad)
Posted on:5/30/10
Bobinoo
Blizzard has historically been a solid company. A company, yes, but one that was actually devoted to quality and delivering what the customer wanted, unlike many of its competitors that pump out games of the same title every few months in order to make as much money as possible (e.g. EA). In the late stages of the BETA, however, Blizzard is releasing BattleNet 2.0 which will: block any attempts to play with friends through LAN; restrict players to play other players in their own region (U.S, Europe, Asia, and you have to buy the c opy of the game for that region to play with online friends from a different region); eliminate chatrooms, i.e. the community (you'll have to organize events, clans, etc, through out of game programs); you can't name your game (like "3V3 FASTEST NR 20MIN"); and you can't watch replays with friends. I, for one, will not be buying SC2 in its current form, and until Blizzard stops being what has become a word tossed around too lightly, a sellout.
Review 9 for StarCraft II: Wings of Liberty
Great game but....
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:7/27/10
Kris Knight
This game is amazing. The cinematics are stunning, dramatic, and contain an amazing ammount of detail. This has been a downfall of many RTS games but Blizzard does a nice job with an AI that is actually a challange. You will find yourself changing stratagies and build orders over and over. The smaller maps make for interesting development and new strategies. If you were a fan of the original, this game will do more than satisfy your technolust for RTS games. And just wait till you try out the map builder and play with your friends on the map you created, secretly giving your position an edge. The only thing i have a problem with this game is the "multiplayer interface" the lobby is slow and not easy to navigate. The achievments you obtain, and the rewards you earn are not presented properly. You never really find out if you earned a new profile picture unless you try to navigate the obscure multiplayer home screen. Onlything left to say is: LAN PARTY AT MY PLACE!!!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for StarCraft II: Wings of Liberty
Beta down
Posted on:6/30/10
Remenissions
I got the beta in Blizzard's 2nd closed-beta push for Starcraft 2. It was a fun game at first, but with all the new patches they did throughout the beta it became REALLY unbalanced. I used one strategy for about a week straight and never lost. All you had to do was be terran, make your first supply depots at the entrance of your base to make a gate-like multistructure, and to start massing marines with 1 barracks and marauders with 1 other barracks. Keep 2 mining fields at all times, and after about 15-20 minutes make another 2 barracks, one for marines, one for marauders. With 2 mining fields you can endlessly produce all the marines and marauders you want until you have a big enough army to just walk through anything. Even with the patch that nerf'd/buff'd marines that reduced hp but increased damage, it still wasn't possible to beat the strategy. And a couple weeks ago Starcraft 2 beta online service went down, so don't bother pre-ordering to get the beta key.
Review 11 for StarCraft II: Wings of Liberty
Blizzard make up your mind!
Posted on:5/22/07
Eidon
Okay... We have all been waiting for one and only one blizzard game... Diablo 3... and I'm sorry to say we may never see it... Hell I myself am a big Starcraft fan and was very into the idea of Stargraft:Gost... but I just can't handle blizzards lack of acknoweldging its cash crop... the original bread winner... the Diablo series... Blizzard I know your not but I hope you would listen because I love your games... I still play diablo one and two fairly regulary at lan parties and love both the warcraft and starcraft series... not to mention I am an avid world of warcraft player as well... I cant wait to play this game... so long as you actualy make this one... I kbnow your content with the millions you make on wow... but think of us fans... we want to re-live more then warcraft... we need you to re-kindle the fires of your other series... If blizzard screws me over again... Im done... I love you blizzard but please... think of the fans not just your pocket books!
Review 12 for StarCraft II: Wings of Liberty
Much more than an upgrade
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/20/10
PalGrunches
I was initially ambivalent to the release of StarCraft II, chalking it up to merely a reskinned StarCraft. Fortunately, I was very pleasantly surprised to find that while it was very similar to SC1, it was a true evolution rather than a rehash.
The single player campaign has a bit of a hokey story, but the missions are strung together well and do give you some key choices to make during its run. Voice acting is solid, and the graphics engine looks great both during missions and in-game cut-scenes.
The units are amply varied within each race, and the three iconic races (Terran, Zerg and Protoss) are each unique and varied in both unit assortment and strategy.
While the single player is very solid, the multiplayer is where the real fun is at, and SC2 delivers in spades. With integration into the revised Battle.net, Blizzard has implemented a robust ladder and placement system, so you are paired up against opponents who are within your range of playing skill.
There's also a very large set of achievements you can unlock, based around not only single player, but multiplayer and competitive ladder games.
All in all, SC2 may at first blush seem like simply a rehash of SC1, but that would be doing a great disservice to this title; it's a true evolution, and if you like RTS or competitive gaming, it should not be missed.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Warhammer 40,000: Dawn of War II
7 out of 10(50)
 
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
8 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for StarCraft II: Wings of Liberty
GREAT GAME!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:9/11/10
TkSubTerR
Location: AZ
Being an avid original starcraft player to this day it was hard to get used to the changes in sc2. overall the multi unit command and build commands are very useful to players with low APM. the graphics are amazing especially with the ability to zoom in on a battle. that being said ive read a few reviews on slow load times and "ps2 like graphics" this is due to their poor computer knowledge by buying a game that is to advanced for their hardware. i recommend at least a 2.4 ghz dual core and a 9800+ or higher gfx card and 4gb's of ram to avoid any hardware related issues.
overall this is a great game! the only complaint is how the fast money maps behave and some minor in game unit balance issues. i would reccomend this game to anyone with a decent computer
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
kikimoocow
 
Please wait while more information about kikimoocow is loaded.
Additional information about kikimoocow could not be loaded.
AWSOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Posted 12/14/10
I suggest everyone to get this game you don't have to pay monthly like other games and plus it's a gun computer game those are very hard to find.......
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 14 for StarCraft II: Wings of Liberty
Instant Classic
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/30/10
TheJazz
Starcraft 2 takes everything from the original game, and expands on it greatly. There are also a ton of new features that make this game even more special. The campaign mode has been improved with RPG elements. You can now use the experience points earned in the campaign, and buy permanent upgrades for your units. Also you can use those points to hire "mercenaries", that aid you in your quest. Mercenaries cost minerals, and can be summoned every three minutes, up to 3 times per battle. This is just one of the many things that make this game more fun. Each story in the campaign mode, you are doing something different. The new backgrounds, add a lot of flavor. While playing the game, you can now build barracks' to produce 2 unit at once. All units are cooler, and deeper. Starcraft 2 is a fantastic game, and has exceeded my high expectations. It runs very well on my MacBook Pro with 2.4GHZ. If you liked Starcraft, you'll like this game even more.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 15 for StarCraft II: Wings of Liberty
Best RTS on the market
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/29/10
Fabioo
I just picked up my copy and i havent stopped playing for 6 or 7 hours. i gave it such a high score because it is very well deserved. For an RTS it has a very involving riveting emotional storyline and great intermission breaks to upgrade ur troops. this is the first RTS where u get to know personally the characters. the intermission breaks are great to explore the world of starcraft. the graphics are absolutly amazing and the different music for each race is unique. for fans of the old it does hav that kind of retro feel but at the same time very modern and fast. fans of RTS this is the best product for you and even for those who arent as big of fans just give it a try, ule be suprised at how much enjoy it. the online is pretty cool too for new ppl. its like matchmaking for ppl similar to ur skill lvl so if ur worried bout getting destroyed online u dont hav to. get this game, great entertainment for those days in the class room when ur bored
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 16 for StarCraft II: Wings of Liberty
Highly anticipated but...
Posted on:3/30/09
Anonymous
Like the majority of StarCraft fans, I've been waiting for SC2 since I finished BroodWar. The graphics look wonderful so far, and the teaser videos and gameplay videos that Blizzard has posted do nothing to detract from the expectation. However, I do wonder on occasion if I will ever be able to play this game, regardless of what Blizzard says. Let us not forget that this is not, in reality, the second non-expansion StarCraft game made by Blizzard. Although not intended for PC, and also not part of the main storyline, StarCraft Ghost was also highly anticipated and looked just as good. Unfortunately, development of the game took so long that the consoles Blizzard was making it for ceased to be available before they could complete the game. With the cash cow that is WoW (which I also enjoy) available to them, I have to wonder just how motivated Blizzard is to successfully get a game from another franchise onto store shelves and into my PC. Here's hoping I'm worried about nothing, and that I'll be playing SC2 before my hair turns gray.
Review 17 for StarCraft II: Wings of Liberty
Another opinion from a beta tester.
Posted on:5/29/10
Stev3
Based on the beta, the full game will be nothing short of spectacular. We still have the same three races, and each one has some old units, and some new. All three races are completely balanced, which is to be expected. The graphics are more than acceptable, and the gameplay is very smooth. The physics engine is exactly what I was hoping for as well. The map editor is a HUGE step up from the last one too. The revamped Battle.net is incredible. Someone posted something about how FPS players might not do so well online against a seasoned RTS player, but Battle.net allows you to choose your level, and that is what gives you the ability to play with other people who are on your level. Although the LAN capabilities are removed, it is incredibly simple to play with friends (even easier than LAN). I have no complaints to make about the game. It is just as awesome as the first one, if not better. But, I would expect nothing less from Blizzard.
Review 18 for StarCraft II: Wings of Liberty
I have played it!
Posted on:10/10/07
A Customer
I played SC2 alpha for a few hours at Blizzcon, and I have alot to say, and Im going to do it as short as possible. Overall, the game is amazing. Graphics are excellent so far, the gameplay videos online and screenshots do not compare to the actual game. After seeing the videos and screenshots online I thought it looked good,. when I played it, I thought it was AMAZING. After playing WC3 for years, I forgot how fast paced SC is. The gameplay is FAST and armies are huge. The audio was far from complete but it seemed like the game was close to early beta stages. I would have liked to see the zerg units, but the blizzcon demo only had terran and protoss. Even thought the graphics were great, Im sure they will be even better at release. My only complaint was that some of the terran units looked to animated and colorful, they werent as dark and dirty as in the origional SC. This game is going to be a massive hit, I cant wait for the beta!
Review 19 for StarCraft II: Wings of Liberty
FAIR FIELD
Posted on:4/27/10
Anonymous
Well.. I was always hesitant to ever pick up a game for the RTS genre.. mostly due to the fact people who play RTS are almost exclusive to that genre and they have a HUGE ADVANTAGE over anyone like me who is coming in from a FPS background. The reason I feel people should pick up this game, especially pre-order is because Blizzard has such a large user base and so many people.. that play WoW / Wc3 / Original SC and the hundreds of thousands of other people who will randomly pick up the game due to advertising will for once in a VERY LONG TIME make the competition viable for lower end players. People playing RTS / obviously those who played SC / BW will have a huge advantage still as will the players who have participated in any RTS but for the first time in almost 10 years there will be a big enough player base that someone who is BRAND NEW can participate in this community and play against people at your skill level NOOB!
Review 20 for StarCraft II: Wings of Liberty
Don't get too excited
Posted on:5/22/07
Orakga
I'm a starcraft fan myself. After all, who isn't? BUT, we need to keep a few things in mind here: 1) All the important people who used to work at Blizzard throughout Warcraft II, Starcraft, WC3 and WoW have all left the company. If you have followed this industry, you should know that it's never the company nor the brand that makes the games, but the people. Knowing how Vivendi screwed up the TRIBES license, I wouldn't be surprised if they somehow managed to mess up the STARCRAFT license as well with this installment. It would be hard though... because the first one was so good. (but then again, look at what happened to WC3) 2) This is a BLIZZARD game. That means this game's not coming out for another 24 months, IF THAT. So disregard that 2008/10 date EBGAMES has posted, because we'd be lucky to see an open beta before the end of 2008. Expect this game in the Spring of 2009. Can you wait that long? (for the record, I will)
1 2 3 4 5 ... 19 next>>