GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Ninja Gaiden Sigma

As Ryu Hayabusa you are out to seek revenge after your clan is massacred by the Vigor Empire. Realistic battle actions and acrobatic ninja moves are at your finger-tips. You play with only your wits, your ninja skills, and your deadly sword. Slice down opponents in the Vigor Empire as you attempt to beat the Holy Emperor and reclaim the magic sword "Ryuken".Bringing the classic to the PlayStation 3, Ninja Gaiden Sigma is a more "complete version" of the Xbox Team Ninja title, with new moves, actions, and weapons for Hayabusa. Also added is a new playable character -- Racheal, one of the series' heroines, will be playable, and when using her, you'll get to experience the storyline from her perspective (with new cutscenes, attack moves and more.)
Average Customer Rating:
8.857
8.9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
10 stars
6
9 stars
4
8 stars
2
7 stars
1
6 stars
0
5 stars
1
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
13 out of 1493%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Ninja Gaiden Sigma
Review 1 for Ninja Gaiden Sigma
Getting ready for NG 2
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/22/08
logic man
I bought this game a while back but I never played it. For I played the original version on Xbox. I mostly just bought it too have it. But with Ninja Gaiden 2 coming out soon. I figured I replay the old Ninja Gaiden and what better to use my untouched Ninja Gaiden Sigma with improved graphics and features. The graphics for this game are pretty good. A real solid look. The game play is what makes this game some of the sickest combat you'll ever do in Ninja Gaiden. The combat is very hard probably one of the hardest action games you'll ever play. If you like fighting and you want a challenge pick this game up you won't be disappointed. This is certainly one of the better games on the Playstation 3 system I'd recommend it to any action adventure fan. Plus if you played the old Gaiden ( Xbox ) and have a PS3 pick this up and work of some of that rust in preparation for Ninja Gaiden 2. Of course you'll need a Xbox 360 to play ninja Gaiden 2.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Ninja Gaiden Sigma
Great ninja game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/9/12
Kikakuken9
Location: AZ
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This is a great comeback for Ninja Gaiden. The action is really fast and is a game of timing and speed. Love that aspect of the game. Ninja Gaiden has a good number of puzzles to figure out and amulets to collect as well. It is a good break from brutal slashing combos thorough out the game. Speaking of the combos achieved in the game play are sweet and pretty hard hitting if you can get the timing right.
The villains are always a step ahead of you on the drawing attack. The ninja and demons are always just a bit stronger as well. This aspect makes the game play very challenging in addition to timing and speed. I love this in the game. There is a little bit of a learning curve due to this. It has been a while since I have played a game with this kind of difficulty. I like the style and fight of beating the game.
The only thing I think they could have improved on with this game is with texture of the characters. Everyone looks like clay to me. Items parts to the characters costumes that don't quite need to be shiny are too shiny. Need some more mat textures.
I wish the game would have given the classic Ninja Gaiden games as a feature, or unlockable bonus at the end of the game. I would have liked some customizability as well. However the game still rocks.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Ninja Gaiden Sigma
Best Ninja game ever
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:4/22/11
PorkRock
Location: Sacramento, CA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Thought the artwork looked cool so I picked it up
big fan of Sandbox games but Ninja Gaiden is definitely something not to be missed by anyone even if you don't like linear games like me
was kind of iffy thought I probably made a mistake by buying it but I enjoyed it
the difficulty is what makes this game so fun
the AI is smart and challenging so your not just gonna be slashing through enemies carelessly as defense blocking and dodging is very important
Graphics are really good
Camera could be better but its not bad
only thing not satisfying about this game is the Story its just an Average Revenge plot
Pros: Combat, Techinique Needed, Difficulty, Challenging
Cons: story could be better, Voice acting
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Ninja Gaiden Sigma
ITS LIKE GETTING KICKED IN THE FACE!!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:2/11/11
FryedMustard
Location: California
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is probably the most intense game ever! It kicked my butt the very first level and continued to do so the entire game! The combat is great, fast and challenging, easily the best part of the game! Its Hard at first.... then continues to be just as hard later but you get the hang of it and you start doing better and will be able to hold your own! All in all if you want a game that gets your heart pumping and makes your hand cramp from pressing so many buttons in fast succession then this is the game for you!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Ninja Gaiden Sigma
Very old school mix with new school.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:7/30/08
Drp55
This game is very good, very hard but in a good way. The learning curve of the game is quick, the graphics are solid for a remake, too bad some of the scenes are pre-render (CG) and doesn't do any justice to HD graphics, the sound is decent nothing new, story is nothing inovative but it works to get you trought the game. That's about all complaining i got for this game oooo! and no rumble ,otherwise for the price is a must get, beacause replay value is decent with unlockables and difficulty modes. Since i got this game has a PS3 owner it makes me a little sad that NG2 was not realesed for The Black Monster. New wepoons, 2 more new levels, and challenge mode can be really fun once you dominate the game. If you like games like devil may cry series you like NG.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Ninja Gaiden Sigma
NINJA GAIDEN SIGMA IS AWESOME
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:5/26/12
lightwarrior2012
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Everyone who is a fan of great and superb action games will love this game. It has great graphics, gameplay, good sound and music, awesome boss fights, and intense ninja action with some interesting characters and a good storyline. The only bad thing about this game is that controlling your characters in certain situtations like when swimming in water feels a little ackward because it's sometimes hard control your characters while they are swimming in water. But despite this one minor flaw in the game you'll still have a great good time playing this great game. Anyone who has nerver played this game should go out buy it. This is a game that shouldn't be missed.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Ninja Gaiden Sigma
Hardcore game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/27/10
mckinley2
Location: waynesboro va
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Ninja Gaiden is a game where you 'll need to block to proceed. Also you have to learn the enemy attacks. What I love about the Ninja Gaiden franchise is it's awesome boss encounters and it is also very much a challenge. The graphics are very good. The only complaint I have with the game is the camera angle. Otherwise this game is awesome and is worth the purchase. The price is worth it too.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Ninja Gaiden Sigma
quite enjoyable
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:4/20/11
Ironman87
Location: W-S, NC
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I really enjoyed this game. I played the original version on Xbox some years ago and just recently picked it up on the PS3 and I think this game is pretty cool. The only downfall, to me, are the parts of the story when you have to play with Rachel. Other than that, this is a very enjoyable game and can be played over and over again, if you can get over the playing with Rachel part.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Ninja Gaiden Sigma
Gotta say I'm dissapointed...
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:3/2/12
wrkhvcmc
Location: Sacramento, CA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I first heard about Ninja Gaiden when it came out on the original Xbox. I was always a fan of Capcom's DMC and Onimusha series and liked God of War. I kinda assumed from the great reviews that this game was gonna be able to be comapared to them. I was wrong. The game didnt start off with a scene or much storytelling, it jumped right to gameplay. Character development went down the drain when I found swords in a box. On the other hand, I didnt like the camera at all. To make it even worse, I believe the graphics didnt live up to PS3 potential. The fighting was great but the controls was badly organized and executed. I mean you can want to perform a simple jump but before you know it, youre running on the wall all across the room. Havent played 2 or 3 but most times the first one gets you hooked.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
0 of 7 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
MasterofAll
Butte, MT
 
Please wait while more information about MasterofAll is loaded.
Additional information about MasterofAll could not be loaded.
hard game
Posted 3/6/12
how do you get past chapter three??
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 10 for Ninja Gaiden Sigma
Missed Opportunity
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:7/22/11
B1ue
The original ninja gaiden is a serious contender for greatest action game of all time and was easily the best action game around at the time of its release and gets a perfect 10/10 from me. Ninja Gaiden Sigma (made without involvement from Itagaki the original game's director) falls a little bit short because there isn't much as far as new content and the new content is kinda iffy. GOOD STUFF: Noticeably improved graphics, playing as rachel is fun, Motorcycle enemies are cool, BAD STUFF: No graphical improvement to the cut scenes, there's like one or two new enemy, like one new boss, barely any if any new cutscenes, no new weapons besides the two that were available in the original through the first hurricane pack, they took out a few things like that guy in front of the place u first meet rachel at asking you for a ticket, some moves taken out like throws, you can't unlock the old NG games anymore, the DMC style combo counter is gone, the awesome cutscene where you first see doku is gone now you just have an unwinnable boss fight with him which is was lamer then the great cuscene ??? STUFF: the black spider ninjas look like they do in NG2 now, can't change the difficulty to hard untill you've beaten the game, first few bosses seem much easier than I remember............ anyways the basic idea is that it is a better looking remix of the original with some things taken out and very little added, if you don't have an xbox or 360 then this is a fairly good way to experience the game but if you already have the game don't expect anything new expect the improved graphics and rachel missions, the original (with hurricane packs) is still the best version of the game (possibly NG: black I have not played it) its a shame they didn't do more with this version its really shameful that they didn't even put in a single new weapon or level or anything big
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Ninja Gaiden Sigma
ninja warrior
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:5/28/08
psyke28
Ok first off, I wanted to say that: THIS IS ONE HELL OF A CHALLENGE! First of all I'm a noob when it comes to this game, and it isn't a noob-friendly game.. Graphics and story are good but the sound during battle the first time I played it, gets me going.. But after a long while it gets boring.. And their combos require too much button presses, in which I confess. I haven't used all the moves in the game.. but their techniques are awesome, they are the only thing that really kept me playing the whole game... in the end, I would only recommend this to people who already played recent installments, coz noobies will actually grit their teeth to progress in this game.. its a challenge, the enemies, the bosses and the levels... a decent game from beginning to end.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
BigMike88
Princeton,Ky
 
Please wait while more information about BigMike88 is loaded.
Additional information about BigMike88 could not be loaded.
Posted 12/31/10
this game is crazy fun ive had it for a few years and never finished it but a buddy of mine came over today and is beating it for me and we r still up playing it as i write this it is awesome game
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 12 for Ninja Gaiden Sigma
This game is AWSOME!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/10/13
eqjedi1
Location: Cabot, AR
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
As a computer gamer I find it very hard to immerse into most console games because they generally lack in depth and visual beauty compared to great PC games but this game is fantastic! The graphics and style of the art really help create the feel and mystique of a truly epic ninja experience that will immerse you into the game. Unlike most console games today this game is difficult and offers a hardcore gamer a true challenge. The weapons each have their own unique fighting style and combos and are upgradeable turning them into some brutal killing machines which really gives you a feeling of ownership.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 13 for Ninja Gaiden Sigma
Ninja inside you
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:9/15/13
MKDante
Location: Seattle,WA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
worth every penny. One of greats Sword games ever, for sword's man...4 anyone who wants to be Ninja. I had great time with this game all the way threw but it's challenging game for sure but controls are slick plays very well.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 14 for Ninja Gaiden Sigma
ULTIMATE KILLER
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/18/12
ninja2278
Location: NC
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Why this game is crazy hard. this game should only be for hardcore gamers. just like dead or alive ryu will always be the ultimate ninja in the world with his dragon swords and other weapons. you can add me on ps3 my name is Megawan3301 or on xbox-live my name is Ultrawan27583
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.