GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

NBA 2K8

The king of the hard court is back and better than ever with the all-new Sprite Slam Dunk Contest. NBA 2K8 continues a five year legacy as the #1 rated NBA simulation with in-game features that bring basketball to life like never before.
Average Customer Rating:
6.333
6.3
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (30 reviews)
10 stars
1
9 stars
0
8 stars
0
7 stars
1
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
2 out of 367%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for NBA 2K8
Review 1 for NBA 2K8
Changes in NBA 2K8 for PS2
Posted on:6/25/07
fan
In NBA 2K8 there should be a lot of changes such as some arenas dosent have the arena name on the court for example the Air Canada Centre in Toronto it doesnt have the name of the arena on the court. Also when the game is about to start its best if they show the city and the outside of the arena. That would be so awsome. In NBA 2K7 some players have their own form when ever they shoot the ball. In NBA 2K8 there should be a huge change where every single player has there own form when ever they shoot the ball. What conserns me alot is that in NBA 2K7 they do introductions of they players while the game is loading. It's best if you guys change up everything and make the do introductions on the court. It's best if you guys make the game like real life and also include real life charateristics of all players. For example Lebron James always bites his nails when someone is shooting a freethrow or during a time-out. I just hope this game can come out great especially for PS2.
Review 2 for NBA 2K8
Disappointment
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:5/6/08
An average video game player
When I learned this game would introduce the dunk contest, I was excited. I bought NBA 2K8 for the PS2; NO DUNK CONTEST! When I realized the dunk contest was only for the 360 and PS3, it was way too late. Even though, I tried to ignore that, and for the first 3 weeks the game was ok. But I was looking through the rookies in the game. How is there only maybe 16 roockies? No Jamario Moon, or Juan Carlos Navarro. When the disappointment coudn't get worse, I visit my nephew's house, and he had NBA 2K7 for the Xbox 360. I easily got hooked on it. Besides the graphics, of course, everything else was better: ball handling, shooting, stealing, and what made me angry, layups. My nephew told me that depending on the characters, layups will usually go in. In my NBA 2K8, layups are crap and only go in once in a while. Bottemline: 2K sports put in work for the NBA 2K8 versions for 360 and PS3 and did nothing to improve anything for the PS2.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Review 3 for NBA 2K8
things 2k8 should fix from 2k7/things to include in 2k8
Posted on:6/14/07
kobefan1333824
there are a lot of glitches that 2k8 must fix from 2k7 -during a fastbreak or wide open in the paint there is an 85% chance yo will miss -give smush parker a a haircut instead of braids -stop using real faces and fake names in the draft -include signature dunks and faces when they dunk or layup(lebron puffs his cheeks when he dunks or layups in real life) -improve tendacies of peoples shots -include a clutch rating for players -include a momentum meter -include the player introduction on the court(not while the game is loading) -include real life charateristics( like when lebron bites his nails while other people are shooting freethrown) -another thing 2k7 messed up on is when someone commits a shooting foul at the three point line even the worst 3point shooter will make the 3 and get a chance for a 4 point play -make crowd look more real -make it where you can argue a refs call/ or argue that you should get a call
Review 4 for NBA 2K8
Changes
Posted on:6/25/07
Kwame
In NBA 2K8 there should be a lot of changes such as some arenas dosent have the arena name on the court for example the Air Canada Centre in Toronto it doesnt have the name of the arena on the court. Also when the game is about to start its best if they show the city and the outside of the arena. That would be so awsome. In NBA 2K7 some players have their own form when ever they shoot the ball. In NBA 2K8 there should be a huge change where every single player has there own form when ever they shoot the ball. What conserns a lot is that in NBA 2K7 the do introductions of they players while the game is loading. It's best if you guys change up everything and make the do introductions on the court. It's best if you guys make the game like real life. For example Lebron James always bites his nails when someone is shooting a freethrow or during a time-out. I just this game can come out great especially for PS2.
Review 5 for NBA 2K8
Changes
Posted on:6/25/07
fan
In NBA 2K8 there should be a lot of changes such as some arenas dosent have the arena name on the court for example the Air Canada Centre in Toronto it doesnt have the name of the arena on the court. Also when the game is about to start its best if they show the city and the outside of the arena. That would be so awsome. In NBA 2K7 some players have their own form when ever they shoot the ball. In NBA 2K8 there should be a huge change where every single player has there own form when ever they shoot the ball. What conserns a lot is that in NBA 2K7 the do introductions of they players while the game is loading. It's best if you guys change up everything and make the do introductions on the court. It's best if you guys make the game like real life. For example Lebron James always bites his nails when someone is shooting a freethrow or during a time-out. I just this game can come out great especially for PS2.
Review 6 for NBA 2K8
Now I know why.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/26/08
skarred
Now I know why this is the best NBA Game. 1st of the the Gameplay, great, simple and fun. I've been a fan of NBA Live since '99. This is the first time I bought 2K. This game is very very good. 2nd, the controls are very easy to memorize and you will not have problems with it. 3rd the rosters, 2K is giving downloads to users who has 2K8, the current rosters is downloadable in Playstation Store (online). The challenge? Pfff, Hall of Fame is the hardest, but you'll get used to it. 5th, 2K Beats (sounds) are good, so many songs to choose from like Run DMC or Common or etc. 6th, the graphics is a ok. It's like you're playing the real players. This game is a must for NBA fanatics out there like me. You need this game in your collection. Now I can't wait for 2K9.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for NBA 2K8
NBA 2k8
Posted on:7/1/07
R3D
There are very HIGH expectations for NBA 2k8! Especially New Signature Dunks, Layups, Passes, Dribbles, etc. There are some glitches that do need to be fixed. For example, the player can pivot back all the way back to the three-point line after dribbling the ball which is considered traveling. The worst case of all the glitches is DROP GLITCHING online! Somehow this problem has not been resolved ever since i have started playing this game( NBA 2k5-2k7). The opponent will suddenly unplug the ethernet cord, etc. and the screen will turn black and countdown from 18 secs till it hits 0 secs. This process is repeated until it is sent to arbitration and the communication will be lost against the opponent and somehow the person who was "drop glitching" gets the win. One more thing, There should be a DUNK CONTEST and THREE-POINT SHOOTOUT added to the game creating better gaming experience. Peace
Review 8 for NBA 2K8
Improvement
Posted on:8/4/07
Young T
No Doubt 2k8 will be the best basketball game of 2007 just like 2k7 was for 2006.But I have ideas for a more improved association mode.U should create your own player,try him out for a team,put him through a 8-week of tryouts and scrimmages with other players who are trying out for the team.After the 8 weeks of tryouts,u either signed to the team or u join the D-league.If u join the team,your ratings are decided based on what u did during tryouts.For example,if during tryouts u were an aggresive rebounder your rebounds will be within the 80 or 90 target range.If u join the D-League.u get to choose your ratings and 3 months into the season,an NBA team signs u to a 10-day contract.After the 10 days,the team decides whether or not they want to sign u officially.This is just something that has been on my mind for a while n i hope they can use these ideas for NBA 2K9
Review 9 for NBA 2K8
things can be better
Posted on:9/17/07
michael jordan
I would just like to start off saying congrats on the improvment of the game over the years. I have been playing since 2k2 and the gameplay changes have been good. The thing i dont like about the game is that there is no allstar weekend, there is no legend pool were you can add them to your team for example makeing an allstar sixer team with Wilt and Julius,etc. and with in the allstar teams you have made for the 50s/60s to 90s allstars where are the greats. Don't get me wrong there are good players in each allstar class but where is michael jordan,jerry west, Hakeem Olajuwon,David Robinson just to name a few. The last thing that could be changed is the jersey number of a player like in 2k7 the sixers still had webber so i traded him to the piston but there was no way to change his jersey to number 84. The game is still good keep up the good work.
Review 10 for NBA 2K8
nba 2k8
Posted on:9/16/07
gigi
u guyz should make a nba legend that is in college than they recriut him n u walk on 2 any colloge team you go to. and then youll see if u make it to the pros. like ncaa football 07-08 they have the campus legend thingy which you get recruited and than u go 2 the pros. y dont they do it for nba 2k8 that would be tight every one would love that game.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for NBA 2K8
This Hall of Fame will break all records!
Posted on:6/15/07
The Break of Dawn
I, being a huge fan of 2k sports works and owning both 2k6 and 2k7, think that this new year will be the best ever!!!! I think they should fix it from the last one by: putting back in 24/7 game mode, actually changing the graphics, making the street game mode of it have different clothes, having more options to make a character, letting you make a game mode (not online), having signiture moves like a 360 dunk or leaning in shot, ability to move character better, ability to argue with calls, whooping it up after an alley-oop or game winning shot, and player introductions along with argueing and whooping not being in a cut-scene. The game will be a collasal hit and hopefully have Steve Nash on the cover. I'm going to buy so very soon!!!! GO SUNS!
Review 12 for NBA 2K8
From College to NBA
Posted on:7/18/07
Wave Motion
For NBA 2K8 there should be a feature called "Draft Day. Draft day will be a feature that you will only be able to use with a College hoops 2K8 save. The way this feature will be used is that with a College hoops 2K8 game is that it will give you a list of teams, and out of those teams there will be a list of players. You will be able to look at there stats and pick the 60 players to go to the NBA. Then you will be able to pick the teams that will make a selection in the draft, then the players will put in training camp. Now on draft day you will have a chance to see a video of the first 5 players get drafted. Off to the summer league now. After the summer league starts the the regular league. You pick a team and take them to the Finals.
Review 13 for NBA 2K8
Changes for Nba 2k8 for ps2
Posted on:8/29/07
Stucky
I hope this year in Nba 2k8 for the PS2 every players has there own signature moves and dunks, such as lay ups, jumpshots, and even their own characteristics facial expressions, like rip hamilton adjusting his face mask and labron james biting his nails. And also any time you trade a player from one team to the next, please let us change their jersey numbers like on nba live you can. thats the only thing that Nba live has over Nba 2k. I really hope these changes can occur especially for ps2, and stop concentrating on xbox 360 and ps3 improvements. But other than that Nba 2k been good all these years, but needs improvement for the ps2, because there was no improvements from Nba 2k6 to Nba 2k7 it was the same thing.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Dawowo
155th Lane
 
Please wait while more information about Dawowo is loaded.
Additional information about Dawowo could not be loaded.
Commeter
Posted 3/24/12
Pleae dont buy this game
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 14 for NBA 2K8
improvements for 2K8
Posted on:6/22/07
fan
first off, i wanted to say that 2K8 should include an all-star week similar to live. The players should also have signature dunks, like lebron james and melo. The draft in association should be improved with better pictures. I also disliked the intros and the commentary during gameplay. The reason i chose 2K7 over live 07 was because i heard their gameplay was sick. It was but i thought that the opponents were so easy, even in hall of fame. You should increase the rivalry teams and actually have a point to "The Crib." INCLUDE a superstar mode where you go through your rookie season and mature in the league etc. I really hope the best for this game!! peace
Review 15 for NBA 2K8
Draft Night
Posted on:9/17/07
ps2
Draft Night should be a lot better in the future NBA 2k's. They should have clips of each player your considerin playing in college so you can see their style. They should also have training camp for the candidates instead of the one on one thing they had in nba 2k7. They should also make other teams have blockbuster trades right before the trade deadline or during the off season of "the association" mode. If they could do stuff like that then it would make the game a lot better to play.
Review 16 for NBA 2K8
High Hopes
Posted on:7/3/07
A Customer
NBA 2K7 was probably the best basketball sim ever made, but I feel that there are still some kinks to be worked out. For example, when you try to press X to skip a replay it automatically inbounds the ball as well, often resulting in an idiotic turnover. I expect the 2K crew to make significant improvements in these areas like they always have. Also, signature shots and moves are going to add an entirely new demension to the game. Sign me up for a preview!
Review 17 for NBA 2K8
My first 2K game!
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/2/12
quentinman
Location: Atlanta, Ga
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I was hoping for 2K12, but long story short i got this. I was disappointed by the graphics, but what do you expect from a game made in 2007? second, the gameplay is good, but moves and shots can become monotonious at times. gameplay can also be very frustrating. by this i mean one game you cant miss a shot, but the next game your missing wide open lay ups. but still, a pretty good game.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 18 for NBA 2K8
Best NBA Game
Posted on:6/1/07
LASTYLE
I think that NBA 2K8 will be one of the best games of the year. NBA 2K7 was good, but the only thing that I didn't like about 2K7 was that if you tried to shoot a half court shot at the buzzer, the game would freeze up and then you would have to start over.(this is only on the PS2 that I know of.) I just hope that they will fix that problem in 2K8. I'll be waiting to find out what happens.
Review 19 for NBA 2K8
dunk contest
Posted on:9/18/07
2kgr8
man, i've seen previews of 2k8's dunk contest and it looks siiiiiiick!!! I cant wait to buy it! you can use props to jump over in your dunks, bobbito garcia is doing commentary for the contest (you may remember him from NBA Street Vol. 2 and 3) and the controls are similar to NBA Live's Dunk Contest. Looks like 2k8 can chalk up another win for this basketball season too!
Review 20 for NBA 2K8
I can't wait
Posted on:8/12/07
Big O
i am a big fan of 2k sports especially nba. I played 2k4 all the way to 2k7. i hope they put an all star weekend in 2k8. I would also like to see players get technihal fouls. I hope 2k8 has real players and real names for the draft. Iwoukd like to see better graphics, signature dunks. I also like the old freethrow meter than to pull back on the right analog stick.
1 2 next>>