GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Final Fantasy I

In Final Fantasy, the tale begins when four young warriors, each possessing a Crystal, are summoned to bring the world back to a harmonious elemental balance. During their voyage, they discover a nefarious entity has created turmoil in the structure of time in order to take control of the world, causing the heroes to travel to places they never imagined possible.Remastered exclusively for the PSP system, this all-new anniversary edition features all-new character art, updated graphics, new dungeons, full 16:9 widescreen presentation and an updated camera view that gives players a new vantage point on such a timeless classic RPG.
Average Customer Rating:
8.571
8.6
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
10 stars
8
9 stars
2
8 stars
1
7 stars
1
6 stars
1
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
12 out of 1486%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Final Fantasy I
Review 1 for Final Fantasy I
One of the best RPGs of all time
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/19/10
bigmoose
Final Fantasy I for the PSP is a great game. You can turn it into one of the best games, because you can either auto-name or name the fellowship yourself. The storlyine is classic, and the graphics are great. Final Fantasy is a game with a wide variety of details, so it would take forever to list them all, but the gameplay is fantastic and exciting. The difficulty is fantastic-- at first, it's nice and easy to understand and when it's the time that you're an expert the game steadily gets harder (in a good way). Occasionally when you're on the road or the wild or something you either get ambushed or ambush someone (a peremitive strike). It's very exciting. In Final Fantasy, unexpected and exciting twists can occur with tons of stuff all to form the ultimate RPG. This game is epic and could be one of the best RPGs for years to come.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Final Fantasy I
Fantasy Begins
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/1/11
Type0
The original is reborn for the psp! One of the all time greatest games ever created. For the new generation of gamers that ever experianced the 80s this is the foundation of all RPGs and the flagship of the final fantasy series. I was so excited when I found this game on the shelf. I bought it right away and raced home to play. I must have played this game nonstop for days. I was very impressed by the graphics. Sure other games have better graphics then this game but the overhaul still kept the same old school feel without hurting your eyes on the 8-bit graphics in the original. The best part of this game is that no matter how old you are this game is perfect for you. The advanture that you go on is one that you probably think is simaliar to another game you have played but this is the one that other games are modelled after. If you end up play this game you need to go to elfland/ elf village or whatever its called and go to the graves and read them. If you do that it is just a small amount of the humour and up dated speech throughout the game. This is THE game to get for anyone that likes RPGs, advanture and likes final fantasy. Anyone can play this game and enjoy it so go get it.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Final Fantasy I
Loved it to death
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/12/09
ChickenBattleMaster88
FF1 a very great game that i can see being one of the best psp games for a long time. The game starts and until the very end stays very fun. It does not drop the ball in the fun area at all. Keeps you wanting to play through out the whole. Also boss fights ar super fun plus there are very cool weapons. If that is not enough then the part when you boost up your characters class just blow me away. This game along with a few other titles are games you must buy. Playing this game will make you love your psp 5 times more with no effort, The things wrong with this game are very few like only having four characters to play with which may get boring.The story is kinda good but is simple since in the end it is just getting the the crystals so it ends up being nothing great. Bottom line this game is a good buy and is really good if you just love turn based games like i do/
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Final Fantasy I
A Perfect Remake
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/14/12
LevyTheAmishMan117
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Yes, this is a remake of Final Fantasy (download the original on the Wii's Virtual Console and you'll understand). But regardless, Final Fantasy for the Playstation Portable is a good remake to the one that started the franchise. The graphics, polished and glossed to perfect. The sound and music, beautiful to listen to. The gameplay, the true RPG feel when you hold this game in the palm of your hands.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Final Fantasy I
The game that started it all.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:8/23/12
OcarinaOfAwesome
Final Fantasy is a series that many people adore because of its great graphics, excellent story-lines, and deep characters. However, the series just started off as your average RPG. The first game has a somewhat weak story that feels like it belongs in a mario game rather than an epic RPG. However, as you play more and more of this game, you come to realize just how much classic charm it contains.
Now, despite being a classic, this is a pretty long game. I have played it for hours and barely made a scratch on the surface of the gameplay. Part of the charm of this game comes from the difficult dungeons and vast world-map.
The dungeons can be pretty difficult, not to mention all the level-grinding that you need to do in order to complete the dungeons. However, all of your hard work seems to pay off once you have defeated a particuarly hard boss.
As for the world map, it seems to go on forever. Okay, maybe not forever, but it's pretty big. There are many kingdoms in need of your help, or princesses who have been kidnapped. Once you get the hang of using the boat, which you unlock near the beginning of the game, it's pretty cool.
Overall, this is a good, fun remake of an average game. If you enjoy Final Fantasy three, this game is a must-play.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Final Fantasy I
Got me back into the series
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/6/10
EBONYxIVORY
Well. let me start off by saying this is one of my favorite games now adays. I have been working hard on it and have been getting real good. I don't really play games that make you have turn based battles but after I played the final fantasy Remake for the PSP. I loved the final fantasy series all over again. In this game you play as four warriors of light you can make your warriors either: Warriors, thieves, monks, White Mages (Like healers), Black Mages (Use Offensive magic), or red mages which use swords, white magic and black magic. the customization for the characters could've been better but it is real simple and easy to use you have you weapon hand, shield hand, armor slot, and glove slot. real simple. The storyline is good for a game that was originally made for the NES. As I said before you play as four warriors of light the warriors carry crystals whose full potential are unlocked throughout the course of the game. The battle system is not what I like but once I got the hang of it I started gaining levels like crazy and enjoying the game a lot more. Now the graphics I was really impressed with, I mean compared to the previous remakes and the original game itself. Everything in this remake is now all smooth and less pixelated which makes the game a lot more appealing. So if you want to buy this game I highly recommend it and I also recommend checking out the rest of the series (especially the Final Fantasy Tactics game line)
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Final Fantasy I
Great game but not for noobs
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/28/11
drako45
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is amazing. Great story great gameplay great music just great. But its not for gamers who havent experienced a game like this before. What I mean by that is it isn't for gamers that din't sit down and play the same game for 4 hours striaght 7 days a week. You also have to pay alot of attention in this game. What I mean is that it is easy to forget what was happening the last time you played, so don't get grounded. Trust me on that be good when you are playing an ff game because I got grounded while playing ff 3 and lost interest in it untill about 2 years later when I realized I hadn't beat it yet. So overall an amazing game but be prepared to play for a while
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Final Fantasy I
Good but not amazing
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:4/13/12
yankeesfan2
Location: Ronake, VA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game pretty much took the oringinal and made it much easier. First they made the theif job class much better. probley the thing that made this game so much easier was them adding MP instead of spell charges. Don't get me wrong this is a pretty good game and all but not really that close to what the oringinal was. If you really want to play it like the oringinal I would recommend final fantasy origins or dawn of souls but if your looking for a fun new experiece i would try this.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Final Fantasy I
An amazing remake of an amazing game!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/7/10
Pudinpop
Location: Tampa FL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
The game that started it all. This game is a dream come true to hardcore RPG gamers. When you first start the game you have to select 4 characters from 6 different classes and name them then the story begins and you have to save the world from destruction
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Final Fantasy I
To my fellow rpg fans.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/5/08
jnt long
Final Fantasy I Anniversary Edition is a very good game on the psp. The controls are easy to learn and it has a very small learning curve. It is a ported game from the original and offers new challenges for the psp version. At the beginning of the game, you get to create a team to take on your journey. A warrior, a thief, a monk and then there are black, white, and red mages to choose from. Each one starts with different stats, and equip different sets of weapons and armor. It is common knowledge with all rpg games I've played that you gain experience as you fight or cast spells during battle. The character will gain levels as he gets more points, thus becoming stronger the more he fights. This is no different. Developing your character is a fun way to customize your team. This version also keeps track of all the enemies you defeat in the menu screen, and shows a percentage for your defeated foes. A nice addition for those of us who have that need to defeat every bad guy in the game. It also gives the enemies' stats and weaknesses. Replay value for me personally is very high, as you can create a wide variety of teams at the beginning. I would very much recommend this game to all rpg players.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
BladeSkull
Landsdale, PA
 
Please wait while more information about BladeSkull is loaded.
Additional information about BladeSkull could not be loaded.
Rpg Core
Posted 1/3/11
This game is classic RPG material. You do some quest, walk around a world map, fight battles, explore dungeons, and other basic RPG stuff. I say that anyone that loves games like that should go out this moment at get it right NOW
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 11 for Final Fantasy I
Nostalgic
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/14/12
Kratostruth
Location: Coon Rapids, mn
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
The very first rpg I ever played was Revelations: The Demon Slayer. Later on I upgraded to Dragon Warrior and Dragon Warrior Monsters. All on the original gameboy. Why oh why did I never try Final Fantasy. I decided to pick this up and what a surprise I got. I am now addicted to it. This brings me back to the type of games I love. I would recommend this to anyone. The battles are quick and the world is massive. If your looking for a great way to waste time on work breaks or while you are waiting for a family member, Final Fantasy is a must have.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 12 for Final Fantasy I
Horrible Fantasy
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:1/9/12
youz3
Location: california
This game is perfect for: party gamers
Ok when I first started playing final fantasy i first played dissidia final fantsy. I thought it was pretty good and the story was amazing. I know this is the first and you learn where is where and who is who but i learned all that from Youtube.If you want a good game from final fantsy then get one of the older ones it way better. and for my product reccomendations i also reccomend Final Fantasy VII Crisis Core but i could only do three. thank you for not buying this game.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
0 of 33 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Drakalu
 
Please wait while more information about Drakalu is loaded.
Additional information about Drakalu could not be loaded.
I think you missed the point
Posted 1/26/12
You do realize that this is a remake/rerelease of the original "Final Fantasy"... the original released on the NES back in 1986?
Though the graphics have been updated the story remains true to the original. Back then, the writing wasn't nearly as in depth as it is now... there is only so much you can put on a 64k chip.
I wouldn't recommend the title to everyone but if you grew up with this game or if you joined later and want to look back how the series started then you will probably enjoy this game.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 13 for Final Fantasy I
Classic, but tedious at times
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:2/15/12
GrowlanserFan
Location: Philadelphia
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
If you're dying to play an old school RPG then you may like this game. Although this game has some great classes and a nice albeit simple story it also has some annoying features such as random encounters. IN certain areas the random encounters are so frequent that you can barely move without encountering another random enemy which makes exploration very tedious. There are far better RPGs on the PSP.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 14 for Final Fantasy I
The Heart of it all.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/25/11
Batman1984
Location: Ellensburg, WA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
In the begining! There was the this game called "Final Fantasy". And My mom saw that it was good :P( I was1 ) As i played my very 1st rpg this was it! this was my all time favorite game for a VERY long time and still ranks in the top 10. on the old NES back in the 80' early 90's this was my favorite game played it over and over and still as the new ones come out i refer back to this one. the begining of it all. No as i read in a review this game probly isn't for noobs you'd had to play a previous version of it before or be a fan of the serious becuase there isn't much of the NEW stuff you'd find in a psp rpg but its a classic. and its a AWESOME one at that. You get 4 dudes ,always in the team, and 6 classes to choose from Warrior Monk Thief White Mage Red Mage and Black mage. depending on the class you choose for each effects the games diffuclty. Lots of weps and armor to obtain and equip. a easy game to play with some very nice backround music some of which i wish they'd bring back in the newer final fantasy's. classic Turnbased battle system ( Which I LOVE) picking a selection to perform for each chacter and it does it without being attacked by monsters giving u all the time in the world to do what you want and keep track of ur health. As I ment by makeing it easy to play. the story.. well ur goona have to READ they ain't goona pop up with an anime character and read it out loud for you... sorry gotta use a lil brain in this one. if you don't read ur goona get lost but even if u blow through it its not hard to figure out where to go. you just won't know why your going there. the story is a lil diffrent form the orignal but has same point to it. the gameplay is fun and its a nice little adventure won't take long to beat 8-32hrs of play depening on ur experiance and skill of having played it before. it is after all a remake of a NINTENDO game. and those never lasted longer then 4hrs no matter what game u played. exception of a few. (Ultima for example 50+) if ur looking for a nice old fashioned rpg this is the best you'll ever put ur time and life into.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10